New Resources in the Ken Merten Library, Liverpool Hospital

160 ECG Cases, 6th Edition presents clinical problems in the shape of simple case histories together with the relevant ECG. Detailed answers concentrate on the clinical interpretation of the results and give advice on what to do. The book can be used as a stand-alone method of practising ECG interpretation, and even with the most difficult ECGs, a beginner will still be able to make an accurate description of the trace and will be guided towards the key aspects of the interpretation.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

You'll work through specific, real-life examples of using APA style for psychology, criminology, business, and nursing papers. In addition to demystifying the intricacies of formatting and citation, APA Style & Citations For Dummies has got you covered in all matters of grammar and punctuation--as well as guidance on how APA style can help you negotiate issues around the ethics of authorship and the importance of word choice in reducing bias.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Atlas of Common Pain Syndromes, 5th edition, provides clinicians with a clear, concise, and up-to-date understanding of the most common pain syndromes encountered in day-to-day practice, along with practical insights on how to diagnose and treat them. Featuring more than 1,000 high-quality illustrations, this unique atlas provides the information needed to make the correct diagnosis-the signs and symptoms associated with each syndrome, the testing needed to confirm the working diagnosis, and the differential diagnosis-in addition to the available treatment options.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Blood Cells: A Practical Guide bridges the gap between laboratory science and clinical application, covering essential techniques such as specimen collection, blood film preparation and staining. The authors also discuss the principles of manual and automated blood counts, as well as abnormalities in blood counts and films within a clinical context. Blood Cells: A Practical Guide remains an indispensable resource for those dedicated to the study and practice of haematology, such as haematologists, clinical scientists, and biomedical scientists at all levels. It also serves as a valuable reference for diagnostic haematology courses and laboratory training programmes in medical and biomedical science degrees.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

This core textbook covers the normal structure of bones and joints and goes on to provide an introduction to common fractures and pathology and how they appear on imaging. Bones and Joints is the perfect initial textbook, as well as a revision and refresher guide that will suit students of radiography, physiotherapy, osteology, sports medicine and nursing. Clear and concise introduction to the bones and joints and associated pathology.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

Clinical Handbook of Nephrology contains vital, everyday information on renal physiology and a wide range of topics, including diagnosis and treatment of acute and chronic kidney diseases, hypertension, electrolyte and acid-base disorders, dialysis, and kidney transplantation. Contains dozens of diagnostic and treatment algorithms, tables, and charts that allow you to find answers quickly and easily at the point of care.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Core Topics in General & Emergency Surgery provides a short, up-to-date and practical reference guide for surgical trainees and established consultants needing a refresher. The seventh edition covers a range of topics relevant to all areas of surgical practice - beyond surgical knowledge - that are essential for enhanced patient outcomes. These include quality improvement in emergency surgery, evaluation of new technology, evaluation of surgical literature, and human factors.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Practical and easy to use, Decision Making in Gastroenterology contains 80 algorithms covering commonly encountered symptoms and signs, specific gastrointestinal conditions, esophageal disorders, liver conditions, pancreatic diseases, and colorectal conditions. Outlines the key decision points in patient management, providing a wealth of systematic information that ensures you take into account the proper physical signs and test results that will guide your recommendations. Each point-of-care algorithm represents a common GI or liver disorder or disease, and offers a concise visual representation that clearly guides you through the steps of efficient and effective decision making.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases presents patient cases that exemplify the mental disorders categorized in DSM-5-TR, bringing DSM-5-TR alive for teachers and students of psychiatry, psychology, social work, nursing, and related mental health and healthcare fields. With chapters that correspond to the main DSM-5-TR diagnostic categories, this book guides the reader through the complexities of clinical assessment and the many types of contextual information needed to obtain a full diagnostic picture of a patient. Every feature in the book helps to bridge the distance between the formal classification and the real-life presentation of patients.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

ECG Quick Start delivers a straightforward, practical approach designed specifically for medical students, residents, nurses, and healthcare professionals eager to enhance their ECG skills. This guide provides a clear, step-by-step method, breaking down ECG analysis into manageable, illustrated chapters. By focusing exclusively on essential interpretation techniques and eliminating theoretical clutter and complex cases, this book ensures a focused, easy-to-follow learning experience. With insights from an experienced emergency physician who excels in rapid ECG assessment, this guide is your key to efficient, accurate ECG interpretation in clinical settings.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Essential Examination 4th edition is particularly suitable for medical students preparing for OSCEs and those learning to examine patients. Clear, step-by-step guides to each examination, including useful things to say to the patient (or an examiner), detailed descriptions of special tests, etc. A separate column which collates all the key information including: potential findings, differential diagnoses of clinical signs and practical tips. On the following pages there are facts relating to that particular examination and, in many sections, there are also tips on how to present your findings succinctly - a skill which is crucial to master for exam success.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Evidence-based Nephrology provides students of nephrology and practicing clinicians with a convenient single source of clinical evidence that has been passed through an evidence-based filter. This fully revised second edition incorporates substantial new available data, updated methods of research synthesis, and a renewed focus on consumer engagement in the evaluation and management kidney disease.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Correct diagnosis and treatment decisions rely on a sound, evidence-based approach to this crucial clinical interaction. Exploring Symptoms - An Evidence-based Approach to the Patient History offers a rigorous analysis of the complex relationship between symptoms and patient communication. Carefully connecting basic sciences such as anatomy and physiology with the development of symptoms in each body system, this book surveys evidence for how patients tend to experience and describe symptoms and how these descriptions can shape diagnosis and treatment. It's a must-have volume for students and clinicians looking to concretely improve patient outcomes.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Clear and readable, this new edition provides concise descriptions of the signs and symptoms of mental illness and astute accounts of the varied manifestations of disordered psychological function. Designed for use in clinical practice, this is an essential text for students of medicine, trainees in psychiatry, and practising psychiatrists. It is also useful for psychiatric nurses, mental health social workers, clinical psychologists, and anyone engaged in the expanding field of mental health care.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Lecture Notes: Geriatric Medicine and Elderly Care is an essential resource for meeting the needs of an ageing patient population As the global population ages, geriatric medicine is steadily becoming one of the most important areas of medical research and care. Healthcare systems in developed countries are adapting to this shift in the population, and doctors are finding that a larger and larger proportion of their patients are older. Current medical training often does not include adequate coverage of geriatric medicine, and students may well find they require more extensive resources for meeting older patients' needs.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Each chapter addresses a different area of patient management, including diagnostic workups, patient safety, and basic and advanced patient monitoring issues in acute dialysis and hemodialysis cases. Offers complete, concise coverage of peritoneal dialysis, acute dialysis, hemodiafiltration, home and intensive dialysis, blood-based therapies, the physiology of peritoneal dialysis, diabetes, hypertension, optimal management of anemia, infections, nutrition, mineral bone disorder, and much more
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

The book covers all aspects of care relevant to any regulated health professional, focusing on the care of doctors and nurses with mental illness. Key Features Creates a thorough framework on how to assess a health professional with mental illness Includes evidence-based guidance on the diagnosis and management of common mental health problems in health professionals Supports an understanding of how the workplace affects mental health and how mental health affects work in the context of doctors working in a variety of settings Offers practical advice and guidance on primary prevention measures.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Charlie Corke’s book, Handing Over, Reflections and Advice for Young Doctors, is described as ‘a brief and beautiful source of wisdom’ that goes towards fulfilling his greatest wish – inspiring future doctors to define their careers with integrity, empathy and a deep commitment to patient-centred care. Based on life experience this book provides great advice and reflections for colleagues and new practitioners. It reminds us that being a good doctor is about being caring and human.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Organized by body systems, this text simplifies the often-intimidating subject of A&P with clear, step-by-step explanations, hundreds of full-color drawings, fascinating anecdotes, relevant clinical examples, and vivid online animations. It illustrates how each organ system is designed to function - and what happens when a system fails. Ramp It Up! boxes present advanced and clinically relevant physiology to help you establish a solid basis for an understanding of pathophysiology, pharmacology, and commonly used diagnostic procedures Dedicated chapters cover the key topics of water, electrolytes, acid-base balance, and human development and heredity
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

For over 30 years, John Murtagh"s General Practice has been the gold standard reference for general practice and primary health care. Its emphasis on the importance of clinical reasoning, early diagnosis and treatment makes this the essential reference for all medical students, trainees and general practitioners. Written by renowned general practitioners and educators, and with all content reviewed for currency by leading experts, the 9th edition continues to provide fundamental knowledge and skills required for the challenging field of general practice.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Medicine at a Glance: Core Cases contains more than 250 cases with self-assessment exercises that aid understanding and test your knowledge. Each chapter presents several clinical cases based on the chapter's content. The use of text, images, and diagrams in answer explanations caters for different learning styles and provides intuitive, targeted information to support the decision-making process in selecting answers. Medicine at a Glance: Core Cases is an essential learning aid for students preparing for exams and clinical practice.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

From history-taking, physical examination, ECG, and chest X-ray, this work goes on to examine the range of more complex topics in the diagnosis and treatment/management of childhood cardiovascular disease. Recent updates also include an enhanced section on imaging, including recent advances in cardiac MRI and fetal echocardiography, new techniques in genetic testing for heart disease in special populations, and much more emphasis on the importance of echocardiography in understanding the pathophysiology of congenital cardiac malformations. This work also includes an expanded section on cardiac conditions in the neonate.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Oncology at a Glance 2nd edition demystifies the complexities of cancer biology and treatment for medical students and junior healthcare practitioners. With updated content including emerging therapies, multidisciplinary team approaches, and palliative care, this book bridges gaps in the often-fragmented exposure to oncology during clinical training. Real-world case studies and accompanying exercises deepen comprehension, enhance understanding, and support problem-solving in oncology practice. Covers foundational cancer biology, investigation, clinical management, and key human issues such as communication and palliative care
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Clear, engaging and drawing on diverse examples from various health disciplines - from public health and nursing to occupational health and nutrition - this 5th edition: Offers detailed guidance on synthesising and integrating evidence, with a new chapter on systematic reviews. Fully embeds material on the effective use of digital and social media research in health across all chapters. Showcases what health research looks like in practice, with 28 case studies from across the globe.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

The Sydney Textbook of Psychiatry offers a succinct and practical introduction to mental health. The essential clinical skills of how to conduct psychiatric interviews, perform mental state examinations, and formulate thorough patient assessments are emphasised. Detailed information from content experts on major psychiatric disorders, including schizophrenia, anxiety disorders, and mood disorders, with comprehensive coverage of diagnostic criteria, causal factors, and treatment options. Understand the unique considerations for various groups across the age span including indigenous and culturally diverse communities ensuring trauma aware, culturally sensitive and age-appropriate care. This book addresses self-care for medical students and other health professionals, offering strategies to maintain personal well-being.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.