New Resources in Bankstown- Lidcombe Hospital Library

A concise introduction to medical microbiology that encapsulates foundational facts and principles in this rapidly growing and evolving subject area. Fully revised and updated to include brand new research, with new chapters on subjects including sepsis, infections disease eradication, the 'normal' flora in health and disease, non-tuberculous mycobacteria, antifungal therapy, bioterrorism, and high consequence infections. Readers will also benefit from the inclusion of: A thorough introduction to fundamental concepts in medical microbiology, including pathogen classification, innate and acquired immunity, and flora in health and disease, infection control, antibiotic resistance, and new and emerging infections and their control. Perfect for undergraduates studying medicine and medical science, as well as Foundation Programme doctors and interns looking for a rapid update in infection practice in microbiology.

This book takes an interdisciplinary approach by covering topics on health care and artificial intelligence. Key Features: Covers computational Intelligence techniques; Provides easy understanding for concepts like signal and image filtering techniques; Includes discussion over data preprocessing and classification problems; Details studies with medical signal (ECG, EEG, EMG) and image (X-ray, FMRI, CT) datasets; Describes evolution parameters such as accuracy, precision, and recall. This book is aimed at researchers and graduate students in medical signal and image processing, machine and deep learning, and healthcare technologies.

The range of roles in healthcare knowledge and library services are many and varied. From 'traditional' librarian roles to those that break new ground - including clinical, embedded and outreach librarians and knowledge managers - they are a vital ongoing support for this important sector. This work brings together health information practitioners and researchers with a variety of experience across health information work within knowledge and library services in the NHS. It provides a comprehensive, practitioner-focused introduction to all aspects of knowledge and library work in the health sector with a focus on NHS England.

For the past decade, this guide has been the go-to source for those creating articles for peer-reviewed journals. With this new edition, Belcher expands her advice to reach beginning scholars in even more disciplines. She builds on feedback from professors and graduate students who have successfully used the workbook to complete their articles. A new chapter addresses scholars who are writing from scratch. Includes more targeted exercises and checklists and the latest research on productivity and scholarly writing. This is the only reference to combine expert guidance with a step-by-step workbook. Each week, readers learn a feature of strong articles and work on revising theirs accordingly. Every day is mapped out, taking the guesswork and worry out of writing. There are tasks, templates, and reminders. At the end of twelve weeks, graduate students, recent PhDs, postdoctoral fellows, adjunct instructors, junior faculty, and international faculty will feel confident they know that the rules of academic publishing and have the tools they need to succeed.

This award-winning book has helped thousands of nursing students and nurses produce high quality work, with its focus on all aspects of writing for professional publication. The new fifth edition offers two-colour design to enhance the reading experience, expanded coverage on selecting a journal, conducting and reporting a literature review, reporting evidence syntheses, and preparing DNP projects as manuscripts, as well as a greater variety of journal examples. A full chapter on writing research reports makes this edition particularly useful for PhD students and researchers. Designed for nursing students in MSN, DNP, and PhD programs along with faculty and practitioners interested in disseminating their scholarship, this comprehensive resource demystifies the process of writing for publication with easy-to-follow examples and expert guidance. Key Features: Takes readers through the entire process of writing for publication from idea to completion.

Balancing depth and accessibility, Endocrinology and Diabetes: Lecture Notes, 2nd Edition, provides medical students and junior doctors with the key information needed to understand mechanisms of endocrine conditions. Covers endocrine anatomy and physiology, scientific background, clinical presentations, diagnosis, and management of various endocrine disorders. Clear and concise chapters focus on conditions commonly encountered in both clinical practice and assessments. Features enhanced and expanded coverage of all major topics within diabetes and endocrinology. Offers up-to-date information for those preparing for MRCP or endocrinology specialty exams. Boxed sections in every chapter highlight key points to aid revision and recall.

The Handbook of Diabetes provides concise and efficient coverage of the diagnosis, epidemiology, and management of diabetes and its complications. This quick-reference guide focuses on the management and measurement of diabetes mellitus with highly visual references. This market-leading book aligns with the most recent guidelines from the American Diabetes Association (ADA), the European Association for the Study of Diabetes (EASD), Diabetes UK, and the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE), presenting authoritative clinical coverage of diabetes in an accessible format with rich pedagogical features. Five new chapters provide detailed coverage of liver disease, diabetes education, bariatric surgery, diabetes and cancer, and the use of incretin-based therapies and SGLT2 Inhibitors in the management of Type II diabetes. Updated and expanded topics include the relation between hypoglycaemia and dementia, anxiety and depression, the NICE Quality and Outcomes Framework (QOF), and the impacts of diabetes to self-care, mental health, and decision-making.

In this newly revised 5th edition of the Handbook of MRI Technique, Catherine Westbrook delivers a comprehensive and intuitive resource for radiologic technologists. With a heavy emphasis on protocol optimisation and patient care, the book guides the uninitiated through scanning techniques and assists more experienced technologists with image quality improvement. Includes up-to-date scanning techniques and an additional chapter on paediatric imaging. The latest regulations on MRI safety are referenced and there are expanded sections on slice prescription criteria. Step-by-step instruction is provided on scanning each anatomical area, complete with patient positioning and image quality optimisation techniques.

Spanning a wide range of medical specialties and practice settings, Diagnostic Ultrasound, 6th Edition, provides complete, detailed information on the latest techniques for ultrasound imaging of the whole body; image-guided procedures; fetal, obstetric, and pediatric imaging; and much more. This thoroughly revised, two-volume set, edited by Drs. Carol M. Rumack and Deborah Levine, remains the most comprehensive and authoritative ultrasound resource available. Up-to-date guidance from experts in the field keep you abreast of expanding applications of this versatile imaging modality and help you understand the "how" and "why" of ultrasound use and interpretation.

Spanning a wide range of medical specialties and practice settings, Diagnostic Ultrasound, 6th Edition, provides complete, detailed information on the latest techniques for ultrasound imaging of the whole body; image-guided procedures; fetal, obstetric, and pediatric imaging; and much more. This thoroughly revised, two-volume set, edited by Drs. Carol M. Rumack and Deborah Levine, remains the most comprehensive and authoritative ultrasound resource available. Up-to-date guidance from experts in the field keep you abreast of expanding applications of this versatile imaging modality and help you understand the "how" and "why" of ultrasound use and interpretation.

Thoroughly covers the fast-changing field of nuclear medicine and molecular imaging. Ideal for residency, clinical rotations, and board review, this compact and authoritative volume covers the conceptual, factual, and interpretive information you need to know for success on exams and in clinical practice. Includes additional content on molecular imaging and the latest advances in clinical applications, including positron emission tomography (PET), SPECT/CT, PET/CT, and PET/MRI hybrid imaging; Newly approved tracers such as Ga68 DOTA, F-18 amyloid, and F-18 PSMA; Expanded and integrated content on physics and non-interpretive aspects; Up-to-date applications of nuclear medicine in the endocrine, skeletal, hepatobiliary, genitourinary, pulmonary, gastrointestinal, central nervous, and cardiac systems, as well as PET applications for oncology. Provides summaries of key information with numerous outlines, tables, pearls, pitfalls, and frequently asked questions.

This practical companion to Talley & O’Connor’s Clinical Examination focuses on refining your clinical skills technique to ensure you excel in your Objective Structured Clinical Examinations. The 102 stations are graded according to the conditions you will be examined on during your Early, Intermediate and Final clinical years. Each station includes background information relevant to the condition being examined, the rationale and method, as well as a guide to presenting on the case, tips and relevant marking criteria to build your confidence in performing these high-pressure examinations.

An ideal text for undergraduate nursing students new to health assessment and registered nurses wishing to further develop and refine their skills. Advanced health assessment skills are described and will be useful for Nurse Practitioner candidates. The textbook is colour-coded and easy to follow. Each chapter sets out the eight key elements of health assessment: structure and function, developmental considerations, social and cultural considerations, subjective data, objective data, promoting a healthy lifestyle, documentation and critical thinking and abnormal findings. Advanced concepts allow students to progress once they understand the basics. Comprehensive approaches to health assessment in nursing, incorporating anatomy, physiology and pathophysiology. Detailed identification of relevant development, social and cultural considerations in the Australian and New Zealand context.

This all-inclusive text for Nurse Educators delivers comprehensive, evidence-based guidance on the essential components of teaching, including learning theories, teaching methods, new technologies for teaching, curriculum development, evaluation and testing, and accreditation. The text delivers the full scope of knowledge necessary for novice and experienced faculty to become competent teachers in nursing. This third edition features new content on the transition from clinician to educator. There is also a new chapter on nursing professional development and teaching in clinical settings and updated teaching strategies for active learning, clinical judgment, and online teaching.

Statistics for Nursing Research, 4th Edition helps you understand and interpret statistical methods, sampling and measurement techniques, and statistical analysis techniques. This unique and practical workbook is divided into two parts to differentiate between basic and advanced statistical methods, with dozens of hands-on exercises that will help you practice working with the statistical methods needed for building an evidence-based practice. This workbook is an indispensable resource for any nursing student or practicing nurse wishing to gain competency in conducting statistical analyses.

Transcultural Nursing, 8th Edition shows you how to apply assessment and intervention strategies to individuals from a variety of different cultures. This text helps you design culturally sensitive care with use of the six key aspects of cultural assessment: communication, time, space, social organization, environmental control, and biologic variations. Written by nursing educators Joyce Newman Giger and Linda G. Haddad, Transcultural Nursing shows how an understanding of cultural variations and individual patient needs will help you provide safe and effective care. The six key aspects of cultural assessment each receive a full chapter of coverage, allowing you to also apply the Transcultural Assessment Model to cultures not covered in the text. Case studies and critical decision-making questions help you apply the assessment framework to practice.

A fun, streamlined way to learn the major concepts and theories of critical care nursing - and how to apply them to real-world patient situations. Valuable to professional nurses who want to transition into critical care nursing or students seeking to excel in their advanced studies. Each chapter contains lesson objectives, key terms, NCLEX®-style Q&A, and vignettes of nursing situations you are likely to encounter in the workplace. You will also find a comprehensive final exam and coverage that includes overviews of basic anatomy and physiology of target organ systems, detailed health assessments using the body systems approach, diagnostic studies utilized to confirm an illness, common critical procedures performed, current medications used in the treatment of the critical care patient, and implementation of the nursing process to identify and solve patient concerns.

This new text has been adapted from the highly trusted Wong's Nursing Care of Infants and Children to provide a reference for professional nurses working in paediatric and child and family health settings in Australia and New Zealand. The content covers all aspects of infant, child and adolescent care, including anatomy and physiology, child and adolescent mental health, nursing care guidelines, critical thinking, family-centred care, rural and remote health, cultural and psychosocial considerations, common presenting conditions, and therapeutic management. With input from leading local expert paediatric clinicians and academics, and carefully curated for practising paediatric nurses, and nurses newly entering paediatrics, the text aligns with local professional standards, health policies, legal and ethical considerations and population data.

Concise visual overviews of essential topics provide a convenient, trustworthy way to review the basics of a given infectious disease or issue or to share with patients or staff. Drs. Elaine Jong and Dennis Stevens cover the wide spectrum of illness and disease in this complex field using memorable illustrations by world-renowned artist Frank H. Netter and others, offering a timesaving, authoritative look at infectious disease risk factors, clinical presentations, pathophysiology, and more. Covers major conditions and problems such as vaccine-preventable diseases, drug-resistant staph, community acquired pneumonia, surgical infections, pyelonephritis, viral hepatitis, and sexually transmitted infections. Updated and expanded coverage of emerging infectious diseases such as multidrug resistant tuberculosis (MDR-TB), neuroangiostrongyliasis (rat lungworm disease), Ebola virus, Severe Acute Respiratory Disease (SARS), Middle East Respiratory Syndrome (MERS), Coronavirus Infectious Disease-2019 (COVID-19), and novel influenza viruses including public health concerns. Covers vector-borne diseases including malaria, yellow fever, Zika infections and congenital Zika syndrome, West Nile fever, Lyme disease, tick-borne encephalitis, and Chagas disease plus others. New chapters on travellers’ diarrhoea, cholera, and primary amoebic meningoencephalitis debut in the section on international travel and outdoor activities.

This publication is designed to provide clinicians and health administrators with the
evidence for the use of specific quality improvement and patient safety activities to
reduce preventable HAI. It has been produced primarily for use in hospitals.
The publication provides guidance on developing and introducing a hospital AMS
program. It describes the structure, governance and resources needed for an
effective program, along with those strategies shown to influence antimicrobial
prescribing and reduce inappropriate use.

Offering easy-to-follow, step-by-step guidance on both peripheral joint and spinal procedures, Atlas of Interventional Orthopedics Procedures is the first reference to provide this practical content in one authoritative, user-friendly text. Abundantly illustrated and easy to read, it presents simple to advanced injection skills covering all orthopedic and physical medicine procedures using up-to-date imaging techniques. Presents foundational knowledge for interventional orthopedics as well as ultrasound and x-ray guided techniques for both peripheral joint and spinal procedures. Provides an up-to-date review on regenerative medicine for musculoskeletal pathology from editors and authors who are leading physicians in the field. Follows the core tenets of interventional orthopedics, including injectates that can facilitate healing of musculoskeletal tissues, precise placement of those injectates into damaged structures using imaging guidance, and the eventual development of new tools to facilitate percutaneous tissue manipulation.

Every trainee in anaesthesia requires a thorough understanding of basic physiology and its application to clinical practice. Now in its second edition, this comprehensively illustrated textbook bridges the gap between medical school and reference scientific texts. It covers the physiology requirements of the Primary FRCA examination syllabus. Chapters are organised by organ system, with particular emphasis given to the respiratory, cardiovascular and nervous systems. The practical question-and-answer format helps the reader prepare for oral examinations, while 'clinical relevance' boxes translate the physiological concepts to clinical practice. This new edition has been thoroughly updated and revised throughout, and includes six new chapters, including the physiology of the eye, upper airway and exercise testing. It provides junior anaesthetists with an essential 'one stop' physiology resource.

A contemporary guide to the management of breast diseases, both benign and malignant. This multidisciplinary resource includes significant expertise from the disciplines of radiology, pathology, oncology, psychology, and nursing care, as well as insights from plastic surgeons and other allied health professionals. With a focus on practical patient management, the book takes a problem-based learning approach and includes strategies to tackle clinical challenges which are often poorly understood and taught. Each chapter succinctly covers the seminal evidence based literature whilst placing this within a patient centred context. Breast surgeons, surgeons in training positions, and the wider multi-disciplinary breast management team will all benefit from this authoritative guide.

The ultimate reference for the latest clinical techniques and research findings that direct evidence-based clinical practice and research for lactation consultants and specialists. It contains everything a nurse, lactation consultant, midwife, women's health nurse practitioner, physician assistant, or Ob/Gyn needs to know about lactation care and science. Topics include placing breastfeeding in its historical context, workplace-related issues, anatomical and biological imperatives of lactation, the prenatal and perinatal periods and concerns during the postpartum period, the mother's health, sociocultural issues, and more vital information. This updated Sixth Edition features new and additional case studies, expanded cultural content, inclusion of new regulations and guidelines, information on alternative medicine, and gender inclusive language.

Written by a team of leading international experts, Neonatology at a Glance provides a concise and easy-to-read overview of neonatal medicine. Each topic is clearly explained over a two-page spread, aided by numerous diagrams and illustrations. It has been extensively updated to include recent advances in perinatal medicine, genetics, respiratory support, therapeutic hypothermia, antimicrobial stewardship, and family integrated care. The book covers the wide range of problems encountered in looking after newborn babies, from normal newborn infants to the complexities of neonatal intensive care. Provides up-to-date coverage of the important conditions you will encounter, including neonatal resuscitation and care of preterm infants. Covers challenging topics including pain, ethical issues, patient safety, evidence-based medicine, and palliative and end of life care Includes details of a wide range of practical procedures, including less invasive surfactant administration, cranial ultrasound, brain monitoring and neuro-imaging, and neonatal transport.

Clinical Procedures in Primary Eye Care, 5th Edition, takes an accessible, step-by-step approach to describing the commonly used primary care procedures that facilitate accurate diagnosis and effective patient management. This practical, clinically focused text offers succinct descriptions of today's most frequently encountered optometric techniques supported by research-based evidence. Discusses technical advances that are dramatically altering optometry: Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT) and ultra-wide field imaging (optomaps). Presents outstanding new digital images of OCT cases and optomaps for a wide variety of conditions of the central and peripheral retina. Focuses on evidence-based optometry.