Geriatrics LibGuide

This third edition of Essential Geriatrics has been comprehensively updated and expanded, and now includes over 200 questions and answers throughout the text in the 'best of five' format. This text specifically focuses on the key aspects of elderly care, spanning both general medicine and the particular problems encountered in geriatrics as a route into the specialty. Practical guidance for managing the conditions covered is included at the end of each section, with reasoned approaches to areas where evidence is more scarce.

'Fast Facts for Dementia Care’ is a quick-access clinical reference for nurses in adult health settings addresses the most prevalent and complex management challenges in caring for people with dementia. The second edition-completely updated with the newest guidelines for evidence-based, person-centered care-includes two new chapters on the Emotional Needs of People with Dementia and Self-Neglect and Elder Abuse, along with new information on cultural considerations and distinguishing between dementia and delirium. It delivers specific care strategies for all stages of dementia in a wide range of clinical settings, including acute care, long-term care, and home and community settings.

These 300 questions in the 'single best answer' (SBA) format (like the actual assessment), are complete with comprehensive, well-evidenced explanations and explanatory further reading material. Key Features Maps the entire curriculum covered on the geriatric specialization exam Addresses the gap in the market to educate on the core curriculum for the busy professionals and post graduate medical trainees working towards this examination The book is thematically organized to make it an accessible quick reference for also those not planning to take the exam but seeking to broaden and deepen their own knowledge base
Donated by UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Geriatric Medicine at a Glance logically presents the core principles of geriatric medicine, including mechanisms of ageing, changes in physiology commonly seen in older adults, and the clinical management and treatment of the key medical presentations affecting older patients. It provides a thorough overview of the essential required core knowledge, mapped to the British Geriatrics Society undergraduate curriculum on ageing. Geriatric Medicine at a Glance will help address the uncertainty often experienced by medical students and junior doctors when dealing with older patients.

Geriatric Physical Therapy provides the most authoritative overview available on managing the special needs of the elderly in all health care settings. Through nearly 200 cases, the text offers a skill-building balance of theory and clinical application of knowledge in caring for the older adult population. This timely book addresses and incorporates aspects of prevention, fitness, and wellness into the rehabilitative model of care for elders with and without pathological conditions.

‘Geriatric Rehabilitation’ is a quick, practical resource that helps physiatrists and other members of the rehabilitation team overcome these challenges, covering the wide range of topics necessary to provide the highest level of care to this rapidly increasing population. Presents practical guidance on arthritis and joint replacement, polypharmacy and mobility, swallowing dysfunction, nutritional recommendations, psychiatric and cognitive disorders, assistive technology, and more. Covers the physiologic changes and epidemiology of aging, osteoporosis and fragility fractures, fall prevention and intervention, and prevention of hospital-acquired deconditioning.

*Awarded Second Place in the 2018 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Gerontologic Nursing.* The fifth edition of ‘Handbook of Geriatric Assessment’ is a multidisciplinary text that takes a contemporary approach in line with patient and family centered care. With contributions from the foremost experts in the field, it contains the latest information on geriatric assessments for older adults. Completely updated and revised, the text includes several new chapters, including demographic trends, age friendly health systems, impact on familial relations, building geriatric interdisciplinary teams, advance care planning, caregiver information, spiritual assessment, and transitions of care.

'Handbook of Geriatric Oncology: Practical Guide to Caring for the Older Cancer Patient' is a practical resource for oncologists, related clinicians, and nurses who want to provide comprehensive, patient-centred care to the elderly cancer patient. Divided into nine succinct sections, it includes topics spanning an Introduction to Ageing and Frailty, Geriatric Syndromes, Geriatric Assessment, Select Cancers in the Elderly, Communication with the Older Cancer Patient, the Nursing Home Patient with Cancer, Models of Care: Survivorship, Palliative Care, and Integrative Medicine. This book is the definitive resource for oncologists and related clinicians to meet the demands of clinical management along the continuum of geriatric cancer care.

The gold-standard text on the diagnosis and treatment of disorders affecting the elderly. This comprehensive text combines gerontology principles with clinical geriatrics, offering a uniquely holistic approach to this ever-expanding area of medicine. Written by some of the world's most respected geriatricians, Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, Seventh Edition presents up-to-date, evidence-based information in a rich new full-colour design. Unmatched as a textbook, this classic is also valuable to fellows in geriatric medicine

Healthy Ageing and Aged Care takes an inter-disciplinary approach to supporting older people within the community and in care. It represents current Australian policies and practices and takes a holistic view of the older person, and emphasises the positive aspects of the ageing process, maintaining that people age in healthy ways and continue to be an integral part of their families and communities. This is one of the rewarding aspects of working with older people--assessing accurately and collaboratively putting in place strategies that can maintain the person's quality of life. The goal is for students to be able to develop those skills by engaging with the material in this book.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

In an ageing population, geriatric medicine has become central to general practice, and to emergency and general internal medicine in the hospital setting. Fully updated, the second edition of the Oxford Handbook of Geriatric Medicine includes all the information required to deliver effective geriatric care. This accessible handbook is essential reading for all junior doctors and specialist trainees in geriatric medicine and general internal medicine, and for all medical and nursing staff who manage older people.

Underscores the complexity of prescribing drugs for older adults while providing state-of-the-art guidelines for safe patient care. An evidence-based, quick-access reference for adult gerontology nurse practitioners and related healthcare providers, this text describes a holistic, patient-centered approach to prescribing drugs to older adults.