Emergency Care LibGuide

This new addition to the popular 100 cases series explores common clinical scenarios that will be encountered by the medical student and junior doctor during practical training in the emergency department, in the community and in intensive and critical care settings, and which are likely to feature in qualifying examinations. The book covers a broad range of presentations, organized by sub-specialty area for ease of reference. Comprehensive answers highlight key take home points from each case and provide practical advice on how to deal with the challenges that occur when practising emergency and critical care medicine at all levels.
Donated by UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

An authoritative overview of the management and treatment of major trauma patients In the ABC of Major Trauma, an eminent team of leading trauma specialists delivers a comprehensive, up-to-date, referenced overview of the emergency treatment of patients suffering from major trauma. Covering all aspects of the management of injured patients during the initial, crucial hours after injury, the scope of the book has developed to include imaging appendices for many chapters. The editors have included resources that discuss general considerations for typical trauma cases, as well as the numerous atypical patients including children, the elderly and those who are pregnant. Hyperlinks are now also included throughout the book which enable the reader to refer to continuously updated guidelines.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Since it was first published, Accident and Emergency Radiology: A Survival Guide has become the classic in-my-pocket-reference and an indispensable aid to all those who work in the Emergency Department. The core and substantial value lies in the step-by-step analytical approaches which help you to answer this question: "These images look normal to me, but . . . how can I be sure that I am not missing a subtle but important abnormality?"

Every minute counts in trauma care. This is why Advanced Trauma Life Support® (ATLS®) provides a method for immediate management of injured patients. The approach is systematic and concise as well as safe and reliable. First introduced in 1980, ATLS has now been taught to more than 1 million doctors in more than 80 countries around the world.

Using an easy-to-read style, Avoiding Common Errors in the Emergency Department, 3rd edition, discusses 365 topics in which errors are frequently committed in the practice of emergency medicine. The authors give practical, easy-to-remember key points for avoiding these pitfalls. Chapters are brief, evidence-based, and easy-to-read immediately before the start of a shift, used for quick reference during a shift, or read daily over the course of one year for personal growth and review. Presents hard-earned clinical wisdom in an informal, easy-to-read style that focuses on uncommonly taught pearls, pitfalls, and misconceptions in every area of emergency medicine.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

The Australasian steering committee for CALS (CALS-ANZ) was formed with the Royal Melbourne Hospital becoming the first Centre of Excellence for CALS training in Australasia. CALS-ANZ developed local guidelines for the management of cardiothoracic emergencies, which form the basis of this handbook.

Delivers 60 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in emergency medicine. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, high-yield presentation of key diagnostic and treatment information, USMLE-style review question to enhance your learning. This fifth edition includes important new information on COVID-19, opioid overdose, social issues in emergency medicine, medical errors, interprofessional teamwork, endocrine emergencies, viral meningitis, and vertigo.

This book brings the reader to the bedside of patients with traumatic injuries, at one of the largest and busiest trauma centers in North America. It includes over 1200 images, designed as a comprehensive visual and reference guide to emergency trauma care. Organized by major body regions, this atlas explores the full spectrum of common and uncommon traumatic injuries, including those caused by firearms, stab wounds, blunt trauma, crush injury, and burns. It also covers special patient groups, such as pregnant, pediatric and geriatric populations.

Critical Cases in Electrocardiography emphasizes clinically-relevant topics, focusing squarely on situations where interpretation of the ECG contributes to clinical decision-making. This atlas is unique, in that it includes numerous examples of ECG 'misses' - cases where the computer algorithm or the clinicians (or both) got the diagnosis wrong. While many textbooks include only smaller, black and white ECG tracings, which do not resemble actual clinical practice, this volume is designed to encourage self-study of the ECG by including full-page tracings in their natural color.

With over 200 traces to test your knowledge, this book is a first class learning tool for emergency physicians. Basic student-level knowledge of ECGs is assumed, so the reader can move directly to learning about the more complex traces that occur in the emergency department.

This extension to the popular ECGs for the Emergency Physician Volume 1 continues to provide the emergency health care provider with outstanding practical and emergency medicine-relevant teaching of a life-saving skill: emergency electrocardiography interpretation. This volume can be used individually or paired with Volume 1 to present one of the most comprehensive and educational ECG collections ever assembled for emergency physicians and other acute health care providers.

Designed to enhance the confidence, knowledge and skills needed to perform effectively in urgent or emergency situations that can occur in a hospital, at a birth centre or at home, this fully updated third edition provides an accessible resource for all practising midwives. With contributions from highly experienced midwives, this practical handbook　incorporates an all-new chapter on serious infections and continues to provide key, up-to-date information on high-risk medical and obstetric situations. It also covers relevant information on litigation and the conclusions arising from the reports from the Confidential Enquiries into Maternal Deaths. Emergencies Around Childbirth is essential reading for practising and trainee midwives, and those who teach them.

Emergency and Trauma Care for nurses and paramedics is a highly respected emergency care text for nursing and paramedicine students and clinicians in Australia and New Zealand. Now in its fourth edition, it provides the most up-to-date and comprehensive coverage of the spectrum of emergency and trauma care.

Emergency medical service providers serve as the primary immediate response to emergencies of all kinds, including natural disasters and acts of terrorism in the United States. This text serves as a comprehensive guide to individuals in training to become emergency medical service providers. Each chapter addresses a relevant organ system and its physiology, methods of assessment, treatment recommendations, along with a case study to illustrate the topics at hand. So much of what is involved in emergency medical services is based on practical and applicable knowledge of situations, and these case studies will provide students with exposure to the field work they will be responding to. Written with the context of COVID-19 implications in mind, this is first EMT text of its kind produced after the onset of the pandemic.

Gordian Fulde AO, a mainstay of emergency medicine in Australia, continues to author this indispensable reference. This premier text offers accessible evidence-based clinical management and treatment advice that can be incorporated seamlessly into the daily demands of the emergency medicine environment. Comprehensively updated with new topics including pain management, caring for Indigenous patients, emergency medicine in a rural setting, sexual assault and domestic violence, common misses in x-ray, and CT ordering and interpretation.

The eighth edition of this international bestselling emergency medicine handbook has been completely revised and updated to include the latest evidence-based guidelines and treatment protocols underpinning best practice in emergency medical care. Carefully designed to suit the needs of interns and resident doctors working in the emergency department as well as specialist trainees, the book covers the full range of emergencies - general medical, infectious disease and foreign travel-related, toxicological, surgical, paediatric, obstetric and gynaecological, ophthalmic and psychiatric - as well as practical procedures and administrative and legal issues.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

This new edition of PreTest Emergency Medicine has been heavily revised to reflect all the critical new information to succeed on the Emergency Medicine rotation and on the shelf exam. It features hundreds of high yield questions, along with clear, targeted answers explaining both correct and incorrect answer choices.

Trauma is a leading cause of death and disability around the world, and the leading cause of death in those aged under forty-five years. Conditions such as airway obstruction, hemorrhage, pneumothorax, tamponade, bowel rupture, vascular injury, and pelvic fracture can cause death if not appropriately diagnosed and managed. This essential book provides emergency physicians with an easy-to-use reference and source for traumatic injury evaluation and management in the emergency department. It covers approaches to common, life-threatening, and traumatic diseases in the emergency department, for use on shift and as a reference for further learning. Each chapter includes a succinct overview of common traumatic injuries, with evaluation and management pearls and pitfalls. Highly illustrated with images from one of the busiest trauma centers in the US, and featuring expert contributions from a diverse set of attending physicians, this is an essential text for all emergency medicine practitioners.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

Evaluate and treat common fractures and know when to refer uncommon ones to a specialist. This quick, practical resource presents detailed illustrations, video, and current best evidence for imaging and treating fractures so you can make accurate identifications and manage patients with confidence. Quickly find the information you need through a systematic, logical approach to each fracture.

Pediatric Emergency Medicine Secrets, 4th Edition, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. Fully revised and updated throughout, making it an excellent resource for understanding both common and unusual pediatric emergency conditions. New chapters on High Altitude Illness; Disaster Preparedness; Risk Management and Legal Issues; and Point-of-Care Ultrasound. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and in your coursework. Bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from global leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important content.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Emphasis remains on the continually expanding use of fixation techniques although conservative treatment options remain an integral part of the text. The artwork programme - which so characterises the appeal and success of previous editions - has been fully updated although its clarity remains as strong as ever and the logical sequence of illustrations with their succinct captions affords a rewarding and effective way to learn. Practical, step-by-step guide to fracture assessment and management.

Comprehensive, detailed, and up to date, provides highly visual coverage of both common and uncommon procedures encountered in emergency medicine and acute care practice. It clearly describes the ins and outs of every procedure you're likely to consider, such as how, why, when to, and when not to perform them, and recommends other emergency or acute care procedures that may be an option.

For nearly 40 years, Rosen’s Emergency Medicine has provided emergency medicine practitioners with authoritative, accessible, and comprehensive information in this rapidly evolving field. The fully revised 10th Edition delivers practical, evidence-based knowledge and specific recommendations from clinical experts in a clear, precise format, with focused writing, current references, and extensive use of illustrations to provide definitive guidance for emergency conditions.

Emergency medicine is now perceived as the cornerstone of response to acute illness regardless of resources. This fully revised Fifth Edition provides clear and consistent coverage of this constantly evolving specialty. Building on the success of previous editions it covers all the major topics relevant to the practice of emergency medicine. The book will prove invaluable to professionals working in this setting - including nurse specialists and paramedics - who require concise, highly practical guidance, incorporating the latest best practice and evidence-based guidelines.

This leading text is essential reading for all those working in the paediatric emergency medicine setting who require concise, highly practical guidance that incorporates the latest best practice and evidence-based guidelines.

Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine is the essential resource for everyone working in, and teaching emergency medicine. This comprehensive text is an important clinical resource for physicians, residents and students, advance practice providers, emergency nurses, EMTs, and paramedics. Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine covers everything from prehospital care, disaster preparedness, and basic and advanced resuscitative techniques, to all the significant medical, traumatic, and environmental conditions requiring emergency treatment in adults, children and neonates.
Donated by UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

More than 800 case-based Q&A combined with the authority of the field's leading text make this the best review for any Emergency Medicine examination All answer options, both correct and incorrect, are keyed to Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine, Eighth Edition, the field's most authoritative and trusted text.

Now in its fourth edition, the Toxicology Handbook is Australia's leading reference guide for quick and evidence-informed decision making on treatment of the acutely poisoned patient. The book has been streamlined and fully updated to provide a comprehensive yet concise guide for all medical practitioners and health-care professionals who deal with poisonings. It contains quickly accessible information on poisons, toxins, antidotes, envenomings and antivenoms, and uses a structured and rigorous risk assessment-based approach to guide appropriate treatment decisions.

Urgent Care Medicine Secrets, 2nd Edition, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. Fully revised and updated throughout, covering the full range of topics for understanding today's practice of adult and pediatric urgent care-essential information for physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants. Provides an evidence-based approach to medical and traumatic complaints presenting to urgent care centers, focusing on presenting signs and symptoms, differential diagnosis, office management, and when to refer for higher level of care. New chapters on Head and Neck Trauma, Chest and Abdominal Trauma, Toxicology, Diagnostic Imaging, Obstetrical Complaints, and more. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Clear illustrations, figures, and flow diagrams expedite reference and review.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.