LibGuides: SWSLHD Libraries Research support : Translational Research in Health

Translational Research and NSW Health

"Translational research does what it says on the tin: it takes findings from controlled clinical studies – so-called ‘bench to bedside’ research – and seeks to translate them to real-world community or health settings. For University of Sydney Professor of Public Health Don Nutbeam, translational research is also about accelerating innovative interventions in health care to reach patients as quickly as possible. “Statistically, it takes on average about 17 years for a medical innovation to make it into clinical practice,” he says. “The goal of a lot of translational research is to significantly reduce that period.”" Read more on the NSW Health site

NSW Health Translational Research Grants Scheme
The Translational Research Grants Scheme (TRGS) provides grants to staff employed within NSW local health districts, specialty health networks, NSW Ambulance and NSW Health Pathology. It funds research projects that will translate into better patient outcomes, health service delivery, and population health and wellbeing. The Scheme is designed to build research capability and accelerate evidence translation within the NSW public health system.

WSU Diabetes, Obesity and Metabolism Translational Research Unit

Diabetes, Obesity and Metabolism Translational Research Unit
The prevalence of diabetes across Western Sydney is too high. We have one of the highest rates of obesity and cardiovascular disease in Australia and our patients with diabetes are over-represented in hospitalisations – around 1 in every 4 hospital patients has diabetes... We are the Diabetes, Obesity and Metabolism Translational Research Unit (DOMTRU), committed to reversing the impact of diabetes on our region and around the world. Led by one of the world’s pre-eminent endocrinologists, Prof. David Simmons, we are an integrated partnership – combining the research expertise of Western Sydney University with the clinical and educational programs of South Western Sydney Local Health District, Primary Health Networks and other partners to drive world-leading research in diabetes prevention and management, translating into clinical practice and prevention strategies, as well as promoting education practices both in current and future practitioners.

Western Sydney University Translational Health Research Institute

Translational Health Research Institute
THRI will be a national centre for health and medical research, focusing on the integration and translation of research into best practice and policy, based on government health priorities and community needs.

Translational Research Institute Australia

Translational Research Institute Australia
TRI aims to combine clinical and translational research to advance progress from laboratory discovery to application in the community - an initiative to enable 'bench to bedside' medical research

The BridgeTech Program
TRI is currently recruiting for a free online program, BridgeTech, which offers training on the specific skills and knowledge needed for medtech commercialisation.

Applications close 1 November 2021

Translational Health Research: Library Resources

These resources have been recently added to the collection and are available to borrow.

Interested in a specific title? Click on the title or cover image to link into the Library catalog and then on 'Reserve' We will then find the book and you will be emailed when it is available for collection. Contact the Library if you are not able to come in to collect it as we may be able to put it in the internal mail to your Department.

Not a member of the Library? If you are a member of staff or a student on clinical placement fill in a membership request form

Suggestion for purchase? Fill in a Resource recommendation or contact the Library.

Diabetes by Carla J. Greenbaum (Editor); Leonard C. Harrison (Editor)
Call Number: WK 810/DIA/2 Bankstown
ISBN: 9780367387013
Publication Date: 2019-09-19
Diabetes has garnered worldwide attention and research funding as clinicians and researchers seek to better understand its pathogenesis, prevention, complications management, and impact and relationship to other diseases (heart disease, kidney disease, infections, and inflammation). This book will provide a concise interpretation of translational diabetes research for the purpose of preparing clinicians to understand and effectively deploy new strategies and therapeutics into the clinical care of diabetes patients
Emerging Technologies for Nurses by Whende M. Carroll (Editor)
Call Number: Proquest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9780826146496
Publication Date: 2020-02-28
This book provides up-to-date information on innovative, smart technologies that nurses can use in clinical and non-clinical settings to keep up with the changing face of healthcare. Subjects include big data, artificial intelligence, virtual and augmented realities, connected technologies, and precision health. There is also discussion of the shift of healthcare delivery into the community, with an outlook on improving outcomes and enhancing practice.
Getting Research Findings into Practice by Andy Haines (Editor); Andrew Haines (Editor); Anna Donald (Editor)
Call Number: Proquest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9780727915535
Publication Date: 2004-04-09
This accessible guide aims to outline why there is a gap between research findings and what actually happens in clinical practice. It covers a number of topics including the sources of information on clinical effectiveness and methods of information, how to close the gap between research and practice, potential roles for lay people, the role of decision support, barriers to the use of evidence in clinical practice, the role of decision analysis, implementing research findings in developing countries and how to encourage the implementation of results from economic evaluation.
Health Promotion by Marilyn Frenn
Call Number: WA 590/59
ISBN: 9780803660878
Publication Date: 2021-01-05
Take an evidence-based approach to health promotion across the lifespan and clinical specialties. Written for NPs and advanced practitioners, this text provides coaching in how to read, evaluate, and apply the best evidence to health promotion plans for individuals and their families to help them prevent or manage chronic and acute diseases and disorders. Step-by-step, a who's who of educators, researchers, and practitioners explore the models and skills you need to help your patients, including those with multiple co-morbidities, while evaluating medical evidence that changes rapidly, or may be unclear. You'll also be prepared for the health promotion questions on certification exams.
Knowledge Translation in Nursing and Healthcare by Margaret B. Harrison; Ian D. Graham
Call Number: WY 100.7/5
ISBN: 9780813811857
Publication Date: 2021-03-23
Knowledge Translation in Nursing and Healthcare provides authoritative guidance on the implementation of evidence-informed practice, covering issue identification and clarification, solution building and implementation, evaluation, and sustainment. This hands-on resource assists nurses and healthcare practitioners in collecting quality evidence, transforming it into a useable, customized recommendation, and then applying best practice in various point-of-care settings.
The Knowledge Translation Toolkit by Gavin Bennett (Editor); Nasreen Jessani (Editor)
Call Number: W 20.5/79
ISBN: 9788132105855
Publication Date: 2011-06-06
The Knowledge Translation Toolkit provides a thorough overview of what knowledge translation (KT) is and how to use it most effectively to bridge the "know-do" gap between research, policy, practice, and people. It presents the theories, tools, and strategies required to encourage and enable evidence-informed decision-making. The book covers an array of crucial KT enablers--from context mapping to evaluative thinking--supported by practical examples, implementation guides, and references.

SWSLHD Libraries Research support : Translational Research in Health

Translational Research and NSW Health

WSU Diabetes, Obesity and Metabolism Translational Research Unit

Western Sydney University Translational Health Research Institute

Translational Research Institute Australia

Recent articles from BMC Implementation Science

Translational Health Research: Library Resources