LibGuides: Respiratory Medicine Libguide: Books and E-books

Overview

This guide is intended to provide a good starting point for Respiratory Medicine specialists to find relevant information. Please let us know if you find it useful and/or if you have other suggestions to add to the site.

Library services include document delivery, literature searches, research skills training and research consultations with Library staff as well as Endnote software and support. For information about Library services see the Library website or contact one of your friendly Library staff.

To access e-books and other online subscription resources you will be prompted for your Staff ID for CIAP resources or an Athens account for SWSLHD resources. You will need a Library membership to borrow books. Forms to join the Library or to get an Athens account are on the Library website.

Lectures in Respiratory Physiology by Dr John B. West

Series of Lectures in Respiratory Physiology by Dr John B. West

Books and E-books

A selection of titles are shown below, click on the image to access the books.

Atlas of Fiberoptic Bronchoscopy by Rajendra Prasad
Call Number: Proquest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9789350903407
Publication Date: 2013-12-31
This atlas is a practical guide to the diagnosis and treatment of lung conditions using fiberoptic bronchoscopy. Beginning with an introduction to the history and application of the procedure, and discussion on normal and abnormal patterns of bronchial anatomy, the following sections present X-Ray, CT and bronchoscopic pictures of numerous cases encountered by the author. Each case is described in detail, highlighting possible complications and contraindications.
Atlas of Flexible Bronchoscopy by Pallav Shah
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781032477589
Publication Date: 2023-01-09
This unique and comprehensive atlas by an expert practioner provides an innovative pictorial guide to flexible bronchoscopy, one of the most exciting and challenging procedures in respiratory medicine today. A step-by-step guide to the use of bronchoscopic techniques, interpretation of images and differential diagnoses.
Bronchial Branch Tracing by Noriaki Kurimoto; Katsuhiko Morita
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central (Use Athens login to access )
ISBN: 9789811399046
Publication Date: 2020-02-28
This book summarizes the branch tracing method for bronchoscopic diagnosis. Cytopathological and histopathological diagnoses are essential to making prognoses and selecting appropriate treatment for peripheral pulmonary lesions, notably lung cancer.
Clinical Manifestations and Assessment of Respiratory Disease by Terry Des Jardins; George G. Burton
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780323871501
Publication Date: 2023-03-20
A realistic look at treating respiratory diseases! This book gives you the fundamental knowledge and understanding required to successfully assess and treat patients with respiratory diseases. This foundation helps you learn how to systematically gather relevant clinical data; make an objective evaluation; identify the desired outcome and formulate an assessment; design a safe, appropriate, and effective treatment plan; and document all the steps involved.
Egan's Fundamentals of Respiratory Care by Robert M. Kacmarek; James K. Stoller; Al Heuer
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780323511124
Publication Date: 2020-03-09
Provides a solid foundation in respiratory care and covers the latest advances in this ever-changing field. Known as "the bible for respiratory care," this text makes it easy to understand the role of the respiratory therapist, the scientific basis for treatment, and clinical applications.
ERS Practical Handbook of Invasive Mechanical Ventilation by Leoo Heunks and Marcus J. Schultz
Call Number: Proquest e-book (use Athens from personal device)
ISBN: 9781849841221
Publication Date: 2019
Invasive ventilation is a frequently used lifesaving intervention in critical care. The ERS Practical Handbook of Invasive Mechanical Ventilation provides a concise "why and how to" guide to invasive ventilation, ensuring that caregivers can not only apply invasive ventilation, but obtain a thorough understanding of the underlying principles ensuring that they and their patients gain the most value from this intervention.
ERS Practical Handbook of Noninvasive Ventilation by Anita K. Simonds (Editor)
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central (Use Athens login to access )
ISBN: 9781849840767
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
The ERS Practical Handbook of Noninvasive Ventilation provides a concise "why and how to" guide to NIV from the basics of equipment and patient selection to discharge planning and community care. Editor Anita K. Simonds has brought together leading clinicians and researchers in the field to provide an easy-to-read guide to all aspects of NIV.
Flexible Bronchoscopy by Atul C. Mehta (Editor); J. Francis Turner (Editor); Ko-Pen Wang (Editor)
Call Number: Proquest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781405175876
Publication Date: 2012-02-20
With the development of new instruments and the refining of new techniques, flexible bronchoscopy has become one of the most frequently performed invasive procedures in pulmonary medicine. This book highlights possible complications, contra-indications and precautions. In addition it addresses all current techniques and future technologies in interventional bronchoscopy.
Management of Tuberculosis: a guide for clinicians by TB Forum
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780648137979
Publication Date: 2017
While TB is an uncommon disease in Australia, it is essential that Australian clinicians deliver expert and careful management to the cases that do arise, especially as our population of new Australians increases, and our tourism industry flourishes, bringing with it more opportunities for exposure to TB. Fortunately, TB is a disease treatable with antibiotics, but its successful management requires informed clinicians.
Neonatal and pediatric respiratory care, 6th edition by Brian K. Walsh
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780323793094
Publication Date: 2022
Provides a solid foundation in the assessment and treatment of respiratory disorders in children. Clear, full-color coverage simplifies the concepts of respiratory care while emphasizing clinical application. Reflecting the changing face of this profession, this edition unpacks care strategies with coverage of the newest treatment algorithms, interventions, mechanical ventilation technologies, and more.
Nunn and Lumb's Applied Respiratory Physiology by Andrew B. Lumb; Caroline R. Thomas
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780702079085
Publication Date: 2020-07-28
Your concise, one-stop guide to all aspects of respiratory physiology in health, disease, and in the many physiologically challenging situations and environments into which humans take themselves - coverage is from basic science to clinical applications.
Oxford Handbook of Respiratory Medicine - 4th edition. by Chapman et al.
Call Number: WF 39/1b
ISBN: 9780198837114
Publication Date: 2021
It covers the latest clinical guidelines and developments in the field and features unique sections on practical procedures, as well as a symptoms section to aid in differential diagnosis and clinical management. Practical advice on management is integrated throughout and a dedicated section on respiratory emergencies ensures the ability to cope with any eventuality. New sections include thoracic ultrasound, indwelling pleural catheters, safe sedation, and cardiopulmonary exercise testing, and this new edition covers all major respiratory diseases and symptoms.
Pleural Disease by Nick A. Maskell, Christian B. Laursen, and Y. C. Gary Lee
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central (Use Athens login to access )
ISBN: 9781849841160
Publication Date: 2020
This Monograph provides the clinician with an up-to-date summary of the substantial evidence in our understanding of pleural disease. It covers key aspects relevant to clinicians, including mechanisms, pathophysiology, epidemiology, diagnostics, relevant experimental models and interventions. Although broad in scope, readers will be able to reach into individual chapters to gain a focused summary of specific areas relevant to their clinical or scientific practice.
Respiratory Care Anatomy and Physiology by Will Beachey
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780323757034
Publication Date: 2022-08-11
Provides an in-depth understanding of the physiology and pathophysiology of the lungs, heart, vascular system, and kidneys. It connects theory with practice, showing how physiological principles guide the selection and use of diagnostic, therapeutic, and monitoring procedures. New to this edition are clinical scenarios for issues such as vaping and the addiction pathway.
Respiratory medicine : lecture notes, 10th edition by Graham P. Burns; James G. Macfarlane; Stephen J. Bourke
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781119774204
Publication Date: 2022
In the newly revised Tenth Edition of Respiratory Medicine: Lecture Notes a team of distinguished physicians delivers a comprehensive and accessible overview of the essentials of respiratory medicine, including a review of respiratory anatomy and physiology, as well as the aetiology, epidemiology, symptoms, and management of a wide range of respiratory diseases. Donated by UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.
Respiratory Symptoms by Margaret L. Campbell (Contribution by)
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central (use Athens login to access)
ISBN: 9780190098896
Publication Date: 2023-04-25
Dyspnea, also known as breathlessness, is one of the most difficult symptoms to experience and is also one of the most difficult to treat as the evidence-base for this symptom lags behind other prevalent symptoms, such as pain or nausea. This volume brings together expertise from the fields of nursing, chaplaincy, social work, and psychology to address dyspnea from a palliative care context. Covering patients ranging from pediatric to geriatric, each chapter opens with a case study and provides context for the practical clinical content that follows.
Thoracic Ultrasound by Christian B. Laursen (Editor); Najib M. Rahman (Editor); Giovanni Volpicelli (Editor)
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central (Use Athens login to access )
ISBN: 9781849840941
Publication Date: 2018-03-01
Thoracic ultrasound is now considered an essential bedside tool in respiratory medicine. Despite this, several aspects are yet to be studied and assessed, and international consensus remains limited. With this in mind, the Guest Editors of this Monograph have selected a broad range of authors who are recognised experts, represent different specialities and use thoracic ultrasound in different settings. The result is that each chapter not only reflects expert opinion at a single site in Europe, but provides a multidisciplinary and multicentre view.
Wasserman and Whipp's Principles of Exercise Testing and Interpretation by Kathy E. Sietsema; Darryl Y. Sue; William W. Stringer; Susan Ward
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central (use Athens login to access)
ISBN: 9781975136437
Publication Date: 2020-08-20
Thoroughly revised and updated for today's clinicians, Wasserman & Whipp's Principles of Exercise Testing and Interpretation, Sixth Edition, provides a comprehensive, practical overview of cardiopulmonary exercise testing (CPET) ideally suited for pulmonologists, cardiologists, anesthesiologists, and others with an interest in clinical exercise testing.
West's Respiratory Physiology by John B. West; Andrew M. Luks
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781975139186
Publication Date: 2020-10-07
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! For more than 40 years, West's Respiratory Physiology: The Essentials has remained a critical resource for medical and allied health students learning the basics of respiratory physiology as well as an effective, quick review for residents and fellows in pulmonary medicine, critical care, anesthesiology, and internal medicine as they prepare for licensing and other exams.
Wilkins' Clinical Assessment in Respiratory Care by Albert J. Heuer
Call Number: WF 141/3a
ISBN: 9780323696999
Publication Date: 2021-10-21
Prepares you to assist physicians in the decision-making process regarding treatment, evaluation of the treatment's effectiveness, and determining if changes in the treatment need to be made. Comprehensive approach addresses all of the most important aspects and topics of assessment, so you can learn to assess patients effectively. Case studies provide real-life clinical scenarios challenging you to interpret data and make accurate patient assessments.

New Library website

Have you tried our new CLIN Libraries website - our improved one-stop shop to search across all the Libraries’ and CIAP’s online resources?

E-book collections list

Our eBook collections allow 24/7 access direct from the collection (see below) or through the Library catalogue.

Access via your Athens account, to register for an account use the Library Athens Registration Form.

AccessEmergency Medicine This link opens in a new window
Online emergency medicine resource providing quick diagnosis and treatment answers to a range of conditions from neurological and pediatric emergencies to poisoning and trauma. Includes textbooks, procedural videos, interactive self-assessment drug database and student/"clerk" resources. Remote access via Athens. Register for an individual database account for quizzes etc.
CIAP Ebooks This link opens in a new window
CIAP provides access to more than 400 ebooks including the Bloomsbury Dictionary of Nursing, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Drugs in pregnancy and Lactation (Briggs) and many more. NSW Health staff can use their StaffID to login.
Doody's Collection This link opens in a new window
Doody's Collection includes key current medical, nursing and allied health e-books rated as essential texts and recommended for inclusion by a panel of expert librarian reviewers. It includes titles such as 'DeLisa's Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation' and 'The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management'.
Nursing eBook collection This link opens in a new window
Access via Athens on a personal device. A regularly updated collection of more than 770 ebooks on topics such as nursing leadership and management, evidence based care and nursing research.
ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's Health, Medicine and Business eBook Collection provides access to 44,000+ titles:
* The Business eBook Collection includes subjects ranging from economics, marketing, leadership, finance and business planning, etiquette, intelligence, logistics and more.
* The Health & Medicine ebook Collection includes subjects ranging from nursing, allied health, psychology, diseases, anatomy/physiology, biology, chemical engineering more.
View these titles from work or home, PC or phone, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week!
Access to these eBooks is via Athens or through the Library Catalogue. To register complete the online Athens Registration Form available on the CLIN Library Website.

Library catalogue

CLIN Library Catalogue This link opens in a new window
A union catalogue for the SWSLHD Libraries giving access to books, ebooks, journal titles and other resources. Library members can request books across the District and select where they want to pick them up.