Emergency Care LibGuide

This book focuses on the operational and clinical strategies needed to improve care of Emergency Psychiatric patients.Currently, there are books on clinical care of psychiatric patients, but this is the first book that looks at both the clinical and operational aspects of caring for these patients in ED setting. This book discusses Lean methodology, the impact of long stay patients using queuing methodology, clinical guidelines and active treatment of psychiatric patients in the ED.

A new edition of this bestselling resource for emergency physicians seeking to expand their knowledge of the 12-lead electrocardiogram and how it relates to patient care - provides comprehensive guidance on the use and interpretation of the 12-lead electrocardiogram (ECG). Celebrating the 20th anniversary since initial publication, this book is an essential teaching and reference text that helps physicians with basic knowledge of electrocardiography quickly locate the objective criteria necessary for various diagnoses, understand different electrocardiographic waveforms and their meaning in individual patients, and interpret the ECG within the context of the patient's presentation.

With over 200 traces to test your knowledge, this book is a first class learning tool for emergency physicians. Basic student-level knowledge of ECGs is assumed, so the reader can move directly to learning about the more complex traces that occur in the emergency department.

Fully revised according to up-to-date clinical guidance, this book provides a practical, accessible guide to emergency situations encountered in the practice of supportive and palliative care. Designed for rapid use, it addresses the immediate clinical challenges while more definitive measures are being put in place.

In Navigating the Challenges of Concussion, expert clinicians and researchers in the fields of neurology and neuropsychology teamed together to provide up-to-date and evidence-based information for patients and families affected by concussion or those at increased risk of sustaining concussions. Topics covered include how concussion is different from other forms of brain injury, what to expect after a concussion, and what to do if symptoms are persisting.

Careful monitoring of at-risk patients, early intervention, and timely escalation to the critical care unit from a general ward has been shown to improve patient clinical outcomes. The first text of its kind in this important area, designed to help you recognize the fundamental signs of deterioration in patients on medical wards and ensure that transfer is made to the ICUbefore the development of adverse clinical outcomes.

In this newly revised edition, a distinguished team of emergency surgeons deliver a one-of-a-kind question-and-answer book on the growing specialty of surgical critical care and acute surgery, ideal for those caring for the critically ill and injured surgical patient. This book reviews surgical critical care, emergency surgery, burns and trauma, and includes full color, high-quality surgical photographs to aid understanding. Readers will also benefit from access to a website that offers additional topics and tests, as well as an archive of all test questions and answers from previous editions.

Paediatric emergency medicine can be a challenging and difficult area for doctors. Children cannot always communicate their problems verbally, while parents are anxious and the possibility of a missed diagnosis is ever present. Although the principles in managing paediatric patients are the same as adults there are significant differences in patterns of illness and response. This book provides clear, concise and comprehensive coverage of all the major topics that present within paediatric emergency medicine.

A unique pocket guide to the use of ultrasound at the point of care Lately, there has been an enormous amount of interest in the use of ultrasound for both procedural and diagnostic guidance at the point of care. Portable quick reference to real-world clinical situations, provides tips and reminders for issues and challenges encountered at the point of care. Questions such as what images to acquire, and how to get them are addressed as well as a quick glance at pathology in comparison to a normal image.

More than 1,000 full-color photographs speed diagnosis of the dermatologic conditions most often encountered in primary care Spanning the entire spectrum of skin problems combines laser-precise color images of skin lesions along with an overview of epidemiology and pathophysiology, and detailed information on diagnosis and treatment.

This instant-answer guide provides the critical information needed to diagnose and manage drug-related emergencies and chemical exposures. Updated with newly released drugs and new information on existing drugs, the guide covers initial emergency management, including treatment of coma, seizures and hypotension; physical and laboratory diagnosis; and methods of decontamination and enhanced elimination of poisons.

Whether it's a CT, MRI, ultrasound, or x-ray, this comprehensive, hands-on resource helps you read and understand any imaging study--and guides you step-by-step through the process of making a proper diagnosis based on radiographic results.

Written to assist the busy clinician in the evaluation, management, and disposition of acutely ill or injured pediatric patients. Enhanced by more than 2,000 photographs and nearly 100 line illustrations, features a clear, consistent format, with concise text detailing Clinical Summary, Emergency Department Treatment and Disposition, and Pearls. Positioned next to this easy-to-read text is a wealth of images that illustrate how these clinical problems actually present in a real-life emergency setting.

Critical Care Emergency Medicine teaches emergency physicians everything they must know and do to better care for critically ill patients in an emergency department or to provide care in an ICU. Enhanced by numerous algorithms that speed decision making and full-color illustrations demonstrating anatomy and technique, this book is an essential practice tool.

Designed for use by all medical and nursing staff in Emergency Departments across New South Wales. It is intended to provide a general guide to recognizing and managing the specified injuries, subject to the exercise of the treating clinician's judgement in each case.

Discusses 365 errors commonly made in the practice of emergency medicine and gives practical, easy-to-remember tips for avoiding these pitfalls. Chapters are brief, approachable, and evidence-based, suitable for reading immediately before the start of a rotation, used for quick reference on call, or read daily over the course of one year for personal assessment and review. Key Features: Coverage includes psychiatry, pediatrics, poisonings, cardiology, obstetrics and gynecology, trauma, general surgery, orthopedics, infectious diseases, gastroenterology, renal, anesthesia and airway management, urology, ENT, and oral and maxillofacial surgery.

Prepare for effective critical care practice in the emergency room's often chaotic and resource-limited environment with expert guidance from fellows and attending physicians in the fields of emergency medicine, pulmonary and critical care medicine, cardiology, gastroenterology, and neurocritical care. Master critical care fundamentals as experts guide you through the initial resuscitation and the continued management of critical care patients during their first 24 hours of intensive care. Confidently make sustained, data-driven decisions for the critically ill patient using expert information on everything from hemodynamic monitoring and critical care ultrasonography to sepsis and septic shock to the ED-ICU transfer of care.

Long considered the gold standard comprehensive reference for diagnosing and managing emergent health issues in children, an essential resource for clinicians at all levels of training and experience. The revised eighth edition has been updated from cover to cover, providing practical, evidence-based content to help you meet any clinical challenge in the emergency care of pediatric patients.

Clinically focused and evidence-based, a comprehensive, easy-to-use reference for practitioners and residents in today's Emergency Department (ED). Templated chapters rapidly guide you to up to date information on clinical presentation, differential diagnosis, evaluation, management, and disposition, including highlighted critical interventions and common pitfalls. This concise text covers the full range of conditions you're likely to see in the ED

The world's most trusted reference on emergency airway management, and is the foundation text in the nationally recognized The Difficult Airway Course: Emergency(tm), The Difficult Airway Course: Critical Care(tm), and The Difficult Airway Course: EMS(tm). Its practical, hands-on approach provides all the concrete guidance you need to effectively respond to any airway emergency, whether in the emergency department, ICU, urgent care setting, pre-hospital environment, or anywhere else airway emergencies may occur.