Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health LibGuide

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples' Health prepares nursing and allied health students for health care practice among Indigenous Australian communities and encourages best clinical practice and skill development. With its focus on cultural competence, community and cultural safety,the text examines theoretical concepts and specific health domains, and provides valued insight into the skills required of health professionals.The text advances the strengths-based approach by highlighting the strengths in communities and health, rather than the deficiencies. The experiences and expert knowledge of the author team are combined with a diverse range of case examples to equip students with an understanding of culturalcompetencies and to prepare them for the diverse and alternative approaches to health care they will need to adopt when working with Indigenous Australians and community groups.

Aboriginal Myths, Legends and Fables presents a wealth of poetic and imaginative tales from Aboriginal cultural heritage. While retelling the stories simply, this book captures the mystical bonds that exist between Aboriginal people, their environment and the spirit life of the Dreamtime. Each story provides the reader with an insight into the fascinating beliefs of one of the oldest living cultures on Earth.

A practical guide to the delivery of health care in rural and remote Australia. Drawing on personal experiences of rural practitioners, historical accounts, literature analysis and epidemiology, it discusses the economic, social and political forces that shape healthcare in rural and remote Australia. With limited current resources to support studies in rural and remote healthcare, this title bridges the gap offering valuable insight into Indigenous life and social determinants of healththrough the use of storytelling. It is the perfect guide for anyone working in or planning to work in rural, remote or Indigenous Australia; and for those undertaking cultural studies, or social policy.

It has been well documented that the health status of many Aboriginal people remains the poorest in Australia despite many years of research, policies and interventions. The third edition of Binan Goonj: Bridging Cultures in Aboriginal Health explores the processes and practices which have created this situation and looks to provide practical strategies to work towards redressing it. Extensively adopted as a teaching text across Australia, Binan Goonj provides coverage of essential Aboriginal health topics in an accessible manner. This edition challenges the reader to examine their own values, the relativity of values and the use of power in society with a writing style that will engage readers from a range of backgrounds.

Burda-burda Balayi Health Professionals and Indigenous Health: Working at the Interface presents a strengths-based focus to help students and practitioners build their understanding of self and others in professional practice to ensure better health outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. The text includes Indigenous and non-Indigenous contexts of history, society and culture, and topics include cultural safety, truth telling, colonialism and shared futures. This book critically examines dominant Western health frameworks that essentialises Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures and health. By providing historical and social context and covering issues affecting public health policy and primary health practice, it aims to diminish conscious bias and racism. With a strong emphasis on research-based Indigenous voices and perspectives, this book provides a culturally safe framework for you to understand the importance of treating Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples effectively and the knowledge needed to do so.

This introductory textbook relates theory to practice and enhances students' learning and understanding of cultural issues that impact on patient care and their own practice as nurses, while considering wider social and political issues. Now in its third edition, Cultural Awareness in Nursing and Health Care has been updated to include new research, evidence and a completely new chapter focusing on the health care workforce itself and the issues it's facing. Other topics include: Health, illness and religious beliefs; Mental health and culture; Women's and men's health in a multicultural society; Caring for the elderly; Death and bereavement.

Why do Aboriginal women in Australia experience such high levels of violence in their own communities? In this considered and carefully researched book, Joan Kimm discusses the extent and nature of the violence, its underlying causes, current policies that deal with it, and changes that might improve these policies. Kimm shows how this multi-faceted environment, particularly the interaction of two patriarchal laws, has had, and continues to have, very real destructive effects on Aboriginal women. Kimm argues powerfully that Aboriginal women, like all women, like all humans, have the universal right to lives free of violence. She contends that current law, policy and practice place too much emphasis on their rights as Indigenous people and too little on their rights as women. A shift in emphasis will be an important first step to safer lives.

Now in its third edition, this core textbook offers a comprehensive framework for creating a culturally safe environment and enhancing health outcomes for Indigenous Australians. Through case studies, discussions, reflections and critiques of health issues in Australia today, Health Care and Indigenous Australians offers a starting point for learning about cultural safety in an Indigenous health context, and is essential for students, academics and practitioners alike. This is key reading for anyone taking courses on Indigenous health modules in nursing, midwifery and health related courses at undergraduate or postgraduate level, as well practitioners and academics

This book discusses multiple contexts for health promotion and ways of structuring the delivery of health promotion programs, analyses contemporary and future thinking about health promotion planning and evaluation models, and provides solutions for health promotion in the 21st century. Section 1 looks at key challenges in contemporary health promotion including redefining health and well-being, constraints on health spending and the economics of health spending, health priorities and risk factors for specific diseases and features a special focuses on Indigenous health. Section 2 covers health promotion settings including individual and population-based approaches, the role of governments and communities, influencing behavior change and the role of policy, legislation and environmental change.

The stories in this book are part of a wide canvas of Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people affected by past practices of removal and separation from families, including by adoption, foster care and out of home care.

A comprehensive, relevant, and accessible look at all aspects of Indigenous Australian history and culture What is The Dreaming? How many different Indigenous tribes and languages once existed in Australia? What is the purpose of a corroboree? What effect do the events of the past have on Indigenous peoples today? Indigenous Australia For Dummies answers these questions and countless others about the oldest race on Earth. It explores Indigenous life in Australia before 1770, the impact of white settlement, the ongoing struggle by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples to secure their human rights and equal treatment under the law, and much more. Celebrating the contributions of Indigenous people to contemporary Australian culture, the book explores Indigenous art, music, dance, literature, film, sport, and spirituality. It discusses the concept of modern Indigenous identity and examines the ongoing challenges facing Indigenous communities today, from health and housing to employment and education, land rights, and self-determination.

An introduction to some of the world's most fascinating and ancient cultures.Discover different approaches to visual arts and performance and find out about important beliefs, traditions, and customs. Also covers the role of family and community and how cultures are changing and developing in the 21st century.

This volume has been written by a diverse group of health professionals, the majority of whom are Indigenous Australians. A life cycle approach has been adopted, with chapters focusing on pregnancy and birthing through to the care and responsibilities of the elderly. These are bookended by the first chapter on Culture, History and Health which contextualises the subsequent content and the final chapter on future directions following the National Apology.

The first edition of our book Journeys into Medicine was launched by the Hon. Warren Snowdon, Minister for Indigenous Health, Rural and Regional Health and Regional Services Delivery at the 2009 AIDA conference in Brisbane. The publication profiles fifteen Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander doctors and five students.

Journeys into Medicine volume 2 aims to inform and share the stories of AIDA’s Indigenous doctors and medical students with a wide audience both within and outside of the medical industry. Our goal when creating a second volume was to inspire Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples to pursue a career within the health industry and to know that there is a community of people to help support and inspire one another.

The Macquarie Atlas of Indigenous Australia is a unique tool for exploring and understanding the lives and cultures of Australia's First Peoples.This second edition of the award-winning Macquarie Atlas of Indigenous Australia opens a window onto the landscape of Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander lives, from over 60,000 years ago to the present time. An atlas visually represents patterns of human activities in space and time. The maps, which form the core of the book, are supplemented by explanatory text and numerous diagrams, photographs and illustrations, including Indigenous artworks.

Everything you'd like to know about Indigenous Australia past and present, presented in an accessible, authoritative and straightforward style. An updated edition of a national bestseller.

The second edition of Our Voices is a ground-breaking collection of writings from Aboriginal social work educators who have collaborated to develop a toolkit of appropriate behaviours, interactions, networks, and intervention. The the text explores a range of current and emerging social work practice issues such as cultural supervision, working with communities, understanding trauma, collaboration and relationship building, and the ubiquity of whiteness in Australian social work. It covers these issues with new and innovative approaches and provides valuable insights into how social work practice can be developed, taught and practiced in ways that more effectively engage Indigenous communities.

Social Determinants of Indigenous Health offers a systematic overview of the relationship between the social and political environment and health. Highly respected contributors from around Australia examine the long-term health impacts of the Indigenous experience of dispossession, colonial rule and racism. They also explore the role of factors such as poverty, class, community and social capital, education, employment and housing. They scrutinise the social dynamics of making policy for Indigenous Australians, and the interrelation between human rights and health. Finally, they outline a framework for effective health interventions, which take social factors into consideration.

The realisation of the human rights of Australia's Indigenous population has been marred by recurring and seemingly intractable issues such as poor health and over-representation in child welfare and juvenile justice systems. In this second edition, Briskman adopts a discursive human rights approach which offers the potential to center Indigenous rights and Indigenous voice.

Fully updated, the book includes new chapters and references to literature and research which have been published since the first edition. There are specific chapters devoted to the areas of youth, health, criminal justice, children and families and an interrogation of different forms of social work practice such as casework, advocacy, research and community development.

One of Australia's leading Aboriginal historians takes us to the heart of the 'history war' over our Aboriginal past. Bain Attwood argues that controversy over interpretations of our Aboriginal past has never been so intense, and never mattered more.

Leading writer, activist and commentator Mudrooroo crosses the cultural divide to speak to all Australians about his people's past, their place in the present and their hopes and aspirations for the future. Keenly felt, vigorously argued and compelling in their sweep, these provocative essays range the spectrum, from Aboriginal spirituality and oneness with the land to the practicalities of health, education and the law. History, culture, politics and, perhaps, reconciliation: "Us Mob" is essential reading for all those wanting to understand the reality of Indigenous Australia in the post-Mabo age.

commonly asked questions about why the Voice should be enshrined in the Constitution, and how it might function to improve policies affecting Indigenous communities, and genuinely close the gap on inequalities at the most basic level of human dignity.

A handy tool for people inclined to support a ‘yes’ vote in the referendum, The Voice to Parliament Handbook reflects on this historic opportunity for genuine reconciliation, to right the wrongs and heal the ruptured soul of a nation. This guide offers simple explanations, useful anecdotes, historic analogies and visual representations, so you can share it among friends, family and community networks in the build-up to the referendum.

In this extensively updated edition, Marcia Langton offers a full range of Indigenous-owned or -operated tourism experiences across Australia. Welcome to Country 2nd edition highlights myriad ways to engage and deepen our knowledge and appreciation of the First peoples through travel. Everything from arts centres to tours is covered in this guide, and there are also fascinating insights into Indigenous cultures and histories, as well as etiquette for visitors.

Yatdjuligin: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nursing and Midwifery Care introduces students to the fundamentals of health care of Indigenous Australians, encompassing the perspectives of both the client and the health practitioner. Written for all nurses and midwives, this book addresses the relationship between Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures and mainstream health services and introduces readers to practice and research in a variety of healthcare contexts. This new edition has been fully updated to reflect current research and documentation, with an emphasis on cultural safety. Three new chapters cover Torres Strait Islander health and wellbeing, social and emotional wellbeing in mainstream mental health services and quantitative research.