Communication Skills LibGuide

This jargon-free guide for nursing students offers study support and improves academic writing and referencing skills. It covers good academic writing, strategies, clarity, coherence, academic style, grammar, punctuation, formatting, referencing conventions, and plagiarism prevention.

This book is designed to help you bridge the gap between incomplete sentences and a published manuscript. The book's contributors include the best and the brightest from publishing today. Many of the contributors have experience as editors of nursing journals, where their role is to decide which articles to accept for publication. These decision-makers share important insights that will enhance the likelihood your manuscript is accepted for publication.

Learn how to write for the results you want every time, in every medium. Business Writing For Dummies shows you, from the ground up, how to create persuasive messages with the right content and language every time - messages your readers will understand and act on.

Business Writing for Innovators and Change-Makers is a guidebook that helps entrepreneurs build confidence, strengthen their brand, and increase their impact with customers and clients. It provides clear action steps for tackling unique communication challenges, offering quick and adaptable writing strategies for various communication situations.

This book offers tips to improve business writing skills, enabling effective and persuasive communication for any audience. It provides tips for maximum impact and infectious enthusiasm, preventing readers from being lost in technical jargon.

Offering an accessible guide to the key issues, this is the perfect book for those who have busy working lives and find the process of writing challenging. It covers issues ranging from getting started to the winning habits of successful authors; from the rights and responsibilities of authors to how to get noticed. This new edition has been updated to include guidance on publishing norms, collaborative digital platforms, social media, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on publishing trends. Written by a best-selling academic author, this is an essential resource for novice writers and healthcare providers interested in publishing their work.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Essentials of Assessment Report Writing is a guide for mental health professionals on preparing accurate assessment reports, which are crucial for diagnosing academic, personality, and behavioral issues, and are designed to provide quick reference information.

COVID-19 has highlighted the importance of teaching writing online for public health and equity. This book, addressing diversity, inclusivity, social justice, and global learning, aims to provide resources and support for educators in navigating the challenges of online teaching.

An Introduction to Writing for Health Professionals: The SMART Way, 4th Edition, provides a comprehensive guide to improving writing skills. It covers various communication forms and uses the SMART approach, including sources, message, audience, route, and tone. The book also includes a PROCESS and LAST section, along with quick reference lists and resources on the Evolve website.

The Little Black Book of Business Writing by Mark Tredinnick and Geoff Whyte is designed for individuals writing for business purposes in various sectors, including commercial, private, trades, and professions. It helps readers write various documents efficiently, impactfully, and economically.

Writing manuscripts is crucial for scientific knowledge advancement, but it's difficult for early-career scientists, especially those using English as a second language. This open access text offers writing lessons organized by common errors, providing valuable advice and examples for mentors.

Combining the theory and practice of academic writing, this book helps you to master the basics of writing at university. It equips you with the skills needed to examine cognitive processes such as reflection and critical thinking and includes essential information on referencing your work correctly and avoiding plagiarism. A comprehensive writing toolkit for students of nursing, midwifery, health and social care, it provides a step-by-step approach to a whole range of genres specific to these disciplines, going beyond the traditional academic essay to include care critiques, action plans, portfolios and systemic reviews as well as complex argumentative writing and the undergraduate dissertation proposal.

Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare is a comprehensive resource that covers all aspects of publishing, including ethical guidelines and ethical practices. It provides real-life examples, hands-on activities, and valuable tips for nursing and healthcare professionals and undergraduate and graduate students.