New Resources in the Ken Merten Library, Liverpool Hospital

Developed by one of the most authoritative associations in neonatal intensive nursing care, AWHONN, this renowned guide provides in-depth coverage of the most common neonatal disorders and their management - focusing on the latest evidence-based practice for preterm infants, medications, and antepartum-intrapartum complications. Additionally, the concise outline format makes information easy to find as it highlights the essentials of each condition including the definition, etiology, pathophysiology, signs and symptoms, diagnostic tests, treatments, and outcomes. With timely content that sets the standard for neonatal nursing practice, this trusted reference is an excellent resource for practicing nurses working in any NICU worldwide.

Edited and written by top experts and pioneers in dialysis, Handbook of Dialysis Therapy, 6th Edition, provides the entire dialysis team with a comprehensive overview of this growing field. It covers traditional and advanced procedures, what pitfalls to expect and how to overcome them, and how best to treat various patient populations--all with a practical approach that can be directly applied to patient care. This must-have resource has been updated with the latest cutting-edge technology, dialysis techniques, and complications related to various diseases for both pediatric and adult patients.

Handbook of palliative care is a comprehensive resource utilising up-to-date evidence and guidelines to support non-specialists in palliative care in both hospital and community settings Building on the success of previous editions, this new edition of the award winning handbook has a practical focus and provides the user with an approach to clinical challenges while also providing enough information to explain why this approach is suggested. The 4th edition of Handbook of Palliative Care supports non-specialists in palliative care in both hospital and community settings and focuses on holistic care and therapeutic interventions. With several new chapters and content significantly updated to reflect new evidence and practice, the 4th edition also presents up-to-date evidence, guidance in a succinct format and utilises flow charts and figures to enhance the accessibility of information.

This handbook has been designed to provide pragmatic, evidence-based recommendations for use in general practice, and adopts the most recent recommendations from organisations including Diabetes Canada, the American Diabetes Association (ADA) and other relevant sources. The table of recommendations include the reference or source and the grade of each recommendation. In cases where graded recommendations are not available or current, the expert advisory group has considered the results of systematic reviews and primary research studies to formulate the overall recommendation. A ‘consensus-based recommendation’ denotes a recommendation that was formulated in the absence of high-quality evidence; the RACGP Diabetes Handbook expert advisory group reached a consensus expert opinion to include the point in the resource.

Mayo Clinic Guide to Pain Relief explains how pain develops, how it can become chronic and what you can do to free yourself from chronic pain's effects. This third edition of Mayo Clinic Guide to Pain Relief includes the latest information on pain science and chronic pain management, including: The brain's role in the experience of pain How behaviors and beliefs affect pain How to shift the focus away from pain and toward a focus on living well The benefits and risks of medications, injections and other medical treatments The role of pain specialists, pain clinics and pain rehabilitation programs

The Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (the Commission) has developed evidence- and consensus-based recommendations for the use of PROMs for low back pain. These recommendations are intended to maximise the clinical usefulness of PROMs and minimise survey fatigue. There are recommended PROMs for measuring the outcomes important to people with low back pain receiving either non-surgical or surgical interventions. Patients with disability, low literacy skills or cognitive impairment, or those from diverse linguistic and cultural backgrounds may experience barriers with completing PROMs. The Commission aims to provide recommendations that are accessible. This includes identifying PROMs that have validated translations or that have been validated in specific population groups, and providing advice for using PROMs in specific groups.

Action Research is an invaluable guide to both novice and experienced researchers from a diversity of disciplines, backgrounds, and levels of study for understanding how action research works in real-life contexts. The 5th Edition acknowledges the dramatic changes taking place in our everyday lives, including developments of social and digital media that have become central to modern life. Presenting research that produces practical, effective, and sustainable outcomes to real-world problems, Action Research helps students see the value of their research in a broader context, beyond academia, to effecting change on a larger scale.

Brant & Helm's Fundamentals of Diagnostic Radiology, 6th Edition, provides essential coverage for radiology residents, interns, students, and practitioners. Expert section editors cover all subspecialty areas including neuroradiology, chest, breast, abdominal, musculoskeletal imaging, ultrasound, pediatric imaging, interventional techniques, and nuclear radiology. Full-color images, updated content, self-assessment tools Offers a comprehensive, system-based overview of today's imaging, including anatomy, physiology, imaging techniques, and disease processes Contains numerous high-quality images with comprehensive captions.

This invaluable book is a concise companion to the ninth edition of Last's Anatomy, the leading anatomy text for trainee surgeons in Australia and New Zealand. The Companion guide summarises the relevant anatomy information of each section of Last's Anatomy, providing useful diagrams and prosection images that will answer immediate anatomy questions for time-poor students, and encourage them to dive deeper into the full version. Suitable for undergraduate and postgraduate medical, anatomy, physiotherapy and nursing students, the companion provides the key learning outcomes needed to pass the anatomy component of the General Surgical Science Examination, while providing an indispensable reference to support their work on the wards. Synopsis of the key learning outcomes contained within Last's Anatomy for quick and easy reference.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

From initial theory through to regression, factor analysis and multilevel modelling, Andy Field animates statistics and SPSS software with his famously bizarre examples and activities. Features: *Flexible coverage to support students across disciplines and degree programmes *Can support classroom or lab learning and assessment *Analysis of real data with opportunities to practice statistical skills *Highlights common misconceptions and errors *A revamped online resource that uses video, case studies, datasets, testbanks and more to help students negotiate project work, master data management techniques, and apply key writing and employability skills *Covers the range of versions of IBM SPSS Statistics©.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Essential Epidemiology is a clear, engaging and methodological introduction to the subject. Now in its fifth edition, the text has been thoroughly updated. Its trademark clear and consistent pedagogical structure makes challenging topics accessible, while the local and international examples, including from the COVID-19 pandemic, encourage students to apply theory to real-world cases. Statistical analysis is explained simply, with more challenging concepts presented in optional advanced boxes. Each chapter includes information boxes, margin notes highlighting supplementary facts and question prompts to enhance learners' understanding. The end-of-chapter questions and accompanying guided solutions promote the consolidation of knowledge.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Evaluation in a Nutshell 3rd edition is a succinct guide to the strategic and technical issues that arise during the evaluation of health promotion programs, providing practical advice on how to understand, interpret and assess existing health promotion programs. This book takes a real-life and pragmatic public health perspective, equipping students with foundation knowledge and core skills to develop and implement appropriate evaluations. Evaluation in a Nutshell 3rd edition provides practical guidance on when and how to evaluate programs, and the range of evaluation designs and research methods that can be used to evaluate different projects and program types. There is a new chapter on the evaluation of natural experiments and policy new frameworks and methods for the evaluation of scaled-up interventions updated materials on new research design used to address program effectiveness.

Now in brilliant full color throughout, Kandarpa Handbook of Interventional Radiologic Procedures, 6th Edition, is a convenient, easy-access guide to all current radiologic procedures. It's an ideal resource not only for practicing interventional and general radiologists, but also for fellows and residents in training, IR nurses, and special procedure technologists. Covers indications, contraindications, preparation, technique, postprocedural management, prevention, and management of complications for every procedure. Includes expanded information on innovative oncological & lymphatic interventions. Provides must-know information on vascular access and catheter-directed angiography, vascular imaging, trans-arterial procedures, trans-venous procedures, non-vascular procedures, and intra-procedural patient management.

The Fifth Edition includes expanded coverage of COVID, neurology, fluid management, and medical emergencies. Every bite-sized chapter is supported by clear, easy-to-follow diagrams and succinct explanatory text. A thorough introduction to the practice of medicine generally and how to be a medical student, including discussions of patient confidentiality and consent, patient relationships, complaint history, medical history, and the principles of examination. Practical discussions of diseases and treatments at a glance, including endocrinology, infectious disease, haematology, and more In-depth examinations of miscellaneous medical issues, including fluid replacement therapy, psychiatric disorders, and substance misuse.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Find oncology information fast with this concise, all-in-one clinical reference! Mosby's Oncology Nursing Advisor, 3rd Edition uses a streamlined format to provide quick access to the most essential information on oncology nursing care. Evidence-based guidelines include topics such as the major cancers, principles of cancer management, and principles of symptom management, as well as oncologic emergencies, palliative care, and nursing practice considerations. This edition includes new information on cancer treatments, genetic risk, chemotherapy guidelines, and more. Written by a team of oncology nursing experts led by Susan Maloney-Newton, this book is ideal for use in any oncology nursing setting.

Christmas is coming, the goose is getting fat, but 1.4 million NHS workers are heading off to work. Adam Kay delves back into his diaries for a hilarious and sometimes heart-breaking peek behind the blue curtain at Christmastime. Twas the Nightshift Before Christmas is a love letter to all those who spend their festive season on the front line, removing babies and baubles from the various places they get stuck, at the most wonderful time of the year.