GradStart Nurses' Survival Guide

Clinical Dosage Calculations is a local, full-colour text covering the important aspects of dosage calculations you will require to deal with this essential part of clinical practice. An applied skills-focused text, this book uses real-life cases, worked examples and real medication charts and labels to engage students. Starting with the fundamental skills to help students deal with mathematics and familiarise themselves with medication charts and labels, the text then moves on to specialist area chapters, allowing them to deepen their skills in a clinical context. Students engage in the activities of each chapter as an introduction to the concept before moving onto the final chapter where they can test their overall knowledge.

What does that term mean? How is it even pronounced? Make sense of the complex world of health care with this comprehensive, portable dictionary which offers a unique, strong focus on nursing and health science terminology.

Graduate nurses are expected to 'hit the ground running', taking on complex care challenges in a stressful and fast-paced environment. This comprehensive yet accessible textbook provides expert guidance for students and commencing nurses on the contexts for their practice.

Written by clinical lecturers, Professional Transitions in Nursing provides a practical and accessible guide to the core knowledge and skills required by nurse graduates entering the Australian workforce for the first time.

This is applicable to the Australian context and covers all the most essential skills including infection control, safe patient moving, skin and wound care etc.

A practical handbook to boost your confidence with assessment techniques and key clinical skills when administering effective acute care R readers will find: A revision of medicines management formulas, plus advanced formulas seen in a clinical setting, with chapters on sepsis and conflict resolution Assessment techniques and the individual components of the ABCDE assessment, covering vital signs, clinical observation at superficial and more in-depth levels, and clinical actions Higher skills, such as caring for the ventilated patient and fluid resuscitation in adults and children, and subcutaneous fluid hydration Critical care simulation and need-to-know medical abbreviations, plus three helpful appendices containing tool kits and charts.

Clinical Leadership in Nursing and Healthcare offers a range of tools and topics that support and foster clinically focused nurses and other healthcare professionals to develop their leadership skills and strategies. The textbook is helpfully divided into three parts: information on the attributes of clinical leaders, the tools healthcare students and staff can use to develop their leadership potential, and clinical leadership issues. It also outlines a number of principles, frameworks, and topics that support nurses and healthcare professionals to develop and deliver effective clinical care as clinical leaders. Lastly, each chapter has a range of reflective questions and self-assessments to help consolidate learning.

A sound understanding of moral and legal obligations is critical to developing responsible nursing practice and building the nurse-patient relationship. Provides a practical framework for understanding the ethical and legal dimensions of nursing practice. The fourth edition has been thoroughly revised to include updates to legislation, the NMBA professional standards and case examples.

This book provides essential insights into how the approach to nursing care in ICU patients has markedly changed over recent years. It shows how the focus has progressively moved away from the technical approach that characterized early ICUs to a wider personalization of patient care that also highlights general problems such as basic hygiene and general comfort. It also demonstrates that, at the same time, the nurses' role has become more professionalized, with increasing competences in assessing and managing patients' problems and measuring related outcomes.

This is applicable to the Australian context and covers all the most essential skills including infection control, safe patient moving, skin and wound care etc.

Provides students with a comprehensive introduction into the nursing profession and the capabilities they need for practice. Written by experts in their field, this book takes an evidence-based approach to understanding workplace readiness of graduate nurses. It aims to make a significant contribution to the development of nursing students and assist them in making a seamless transition to their professional role.