Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Midwifery LibGuide

Library support

Library staff can assist you with:

  • Literature searching
  • Research skills training and support
  • EndNote training
  • Advice regarding getting published
  • Document delivery to obtain full text of journal articles 
  • And more... see the Library website

Contact or visit your local CLIN Library to find out more about our full range of services and for assistance with your research project.

New Library website

Have you tried our new CLIN Libraries website - our improved one-stop shop to search across all the Libraries’ and CIAP’s online resources?

Library catalogue

Ebook collections carousel

AccessEmergency Medicine

Online emergency medicine resource providing quick diagnosis and treatment answers to a range of conditions from neurological and pediatric emergencies to poisoning and trauma. Includes textbooks, procedural videos, interactive self-assessment drug database and student/"clerk" resources. Remote access via Athens. Register for an individual database account for quizzes etc.

Nursing eBook collection

Access via Athens on a personal device. A regularly updated collection of more than 770 ebooks on topics such as nursing leadership and management, evidence based care and nursing research.

ProQuest eBook Central

* The Business eBook Collection includes subjects ranging from economics, marketing, leadership, finance and business planning, etiquette, intelligence, logistics and more.
* The Health & Medicine ebook Collection includes subjects ranging from nursing, allied health, psychology, diseases, anatomy/physiology, biology, chemical engineering more.

CIAP Ebooks

CIAP provides access to more than 400 ebooks including the Bloomsbury Dictionary of Nursing, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Drugs in pregnancy and Lactation (Briggs) and many more. NSW Health staff can use their StaffID to login.

Doody's Collection

Doody's Collection includes key current medical, nursing and allied health e-books rated as essential texts and recommended for inclusion by a panel of expert librarian reviewers. It includes titles such as 'DeLisa's Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation' and 'The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management'.

Overview

This guide is intended to provide a good overview of midwifery resources - books, ebooks, databases, journals and websites. Please let us know if you find it useful and/or if you have other suggestions to add to the site. 

Some new books and ebooks

Doody's e-book collection

We recently purchased both the 2021 and 2022 Doody collections of key medical ebooks. Bowral Hospital paid for 2021 and Liverpool Hospital paid for 2022.  Access is available across the District and we hope will be of great benefit to staff.

A few of the 90 books included are listed below:

A selection of relevant books

A selection of texts are shown below. Click on the image to check availability. Staff can request books from libraries across the SWSLHD District and choose where they will collect them. See the Reserve page for instructions and contact your Library if you need assistance.