New Resources in Campbelltown Hospital Library

The current edition of this eBook has been updated (Nov 2021) to support the latest RANZCOG Intrapartum Fetal Surveillance (IFS) Guideline. This is an essential and easy-to-read resource for all clinicians involved in the care of women in pregnancy and labour. Over 60 examples of real CTGs (1cm/min) are provided, supported by detailed descriptions and guided interpretation.

Prepare with confidence for the Endocrinology and Diabetes Speciality Certificate Examination with this dedicated revision guide containing over 300 best of five questions covering the main themes of the curriculum. The questions mirror the format that the candidates can expect to find in the exam and cover all of the key topics, including pituitary and hypothalamus gland, thyroid gland, bone disease, adrenal glands, diabetes, and lipid metabolism. Best of Five MCQs for the Endocrinology SCE is designed specifically for this new high-stakes exam. It contains over 300 best of five questions with explanatory answers, each accurately reflecting the layout of questions in the exam.

This book summarizes the branch tracing method for bronchoscopic diagnosis. Cytopathological and histopathological diagnoses are essential to making prognoses and selecting appropriate treatment for peripheral pulmonary lesions, notably lung cancer.

In The End of Mental Illness, Dr. Amen draws on the latest findings of neuroscience to challenge an outdated psychiatric paradigm and help readers take control and improve the health of their own brain, minimizing or reversing conditions that may be preventing them from living a full and emotionally healthy life.

Invasive ventilation is a frequently used lifesaving intervention in critical care. The ERS Practical Handbook of Invasive Mechanical Ventilation provides a concise "why and how to" guide to invasive ventilation, ensuring that caregivers can not only apply invasive ventilation, but obtain a thorough understanding of the underlying principles ensuring that they and their patients gain the most value from this intervention.

The ERS Practical Handbook of Noninvasive Ventilation provides a concise "why and how to" guide to NIV from the basics of equipment and patient selection to discharge planning and community care. Editor Anita K. Simonds has brought together leading clinicians and researchers in the field to provide an easy-to-read guide to all aspects of NIV.

Designed to improve the quality, outcomes, and cost-effectiveness of health care, these guidelines are the result of collaboration between leading practitioners and educators in geriatric nursing and New York University College of Nursing. Protocols for each clinical condition have been developed by experts in that particular area, and most have been systematically tested by over 300 participating hospitals in "Nurses Improving Care for Health System Elders" (NICHE). Evidence is derived from all levels of care, including community, primary, and long-term care.

This step-by-step guide to the key points of conducting the GYN exam addresses everything primary care providers need to know, from basic procedures to high-level challenges. Part I breaks down the GYN exam into clinical parts, emphasizing strategies to decrease anxiety and minimize discomfort at every stage of the exam. Part II walks the caregiver through the exam for women at every stage of the life span, sexually abused women, obese women, and women who have undergone genital mutilation. This second edition delivers an all-new chapter on providing care to transgender and LGBT individuals and also includes new information on intimate partner violence and working with adolescents and menopausal and older women.

Offers practical guidance for teams and organizations who are serious about success in the modern economy. With so much riding on innovation, creativity, and spark, it is essential to attract and retain quality talent--but what good does this talent do if no one is able to speak their mind? The traditional culture of "fitting in" and "going along" spells doom in the knowledge economy.

Lifestyle - the manner in which people live - is fundamental to health, wellness, and prevention of disease. It follows that attention to lifestyle is critically important to effective and successful health care. But here's the challenge: health care professionals receive very little, if any, formal training about lifestyle counseling and therefore are ill equipped to incorporate lifestyle issues into clinical practice. In response, "Lifestyle Medicine" is evolving as a means to fill this knowledge gap. Lifestyle medicine approaches health and wellness by harnessing the power of lifestyle-related behaviors and influencing the environment we live in.

Expert nursing care is vital to women's health, and successful gynaecological treatment relies on a good partnership between the woman and the health professional. Fully updated for its second edition, the Oxford Handbook of Women's Health Nursing is a vital tool in helping practitioners assist women in making informed choices and keeping up-to-date with changes to the field.

Includes: A to Z list of pathologies
Contraindications to treatment
Pharmacology section with over 150 drugs described
Biochemical and haematological values
Common abbreviations

This Monograph provides the clinician with an up-to-date summary of the substantial evidence in our understanding of pleural disease. It covers key aspects relevant to clinicians, including mechanisms, pathophysiology, epidemiology, diagnostics, relevant experimental models and interventions. Although broad in scope, readers will be able to reach into individual chapters to gain a focused summary of specific areas relevant to their clinical or scientific practice.

A practical guide to providing home-based mental health services, Featuring contributions from experienced, board-certified home care psychologists, social workers, and psychiatrists, the book explains the multifaceted role of a home-based provider, offers concrete and practical considerations for working within the home, and highlights adaptations to specific evidence-based methods used in treating homebound older adults. Also covered are special topics related to hoarding, safety, capacity evaluations, caregivers, case management, and use of technology.

Paediatric emergency medicine can be a challenging and difficult area for doctors. Children cannot always communicate their problems verbally, while parents are anxious and the possibility of a missed diagnosis is ever present. This text provides clear, concise and comprehensive coverage of all the major topics that present within paediatric emergency medicine. It offers a consensus approach to diagnosis and treatment, drawing on the latest evidence available..

Thoracic ultrasound is now considered an essential bedside tool in respiratory medicine. Despite this, several aspects are yet to be studied and assessed, and international consensus remains limited. With this in mind, the Guest Editors of this Monograph have selected a broad range of authors who are recognised experts, represent different specialities and use thoracic ultrasound in different settings. The result is that each chapter not only reflects expert opinion at a single site in Europe, but provides a multidisciplinary and multicentre view.

An up-to-date, practical guide to cognitive function and its assessment to ensure readers have a conceptual knowledge of normal psychological function and how to interpret their findings. Organized into 8 chapters, this resource offers a framework in which various aspects of cognition are considered. This includes the representation of cognition in the brain (such as attention and memory), focal representation (such as language, praxis and spatial abilities), detailed descriptions of tthe major syndromes encountered in clinical practice, and discussions on taking a patient's history and performing cognitive testing.

The Eighth Edition of this key textbook has been revised and updated throughout, and reflects changes since the implementation of the Affordable Care Act (ACA). In addition to its revised treatment of health insurance, the text also introduces the key literature on social capital as it applies to individual and public health, as well as looking at public health initiatives relating to population health and economic equity, and comparing numerous policies across Western countries, China, and the developing world. It provides up-to-date discussions on current issues, as well as a comprehensive bibliography with over 1,100 references. Extra material and teaching resources are now also available through the brand new companion website, which provides full sets of discussion questions, exercises, presentation slides, and a test bank. This book demonstrates the multiplicity of ways in which economists analyze the health care system, and is suitable for courses in Health Economics, Health Policy/Systems, or Public Health, taken by health services students or practitioners.

Are Flashbulb memories special or ordinary memory formations? Are emotional, cognitive, or social factors highly relevant for the formation of Flashbulb memories? What is the difference between Flashbulb memories, memories of traumatic experiences, and highly vivid personal memories? How can we provide a valid and reliable measure for Flashbulb memories? This edition of Flashbulb Memories: New Challenges and Future Perspectives revisits these questions, considering significant new evidence and research in the field.

After more than 160 years of continuous publication, Gray's Anatomy remains the definitive, comprehensive reference on the subject, offering ready access to the information you need to ensure safe, effective practice. This 42nd edition has been meticulously revised and updated throughout, reflecting the very latest understanding of clinical anatomy from the world's leading clinicians and biomedical scientists.

Habif's Clinical Dermatology provides superbly illustrated, easy-to-follow guidance on skin conditions commonly seen in practice. This bestselling manual helps you identify, treat, and manage even hard-to-diagnose skin disorders and provides state-of-the-art answers on every aspect of dermatologic care.

Ethical challenges occur almost routinely in health care. Issues of informed consent, respect for patients' dignity and confidentiality, the balance between patient and family rights, and billing for services under managed care are just a few of the topics that challenge psychologists to uphold their ethical obligations across the health care continuum. This casebook offers a real-life view of ethical situations as they unfold, including case-by-case consideration of critical background information, key stakeholders, the direct relevance of specific APA principles and standards, and suggested steps to resolve ethical issues.

An indispensable review and study guide for anyone preparing for the challenging FRACP exam. This up-to-date resource fully aligns with the current FRACP core training curriculum, containing a wealth of MCQs as well as extended-matching questions (EMQs).

The definitive guide to motivational interviewing (MI) for health care practitioners has been completely revised to reflect important developments and make the approach even more accessible. When it comes to helping patients manage chronic and acute conditions and make healthier choices in such areas as medication adherence, smoking, diet, and preventive care, good advice alone is not enough. This indispensable book shows how to use MI techniques to transform conversations about change.

The authors show how to use motivational interviewing (MI) to have productive conversations about behavior change with adolescents and young adults in any clinical context. This book provides vital tools for helping young people open up about their struggles, explore alternatives, and make healthier choices around such concerns as substance use, smoking, anxiety, medication adherence, and obesity.

The book is structured into four sections. 'Foundations of Care' describes core issues, the foundations on which paediatric palliative care is based. 'Child and Family Care' looks at different aspects of psychological, social, and cultural care for the sick child or young person, and their family. These chapters cover the time course of the illness, around the time of death and support for the bereaved family. 'Symptom Care' focuses on the uses of medication, specific symptoms, and their management. Finally, 'Delivery of Care' examines practical approaches to care in different environments and the needs of clinicians. Two new chapters look at 'Decision Making' and 'Perinatal Care', and a new section highlighting the emerging importance of 'Palliative Care for Children in Humanitarian Crises'. This book is an essential resource for anyone who works with children worldwide.

Over the last 25 years the theory, practice, research evidence base, and clinical applications have developed, generating widespread adoption of the principles of public health approaches to palliative care. The essential principles of prevention, harm reduction, early intervention, and health and wellbeing promotion can be applied to the universal experience of end of life, irrespective of disease or diagnosis. Compassionate communities have become a routine part of the strategy and service development in palliative care, both within the UK and internationally.

This essential resource encourages readers to see the links between the pathophysiology of a disease, how this creates the signs and symptoms perceived by the patient and how these need to be managed in the out-of-hospital environment. Additionally, Paramedic Principles and Practice 2e will arm readers with not only technical knowledge and expertise, but also the non-technical components of providing emergency care-including professional attitudes and behaviours, clinical competence, teamwork and communication skills.

Deb Dana is the foremost translator of polyvagal theory into clinical practice. These exercises offer readily understandable explanations of the ways the autonomic nervous system directs daily living. They use the principles of polyvagal theory to guide clients to safely connect to their autonomic responses and navigate daily experiences in new ways.

The official source for APA Style, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication.

Presented in full color, the Twenty-Third Edition provides an up-to-date, in-depth survey of pediatric medicine unmatched by any other text. With its algorithmic approach to pediatric systems, the book facilitates the diagnosis and treatment of both common and uncommon pediatric illnesses; and it reflects new technologies and advances in molecular medicine that continue to evolve with current thinking about normal childhood development and pediatric disease processes.

Textbook of Surgery is a core book for medical and surgical students providing a comprehensive overview of general and speciality surgery. Each topic is written by an expert in the field. The book focuses on the principles and techniques of surgical management of common diseases. Great emphasis is placed on problem-solving to guide students and junior doctors through their surgical training.