Research LibGuide

This innovative text introduces and illustrates case study methodology for nursing research by exploring how it can be used to uncover the varied and complex life experiences of persons with chronic illness and post-traumatic stress conditions. Nursing practice demands care and compassion, but often nurses do not have the tools to examine their clients' health and wellness experiences. This book presents an approach to finding shared solutions for common health problems from a nursing perspective. It provides readers with the tools to develop their own case study approach and the skills to translate their findings into innovative ways to influence nursing care for people across their health/illness trajectories.

This distinguished text provides top-tier guidance for advanced practice nurses on how to perform a comprehensive systematic review of available research to inform scholarly work, particularly in DNP and PhD programs. With a strategic focus on the search process and assessing the quality of the evidence, this text presents, clearly and comprehensively, all of the knowledge and skills necessary to conduct a foundational CSR in eight concrete steps. This text examines how to write a CSR proposal, final report, and a policy brief based on systematic review findings. Two finished proposals and two completed systematic reviews demonstrate each step of the process from start to finish. Additionally, the text covers software used in research queries and provides helpful strategies for effectively using the search function when seeking information. Two complete CSRs along with new and updated examples throughout the book further aid readers in their pursuit of excellence in scholarly work.

This book is a guide to good, responsible research at each step of the process of research discovery, so that a researcher at the beginning of a scientific career has a clear pathway to doing good research and producing reliable results.

This open access book illustrates how interdisciplinary research develops over the lifetime of a scholar: not in a single project, but as an attitude that trickles down, or spirals up, into research. This book presents how interdisciplinary work has inspired shifts in how the contributors read, value concepts, critically combine methods, cope with knowledge hierarchies, write in style, and collaborate. Drawing on extensive examples from the humanities and social sciences, the editors and chapter authors show how they started, tried to open up, dealt with inconsistencies, had to adapt, and ultimately learned and grew as researchers. The book offers valuable insights into the conditions and complexities present for interdisciplinary research to be successful in an academic setting. This is an open access book. 

This book describes the evolution of treatment in oncology through the lens of approximately 250 landmark clinical trials. The well-designed clinical trial is essential to the practice of medicine. There is no field that has embraced or been transformed more by the clinical trial than oncology.  Each primary cancer site has a remarkable story that can be told through clinical trials.  For example, patients who presented decades ago with soft tissue sarcoma of the extremities would invariably undergo limb amputation.  The landmark National Cancer Institute study by Rosenberg et al. randomized patients to limb sparing surgery followed by adjuvant radiation therapy compared with limb amputation.  This study helped change the standard of care by allowing most patients to retain their functioning limbs with an improvement in quality of life and no compromise in overall survival.  Such major clinical trials for common malignancies including breast, prostate, lung, gastrointestinal, genitourinary, and gynecologic cancers are discussed.  Because oncology is multidisciplinary, this book should be of interest for radiation oncologists, surgeons, medical oncologists, and other physicians interested in learning more about the landmark trials that have shaped oncology.

This book provides a concise and accessible introduction to online research, covering ethics, surveys, focus groups, ethnographies, experiments and the gathering and analysis of naturally occurring digital/big data. It also asks how researchers should use the digital environment to communicate their research and looks forward to the future of the field, asking what the next ten years hold. Online research is rarely well served by the direct translation of onsite methods onto the internet. Rather, researchers need to reflect, adapt and redesign research as they change the mode through which they conduct their research. Featuring an updated glossary, two new chapters and comprehensive updates throughout, this new edition provides new and experienced researchers with the foundation they need to conduct online research projects.

The Oxford Handbook of Clinical and Healthcare Research is a practical, concise, and easy-to-use reference for the full range of clinical and healthcare research topics, while incorporating evidence based medicine. Comprehensively providing a wide breadth of knowledge, this handbook clearlycovers both the qualitative and quantitative aspects.This handbook includes clear instructions on the legislative requirements as well as the practical requirements of commissioning, conducting, analysing, and reporting research for those in clinical or healthcare practice, education or training. Whether you need practical advice on setting up and running a trial, negotiating regulations, learning vital research skills, or to study the underpinning concepts of research methods, this handbook will give you the vital information, clinical evidence, and guidance you need.

This book provides a detailed overview of the methodology for conducting clinical trials, including developing protocols, data capture, randomisation, analysis and reporting. Assuming no prior background, this user-friendly resource describes the statistical, regulatory, and practical components required for conducting randomised clinical trials. Numerous examples and case studies from industry, academia, and the research literature help readers understand each stage of the clinical trial process.

Using practical examples, applies the theory to practice in a number cases from nursing, midwifery and allied health areas. This edition focusses on applied ethics, evidence-based practice culminates in a capstone chapter titled Evidence-based practice.