New Resources in Bankstown- Lidcombe Hospital Library

100 Cases in Obstetrics and Gynaecology presents 100 obstetric- or gynaecology-related scenarios commonly seen by medical students and junior doctors in the emergency department, outpatient clinic or on the ward. These true-to-life cases, fully revised and updated for this third edition, will teach students and junior doctors to recognize important obstetric and gynaecological conditions, and to develop their diagnostic and management skills.

In ABC of Neurodevelopmental Disorders, Dr Munib Haroon delivers an insightful and practical introduction to various neurodevelopmental conditions, as well as discussions about their most common comorbid mental health conditions. The author offers a broad overview of neurodiversity and neurodevelopmental disorders to help you understand how people who are neurodivergent may present in a clinical environment, how they should be assessed, and how they can best be managed.

This innovative handbook bridges the gap between the colorectal surgeon, the stoma nurse and the dermatologist. It addresses the questions of what pathology is involved, what can be done by nurses, when to refer to a dermatologist, and what can be done by a dermatologist.

Advanced Vaccination Technologies for Infectious and Chronic Diseases is a comprehensive guide that delves into the intricate details of vaccine design, development across various platforms, and the path to commercialization. This book provides an introductory overview of vaccines, covering various types, developmental methodologies, delivery systems, adjuvants, immunization, and measurement of vaccine efficacy.

Experience with clinical cases is key to mastering the art and science of medicine and ultimately in providing patients with competent clinical care. Case Files®: Internal Medicine provides 60 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in Internal Medicine. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and board-style review questions to reinforce your learning.

Cases in Pediatric Acute Care presents over 100 real-world pediatric acute care cases, each including a brief patient history, a detailed history of present illness, presenting signs and symptoms, vital signs, and physical examination findings. Ideal for developing a systematic approach to diagnosis, evaluation, and treatment, this resource provides students and advanced practitioners with the tools required to deliver comprehensive care to acute, chronic and critically ill children.

This 2019 edition features brand new content to reflect the most recent updates for medical licensing exams, along with a new layout across all 31 chapters for enhanced readability.

The new edition of this well regarded book introduces the underpinning theory and concepts required for the development of first class communication and interpersonal skills in nursing. By providing a simple to read overview of the central topics, students are able to quickly gain a solid, evidence-based grounding in the subject.

This volume represents a clear, jargon-free overview of diagnostic categories with helpful hints regarding a psychiatric interview. Completely revised and updated, detailing current innovations in theory and practice, including recent changes in the DSM-IV.

This text is a comprehensive and up-to-date review of the knowledge and skills clinicians need to appraise clinical research papers. This new edition has a modified structure, new and updated chapters, new figures and scenarios, and more help with difficult topics. Also includes excerpts from real clinical papers to illustrate key concepts.

Emergency and Trauma Care for nurses and paramedics is a highly respected emergency care text for nursing and paramedicine students and clinicians in Australia and New Zealand. Now in its fourth edition, it provides the most up-to-date and comprehensive coverage of the spectrum of emergency and trauma care.

The eighth edition of this international bestselling emergency medicine handbook has been completely revised and updated to include the latest evidence-based guidelines and treatment protocols underpinning best practice in emergency medical care. Carefully designed to suit the needs of interns and resident doctors working in the emergency department as well as specialist trainees, the book covers the full range of emergencies - general medical, infectious disease and foreign travel-related, toxicological, surgical, paediatric, obstetric and gynaecological, ophthalmic and psychiatric - as well as practical procedures and administrative and legal issues.

For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. ENT Secrets, 5th Edition, offers up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable.

This text features lively, clear writing and exceptional illustrations, making it the ideal textbook for a first course in both cell and molecular biology. Thoroughly revised and updated, the Fifth Edition maintains its focus on the latest cell biology research.

Written by Nicholas J Talley, Simon O'Connor and Brad Frankum, this engaging and instructive text provides practical pathways to diagnosis and up-to-date strategies for implementing evidence-based treatments for prevalent conditions. Learn how to: identify what is clinically important understand and investigate disease create an effective strategy for treatment use technological diagnostic tools.

This third edition Health and Human Behaviour introduces students in the health professions and biomedical sciences to the different models of thinking around health. Through an examination of psychological, personal and social influences on health, the authors demonstrate that wellness and illness are more than biological states, but are also social and personal events. The text reinforces the links between the theories of health behaviour, and their application in a practical health care setting.

Now in its second edition, Hematology Board Review has been thoroughly revised and updated to contain the latest information that fellows and clinicians need to successfully prepare for the Hematology Certification Exam administered by the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM). The new edition now contains even more high yield board study content and review questions. For the hematology-oncology fellow, hematologist, medical oncologist, or internist looking to review a given disease or blueprint category prior to their examination, this extremely practical study guide provides the pertinent points of emphasis that are often highlighted on the exam.

How the Immune System Works has helped thousands of students understand what's in their big, thick, immunology textbooks. In his book, Dr. Sompayrac cuts through the jargon and details to reveal, in simple language, the essence of this complex subject. In fifteen easy-to-read chapters, featuring the humorous style and engaging analogies developed by Dr. Sompayrac, How the Immune System Works explains how the immune system players work together to protect us from disease - and, most importantly, why they do it this way.

The ninth edition of this best-selling textbook of clinical medicine builds even further on its formidable, prize-winning formula of excellence, comprehensiveness and accessibility.

Detailed, step-by-step instructions and abundant full-color illustrations make MacDonald's Atlas of Procedures in Neonatology, Sixth Edition, an indispensable resource in the neonatal intensive care nursery. This unique reference uses a practical outline format to present clear, easy-to-follow information on indications, preparation, technique, precautions, and how to avoid potential complications. New chapters, new procedural content, and new videos bring you fully up to date with current practice in the NICU.

This new volume in the popular Illustrated Colour Text series explains everything a non-radiologist needs to know about diagnostic imaging. Richly illustrated, user-friendly page layouts make this information easy to understand and apply.

This brand new revision aid has been designed specifically to help medical students memorize essential clinical facts, invaluable throughout medical studies and particularly useful in the pressured run-up to final exams. Over 100 maps are organized by body system, with a concluding section of miscellaneous examples. The book's format has been designed with the student in mind - it is pocket sized and the maps summarize a variety of aspects, including the definition of the disease, causes, investigations, treatments and complications, to aid in recall.

This new learning and revision aid from the author of the bestselling Mind Maps for Medical Students has been designed specifically to help medical students memorise essential facts in surgical pathology and anatomy, invaluable throughout undergraduate studies, and particularly useful in the pressured run-up to final exams. Over 100 maps, charts, and tables are organised by surgical specialty and anatomical region as appropriate and reflect the latest surgical information and published guidelines. The book has been carefully designed with the student in mind - it is pocket sized and the maps summarise a variety of aspects in a consistent format to aid rapid recall.

The Oxford Handbook of Aphasia and Language Disorders weaves theoretical and neurological foundations with rational, motivated clinical approaches to assessment, diagnosis, and intervention for aphasia and related communication disorders. The contributing authors, experienced clinicians and scientists with strong backgrounds in neurological and cognitive neuropsychological theories, bridge theory to clinical practice, reviewing the extant literature in each aphasia syndrome while exploring implications for guiding clinical decision-making.

A comprehensive textbook covering the design of dosage forms and all aspects of drug delivery systems. 'Pharmaceutics' in its broadest sense is the 'art of the apothecary' or, in simple terms, pharmaceutical preparations. It remains a diverse subject in the pharmacy curriculum, encompassing design of drugs, their manufacture, and the elimination of micro-organisms from the products. This books encompasses all those areas and pays particular attention to the design of dosage forms and their manufacture.

This handy guide is packed full of information to support medical students, junior doctors and other health professionals in making an accurate diagnosis in relation to different presenting complaints. Now in its fifth edition, the Pocketbook takes the reader through the key steps of narrowing a differential diagnosis, including history, examination and investigation findings. It has been fully updated to cover the full range of common presenting problems facing clinicians today.

Project Planning and Management: A Guide for Nurses and Interprofessional Teams, Fourth Edition provides the framework, knowledge, and skills to successfully plan and implement quality improvement projects and assess their sustainability. These skills are a crucial part of healthcare education programs and ongoing healthcare innovation. Because students and clinicians often struggle with taking an idea from the planning phase to execution and assessment, this text is the perfect how-to guide.

The seventh edition of Promoting Health is an essential book for a range of health practitioners to guide their health promotion practice within a comprehensive primary health care context. With a new author team featuring Jane Taylor and Lily O'Hara, the book explores the socio-ecological determinants of health and wellbeing as a foundation for holistic, ecological, salutogenic health promotion practice.

Get the most from your study time...and experience a realistic USMLE simulation! Rapid Review Pathology, by Edward F. Goljan, MD, makes it easy for you to master all of the pathology material covered on the USMLE Step 1. It combines an updated outline-format review of key concepts and hundreds of full-color images and margin notes, PLUS more than 400 USMLE-style online questions.

Understanding the Australian Health Care System 4e is the essential guide to the complexities of health care in Australia. Key theoretical concepts and current issues along with the structures and policies influencing health care professionals are explored by leading experts led by authors, Eileen Willis, Louise Reynolds and Trudy Rudge.

Combining the latest research with a fully integrated teaching approach, Vander's Renal Physiology, Tenth Edition clearly and expertly explains how the kidneys affect other body systems and how they in turn are affected by these systems. This time-tested resource teaches the fundamental principles of the structure, function, and pathologies of the human kidney that are essential for an understanding of clinical medicine.