New Resources in Campbelltown Hospital Library

An ideal introduction and revision guide for anatomy and physiology As part of the popular At a Glance series, Anatomy & Physiology for Nursing & Healthcare Students provides a wonderful introduction to the topic and is written with the student nurse in mind. This is also a useful reference guide for any healthcare professional looking for a quick refresher on the human body.

Complete coverage of the basis of cancer and molecular biology - from globally recognized experts. An accessible and thorough introduction to cancer causation, cancer biology, and the biology underlying cancer treatment. You'll find everything you need to know about the latest critical thinking in oncology, as well as ready to apply information about state-of-the-art science and therapeutic applications.

A comprehensive yet concise review of the management of different cancer types. Emphasizes practical information that can be applied in everyday patient care situations, and thoroughly revised content keeps you current with advances in this fast-changing field. Provides practical guidance on evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment of patients with cancer from experts and scholars at the National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health, Cleveland Clinic, and other renowned institutions.

More detailed than an outlined review but less overwhelming than an encyclopedic reference, Brenner and Stevens' Pharmacology, 6th Edition, focuses on the essential principles you need to know in a concise, easy-to-understand manner.

Essential reading for all medical students learning the fundamentals of history taking and patient examination, when undertaking a surgical rotation, when preparing for their surgical exams and as they transition to postgraduate studies.

Delivers 60 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in emergency medicine. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, high-yield presentation of key diagnostic and treatment information, USMLE-style review question to enhance your learning. This fifth edition includes important new information on COVID-19, opioid overdose, social issues in emergency medicine, medical errors, interprofessional teamwork, endocrine emergencies, viral meningitis, and vertigo.

This invaluable little pocketbook takes the reader through the basics of chest X-ray examination and interpretation. It covers the range of conditions clinicians are likely to encounter on the wards, and guides the reader through the diagnostic process based on the appearance of the abnormality shown.

With more than 50 real-world cases, Clinical Cases in Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Womenâs Health 3e covers a range of obstetric and gynaecological problems likely to be encountered by busy junior doctors and general practitioners. Written by experienced obstetricians and gynaecologists and following the core medical school curricula in Australia, New Zealand and the United Kingdom, this pocket-sized book is an invaluable resource for medical students and clinicians.

Briefly and clearly presents the most relevant concepts while traversing the daunting waters of clinical neuroanatomy with mnemonics, humor, illustrations, and case presentations. Topics include General Anatomical Organization, Blood Supply, Meninges and Spinal Fluid, Spinal Cord, Brain Stem, The Visual System, Autonomic System and Hypothalamus, Cerebellum, Basal Ganglia and Thalamus, Cerebral Cortex, Neurotransmitters, Mini-atlas and Clinical Review.

Clinical Pathophysiology Made Ridiculously Simple provides a thorough and insightful approach to basic pathophysiology, giving the reader a conceptual overview of pathophysiology, mechanisms of disease, and clinical reasoning together in a brief, clear, and highly practical way.

Provides thorough coverage of the principles of clinical pharmacology, the major characteristics of therapeutics, and the practical aspects of prescribing drugs to alleviate symptoms and to treat disease. Whether you are preparing for examinations or prescribing to patients, the tenth edition offers readers current and authoritative insight into the essential practical and clinical knowledge.

Management of the airway is an important and challenging aspect of many clinicians' work and is a source of complications and litigation. The new edition of this popular book remains a clear, practical and highly-illustrated guide to all necessary aspects of airway management. The book has been updated throughout, to cover all changes to best practice and clinical management and provides extensive coverage of the key skills and knowledge required to manage airways in a wide variety of patients and clinical settings.

The pocket guide that covers it all--basics, 12-lead, ACLS, meds, and CPR for adults and children! A quick look-up reference for ECG interpretation and management! This indispensable pocket guide presents the basics (anatomy and physiology of the cardiovascular system, electrical conduction system of the heart, basic ECG concepts and components,) ACLS and CPR algorithms, emergency medications, and comprehensive information on monitoring leads and interpretation of over 100 ECG strips, including 12-lead and pacemaker rhythms.

Offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field.

Essential Endocrinology and Diabetes provides the accurate and up-to-date knowledge required for treating all areas of endocrinology and diabetes, covering the latest research, clinical guidelines, investigational methods, and therapies.

Building on over 160 years of anatomical excellence In 1858, Drs Henry Gray and Henry Vandyke Carter created a book for their surgical colleagues that established an enduring standard among anatomical texts. After more than 160 years of continuous publication, Gray's Anatomy remains the definitive, comprehensive reference on the subject, offering ready access to the information you need to ensure safe, effective practice. This 42nd edition has been meticulously revised and updated throughout, reflecting the very latest understanding of clinical anatomy from the world's leading clinicians and biomedical scientists.

Immunobiology is the premier text for immunology at the advanced undergraduate, graduate, and medical school levels. Beginning students appreciate the book's clear writing and informative illustrations, while advanced students and working immunologists value its comprehensive scope.

Widely recognised as the gold standard reference for general practice and primary health care. Its emphasis on the importance of clinical reasoning, early diagnosis and treatment makes this the essential reference for medical students, trainees and general practitioners.

Everything you need to know about Microbiology and Infection... at a Glance! In the newly revised and expanded fifth edition distinguished authors Stephen H. Gillespie and Kathleen B. Bamford deliver a concise and popular introduction to medical microbiology that encapsulates foundational facts and principles in this rapidly growing and evolving subject area. Fully revised and updated to include brand new research, the authors have added several new chapters on subjects including sepsis, infections disease eradication, the 'normal' flora in health and disease, non-tuberculous mycobacteria, antifungal therapy, bioterrorism, and high consequence infections.

For a comprehensive understanding of human physiology - from molecules to systems -turn to the latest edition of Medical Physiology. This updated textbook is known for its unparalleled depth of information, equipping students with a solid foundation for a future in medicine and healthcare, and providing clinical and research professionals with a reliable go-to reference.

The eighth edition reflects significant new information and updates and maintains the highest standards for scientific and clinical accuracy. Comprehensive updates reflect changes in the clinical application of anatomy as well as new imaging technologies, focusing on the anatomy that students need to know.

Offering a thorough, highly illustrated review of the musculoskeletal physical exam, this practical guide covers relevant anatomy, pathoanatomy, and special tests using the well-known art of Dr. Frank H. Netter as well as clinical photographs.

Both an ideal learning tool for students and a superb resource for patient education, the uniquely aesthetic and accurate artwork is accompanied by up-to-date text contributed primarily by physicians at the prestigious Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, all designed to work together to help you diagnose and care for children with common clinical conditions.

The definitive reference for quick access to frequently used drugs in all phases of care for cardiac patients. Updated to include the latest guidelines and evidence-based implications, it offers clear and concise explanations and pertinent clinical facts for all classes of cardiac drugs, as well as all the latest clinical trial results and evidence for the pharmacologic treatment of heart disease.

Definitive guide for students preparing to sit the Situational Judgement Test (SJT) for entry into the UK Foundation Programme. All scenarios are based on real experiences informed by practising doctors and medical students who have sat the SJT to ensure that the questions closely mirror the content of the real exam. Two practice tests allow candidates to prepare for exam day and practice their timings - one of the biggest challenges in the exam.

Written for anaesthetists at all stages of their careers, from trainees sitting exams through to experienced consultants as well as ODPs and nurses involved in theatre area work and pre-assessment, this comprehensive guide to the anaesthetic world is as indispensable as ever.

TThe fifth edition of this bestselling Oxford Medical Handbook is now even better than ever, with the inclusion of three new chapters on day case surgery, remote and rural surgery, and emergency surgery. It has been thoroughly revised with the latest guidelines, management algorithms, and guidance on decision-making.

It covers the latest clinical guidelines and developments in the field and features unique sections on practical procedures, as well as a symptoms section to aid in differential diagnosis and clinical management. Practical advice on management is integrated throughout and a dedicated section on respiratory emergencies ensures the ability to cope with any eventuality. New sections include thoracic ultrasound, indwelling pleural catheters, safe sedation, and cardiopulmonary exercise testing, and this new edition covers all major respiratory diseases and symptoms.

Oxorn-Foote Human Labor & Birth opens with a valuable review of clinical anatomy, followed by a thorough examination of the three stages of labor, with a focus on proper management and birthing techniques. The authors provide specific guidance on the full spectrum of complications and delivery situations, including Cesarean section, breech presentation, transverse lie, umbilical cord issues, dystocia, and more. Critical concerns such as preterm labor, antepartum hemorrhage, maternal and fetal complications, intrapartum infections, and post-term pregnancy are also addressed.

Paediatric Handbook is a trusted guide to managing common and serious childhood illnesses and disorders. This bestselling resource provides students and practitioners across medical, nursing, and allied health fields with authoritative and up-to-date information on a comprehensive range of paediatric topics, enabling readers to make the appropriate decisions at the point of care.

An accessible introduction and revision text for medical students. Presents schematic diagrams on the left page and concise explanations on the right Is divided into three sections, covering general and systematic pathology and clinical case examples Contains self-assessment material, including 10 structured case study questions. Covers general pathology mechanisms and the clinical pathology of body systems Provides key information on the epidemiology, pathogenesis and clinical features of the major diseases

Portable and reliable, delivers quick-access answers in any clinical setting. Whether you're a student, pharmacist, and hospital administrator, it offers a thorough understanding about what drugs are used in various situations, and why. The text delivers both the key points pharmacists needs to know in practice and the information students studying for the boards needs to pass. With JNC-VI guidelines--the standard for drug therapy and pharmaceutical care--it facilitates fast and easy access to answers.

Features outstanding full-color photographs of actual cadaver dissections, with accompanying schematic drawings and diagnostic images, to help students develop an unparalleled mastery of human anatomy with ease. Depicting anatomic structures more realistically than illustrations in traditional atlases, this proven resource shows students exactly what they will see in the dissection lab.

From basic clinical facts to new advanced guidelines this book covers all aspects of cardiology in one quick and current resource.This updated second edition reviews new drugs, new invasive and noninvasive therapeutic approaches, and new developments in cardiology foundations, imaging modalities, management approaches, and specific interventions for all common cardiovascular disease modalitie in all patient care settings.

For more than 30 years Practical Management of Pain has offered expert guidance to both clinicians and trainees, covering every aspect of acute and chronic pain medicine for adult and pediatric patients. The fully revised 6th Edition brings you fully up to date with new developments n patient evaluation, diagnosis of pain syndromes, rationales for management, treatment modalities, and much more.

The trusted resource that asks the right questions so that you'll be equipped with the answers! Part of the successful PreTest series, the new edition of PreTest Obstetrics & Gynecology has been heavily revised to reflect all the critical new information needed to succeed on your rotation and on the shelf exam. It features hundreds of high yield questions, along with clear, targeted answers explaining both correct and incorrect answer choices.

Brought to you by a team of local authors who have set the bar in delivering highly local content and exploring local contemporary case studies that relate to students’ specialisations.

The gold standard of neuroscience texts--updated with hundreds of brand-new images and fully revised content in every chapter - the definitive guide for neuroscientists, neurologists, psychiatrists, students, and residents. Highly detailed chapters on stroke, Parkinson's, and MS build your expertise on these critical topics.

Psychiatry: PreTest is the perfect way to assess your knowledge for the psychiatry shelf exam and the USMLE Step 2 CK exam. You'll find hundreds of Board questions and answers that address the clerkship's core competencies, along with detailed explanations of both correct and incorrect answers.

Go-to guide for practicing physicians and allied health staff confronted with the unique problems of an increasing elderly population. Fully updated and revised, it provides a practical guide for all health specialists, emphasizing the clinical management of the elderly patient with simple to complex problems.

Delivers a comprehensive and accessible overview of the essentials of respiratory medicine, including a review of respiratory anatomy and physiology, as well as the aetiology, epidemiology, symptoms, and management of a wide range of respiratory diseases.

This trusted, popular guide provides a high-yield review of the most important aspects of microbiology and immunology in a concise yet comprehensive style. Covers both basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology. Important infectious diseases are discussed using an organ system approach.

Provides a wealth of information on malformation syndromes of environmental and genetic etiology, recognizable disorders of unknown cause, clinical approaches to specific diagnoses, and normal standards of measurement for the entire spectrum of disorders.

Fully updated and easy to use, it covers recent developments and current information in family medicine, providing the assistance you need to ensure success on the ABFM exam. Uses realistic case problems as a basis for questions on diagnosis and management, with detailed answers that explain both correct and incorrect responses.

Now in its fourth edition, the Toxicology Handbook is Australia's leading reference guide for quick and evidence-informed decision making on treatment of the acutely poisoned patient. The book has been streamlined and fully updated to provide a comprehensive yet concise guide for all medical practitioners and health-care professionals who deal with poisonings. It contains quickly accessible information on poisons, toxins, antidotes, envenomings and antivenoms, and uses a structured and rigorous risk assessment-based approach to guide appropriate treatment decisions.

Understanding Health introduces foundational knowledge for a broad range of contemporary health subjects. It explains the various factors that influence health, and what we can do as a society to improve people’s health and wellbeing. This book encourages students to analyse the complex range of interactions that influence health at individual, community and global levels through a social justice and health equity lens.

Prepares you to assist physicians in the decision-making process regarding treatment, evaluation of the treatment's effectiveness, and determining if changes in the treatment need to be made. Comprehensive approach addresses all of the most important aspects and topics of assessment, so you can learn to assess patients effectively. Case studies provide real-life clinical scenarios challenging you to interpret data and make accurate patient assessments.

The new edition of this authoritative, evidence-based work maintains its trademark comprehensive coverage and applicability at the bedside, while offering the most current information and insights. The 26th Edition delivers expert coverage of obstetrical complications, such as preterm labor, pregnancy-related hypertension, infection, and hemorrhage. It additionally offers foundational content on reproductive anatomy, physiology, and prenatal care.