New Resources in Campbelltown Hospital Library

150 ECG Cases presents clinical problems in the shape of simple case histories together with the relevant ECG. Detailed answers concentrate on the clinical interpretation of the results and give advice on what to do. The book can be used as a standalone method of practising ECG interpretation, and even with the most difficult ECGs a beginner will be able to make an accurate description of the trace and will be guided towards the key aspects of the interpretation.

This unique book presents a wealth of information on common presentations and illnesses, presented as medical case studies. It is useful for exam preparation, as a quick reference guide for working doctors, and as an interesting read for all those interested in medicine. 250 Clinical Cases covers a wide variety of conditions, providing in-depth insights into the most relevant topics, classified by system. Cases are accompanied by common viva voce examination questions as well as more advanced level questions that will help the reader develop a deeper understanding.

Firmly established as the leading introductory textbook of orthopaedic practice and the principles of fracture and trauma management. Key features: Focused - on diseases and clinical signs with additional detail on anatomy where appropriate International - enhanced coverage of 'global orthopaedics' reflect the changing pattern of musculoskeletal disease and trauma around the world Relevant - provides helpful guidance on simple procedures without unnecessary operative detail

The Australian health care system is a comprehensive and forward-looking overview of the structure and operation of health systems and services in Australia. It analyses how the inputs of Australian health services impact and influence the outcomes on individuals, communities and policies. The Australian health care system uses the criteria of equity, quality, efficiency and acceptability to evaluate Australia's health care system.

This highly regarded text includes fully-illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right. NEW! Expanded Unit provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches.

Essential reading for all healthcare students learning about the bones and joints of the body. The information is logically ordered and easy to read; comprehensive enough for students and health professionals alike, but not so dense as to be overwhelming. It covers the normal structure of bones and joints and goes on to provide an introduction to common fractures and pathology and how they appear on imaging.

The essential reference guide to understanding all things circulatory. Featuring brand new content on stroke, examination and imaging, heart block and ECGs, and myopathies and channelopathies.

Case Files®: Emergency Medicine, Fifth Edition delivers 60 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in emergency medicine. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, high-yield presentation of key diagnostic and treatment information, This fifth edition includes important new information on COVID-19, opioid overdose, social issues in emergency medicine, medical errors, inter-professional teamwork, endocrine emergencies, viral meningitis, and vertigo.

The 60 cases in Case Files Obstetrics & Gynecology feature realistic clinical scenarios designed to help you enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and Board-style review questions to reinforce learning.

The fully updated new edition of the classic textbook, introducing the pathophysiology and management of immunological disorders, contains the knowledge necessary to understand the diagnosis and treatment of immunological disorders. Fully updated throughout, the seventh edition provides up-to-date coverage of the clinical relevance that immunology has in medicine. These new and revised sections examine current research trends, the implementation of automation in laboratories, the emerging field of neuro-psychiatric disorders such as NMDA receptor encephalitis and more.

A realistic look at treating respiratory diseases! This book gives you the fundamental knowledge and understanding required to successfully assess and treat patients with respiratory diseases. This foundation helps you learn how to systematically gather relevant clinical data; make an objective evaluation; identify the desired outcome and formulate an assessment; design a safe, appropriate, and effective treatment plan; and document all the steps involved.

Fully updated to keep pace with the changes to the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) Exam, the fifth edition of The Complete Guide to ECGs provides a unique and practical way for physicians in training, fellows, residents, and other medical professionals to improve their ECG interpretation skills.

For over forty years, Cotton and Williams' Practical Gastrointestinal Endoscopy has offered a clear, accessible introduction to the fundamentals of endoscopy, from patient positioning to the range of available procedures. Now updated by a new authorial team to reflect the latest advances in endoscopic procedures, this text promises to serve a new generation of trainees and specialists as the essential introduction to upper and lower gastrointestinal endoscopy.

Crash Course - your effective every-day study companion PLUS the perfect antidote for exam stress! Save time and be assured you have the essential information you need in one place to excel on your course and achieve exam success. Especially written by senior students or junior doctors - those who understand what is essential for exam success - with all information thoroughly checked and quality assured by expert Faculty Advisers, the result are books which exactly meet your needs and you know you can trust.

Popular among healthcare students and newly qualified practitioners for its concise, simple approach and excellent illustrations - provides a succinct, accessible, highly illustrated introduction to the care of the critically ill patient. Designed for medical students, junior doctors and nurses alike, this authoritative revision guide covers the essential clinical, diagnostic, and therapeutic skills required to manage critically ill patients with a wide range of conditions in a variety of settings.

The Systems of the Body series has established itself as a highly valuable resource for medical and other health science students following today's systems-based courses. It provides highly accessible coverage of the core basic science principles in the context of clinical case histories, giving the reader a fully integrated understanding of the system and its major diseases.

The drug information you need to pass the boards and make effective drug therapy decisions; all in one convenient portable guide Expertly written and easy to read, Pharmacotherapy Handbook delivers key content for students studying for their boards, and it offers the essential information required for effective clinical practice.

his bestselling title has established itself as the ultimate guide to patient communication for all doctors, whatever their experience and wherever they practice. Highly respected by many and acclaimed for its light, conversational tone, this completely updated and expanded eighth edition remains a key text for doctors at all levels and in all settings, particularly candidates sitting for the Membership of the Royal College of General Practitioners.

Delivers a logical, systematic approach to hands-on orthopedic treatment. This new edition emphasizing the appropriate use of manual techniques and therapeutic exercise while outlining the correct applications of multiple adjuncts to the rehabilitative process. Aided by decision-making algorithms, this comprehensive guide covers anatomy, biomechanics, examination, and treatment of each joint and region and features.

This book offers a more visual, less intimidating way to identify and interpret basic heart dysrhythmias. Each ECG rhythm includes a clear description, a sample ECG rhythm strip, possible signs and symptoms related to each rhythm, and recommended treatment. For more practice, additional rhythm strips and review exercises are provided at the end of each chapter.

Provides a solid foundation in respiratory care and covers the latest advances in this ever-changing field. Known as "the bible for respiratory care," this text makes it easy to understand the role of the respiratory therapist, the scientific basis for treatment, and clinical applications.

Provides medical students and junior doctors with the key information needed to understand mechanisms of endocrine conditions. This popular revision guide covers endocrine anatomy and physiology, scientific background, clinical presentations, diagnosis and management of various endocrine disorders.

Examination of the Newborn is essential reading for students and practitioners involved in neonatal examinations. New and expanded topics include history taking and the examination of the newborn, midwifery professional issues, the use of pulse oximetry, and the importance of observing maternal and infant attachment during examination. Standards of clinical practice Includes contributions from a multidisciplinary team of specialists, covering cardiovascular and respiratory assessment; examinations of skin, head, neck and eyes; chromosomal and genetic problems; newborn behavioural aspects, and more.

For more than three decades, Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology has remained one of the bestselling dermatology books in the world. This concise, quick-reference guide has virtually defined the field for thousands of physicians, dermatology residents, and medical students. Covering the most essential content on skin problems, this updated ninth edition combines laser-precise color images of skin lesions along with an overview of epidemiology and pathophysiology, and detailed information on diagnosis and treatment.

The definitive overview of haematology and its recent developments Haematology has advanced considerably in recent decades. As new developments emerge, there is a continuous need for an accessible and up-to-date survey for medical students, discussing the major haematological disorders, their clinical presentations, their treatments, and more. Written by specialists with an interest in medical education, Lecture Notes: Haematology is a succinct, highly illustrated student guide to the essentials of this important field.

The field's definitive text--updated with the latest advances in critical care and 1,000+ color images Comprehensive and current, Hall's Principles of Critical Care is the authoritative guide to diagnosing and treating the most common problems encountered in the practice of critical care.

This sixth edition of the acclaimed and award-winning 'Sunflower book' comprehensively covers the undergraduate curriculum in paediatrics and child health. Topics are made accessible with numerous colour images, diagrams and case studies, and revision is facilitated by key points and summary boxes. Case studies to explain important or complex clinical problem Key learning points: the editors identify the most clinically relevant facts. Summary boxes to aid revision.

The Immune System is a concise yet thorough human-oriented introduction to how the human immune system works. It provides an up-to-date presentation of the field, written in an accessible style, replete with relevant medical examples. Plentiful illustrations and micrographs complement and illuminate the explanations.

Easy-to-read, comprehensive coverage of human embryonic development for today's students. It integrates anatomy and histology with cellular and molecular mechanisms, focusing on both normal development and congenital anomalies. Highly illustrated with superb drawings and photographs, it features a strong clinical focus based on the most up-to-date scientific discoveries and understanding. Contains new information on gene editing via CRISPr technology, organoids and the study of human disease, transcription factors and signaling pathways, and single cell sequencing.

An ideal introduction to the basic principles of this specialty for medical students, trainees, midwives and nurses. Intervention rates continue to climb; women in the developed world embark on pregnancy later in life and with more complex medical disorders. The book comprehensively and clearly presents all the major components of women's reproductive health, from the basics of history and examination through to pelvic anatomy, development of the fetus, and maternal psychosocial issues.

Interpreting an ECG correctly and working out what to do next can seem like a daunting task to the non-specialist, yet it is a skill that will be invaluable to any doctor, nurse or paramedic when evaluating the condition of a patient. Making Sense of the ECG has been written specifically with this in mind, and will help the student and more experienced healthcare practitioner to identify and answer crucial questions.

Pathophysiology - what is the cause? Clinical significance - what does it mean? Diagnosis and treatment - what is the predictive value? These are questions that all clinicians should continue to ask themselves from the very beginning of medical training and throughout a lifetime of practice. Organised by body system, Mechanisms of Clinical Signs 3e describes the underlying pathway, differential diagnoses and value of the clinical signs seen during physical examination.

Long regarded as the undisputed leading text of its kind, provides comprehensive yet concise coverage of both basic science and clinical topics in anesthesiology. Updated to reflect the latest advances in practice and important aspects of contemporary anesthesia care, including pathophysiology, pharmacology, regional anesthesia, anesthetic management, and special problems and patient groups.

Known for its hallmark Clinical Blue Boxes, Moore's Essential Clinical Anatomy, 7th Edition, combines an easy-to-read approach, dynamic surface anatomy and medical imaging features to build clinical confidence and equip users for success from foundational science courses through clinical training and practice.

Provides a solid foundation in the assessment and treatment of respiratory disorders in children. Clear, full-color coverage simplifies the concepts of respiratory care while emphasizing clinical application. Reflecting the changing face of this profession, this edition unpacks care strategies with coverage of the newest treatment algorithms, interventions, mechanical ventilation technologies, and more.

Now fully revised and updated, offers concise, superbly illustrated coverage of neuroanatomy, that throughout makes clear the relevance of the anatomy to the practice of modern clinical neurology. Generations of readers have come to appreciate the straightforward explanations of complex concepts that students often find difficult, with minimum assumptions made of prior knowledge of the subject.

For over thirty years, the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Specialties has guided students and junior doctors through their clinical placements, renowned for providing all the information needed for both practice and revision in a deceptively small package. Now in its eleventh edition, the Handbook has been revitalized by an expanded team of clincial experts to guide you through each of the specialties you will encounter through your medical school and Foundation Programme rotations, while remaining true to the humanity and patient focus of the original edition.

This new fourth edition of the Oxford Handbook of Psychiatry is the essential, evidence-based companion to all aspects of psychiatry, from diagnosis and conducting a clinical interview to management by subspecialty. Fully updated to reflect changes to the legislature and classification of psychiatric disorders, and with coverage of the anticipated ICD-11 coding, this Handbook provides the latest advances in both clinical practice and management today.

Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. Practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in the practice of pediatrics. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams.

Rang and Dale’s Pharmacology is internationally acknowledged as the core textbook for students of pharmacology, and has provided accessible, up-to-date information on drugs and their mechanism of action for more than 30 years.

Concisely written and evidence based throughout, it covers the breadth of material required for certification and practice of general surgery, highlighted by detailed, full-color intraoperative illustrations. Covers key topics such as emerging surgical technologies and devices, regenerative medicine, the latest concepts in cancer biology and treatments, and evidence-based management and treatment. Emphasizes the most up-to-date minimally invasive techniques and the use of robotics when indicated.

With expert guidance on all aspects of gynecologic surgery, this book remains your go-to resource from preoperative to postoperative care. Comprehensive, step-by-step instructions on how to perform all contemporary gynecologic procedures, updated diagnostic and management approaches make this classic text an ideal reference for trainees as well as experienced practitioners.

This leading text is essential reading for all those working in the paediatric emergency medicine setting who require concise, highly practical guidance that incorporates the latest best practice and evidence-based guidelines.

This case-based guide teaches systematic analysis of chest X rays for everyone from complete beginners to professionals. Readers practise X ray interpretation on 100 high quality images based on real-life scenarios. Over each page is a model report accompanied by a fully annotated version of the X ray to explain the reasoning. 100 Practice Chest X Rays is ideal for students preparing for examinations and will also provide a handy reference for postgraduates and practising doctors.