Midwifery LibGuide

Dr. Ruth Lawrence, and her son, Dr. Rob Lawrence, ensure that you're brought fully up to date on everything from basic data on the anatomical, physiological, biochemical, nutritional, immunological, and psychological aspects of human lactation, to the problems of clinical management of breastfeeding--all in a highly readable, easily accessible desk reference. Helps you make appropriate drug recommendations, treat conditions associated with breastfeeding, and provide thoughtful guidance to the breastfeeding mother according to her circumstances, problems, and lifestyle.

The ultimate reference for the latest clinical techniques and research findings that direct evidence-based clinical practice and research for lactation consultants and specialists. It contains everything you need to know about lactation care and science. Topics include placing breastfeeding in its historical context, workplace-related issues, anatomical and biological imperatives of lactation, the prenatal and perinatal periods and concerns during the postpartum period, the mother's health, sociocultural issues, and more vital information.

The ultimate reference for the latest clinical techniques and research findings that direct evidence-based clinical practice and research for lactation consultants and specialists. It contains everything you need to know about lactation care and science. Topics include placing breastfeeding in its historical context, workplace-related issues, anatomical and biological imperatives of lactation, the prenatal and perinatal periods and concerns during the postpartum period, the mother's health, sociocultural issues, and more vital information.

Clinical lactation training guide for health care professionals and students studying for lactation certification exams. 400 color photos, case studies, reviews of evidence-based clinical management for lactation care.

The definitive resource on breastfeeding initiation, maintenance, support, and advocacy. Jointly developed by the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG), this must-have handbook features the most important and up-to-date developments in breastfeeding practice, research, policies, and outreach guidance, assembled by an expert physician panel.

"Breastfeeding Management for the Clinician: Using the Evidence is the perfect tool for busy clinicians who need a quick, accurate, and current reference. It focuses on the essentials of breastfeeding management without the lengthy, overly detailed explanations found in other large texts. Marsha Walker sought to create a useful and practical reference guide for lactation consultants to quickly find information to help assist their patients and infants through the various challenges (and rewards!) of breastfeeding and lactation"

Essential for ob/gyn physicians, primary care physicians, and any health care provider working with pregnant or postpartum women, puts must-know information at your fingertips in seconds. An easy A-to-Z format lists more than 1,400 of the most commonly prescribed drugs taken during pregnancy and lactation, with detailed monographs designed to provide the most essential information on possible effects on the mother, embryo, fetus, and nursing infant. Each templated monograph includes: Generic US name (trade names in index) , Risk factors; Pharmacologic class;Pregnancy and breastfeeding recommendations; Pregnancy, fetal risk, and breastfeeding summaries; Updated references.

An ideal resource to help prepare for the International Board of Lactation Consultant Examiners (IBLCE) certification examination. Completely revised and updated, the Fifth Edition is mapped to the 2016 and 2023 Detailed Content Outlines and contains more than 1100 practice exam questions and answer rationales, more than 350 clinical photos, and 20 case studies with questions. Organized around the mother-baby dyad's development, it poses questions unique to key topics, including nutrition, pathology, psychology, clinical skills, and more.

Published in association with LEAARC, it presents the core curriculum required to practice as a beginning lactation consultant in an easy-to-read format. Written by an interdisciplinary team of clinical lactation experts, it reflects the current state of practice and offers evidence-based information regardless of discipline or specialty. The updated Second Edition includes new information on scientific evidence supporting breastfeeding, the biochemistry of human milk, breastfeeding multiplies or a preterm infant, lactation and maternal mental health, breast pathology, and more.

Developed by world leaders in lactational pharmacology, this essential reference contains the most current, complete, and evidence-based information available on the transmission of maternal drugs into human milk. It thoroughly addresses one of the most commonly asked questions by breastfeeding mothers-which drugs are safe, and which are hazardous for the infant? The new twentieth edition adds 72 new drugs, updates 356 medications with new data, and adds new information to 927 drugs.

an essential resource for healthcare professionals working with new breastfeeding families and infants. Using a multidisciplinary approach, it incorporates the latest research on infant sucking and clinical strategies to assist infants with breastfeeding. With an emphasis on skills, it focuses on normal sucking function in addition to difficulties based in anatomical, cardiorespiratory, neurological, or prematurity issues.

This comprehensive and accessible guide provides birth workers and lactation professionals with the skills to help families navigate the emotional and physical challenges of weaning. Using a compassionate, person-centred approach that prioritises the needs of both mother and child, this pioneering resource details the emotional impact of weaning and offers practical guidance and expert advice suitable for professionals and parents alike in order to facilitate complex decision-making processes and set healthy boundaries.