Online emergency medicine resource providing quick diagnosis and treatment answers to a range of conditions from neurological and pediatric emergencies to poisoning and trauma. Includes textbooks, procedural videos, interactive self-assessment drug database and student/"clerk" resources. Remote access via Athens. Register for an individual database account for quizzes etc.
Access via Athens on a personal device. A regularly updated collection of more than 770 ebooks on topics such as nursing leadership and management, evidence based care and nursing research.
* The Business eBook Collection includes subjects ranging from economics, marketing, leadership, finance and business planning, etiquette, intelligence, logistics and more.
* The Health & Medicine ebook Collection includes subjects ranging from nursing, allied health, psychology, diseases, anatomy/physiology, biology, chemical engineering more.
CIAP provides access to more than 400 ebooks including the Bloomsbury Dictionary of Nursing, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Drugs in pregnancy and Lactation (Briggs) and many more. NSW Health staff can use their StaffID to login.
Doody's Collection includes key current medical, nursing and allied health e-books rated as essential texts and recommended for inclusion by a panel of expert librarian reviewers. It includes titles such as 'DeLisa's Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation' and 'The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management'.
Library staff can assist you with:
Contact or visit your local CLIN Library to find out more about our full range of services and for assistance with your research project.
This page introduces a selection of resources relevant to identifying abuse and domestic violence against elderly and people living with disability and providing support to this population.
Autistic People Against Neuroleptic Abuse by
In 1998, Dinah Murray founded APANA (Autistic People Against Neuroleptic Abuse), an autistic-led campaign in the UK to stop the overuse of drugs being given to people with intellectual disabilities intellectual disabilities . The campaign subverted the medicalization of “challenging behavior” and focused on three cases studies of institutionalized institutionalization autistic adults who were being overprescribed. Murray compiled statistics on their medications and their visits to doctors, found allies, began spreading the message via the internet and using legal recourse. Espousing a non-pathological model of autism, APANA raised awareness of the harms of overmedication overmedication in the learning disability world and, perhaps, more caution in the psychiatric world. It may have impacted on some government guidelines, and on the author’s reputation as resourceful and reasonable, which benefitted her future activism activism .
Conflicting Relations, Abuse and Discrimination Experienced by Older Adults by
Drawing on interdisciplinary, cross-national perspectives, this open access book contributes to the development of a coherent scientific discourse on social exclusion of older people. The book considers five domains of exclusion (services; economic; social relations; civic and socio-cultural; and community and spatial domains), with three chapters dedicated to analysing different dimensions of each exclusion domain. The book also examines the interrelationships between different forms of exclusion, and how outcomes and processes of different kinds of exclusion can be related to one another. In doing so, major cross-cutting themes, such as rights and identity, inclusive service infrastructures, and displacement of marginalised older adult groups, are considered.
Disability, gender and violence over the life course: global perspectives and human rights perspectives by 
Elder Abuse by
Provide optimal, evidence-based triage assessment, advice, and protocols, with Triage Protocols for Aging Adults . The 190 evidence-based protocols offered here address a wide range of symptoms, disorders, and emergencies affecting those 50 and older. Flip quickly to the right symptom and ask the questions listed there to determine whether the individual requires emergency, same-day, or home care. Whether you are in family practice or are a triage nurse working at a hospital, urgent care center, or insurance company, this is the go-to reference to keep by your side. Advance your evidence-based triage skills and protocols with: Easy-to-follow f lowchart format that leads you from yes-or-no questions to assessment, recommendations, and clear instructions 190 protocols that cover the most common conditions faced by aging adults--all body systems, plus weakness, falls, loss of memory, poor appetite, medication interaction problems, and more Alpha-organized table of contents that helps you locate symptoms quickly Contents also organized by body system for quick-find protocols Protocols that have symptom-based titles and address issues affecting all body systems, such as abdominal pain and swelling, alcohol problems, allergic reactions, altered mental status, asthma, earache, elder abuse, joint pain/swelling, and more All protocols reviewed by a team of nursing experts Action column of each protocol that presents emergency actions first Coverage of the legal aspects of triage Tools and sample forms - telephone triage protocol form, triage documentation form, triage log, skills assessment, call documentation review, and teaching self-assessment guide Chapter features include: Key Questions - name, age, onset, medications, pain scale, associated symptoms, and history Other Protocols to Consider - lists related protocols and their page numbers Health Alert - additional information to consider when choosing a protocol, with additional resources listed Assessment Questions and Actions - with specific actions under each yes-or-no answer Home Care Instructions - detailed instructions sections that explain care to be given before emergency help arrives, while waiting for an appointment, or for ongoing home care Report the Following Problems to Your PCP/Clinic/ED - symptoms or conditions that should be reported to their usual healthcare provider Seek Emergency Care Immediately if Any of the Following Occur - symptoms or conditions that require emergency care Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC, and Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time--providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Elder Abuse and Neglect by
This chapter presents a case of 83‐year‐old woman who brought to the emergency department (ED) via emergency medical services (EMSs) after being found wandering the streets in her nightgown. With the aging of world's population, the prevalence of elder abuse and neglect will increase. Increased educational efforts for healthcare providers, leading to increased awareness of this societal problem, are needed to protect our elderly patients. Treat the presenting condition and then mobilize the support services to ensure that the elderly person will be cared for appropriately when discharged. The difficult part is recognizing that the elderly patient's condition is due to abuse or neglect. One of the important points in the recognition of elder abuse is that there is no stereotypical victim. There are several screening tools to facilitate the detection of elder abuse. One that is easy to complete in the ED is the Elder Abuse Suspicion Index (EASI).
Inclusion, Work and Wellbeing: Shifting Perceptions of Disability and Employability Through the National Disability Insurance Scheme by
The National Disability Insurance Scheme (known commonly as the NDIS) was introduced as a radical new way of funding disability services in Australia. It is a rare moment in politics and policy making that an idea as revolutionary, ambitious and expensive as the NDIS makes it into its implementation phase. Not surprising, then, that the NDIS has been described by many as the biggest social shift in Australia since Medicare. This book will be a key text for scholars and public policy professionals wishing to understand the NDIS, how it was designed, and lessons learned through its introduction and roll-out. The book addresses how the NDIS has intersected with particular cohorts and sectors, and some of the challenges that have arisen. It highlights the experiences of people with disability through a collection of personal stories from participants and families in the NDIS. The key insights from this large scale public policy experiment are relevant for anyone interested in social change in Australia, or internationally.
The Legal and Ethical Analysis of Elder Abuse by
50th Anniversary Edition The cornerstone text in the field for 50 years, Kaplan & Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry has consistently kept pace with the rapid growth of research and knowledge in neural science, as well as biological and psychological science. This two-volume Tenth Edition shares the expertise of over 600 renowned contributors who cover the full range of psychiatry and mental health, including neural science, genetics, neuropsychiatry, psychopharmacology, and other key areas. It remains the gold standard of reference for all those who work with the mentally ill, including psychiatrists and other physicians, psychologists, psychiatric social workers, psychiatric nurses, and other mental health professionals. New authors bring a fresh perspective to many topics, keeping you at the forefront of current developments in the field. Thoroughly updated coverage of neural sciences, with new sections on epigenetics, the microbiome, systems neuroscience, the Human Connectome Project, neurodevelopment, and many more. Extensively revised sections on schizophrenia, mood disorders, anxiety disorders, geriatric psychiatry and neurocognitive disorders. Uniquely comprehensive information of psychosomatic medicine, including chapters on obesity, chronic pain, and psychiatric sequella of critical illness. Timely information on public and global psychiatry, biological therapies, and psychotherapies. "Text within a text" coverage of child psychiatry includes thorough information on neuroimaging, assessment, genetics, sleep disorders, and the impact on parents of raising a psychiatrically disabled child. Abundant case histories add clarity and represent the vast clinical experiences and wisdom of hundreds of contributing authors. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options offer the ability to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
The Mistreatment of Older Adults by
The sixth edition remains the pioneering text for the practising physician confronted with the unique problems of an increasingly elderly population. Dr William Reichel's formative text is designed as a practical and useful guide for health specialists from medical students to practicing physicians. This book is not a collection of subspecialty chapters but rather emphasizes the clinical management of the geriatric patient with simple to complex problems. The editors have reviewed every chapter and have included the most up-to-date advances in the care of the elderly. New chapters include hormonal therapy in post-menopausal women, drug therapy for Alzheimer's sufferers, alternative medicine, the chronic understaffing of nursing homes, management of delirium, and ethical issues. Comprehensive and written for any clinicians caring for older patients (including family physicians, general internists, nurse practitioners, geriatricians, and other specialists), this esteemed text provides practical and trusted advice.
The Moulster and Griffiths Learning Disability Nursing Model : a Framework for Practice by
The Moulster and Griffiths nursing model is the first developed specifically for learning disability nurses. This book describes the model and offers a solid framework to assess, plan, reflect on and evaluate person-centred care. With approximately 1.5 million people in Britain living with a learning disability and a proven correlation between the use of models of care and the achievements of outcomes for those supported, this book is the perfect tool for learning disability nurses. It ensures that there is a shared vision for learning disability nursing practice, and helps nurses address a wide variety of heath care needs. By providing an in-depth description of the model, the book provides a dedicated structure for learning disability nursing, and remains unique in its transferability to different clinical settings.
Trauma in Older Adults by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Clinically focused and evidence-based, Harwood-Nuss' Clinical Practice of Emergency Medicine, Seventh Edition, is a comprehensive, easy-to-use reference for practitioners and residents in today's Emergency Department (ED). Templated chapters rapidly guide you to up to date information on clinical presentation, differential diagnosis, evaluation, management, and disposition, including highlighted critical interventions and common pitfalls. This concise text covers the full range of conditions you're likely to see in the ED, with unmatched readability for quick study and reference. Emphasizes management and disposition, helping you make effective management decisions for patients with or without a confirmed diagnosis. Contains a unique high-risk chief complaint section, covering frequently seen, critical presentations in the ED, including chest pain, abdominal pain, shortness of breath, and altered mental status. Provides carefully selected tables, diagrams, and illustrations to enhance and augment concise, focused chapters. Features key testing sections throughout as well as pertinent clinical guideline boxes providing practical advice and guidance to increase your knowledge and improve your clinical care. Includes access to additional online-only content (including chapters, figures, and tables) and access to over 1,500 self-assessment questions and answers. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Royal Commission into Violence, Abuse, Neglect and Exploitation of People with Disability Funds and publishes Research Report on violence against, and abuse, neglect and exploitation of, people with disability. The findings from Royal Commission research informs the scope and direction of public hearings and policy work, and will ensure that recommendations in the final Royal Commission report are based on the best available research evidence. To read more research reports published by the Disability Royal Commission click here.
Issues paper - Violence and abuse of people with disability at home (Auslan)
