LibGuides: New Resources in Ken Merten Library, Liverpool Hospital: New Books January 2022

eBook Collections

Our eBook collections allow 24/7 access direct from the collection (see below) or through the Library catalogue.

Access via your Athens account, to register for an account use the Library Athens Registration Form.

AccessEmergency Medicine This link opens in a new window
Online emergency medicine resource providing quick diagnosis and treatment answers to a range of conditions from neurological and pediatric emergencies to poisoning and trauma. Includes textbooks, procedural videos, interactive self-assessment drug database and student/"clerk" resources. Remote access via Athens. Register for an individual database account for quizzes etc.
ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's Health, Medicine and Business eBook Collection provides access to 44,000+ titles:
* The Business eBook Collection includes subjects ranging from economics, marketing, leadership, finance and business planning, etiquette, intelligence, logistics and more.
* The Health & Medicine ebook Collection includes subjects ranging from nursing, allied health, psychology, diseases, anatomy/physiology, biology, chemical engineering more.
View these titles from work or home, PC or phone, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week!
Access to these eBooks is via Athens or through the Library Catalogue. To register complete the online Athens Registration Form available on the CLIN Library Website.
CIAP Ebooks This link opens in a new window
CIAP provides access to more than 400 ebooks including the Bloomsbury Dictionary of Nursing, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Drugs in pregnancy and Lactation (Briggs) and many more. NSW Health staff can use their StaffID to login.

Overview

These new books have been recently added to the collection in the Ken Merten Library, Liverpool Hospital and are available for borrowing (unless Reference). If the item you require is already on loan, a reservation can be placed and you will be notified when the item is returned.

Interested in a specific title? Click on the title or cover image to link into the Library Catalogue and then on 'Reserve' We will then find the book and you will be emailed when it is available for collection.

To access the new ebooks offsite, complete an Athens registration form.

Please ask the Library staff or phone 8738 3557 for further information.

Not a member of the Library? If you are a member of staff or a student on clinical placement fill in a membership request form

Suggestion for purchase? Fill in a Resource Recommendation form or contact the Library.

New eBooks January 2022

Anatomy of writing for publication for nurses, 4th edition by Cynthia Saver
Call Number: Nursing eBook Collection
ISBN: 9781948057929
Publication Date: 2021
This book is designed to help you bridge the gap between incomplete sentences and a published manuscript. The book's contributors include the best and the brightest from publishing today. Many of the contributors have experience as editors of nursing journals, where their role is to decide which articles to accept for publication. These decision-makers share important insights that will enhance the likelihood your manuscript is accepted for publication.
Battling healthcare burnout learning to love the job you have, while creating the job you love by Thom Mayer
Call Number: Nursing eBook Collection
ISBN: 9781523089925
Publication Date: 2021-06-29
When physicians and nurses suffer from burnout, patients suffer as well. This book pinpoints the how and why and shows what healthcare providers and their organizations can do.
Cardiac electrophysiology : a visual guide for nurses, techs and fellows, 2nd Edition by Paul D. Purves
Call Number: Nursing eBook Collection
ISBN: 9781942909538
Publication Date: 2021-03-15
Cardiac Electrophysiology is a basic electrophysiology book in a pictorial landscape format that teaches the essential concepts of clinical cardiac electrophysiology.
The care of the older person. 4th edition by Olivier Beauchet
Call Number: Nursing eBook Collection
ISBN: 9781735009322.
Publication Date: 2021-02-28
Crucial information for those who care, provide, create, and build for our rapidly growing—and cherished—senior population. From an all-star team of researchers, doctors, and clinical professionals comes a comprehensive guide to navigating the enormous daily challenges faced by those caring for the elderly.
Clinical skills : an introduction for nursing and healthcare by Robin Richardson; Joanne Keeling
Call Number: Nursing eBook Collection
ISBN: 9781908625205
Publication Date: 2022-01-31
It offers an ideal introduction to clinical skills for adult nursing students, and it will also be useful for student nurses in other fields of practice, for trainee nursing associates and for other healthcare students who need to carry out clinical procedures when caring for people in a healthcare environment.
Improving nurse retention and healthcare outcomes : innovating with the IMPACT Model by Judy Thomas; Mellisa Renter
Call Number: Nursing eBook Collection
ISBN: 9781646480487
Publication Date: 2021-05-15
Improving Nurse Retention & Healthcare Outcomes will help clinical nurses understand how to elevate their practice as frontline care providers and give executives a new, strategic approach to nurse retention. Authors Judy Thomas and Mellisa Renter outline the IMPACT Program they created to stimulate empowerment and professional growth.
The nurse manager's guide to budgeting and finance, 3rd edition by Al Rundio
Call Number: Nursing eBook Collection
ISBN: 9781646480173
Publication Date: 2021-07-29
Provides practical tools, tips, and strategies for running a unit that were not taught in nursing school:* Operating and capital budget development and planning for the year* Formulas and calculations for full-time employee hours, variances, and benefit costs* Explanation of financial statements, budgets, and reimbursement documents* The relationship between high reliability organizations (HROs) and finance/budgets* Differences between not-for-profit and for-profit institutions
Self-care for new and student nurses by Dorrie K. Fontaine; Tim Cunningham; Natalie May
Call Number: Nursing eBook Collection
ISBN: 9781948057837
Publication Date: 2021-04-01
Presents techniques to prepare you for stressors present now and those to come. No matter where you are in your nursing career, this book offers you multiple ways to prioritize your own mental, physical, and emotional health.

New Books January 2022

Acquired brain injury : the facts : the practical guide to understanding and responding to acquired brain injury and challenging behaviours. by Synapse Australia.
Call Number: WL 354/29
Publication Date: 2021
""Information, strategies and supports to ensure that people with a brain injury, their families and carers can make the most out of life."
AMH 2022 : [Australian medicines handbook] by Nick Buckley
Call Number: QV 738/11v
ISBN: 9780648515869
Publication Date: 2022
Published annually, AMH is widely recognised as Australia's leading independent medicines reference providing concise, practical and reliable drug information. The book is designed with the busy health professional in mind. AMH structure is broken into easy to use chapters, drug classes and monographs, treatments and appendices.
Cancer Nursing Principles and Practice by Connie Henke Yarbro; Debra Wujcik; Barbara Holmes Gobel
Call Number: QZ 200.7/4d
ISBN: 9781284055979.
Publication Date: 2016-09-28
Completely updated and revised to reflect the latest research and developments in the care of patients with cancer, the Eighth Edition includes new chapters on the biology of cancer, sleep disorders, and palliative care across the cancer continuum. This edition also includes significant updates to the basic science chapters to reflect recent increases in scientific knowledge, especially relating to genes and cancer.
Cognitive-behavioral therapy for PTSD : a case formulation approach, 2nd edition by Claudia Zayfert; Carolyn Black Becker
Call Number: WM 172.5/9
ISBN: 9781462541201
Publication Date: 2019-12-24
Acclaimed for providing a flexible framework for individualized treatment of posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD), this empathic guide has now been revised and expanded with 50% new material. The authors show how the case formulation approach enables the practitioner to adapt CBT for clients with different trauma histories, co-occurring problems, and complicating life circumstances. Vivid clinical material illustrates the implementation of exposure therapy, cognitive restructuring, and supplemental interventions, with ample attention to overcoming common obstacles.
Consumer health informatics : enabling digital health for everyone by Catherine Arnott Smith; Alla Keselman
Call Number: W 26.5/30
ISBN: 9781138337459
Publication Date: 2020-11-01
Educates readers in the core concepts of consumer health informatics: participatory healthcare; health and e-health literacy; user-centered design; information retrieval and trusted information resources; and the ethical dimensions of health information and communication technologies.
The Fourth Australian atlas of healthcare variation by Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
Call Number: W 84/109
ISBN: 9781922563057
Publication Date: 2021
The Fourth Australian Atlas of Healthcare Variation examines variation in healthcare use according to where people live. It covers six clinical areas: early planned births; chronic disease and infection; ear, nose and throat surgery in children and young people; lumbar spinal surgery; gastrointestinal investigations; and medicines use in older people. Online version available at: https://www.safetyandquality.gov.au/our-work/healthcare-variation/fourth-atlas-2021
Nutritional management of renal disease, 4th edition by Joel D. Kopple (Editor); Shaul G. Massry (Editor); Kamyar Kalantar-Zadeh (Editor); Denis Fouque (Editor)
Call Number: WJ 300/61
ISBN: 9780128185407
Publication Date: 2021-10-08
Offers in-depth reviews of the metabolic and nutritional disorders prevalent in patients with renal disease and serves as an in-depth reference source concerning nutrition and kidney disease. This classic translational reference provides correct diagnosis - and therefore correct treatment - of renal, metabolic, and nutritional disorders.
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association : the offical guide to APA style, 7th edition by American Psychological Association
Call Number: WZ 345/5d
ISBN: 9781433832154
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
The official source for APA Style, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication.
Talley & O'Connor's clinical examination : volume 1 : a systematic guide to physical diagnosis. 9th edition by Nicholas J. Talley; Simon O'Connor
Call Number: WB 200/3h V. 1
ISBN: 9780729544375
Publication Date: 2021
Talley and O'Connor's Clinical Examination addresses the core principles and clinical skills that underpin diagnosis for safe, effective medical practice. The text takes an evidence-based, patient-centric approach to conducting a clinical examination. In Volume 1, readers follow a logical framework ordered by body system, covering history taking, clinical examination and correlation between physical signs and disease for each system.
Talley & O'Connor's clinical examination : volume 2 : a guide to specialty examinations. 9th edition by Nicholas J. Talley; Simon O'Connor
Call Number: WB 200/3h V. 2
ISBN: 9780729544382
Publication Date: 2021
Talley and O'Connor's Clinical Examination addresses the core principles and clinical skills that underpin diagnosis for safe, effective medical practice. The text takes an evidence-based, patient-centric approach to conducting a clinical examination. Volume 2 focuses on medical specialties.