LibGuides: Clinical Nurse Educators' LibGuide: Books

Overview

This guide is intended to provide a good starting point for CNE's to find relevant information. Please let us know if you find it useful and/or if you have other suggestions to add to the site. Highly recommended texts are available from the library catalog.

Check links for the availability of titles or to place a hold.

A selection of relevant books

A selection of texts are shown below. Click on the image to check availability. Staff can request books from libraries across the SWSLHD District and choose where they will collect them. See the Reserve page for instructions and contact your Library if you need assistance.

Clinical Teaching Strategies in Nursing by Kathleen B. Gaberson; Marilyn H. Oermann; Teresa Shellenbarger
Call Number: WY 18/36
ISBN: 9780826140029
Publication Date: 2017-09-01
This highly acclaimed text provides a comprehensive framework for planning, guiding, and evaluating learning activities for undergraduate and graduate nursing students in a wide variety of clinical settings. New content covers topics such as establishing and using dedicated education units, integrating simulation with clinical education, using new technologies for clinical learning, teaching and evaluating performance in distance education, promoting interprofessional education in clinical settings, integrating Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) in clinical courses, using standardized patients, and developing partnerships with clinical sites.
Introduction to nursing research : incorporating evidence-based practice, 5th edition by Carol Boswell; Sharon Cannon
Call Number: WY 20.5/76
ISBN: 9781284149791
Publication Date: 2018
This text teaches nursing students how to integrate evidence-based practice and research into their work while considering the newest trends and research; .
Learning and Teaching in Clinical Contexts by Clare Delany; Elizabeth Molloy
Call Number: W 18/30
ISBN: 9780729542722
Publication Date: 2018-07-23
Featuring the perspectives of more than 40 leading international researchers, theorists and practitioners in clinical education, this book provides a bridge between the theoretical aspects of clinical education and the delivery of practical teaching strategies. Each chapter weaves together education theory, education strategies and illustrative learning and teaching case scenarios drawn from multidisciplinary clinical contexts. The text supports clinicians and educators responsible for designing and delivering health professional education in clinical workplaces and clinicians undertaking continuing education in workplace teaching.
Mastering Concept-Based Teaching by Jean Foret Giddens; Linda Caputi; Beth L. Rodgers
Call Number: WY 18/39
ISBN: 9780323554602
Publication Date: 2019-02-25
The authors walk you through the background and benefits of using a concept-based learning approach; how to plan, develop, and deliver an effective concept-based course; and how to improve and evaluate student learning with concepts. This new second edition also features two new chapters - one on how to conduct concept-based clinical experiences and another chapter on the future of concept-based interprofessional learning.
Nurse As Educator by Susan B. Bastable
Call Number: WY 18/37
ISBN: 9781284230277
Publication Date: 2020-12-16
Prepares nurse educators, clinical nurse specialists, and nurse practitioners and students for their ever-increasing role in patient teaching, health education, and health promotion. It focuses on multiple audiences therefore making it applicable to both undergraduate and graduate nursing courses. This 5th ed. features coverage of relevant topics in nursing education and health promotion such as health literacy, teaching people with disabilities, the impact of gender and socio-economics on learning, technology for teaching and learning, and the ethical, legal, and economic foundations of the educational process.
The Practitioner As Teacher - Updated Edition by Sue Hinchliff (Editor); Brian Dolan (Editor)
Call Number: W 18/26
ISBN: 9780702074233
Publication Date: 2017-06-22
Mentors for student nurses and newly registered nurses will welcome the revised fourth edition of this trusted handbook on how to teach others: peers, students, patients and relatives. It is written in a user-friendly style, 'talking through' strategies with the reader. This is a practical 'How to' guide, rather than an academic treatise, with particular emphasis on the use of competencies.
Role Development for the Nurse Practitioner by Julie G. Stewart; Susan M. DeNisco
Call Number: WY 128/6
ISBN: 9781449694692
Publication Date: 2013-09-27
Provides a unique insight into the roles and activities of nurse practitioners (NPs) from the perspective of authors with years of Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) and Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) experience. Designed to show students, practitioners, and administrators what is needed for an empowering work environment, role satisfaction, and opportunities for improved patient outcomes, it is the first textbook to focus solely on NP roles. Role Development for the Nurse Practitioner is essential for identifying elements for a successful career.
Simulation in Nursing Education by Pamela R. Jeffries
Call Number: WY 18/40
ISBN: 9781975165703
Publication Date: 2020-09-11
Simulation represents an increasingly effective strategy for addressing the growing lack of clinical placements for today's nursing students, offering evidence-based, experiential learning opportunities that foster critical thinking and clinical reasoning.This book offers both a foundation for the novice and advanced strategies for the seasoned simulation educator, empowering nursing educators to make informed decisions and ensure success in their simulation programs.
Simulation Scenarios for Nurse Educators by Suzanne Hetzel Campbell; Karen M. Daley
Call Number: WY 18/34
ISBN: 9780826193261
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
Outstanding features include scenarios easily adaptable to the instructor's own lab, and a new section on graduate nursing education and interdisciplinary clinical scenarios. Chapters discuss how simulation can be used with such diverse populations as medical-surgical, geriatric, pediatric, trauma, obstetric, and home care. The book offers scenario-running instructions, as well as recommendations on developing faculty, integrating point-of-care decision-making tools and necessary equipment, how to set up a lab (including static to high-fidelity manikins), and much more.

Library catalogue

CLIN Library Catalogue This link opens in a new window
A union catalogue for the SWSLHD Libraries giving access to books, ebooks, journal titles and other resources. Library members can request books across the District and select where they want to pick them up.

New Library website

Have you tried our new CLIN Libraries website - our improved one-stop shop to search across all the Libraries’ and CIAP’s online resources?

Clinical Nurse Educators' LibGuide

Library support

Ebook collections carousel

AccessEmergency Medicine

Nursing eBook collection

ProQuest eBook Central

CIAP Ebooks

Doody's Collection

Overview

A selection of relevant books

Library catalogue

New Library website