New Resources in Bankstown- Lidcombe Hospital Library

Now fully-revised and updated, this second edition of ACT Made Simple includes new information and chapters on self-compassion, flexible perspective taking, working with trauma, and more. Why is it so hard to be happy? Why is life so difficult? Why do humans suffer so much? And what can we realistically do about it? No matter how rewarding your job, as a mental health professional, you may sometimes feel helpless in the face of these questions. You are also well aware of the challenges and frustrations that can present during therapy. If you're looking for ways to optimize your client sessions, consider joining the many thousands of therapists and life coaches worldwide who are learning acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT). With a focus on mindfulness, client values, and a commitment to change, ACT is proven-effective in treating depression, anxiety, stress, addictions, eating disorders, schizophrenia, borderline personality disorder (BPD), and myriad other psychological issues.

For over 50 years, this highly readable text has been trusted to clearly cover the "nuts and bolts" of surgical techniques in a step-by-step format. With a strong focus on the physiologic, psychologic, and spiritual considerations of perioperative patients, this extensively updated new edition gives you the knowledge you need to plan and implement comprehensive, individualized care. Detailed information on the fundamentals of perioperative nursing and surgical technology roles enhance students' understanding of basic surgical principles and techniques. Emphasis on teamwork among perioperative caregivers encourages cooperation in attaining positive patient care outcomes. In-depth discussions of patients with special needs related to age or health status help students learn how to develop a plan of care tailored to the unique care needs of all patients.

Blood Tests Made Easy is a quick reference guide designed to bring medical students up to speed when interpreting blood tests on their clinical placements. Small enough to be carried and quickly referenced on the go, this book covers everything you need to know when interpreting bloods, including the main abnormalities you are likely to encounter. Rather than focusing on theory or physiology, it is designed to provide an easy-to-follow guide to support clinical decision making. This latest addition to the Made Easy series will fill knowledge gaps on blood test interpretation, becoming a valuable asset both for medical students and, later, as a reference guide to increase junior doctors' confidence on the wards. Relevant to real life - material laid out like real hospital laboratory tests Easy to use - information presented in a clear and accessible format Case studies and multiple-choice questions to aid revision Portable for easy access on the wards

With more than 50 real-world cases, Clinical Cases in Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Women’s Health, 3rd edition covers a range of obstetric and gynaecological problems likely to be encountered by busy junior doctors and general practitioners. Written by experienced obstetricians and gynaecologists and following the core medical school curricula in Australia, New Zealand and the United Kingdom, this pocket-sized book is an invaluable resource for medical students and clinicians.
Each case presents a problem-based clinical learning scenario and then encourages readers to think about how they would take appropriate histories and examine, investigate and treat their patients. Using these techniques, students and early career doctors are guided through diagnosis and management of common and important conditions and complications. This learning is then reinforced with more than 100 multiple choice questions and answers for self-assessment.

As a nurse responsible for providing person-centred care it is vital that you understand how culture and diversity affect patients' experience of health care. This book provides you with the knowledge, awareness and skills needed to successfully support, communicate and work with, individuals and families from a diverse range of backgrounds, religions, cultures, ethnicities and disabilities as well as from the LGBTQ community. Ensuring that you are able to work effectively as a nurse with people from across the social spectrum and tailor your nursing practice to the needs of the individual. Key theory will be carefully explained and then applied to the UK nursing context, and all content is up to date with the latest NMC standards, leaving you better prepared to thrive on your practice placements and in your nursing career.

The first book on emotional intelligence (EI) written for nurses, this comprehensive resource delivers both the theoretical knowledge and practical skills to improve patient outcomes. Authored by one of the foremost experts in EI and nursing, the text discusses the foundations of EI and shows how EI skills can and should be applied to any practice setting in nursing. Using core concepts of EI and evidence-based research, this publication discusses the implications of EI on key nursing challenges such as burnout, patient safety, staff retention, conflict management, ethical decision-making, quality and safety, and wellness. Emotional Intelligence in Nursing addresses the application of EI skills in various arenas of clinical practice and in advanced practice nursing roles. Each chapter contains one or two case studies featuring a nurse or care team at a crossroads event. Sometimes the clinicians in the case studies use EI skills; sometimes they do not. The case study is then analyzed through the lens of the four basic EI abilities, highlighting key practical takeaways for the reader to absorb and incorporate into their own practice to provide better care for themselves, their care team, and their patients. Key Features: Demonstrates how the implementation of EI results in superior patient outcomes Provides a foundation in EI concepts and demonstrates its application in a variety of nursing practice settings Discusses implications of EI for teaching, burnout/thriving, staff retention, conflict management, and ethical considerations Presents real-life scenarios through case studies Address the needs of all nurses, from students to educators, from new nurses to nurse executives

Every day, registered nurses are required to act and make decisions based on their moral and legal obligations. They must build professional, culturally safe relationships with patients, understand patient rights and the requirements of consent, and prevent and manage clinical mistakes in order to avoid negligence and abuse of power. Now in its fifth edition, Ethics and Law for Australian Nurses guides students through foundational concepts such as personhood, autonomy, trust, consent and vulnerability, and considers a nurse's responsibilities in relation to voluntary assisted dying, abortions and advanced care directives. It explains the Australian legal system and how it relates to nursing practice. This edition discusses the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, especially on elderly Australians, as well as on injury and negligence claims. It includes updated discussions on guardianship, assisted dying, abortion and 'not for resuscitation' orders.

Infection prevention and control (IPC) is everybody’s responsibility. Healthcare-associated Infections in Australia is the first Australian text to address the challenges posed by infectious diseases and healthcare associated infections (HAIs) for all members of the multidisciplinary healthcare team.
Drawing on the expertise of a wide author team, and based on current research, this important and comprehensive text provides a clear pathway for the reader to increase their knowledge and understanding of IPC.

A guide to the essential principles of immunology and a concise dictionary of immunological terms. The book can be used to consolidate understanding in preparation for course exams and medical licensing exams, or as a refresher when immunology is encountered in related life sciences, such as microbiology, virology, and zoology. The book is organized into five sections that represent the major topics in basic and clinical immunology. The 6th edition has been comprehensively revised to highlight the latest understanding of the field, particularly in the areas of innate immune defences and antibody-based therapeutics.

The Keystone Perforator Island Flap Concept is the definitive guide to the development, design and surgical application of the effective surgical technique known as the keystone island flap.Clearly presented and easy to follow, this excellent Australian publication features an accompanying DVD, further exploring this surgical method.

Dialectical behavior therapy (DBT) is a specific type of cognitive-behavioral psychotherapy developed in the late 1980s by psychologist Marsha M. Linehan to help better treat borderline personality disorder. Since its development, it has also been used for the treatment of other kinds of mental health disorders.The Oxford Handbook of DBT charts the development of DBT from its early inception to the current cutting edge state of knowledge about both the theoretical underpinnings of the treatment and its clinical application across a range of disorders and adaptations to new clinical groups. Experts in the treatment address the current state of the evidence with respect to the efficacy of the treatment, its effectiveness in routine clinical practice and central issues in the clinical and programmatic implementation of the treatment. In sum this volume provides a desk reference for clinicians and academics keen to understand the origins and current state of the science, and the art, of DBT.

Role Development for the Nurse Practitioner, Third Edition is an integral text that guides students in their transition from the role of registered nurse to nurse practitioner. The text provides a comprehensive framework for interactive discussions on the role of the nurse practitioner, giving students a full understanding of the skills and knowledge needed for this dynamic profession. The Third Edition employs a variety of nurse practitioner real-world stories to illustrate important points and to assist in the transition from RN to NP. It is also the only role development textbook specific for nurse practitioners interested in entering primary care, providing a great amount of detail to the unique issues of nurse practitioners and NP students. The text also offers assignments for student role development seminars, as well as discussion questions and case examples. Key Features:This textbook is used to enhance family theory, evidence-based practice, quality improvement, population health and role transition courses.

Top child psychologists offer expert insight and practical advice for raising strong kids in today's complicated world.
"Thoughtful and sound in its approach, practical and clear in its suggestions, direct and supportive in its tone, Raising Resilient Children is the perfect book for parents searching for a caring method to help their children grow into healthy, happy, loving, and mature adults."­­William Pollack, Ph.D., author of Real Boys.

Lecture Notes discusses the principles of the initial assessment, investigation, diagnosis, and management of adult patients with everyday Acute Internal Medicine (AIM) presentations and conditions. This textbook is wide in scope and covers topics ranging from initial identification of acute medical illness, through to effective discharge planning. Lecture Notes contains the latest developments on the generic professional and specialty specific capabilities needed to manage patients presenting with a wide range of medical symptoms and conditions covered in the UK AIM curriculum (2022). In Lecture Notes, readers can expect to find detailed information on: Generic skills relevant to AIM, such as clinical reasoning, safe prescribing, point of care ultrasound (POCUS), resuscitation, and managing the acute medical take AIM across the various acute care settings - home (telemedicine, virtual wards, Hospital at Home), ambulatory (same day emergency care), and in-hospital (acute medical unit, enhanced care, critical care) AIM presentations and conditions in special populations such as older people, pregnancy, people with HIV, LGBTQ+, inclusion medicine, people with learning disabilities, perioperative medicine, people with mental illness and more Common presentations in AIM Standalone chapters can be read in any sequence, making the text perfect for quick reference With its accessible coverage of a wide range of AIM content, Lecture Notes: Acute Medicine is an essential resource for medical students, physician trainees, consultants, and other members of the multidisciplinary team working in acute care, patient-facing settings.

A sound knowledge of cardiovascular physiology is fundamental to understanding cardiovascular disease, exercise performance and may other aspects of human physiology. Cardiovascular physiology is a major component of all undergraduate courses in physiology, biomedical science and medicine, and this popular introduction to the subject is intended primarily for these students. A key feature of this sixth edition is how state-of-the-art technology is applied to understanding cardiovascular function in health and disease. Thus the text is also well suited to graduate study programmes in medicine and physiological sciences.

Pathophysiology - what is the cause? Clinical significance - what does it mean? Diagnosis and treatment - what is the predictive value? These are questions that all clinicians should continue to ask themselves from the very beginning of medical training and throughout a lifetime of practice. Organised by body system, Mechanisms of Clinical Signs describes the underlying pathway, differential diagnoses and value of the clinical signs seen during physical examination.

Murray's Basic Medical Microbiology: Foundations and Clinical Cases, 2nd Edition, provides a solid foundation in the principles of microbiology, preparing you not only for examinations but also for the transition to clinical application. It provides complete coverage of the most commonly observed organisms and diseases, numerous case studies, review questions, and up-to-date content throughout, including coverage of COVID-19. Features a logical organization by organism, focusing on the association between an organism and disease. Provides over 180 clinical cases to strengthen understanding of infectious organisms in a clinical setting. Includes a brand new section with devoted chapters on diseases affecting each body system and the multiple organisms that may be responsible to help sharpen clinical reasoning skills. Includes differential diagnosis, organism classification overview, and a list of antimicrobials used to treat infections in the introductory chapter of each organism section, reinforcing clinical application and relevance. Includes more multiple-choice review questions to aid in self-assessment and examination preparation.

Ideal for any on-call professional, resident, or medical student, this best-selling reference covers the common problems you'll encounter while on call in the hospital. You'll gain speed, skill, and knowledge with every call - from diagnosing a difficult or life-threatening situation to prescribing the right medication. Covers essential topics such as Approach to Diagnosis and Management of On-Call Problems; Documentation; Assessment and Management of Volume Status; and HIV, HBV, HCV, Influenza, and the House Officer. Delivers consistent, easy-to-follow coverage of the most common on-call problems and approaches, including what to do from the initial phone call, "Elevator Thoughts," how to immediately identify major threats to life, what to do at the bedside, and how to avoid common mistakes for every call. Provides updated content and references, as well as a revised drug formulary, keeping you on the cutting edge of current, evidence-based information.

Physical Diagnosis : secrets offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics, physical diagnosis and health assessment. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. Fully revised and updated throughout, with highly illustrated coverage of the history and physical exam, followed by assessment techniques that are weighted based on their clinical importance.

Mastering each aspect of the patient interview and physical exam is fundamental to medical education, resulting in more accurate diagnostic skills, more effective patient management, and better patient outcomes! Dr. Swartz's Textbook of Physical Diagnosis is a highly respected reference in this critical area, offering a compassionate, humanistic approach to the art and science of interviewing and physical examination. Explores how cultural differences can influence communication, diet, family relationships, and health practices and beliefs - which may affect your approach to a patient's treatment. Offers clear, easy-to-understand explanations of interviewing and examination techniques, clinical presentations, pathophysiology, complementary and alternative medicine, and physical diagnosis standards and tests. Features a new chapter on deconstructing racism and bias in clinical medicine.