LibGuides: Speech Pathology: E-books

Overview

This guide is intended to provide a good starting point to find relevant information related to Speech Pathology. Please let us know if you find it useful and/or if you have other suggestions to add to the site.

New Library website

Have you tried our new CLIN Libraries website - our improved one-stop shop to search across all the Libraries’ and CIAP’s online resources?

E-books relevant to Speech Pathology

A selection of titles are shown below, click on the image or title to view the eBooks. You will need an Athens account to access the Proquest eBooks from a personal device.

Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology: a resource manual (6th ed) by Kenneth G. Shipley; Julie G. McAfee
Call Number: Proquest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781635502046
Publication Date: 2019-11-01
The book covers the diagnosis and evaluation of a wide range of communication disorders in adults and children. This one-of-a-kind manual provides a comprehensive package of reference materials, explanations of assessment procedures, practical stimulus suggestions, and hands-on worksheets and screening forms.
Children's Speech Sound Disorders by Caroline Bowen
Call Number: Proquest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781118634028
Publication Date: 2014-11-03
Speaking directly to experienced and novice clinicians, educators and students in speech-language pathology/speech and language therapy via an informative essay-based approach, Children's Speech Sound Disorders provides concise, easy-to-understand explanations of key aspects of the classification, assessment, diagnosis and treatment of articulation disorders, phonological disorders and childhood apraxia of speech.
Clinical Management of Swallowing Disorders by Thomas Murry; Karen Chan; Ricardo L. Carrau
Call Number: Proquest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781635502282
Publication Date: 2020-11-01
"Clinical Management of Swallowing Disorders, Fifth Edition is a graduate-level textbook for speech-language pathology programs that examines the diagnosis and treatment of swallowing disorders in children and adults. Thoroughly updated, this popular text emphasizes evidence-based practice, multidisciplinary team management, swallowing safety, nutrition, behavioral treatments, and management following surgical options.
Clinical Methods and Practicum in Speech-Language Pathology (6th ed.) by M. N. Hegde; Katrina Kuyumjian
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central (Use Athens login to access )
ISBN: 9781635501841
Publication Date: 2019-05-01
The sixth edition of Clinical Methods and Practicum in Speech-Language Pathology remains a vital resource for students in speech-language pathology who are about to begin their clinical practicum.
Developmental Phonological Disorders - 2nd ed by Susan Rvachew; Francoise Brosseau-Lapre
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781597567176
Publication Date: 2016-12-20
This textbook provides a deep review of the knowledge base necessary for the competent assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of developmental phonological disorders. Throughout the book, normal and atypical phonological learning in natural and therapeutic contexts are presented as the emergent property of biological constraints and learning mechanisms in dynamic interaction with environmental inputs. The thirteen chapters cover seminal studies and leading-edge research, allowing the speech-language pathologist to design interventions that are adapted to the unique needs of each child while being consistent with the best research evidence.
Introduction to Speech Sound Disorders by Susan Rvachew; Francoise Brosseau-Lapre
Call Number: Proquest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781597568036
Publication Date: 2017-12-20
The text covers the major concepts and constructs currently framing the study of speech sound disorders in children, including typical and atypical phonological acquisition and clinical skills regarding assessment and intervention.
Medical Speech-Language Pathology Across the Care Continuum by Alex F. Johnson; Barbara H. Jacobson; Schliep
Call Number: Proquest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781635502688
Publication Date: 2020-11-01
Offers a comprehensive, engaging, and readable overview to the dynamic field of medical speech-language pathology. It is the first medical speech-language pathology textbook that is not focused on the various disorders, but instead examines the scope and key concepts of the profession, such as clinical reasoning, interprofessional practice, and the continuum of care. The book provides an in-depth overview of healthcare workplace settings (acute care, inpatient rehabilitation, skilled nursing, home health, outpatient care, pediatric service delivery, pharmacology, and neuroimaging)
Multilingual Aspects of Speech Sound Disorders in Children by Sharynne McLeod (Editor); Brian Goldstein (Editor)
Call Number: Proquest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781847695147
Publication Date: 2012-02-20
This book translates research into clinical practice for speech-language pathologists working with children. The book explores both multilingual and multicultural aspects of children with speech sound disorders. The 30 theoretical and clinical chapters have been written by 44 authors from 16 different countries about 112 languages and dialects.
Professional Issues in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology by Melanie W. Hudson; Mark DeRuiter
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781635502206
Publication Date: 2019-11-15
A singularly comprehensive resource for students in speech-language pathology and audiology as they prepare for their professional careers. It also serves as a timely source of information for both practitioners and faculty, serving as an updated "state of the professions" desk reference. The book is divided into four major sections: overview of the professions; employment issues; setting-specific issues; and working productively.
Rare Disorders That Cause Dysphagia by Violet O. Cox
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781635501421
Publication Date: 2019-11-01
A resource manual to help medical speech-language pathologists identify the rare disorders that cause dysphagia and offer practical, therapeutic approaches to treatment. Most medical speech-language pathologists are acquainted with common etiologies of dysphagia, such as strokes, head injury, brain tumors, etc. However, there are less common disorders and syndromes that contribute to dysphagia that are not included in most textbooks and reference guides.
Speech-Language Pathologists in Early Childhood Intervention by Kate D. Ross
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781597569859
Publication Date: 2017-09-30
Presents practicing clinicians and graduate students with the skills necessary to provide evidence-based best practice services to young clients struggling to gain functional communication skills and their families. It also serves to broaden the understanding of early intervention within the field of speech-language pathology. Through research, real life scenarios, and practical documents the text presents positive advocacy for this population.
Speech Sound Disorders for Class and Clinic by Ken M. Bleile
Call Number: Proquest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781635501100
Publication Date: 2019-12-01
A readable and practical guide to the care of speech sound disorders, emphasizing evidence-based principles and procedures that underlie almost all clinical approaches. Nearly twenty-five percent of the chapters offer hands-on analyzes of speech samples from real children.
Writing Scientific Research in Communication Sciences and Disorders by Shelley B. Brundage; Robert H. Brookshire
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781597566148
Publication Date: 2015-11-01
A comprehensive guide to the preparation and publication of research papers for researchers in communication sciences and disorders. Individual chapters address the structure, content and style of the Introduction, Method, Results, and Discussion sections. The balance of the text is taken up with the writing process, including the nuts and bolts of preparing tables and graphs, detailed discussion of different voices and grammar issues, how to edit your own work, how to work with editors and peer reviewers, and how to get started and be a productive writer.

E-book collections list

Our eBook collections allow 24/7 access direct from the collection (see below) or through the Library catalogue.

Access via your Athens account, to register for an account use the Library Athens Registration Form.

AccessEmergency Medicine This link opens in a new window
Online emergency medicine resource providing quick diagnosis and treatment answers to a range of conditions from neurological and pediatric emergencies to poisoning and trauma. Includes textbooks, procedural videos, interactive self-assessment drug database and student/"clerk" resources. Remote access via Athens. Register for an individual database account for quizzes etc.
CIAP Ebooks This link opens in a new window
CIAP provides access to more than 400 ebooks including the Bloomsbury Dictionary of Nursing, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Drugs in pregnancy and Lactation (Briggs) and many more. NSW Health staff can use their StaffID to login.
Doody's Collection This link opens in a new window
Doody's Collection includes key current medical, nursing and allied health e-books rated as essential texts and recommended for inclusion by a panel of expert librarian reviewers. It includes titles such as 'DeLisa's Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation' and 'The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management'.
Nursing eBook collection This link opens in a new window
Access via Athens on a personal device. A regularly updated collection of more than 770 ebooks on topics such as nursing leadership and management, evidence based care and nursing research.
ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's Health, Medicine and Business eBook Collection provides access to 44,000+ titles:
* The Business eBook Collection includes subjects ranging from economics, marketing, leadership, finance and business planning, etiquette, intelligence, logistics and more.
* The Health & Medicine ebook Collection includes subjects ranging from nursing, allied health, psychology, diseases, anatomy/physiology, biology, chemical engineering more.
View these titles from work or home, PC or phone, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week!
Access to these eBooks is via Athens or through the Library Catalogue. To register complete the online Athens Registration Form available on the CLIN Library Website.