New Resources in the Ken Merten Library, Liverpool Hospital

A guide for anyone experiencing or caring for someone with bladder or bowel problems. It covers the types and causes of incontinence and the treatment and management options available.

A concise, practical guide to the diagnosis, treatment and management of common allergy and asthma conditions in primary care. This book guides readers through the basic immunology and pathophysiology and then provides details on all aspects of the clinical assessment of allergic patients: History-taking Clinical examination Investigations and imaging A broad range of allergies is then presented with succinct clinical advice detailing the causes, diagnosis and treatment of each allergy in turn. Asthma is covered separately using the latest asthma guidelines to describe the risk factors, stratification, and accurate diagnosis. This is followed by a concise presentation of asthma management and monitoring in primary care.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

The Blood Book has been developed to assist Australian health professionals in safe bedside transfusion practice.

Clinical lactation training guide for health care professionals and students studying for lactation certification exams. 400 color photos, case studies, reviews of evidence-based clinical management for lactation care.

Browse's Introduction to the Symptoms & Signs of Surgical Disease is essential reading for all medical students learning the fundamentals of history taking and patient examination, when undertaking a surgical rotation, when preparing for their surgical exams and as they transition to postgraduate studies.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

Dermatology Secrets , 6th Edition, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

ECG Interpretation Made Ridiculously Simple is designed to provide present-day clinicians and trainees with a lucid, straightforward summary of the fundamental principles of ECG analysis and interpretation. Written by the clinician for the clinician, this handy guide distills basic ECG concepts into a concise, clear, minimum, while including the essential information to read and interpret ECG’s accurately and confidently.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

Emergency Medicine Secrets, 7th Edition, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

Emergency Ultrasound Made Easy brings together in one volume the latest indications for focused ultrasound, including those related to the COVID-19 pandemic. The text is highly accessible and easy to use in an emergency. It is aimed at the rapidly expanding cohort of non-radiologist clinical sonographers who use focused ultrasound. However, its broad scope (for example using ultrasound in the rapid diagnosis of DVT) makes it an invaluable addition to the library of any doctor with an interest in the technique, whether in primary care or the hospital setting.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

ENT Secrets, 5th Edition, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format: that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. Coverage includes the full range of topics in otolaryngology, from basic science to obstructive sleep apnea to the aging neck and face. New chapters cover pharyngitis and laryngitis, evaluation of hearing, hearing loss and ototoxicity, and cochlear implants.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

Developed by world leaders in lactational pharmacology, this essential reference contains the most current, complete, and evidence-based information available on the transmission of maternal drugs into human milk. It thoroughly addresses one of the most commonly asked questions by breastfeeding mothers-which drugs are safe, and which are hazardous for the infant?

Hypertension Secrets, 2nd Edition, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

This sixth edition of the acclaimed and award-winning 'Sunflower book' comprehensively covers the undergraduate curriculum in paediatrics and child health. Topics are made accessible with numerous colour images, diagrams and case studies, and revision is facilitated by key points and summary boxes. Case studies to explain important or complex clinical problem Key learning points: the editors identify the most clinically relevant facts. Summary boxes to aid revision.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

The Johns Hopkins Manual of Gynecology and Obstetrics is a trusted reference for obstetrics, high-risk obstetrics, gynecology, reproductive endocrinology, infertility, and gynecologic oncology. New sections on female pelvic medicine/reconstructive surgery and general surgery in obstetrics and gynecology. New chapters cover multifetal pregnancy, substance abuse, psychiatric diseases, neoplastic diseases, hereditary cancer syndromes, and more.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

Lecture Notes: Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics provides concise, yet thorough coverage of the principles of clinical pharmacology, the major characteristics of therapeutics, and the practical aspects of prescribing drugs to alleviate symptoms and to treat disease. Whether you are preparing for examinations or prescribing to patients, the tenth edition offers readers current and authoritative insight into the essential practical and clinical knowledge. Logically organised chapters allow for rapid location of key information, while examples of commonly encountered scenarios illustrate how and when to use drugs in clinical situations.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

This fully revised and updated new edition presents the fundamental core knowledge of film interpretation, specialised radiological investigations, and procedures for imaging specific problems. The book explores common diseases and disorders complemented by good quality radiology images and full-colour illustrations. Concise chapters, organised by body systems cover investigations of the respiratory and gastrointestinal tracts, the cardiovascular and musculoskeletal systems, the liver and pancreas, and many others.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

This is a book of key statistics principles for anyone studying or working in medicine and healthcare who needs a basic overview of the subject. It is ideal for non-statisticians who need to understand how statistics are used and applied in medicine and medical research. Using a consistent format, the authors describe the most common statistical methods in turn and then rate them on how difficult they are to understand and how common they are. The worked examples that demonstrate the statistical method in action have been updated to include current articles from the medical literature and now feature a wider range of medical journals.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

Perioperative Nursing, An Introduction 3rd edition provides a solid foundation for both undergraduate and post-graduate students, and novice perioperative nurses embarking on their career. Presented in two sections: Professional Practice and Clinical Practice, the text provides an overview of the key concepts, challenges and scope of practice across a range of perioperative environments including: anaesthetics, intraoperative and postanaesthetic recovery care, day surgery and evolving perioperative practices outside of hospital settings. New patient scenarios woven through the text provide the context for the reader to engage in reflective thinking on the patient journey and place the novice practitioner 'into the workplace' to exemplify practice points, rationales and clinical decision making.

"This hard-cover volume contains a collection of articles and resources, written by Ray during his long career as a social worker/psychologist specializing in marriage and relationship counselling."

Written in a rapid-fire question-and-answer format ideal for learning on the go, this best-selling clerkship resource covers both general surgery and surgical subspecialties and provides accurate, on-the-spot answers to the questions most likely encountered during rotations and on the shelf exam. Rapid-Fire Reviews at the end of most chapters and a pre-and post-book test evaluate students' knowledge, demonstrate students' level of mastery, and identify areas for further focus. Background sections deliver practice advice and tricks of the trade. Hundreds of mnemonics, acronyms, tips, prompts, and hints help students master and retain essential knowledge.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

Understanding the Australian Health Care System 4e is the essential guide to the complexities of health care in Australia. Key theoretical concepts and current issues along with the structures and policies influencing health care professionals are explored by leading experts led by authors, Eileen Willis, Louise Reynolds and Trudy Rudge. The text is divided into two sections. The first is about the multiple systems, services and schemes that make up health care in Australia. The second explores the roles of fifteen health professions working within the current system, with a focus on key themes of interprofessional practice, chronic illness, and quality and safety.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.