Online emergency medicine resource providing quick diagnosis and treatment answers to a range of conditions from neurological and pediatric emergencies to poisoning and trauma. Includes textbooks, procedural videos, interactive self-assessment drug database and student/"clerk" resources. Remote access via Athens. Register for an individual database account for quizzes etc.
CIAP provides access to more than 400 ebooks including the Bloomsbury Dictionary of Nursing, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Drugs in pregnancy and Lactation (Briggs) and many more. NSW Health staff can use their StaffID to login.
Doody's Collection includes key current medical, nursing and allied health e-books rated as essential texts and recommended for inclusion by a panel of expert librarian reviewers. It includes titles such as 'DeLisa's Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation' and 'The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management'.
ProQuest's Health, Medicine and Business eBook Collection provides access to 44,000+ titles:
* The Business eBook Collection includes subjects ranging from economics, marketing, leadership, finance and business planning, etiquette, intelligence, logistics and more.
* The Health & Medicine ebook Collection includes subjects ranging from nursing, allied health, psychology, diseases, anatomy/physiology, biology, chemical engineering more.
View these titles from work or home, PC or phone, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week!
Access to these eBooks is via Athens or through the Library Catalogue. To register complete the online Athens Registration Form available on the CLIN Library Website.
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central (use Athens login to access)
Publication Date: 2021-08-03
The NDIS was introduced as a radical new way of funding disability services in Australia. It is a rare moment in politics and policy making that an idea as revolutionary, ambitious and expensive as the NDIS makes it into its implementation phase. Not surprising, then, that the NDIS has been described by many as the biggest social shift in Australia since Medicare. This book will be a key text for scholars and public policy professionals wishing to understand the NDIS, how it was designed, and lessons learned through its introduction and roll-out.
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central (use Athens login to access)
Publication Date: 2020
This book focuses on evidence-based occupational therapy in the care of older adults in different clinical settings, from home to acute hospital, from intensive care unit to rehabilitation centers and nursing homes. The book first reviews the interaction between occupational therapy and geriatrics and then discusses in depth how occupational therapy interventions are applied in the community, in the acute hospital and in the nursing home. The ageing population requires new innovative approaches to improve the quality of life, and as such this book provides clinicians with handy, key information on how to implement occupational therapy in the daily clinical care of older adults based on the current scientific evidence.
A selection of titles are shown below, click on the image to view the eBooks.
Authors show how they have embraced opportunities, extended roles, and developed services along with the ever-changing world of statutory services policy. Whilst many of the chapters allude to mental health fields (care coordination, a number of mental health specialities, Mental Health Act), the book also includes topics relevant to general practice (research roles, advanced practice, Assistive Technology, the Mental Capacity Act).This book is intended to inform and inspire the reader, to share ways of dealing with hurdles whilst remaining resilient to prevailing pressures and difficulties borne out of our working lives as occupational therapists in a wide range of settings
Access via Athens. This insightful Modern Guide explores heterodox approaches to modern wellbeing research, with a specific focus on how wellbeing is understood and practised, exploring policies and actions which are taken to shape wellbeing. Exploring the threats to wellbeing from the environments we inhabit and the situations societies create and endure, chapters particularly look at wellbeing inequalities and the experiences of marginalised groups, demonstrating the connection between wellbeing and political struggle.
This beautifully illustrated pocket atlas provides practical guidelines and quick tests for evaluating gross motor function throughout the body. The tests in this manual are particularly suitable for analyzing isolated muscle deficits and evaluating other testing methods. When used as a regular part of the physical therapy routine, manual muscle testing provides valuable information on individual treatment needs, enables the therapist to monitor progress and modify procedures, and allows the patient to see the results for themselves.
Call Number: Available via EBSCOHost offsite to Liverpool staff only
Publication Date: 2018-03-15
Older people and people with disabilities have a right to be included in all aspects of home and community life, yet environmental barriers continue to exist in the built environment. There are concerns about how well homes can support older people and people with disabilities over time as their needs change. Occupational therapists are well-suited to determining the most appropriate home modification solutions to address environmental barriers. They possess the knowledge and skills necessary to evaluate people's current and future needs in the context of the nature and use of the environment and can work collaboratively with design and construction professionals to develop solutions.
While diagnosis with a neurological condition may not be life-threatening, it can have significant impact on everyday life and on participation in activities. Occupational therapists must be able to fully consider the physical, cognitive, emotional, psychological and behavioural problems which may occur as a consequence of a neurological disorder, and understand the impact of diagnosis from a person-centred perspective. Occupational Therapy and Neurological Conditions incorporates theoretical, clinical and research evidence to support occupational therapists in the management of people with neurological conditions.
This book locates older people as major clients of occupational therapy services. The book encompasses current theories, debates and challenges which occupational therapists need to engage in if they are to provide pro-active and promotional approaches to ageing. Detailed coverage of bodily structures, functions and pathologies leads onto chapters dedicated to activity, occupation and participation. The ethos of the book is to inspire innovation in the practice of occupational therapy with older people, promoting successful ageing that entails control and empowerment.
This book guides through the complexities of treating people following stroke. It encourages and assists therapists to use their skills in problem solving. Written and edited by practising occupational therapists, the book acknowledges the variety of techniques that may be used in stroke management and the scope of the occupational therapist's role.
An accessible overview of occupational therapy in psychiatry, providing key information on a range of international models of occupational therapy as well as their practical applications. The fifth edition includes: * Case studies throughout to illustrate application of theory to practice * Coverage of key concepts and issues in occupational therapy * New material on emerging areas of practice * Comprehensive information on assessment and treatment for children, adolescents and adults, covering key mental health conditions
This book is a practical resource for physiotherapists and occupational therapists who support people with cerebral palsy, helping them to solve the problems with movement and other impairments that so often accompany cerebral palsy, so that they can be more active and better able to participate in roles such as study, work, recreation and relationships.
This book considers the nature of professional practice and the need for a sound theoretical basis from which to plan, implement and justify interventions, and investigates the practical use of occupational therapy theory and the issues such use raises in health and social care settings from a European perspective. The book particularly debates the nature of the theory of occupational therapy via the introduction of the concept of models of the profession as an umbrella for practice, all of which is brought to life via case studies incorporating expert advice, reflection exercises and assessment and evaluation forms.