New Resources in Bankstown- Lidcombe Hospital Library

The 5-Minute Clinical Consult 2024 provides rapid access to the diagnosis, treatment, medications, follow-up, and associated conditions for more than 500 disease and condition topics to help you make accurate decisions at the point of care. Organized alphabetically by diagnosis, it presents brief, bulleted points in a templated format, and contains more than 100 diagnostic and therapeutic algorithms. This up-to-date, bestselling reference delivers maximum clinical confidence as efficiently as possible, allowing you to focus your valuable time on providing high-quality care to your patients.

Bailey & Scott's diagnostic microbiology, 15th edition Is known as the #1 bench reference for practicing microbiologists and as the preeminent text for students in clinical laboratory science programs. With hundreds of full-colour illustrations and step-by-step methods for procedures, this text provides a solid, basic understanding of diagnostic microbiology and also covers more advanced techniques such as matrix-assisted laser desorption time-of-flight mass spectrometry.

Master the techniques for successful physical examinations with the #1 choice for complete, authoritative guidance. This highly regarded text includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right. Expanded Unit provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches. Expanded coverage of special populations with important approaches for persons who identify as LGBTQ, persons with physical disabilities, and diverse populations throughout the life cycle.

Well over two million medical students, doctors and other health professionals around the globe have owned a copy of Davidson's Principles and Practice of Medicine since it was first published over 70 years ago. Now in its 24th Edition, this thoroughly updated textbook describes the pathophysiology and clinical features of the most frequently encountered conditions in the major specialties of adult medicine, and explains how to recognise, investigate, diagnose and manage them. Taking its origins from Sir Stanley Davidson's much-admired lecture notes, Davidson's has endured because it keeps pace with how modern medicine is taught and provides a wealth of trusted information in an easy-to-read, concise and beautifully illustrated format.

Language disorders from infancy through adolescence, 5th edition is the go-to text for learning how to properly assess childhood language disorders and provide appropriate treatment. The most comprehensive title available on childhood language disorders, it uses a descriptive-developmental approach to present basic concepts and vocabulary, an overview of key issues and controversies, the scope of communicative difficulties that make up child language disorders, and information on how language pathologists approach the assessment and intervention processes. This new edition also features significant updates in research, trends, social skills assessment, and instruction best practices. Clinical application focus featuring case studies, clinical vignettes, and suggested projects helps you apply concepts to professional practice.

Hoffnung's Lifespan development takes students on an engaging physical, cognitive, and social journey of the human lifespan. After comprehensive consultation and research, this edition has been refreshed with the latest research and issues, such as the impacts of COVID-19, as well as expanded coverage on gender and LGBTQIA+ identities and cross-cultural and Indigenous issues specific to this region.

The definitive text on motivational interviewing (MI) written by and for social workers has now been updated and expanded with 60% new material, including a revised conceptual framework, cutting-edge applications, and enhanced pedagogical features. Melinda Hohman and her associates demonstrate what MI looks like in action, how it transforms conversations with clients, and how to integrate it into social work practice in a wide range of settings. Extensive new case examples and annotated sample dialogues bring the concepts to life, helping readers build their own repertoires of MI skills. The book also summarizes the research base for MI and shares expert recommendations for teaching, training, and professional development.

This classic text sets a standard in this subject by outlining the scientific aspects that underlie pathological processes, relating these to specific organ systems and placing all in a context that the student of medicine or pathology can appreciate, understand and enjoy. The clearly defined and easy-to-follow structure, enhanced by numerous photographs and explanatory line diagrams, focuses on core material without neglecting novel concepts and up-to-the minute detail. A one-stop-shop in pathology, it reflects fully the integration of pathology into clinical teaching whether system or problem-based, and will take the student right through medical school and beyond to postgraduate training.

For nearly 40 years, Rosen’s Emergency Medicine has provided emergency physicians, residents, physician assistants, and other emergency medicine practitioners with authoritative, accessible, and comprehensive information in this rapidly evolving field. The fully revised 10th Edition delivers practical, evidence-based knowledge and specific recommendations from clinical experts in a clear, precise format, with focused writing, current references, and extensive use of illustrations to provide definitive guidance for emergency conditions. With coverage ranging from airway management and critical care through diagnosis and treatment of virtually every emergency condition, from highly complex to simple and common, this award-winning, two-volume reference remains the #1 choice for reliable, up-to-date information across the entire spectrum of emergency medicine practice.

For nearly 40 years, Rosen’s Emergency Medicine has provided emergency physicians, residents, physician assistants, and other emergency medicine practitioners with authoritative, accessible, and comprehensive information in this rapidly evolving field. The fully revised 10th Edition delivers practical, evidence-based knowledge and specific recommendations from clinical experts in a clear, precise format, with focused writing, current references, and extensive use of illustrations to provide definitive guidance for emergency conditions. With coverage ranging from airway management and critical care through diagnosis and treatment of virtually every emergency condition, from highly complex to simple and common, this award-winning, two-volume reference remains the #1 choice for reliable, up-to-date information across the entire spectrum of emergency medicine practice.

A sound understanding of Australia’s complex health system is essential for all health professionals who work and collaborate with others in delivering health care. The fifth edition of Understanding the Australian Health Care System provides a comprehensive and accessible overview of the structure of the health system, its various functions and the various roles within it. The resource covers aspects of health system structure and function, health insurance, the PBS, complementary and alternate medicine, current governmental and legislative changes, and comparison to other high-income countries. This overview places into context the 12 health professions and their roles, emphasising the importance of interprofessional practice. Fully updated to reflect current policy, trends and environment, and how these impact on the health care system.

The thirteenth edition of the phenomenally successful Principles of Anatomy and Physiology continues to set the standard for the discipline. The authors maintained a superb balance between structure and function and continue to emphasize the correlations between normal physiology and pathophysiology, normal anatomy and pathology, and homeostasis and homeostatic imbalances. The acclaimed illustration program continues to be refined and is unsurpassed in the market.

Palliative Care Perspectives is a guide to the art and science of palliative care that links real stories of illness with practical advice to delineate clinical practice in a way that reflects the daily concerns of clinicians. Clearly and compassionately written, this book emphasizes important topics often neglected in formal clinical training, including the history and evolution of palliative care in the United States, as well as how clinicians can better understand aging and dying from both a physiological and human perspective. Written by a recognized pioneer in the field of palliative care, each chapter highlights this human approach to illness with narratives and anecdotes drawn from decades of practice experience. This new edition features thoroughly updated research and citations, a new chapter on burnout and compassion fatigue, and a significant expansion of the topic of intercultural communication. Well-grounded in the academic literature, this text is an ideal introduction to the emerging field of palliative care for care providers new to practice, as well as lay readers seeking to learn more about chronic and terminal illness, presented in a personal and accessible format.

Understand, manage, and treat Long Covid. Reports suggest that over 100m people around the world are living with Long Covid (more than 1.5m in the UK) yet reliable, clear information and guidance remains scarce. This book is the definitive guide to understanding, managing and treating the condition. The long Covid handbook translates cutting-edge science, patient-led research and practical guidance with clarity. This book will equip you with expert information and advice on: Long Covid's 200 symptoms, which include fatigue, brain fog, breathlessness and more; Tips for recovery; Which treatments are most effective and why; Who is most susceptible to the condition and why; What we can learn about Long Covid from other chronic illnesses; The impact on mental health. This is the essential guide for anyone living with the condition, as well as clinicians seeking to better understand this little-understood illness

A practical guide to heart rhythm recognition, ECGs made easy, 7th edition offers a more visual, less intimidating way to identify and interpret basic heart dysrhythmias. Each ECG rhythm includes a clear description, a sample ECG rhythm strip, possible signs and symptoms related to each rhythm, and recommended treatment. For more practice, additional rhythm strips and review exercises are provided at the end of each chapter. Written by noted EMS educator Barbara Aehlert, this guide has everything you need to master skills in ECG interpretation.

DeJong's The Neurological Examination offers practitioners and residents of Neurology an in-depth discussion of neurologic exams. This definitive source on neurologic examination techniques integrates details of both neuroanatomy and diagnosis in an easy-to-read and clinically-focused format. Anatomical and exam illustrations help ensure proper technique. Also included are illustrative case studies with tables to summarize differentials and clinical findings.

The third edition of this popular nuclear medicine procedures book will include all the latest advances in imaging technology. This is the only procedures guide written for nuclear medicine technologists, students and physicians. Completely updated with the latest advances in imaging technology, this quick-reference manual is the only procedures guide specifically geared to nuclear medicine technologists. A concise, easy-to-read bulleted outline format provides clear, step-by-step instructions for 61 scan procedures, including listings of possible artifacts and problems that may arise during each scan. Detailed anatomic illustrations clarify anatomy and body systems, and Patient History sections enhance students' patient communication and education capabilities. Updated content reflects the latest imaging technology and the most clinically relevant scanning procedures.

Now fully aligned with the latest ARRT and ASRT standards, Torres' patient care in imaging technology, 10th edition, helps students develop the knowledge and skills they need to become safe, perceptive, and efficient radiologic technologists. This student-focused text offers a strong illustration program and a logical organization that emphasizes the connections between classroom learning and clinical practice. Designed to keep readers informed and up to date, it covers current trends and advances in the field and offers an unparalleled array of online teaching and learning resources.

Pediatric anesthesiologists will encounter numerous challenges when caring for children, as their work involves more than simply adjusting drug dosages and equipment for smaller patients. In response, this practical book provides clinical guidance in an easily accessible and digestible question-answer format. This text reviews the entire breadth of paediatric anaesthesia and pain management, taking a case-based approach. Each chapter commences with a clinical case or scenario, guiding the reader through a tailored discussion. The chapters review the pathophysiology, anaesthetic techniques, and surgical and perioperative considerations. High quality tables and figures feature throughout to help solidify key concepts.

Breastfeeding is a major public health issue. Breastmilk provides all the nutrients a baby needs for their first six months. Research studies also show that breastfeeding doesn't just help to protect infants from infection, but has other benefits such as reducing obesity and can help protect mothers from some diseases in later life. Although initiation of breastfeeding is improving, the numbers who continue drop rapidly in the first few weeks highlighting that women need the support of their midwives and health visitors when beginning breastfeeding and throughout their child's infancy. Based on the UNICEF UK BFI University learning outcomes, this newly updated textbook addresses the outcomes to ensure that students are equipped with the essential knowledge and skills to effectively promote and support breastfeeding mothers.

Pharmacology and physiology are the foundation of every anesthesia provider's training and clinical competency. This text delivers the information you need in pharmacology, physiology, and molecular-cellular biology, keeping you current with contemporary training and practice. This thoroughly updated edition is your one-stop, comprehensive overview of physiology, and rational anaesthetic drug selection and administration, perfect for study, review, and successful practice.

This text covers the knowledge and skills needed to prepare for the CCRN® and PCCN® certification examinations and to provide safe and effective care in progressive and critical care settings. Content in this edition corresponds to the most recent CCRN® and PCCN® exam blueprints and reflects the latest in evidence-based practice. With its clear outline format and comprehensive coverage of nursing competencies, this text is both a convenient clinical reference and a valuable study tool.

This text teaches students how to assess and diagnose common disorders of human body systems. A practical resource for students and APNs charged with assessing and solving clinical patient issues, taking them beyond physical examination as they begin the diagnostic reasoning process. The goal of this text is to teach the appropriate diagnostic intervention using evidence-based practice and thorough health assessment. In addition, the text informs the student and practitioner about how to educate the patient regarding their condition, ensuring they understand the diagnosis as well as the prescribed intervention

This book is an essential guide for everyone using reflection in everyday clinical practice or required to demonstrate reflection for professional registration. Students will acquire new insights into how they interact with their colleagues and their environment, and how those things shape their own behaviours, both positively and negatively. Readers will learn to "look in" on their thoughts and emotions and "look out" at the situations they experience to inform how they understand the circumstances they find themselves in.

Written by Australia's foremost nursing ethics scholar, Bioethics: a nursing perspective comprehensibly addresses the ethical challenges, obligations and responsibilities nurses will encounter in practice. With a strong emphasis on the principles and standards of human rights and social justice, the 7th edition examines the spectrum of bioethical issues in health care with a focus on patients' rights, cross-cultural ethics, vulnerability ethics, mental health ethics, professional conduct, patient safety and end-of-life ethics.

A go-to reference for helping you provide safe, high-quality nursing care in critical care settings. Written in an abbreviated outline format, it presents essential information on more than 75 disorders and conditions, as well as concepts relevant to caring for critically ill patients and functioning in the critical care environment. Award-winning clinical nurse specialist Marianne Baird separates the content first by body system and then by disorder, with each disorder including a brief description of pathophysiology, assessment, diagnostic testing, collaborative management, nursing diagnoses, desired outcomes, nursing interventions, and patient teaching and rehabilitation.

The health of babies, children and young people is fundamentally different from that of adults, so their healthcare must reflect their unique needs and engage their parents, family members and communities. Paediatric nursing in Australia and New Zealand introduces nursing students to the care of infants, children, young people and their families in a range of clinical and community settings across Australasia. This 3rd edition includes New Zealand content and an increased focus on families. New chapters cover health services available for Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Maori children, the transition to parenthood for new families, children's sleep patterns and behaviour, and paediatric health in school settings.

When nineteen year old Dinaaz Lentin woke up in a hospital bed following surgery, it was the start of a life of twists and turns with numerous medical complications -- wrong leg operation; retained surgical objects unintentionally left behind; mismanaged labour leading to eleven surgical procedures; paralysed, arm following anaesthesia, not once but twice. "Battle Scars is an extremely powerful example of how self-belief and trusting your own gut instinct can allow you to overcome any of life's challenges. Dinaaz's debut memoir follows her medical journey over forty years. The story is raw, provoking and a brilliant look at complications and uncertainties that numerous patients may face when seeking medical attention.