LibGuides: New Resources in Bowral &amp; District Hospital Library: New books: Jan 2023-

New books

The new books of 2023 have just been added to the collection at the Bowral & District Hospital and are available to borrow.

Interested in a specific title? Click on the title or cover image to link into the Library catalog and then on 'Reserve' We can then find the book for you and send it down to Bowral to your Hospital Department . Please contact the Library to confirm the arrangements.

Not a member of the Library? If you are a member of staff or a student on clinical placement fill in a membership request form

E-books and other online SWSLHD resources are accessible via Athens. This form to: request an account

Suggestion for purchase? Fill in a Resource recommendation or contact the Library.

Recent purchases

The 3-Minute Musculoskeletal and Peripheral Nerve Exam by Kimberly DiCuccio Heckert; Nethra S. Ankam; Alan Miller; Alyssa Speciale; Brian A. Davis
Call Number: WE 141/7
ISBN: 9780826177421
Publication Date: 2022-07-28
Comprehensive and concise, the 3-Minute Musculoskeletal and Peripheral Nerve Exam, Second Edition, is a lifeline for beginning learners and a trusted point-of-care reference for seasoned practitioners. Consistently formatted, every exam includes detailed color photographs and step-by-step instructions to describe patient and examiner actions, findings that indicate a positive test and what a positive test signifies--now with sensitivity and specificity data for specific diagnoses. Organized for rapid retrieval of essential information, the book traverses basic and advanced techniques for joint, muscle, reflex, and nerve exams and includes 180 videos demonstrating the maneuvers. Sections on gait and posture, spinal cord injury, scales and assessments, and a muscle atlas with origins and insertions offer additional diagnostic support.
100 Cases in Emergency Medicine and Critical Care by Eamon Shamil; Praful Ravi; Dipak Mistry
Call Number: WB 105/80
ISBN: 9781138035478
Publication Date: 2018-03-02
This new addition to the popular 100 cases series explores common clinical scenarios that will be encountered by the medical student and junior doctor during practical training in the emergency department, in the community and in intensive and critical care settings, and which are likely to feature in qualifying examinations.
100 Cases in General Practice by Martin Mueller; John Grabinar; Anne E. Stephenson
Call Number: WB 110/26
ISBN: 9781498757560
Publication Date: 2017-06-19
The new edition of this best-selling title from the popular 100 cases series explores common scenarios that will be encountered by the medical student and junior doctor when working in the community setting, and which are likely to feature in qualifying examinations. The book covers a comprehensive range of presentations from tiredness to tremor. Comprehensive answers highlight key take home points from each case and provide practical advice on how to deal with the challenges that occur in general practice at all levels.
100 Cases in Paediatrics by Joanna Walker; Ronny Cheung; Aubrey Cunnington; Simon Drysdale; Joseph Raine
Call Number: WS 200/45
ISBN: 9781498747233
Publication Date: 2017-05-17
The new edition of this best-selling title from the popular 100 cases series explores common paediatric scenarios that will be encountered by the medical student and junior doctor during practical training on the ward, in the emergency department, in outpatient clinics and in the community, and which are likely to feature in qualifying examinations. The book covers a comprehensive range of presentations from cough to constipation, organized by sub-specialty area for ease of reference.
Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z by Steve Yentis; Nicholas P. Hirsch; James Ip
Call Number: WO 200/40
ISBN: 9780702071652
Publication Date: 2018-05-18
For 25 years Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z has provided a comprehensive resource of the relevant aspects of pharmacology, physiology, anatomy, physics, statistics, medicine, surgery, general anaesthetic practice, intensive care, equipment, and the history of anaesthesia and intensive care. Originally prepared as essential reading for candidates for the Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists and similar exams, this fully updated edition will also prove as invaluable as ever for all anaesthetists and critical care physicians, as well as operating department practitioners and specialist nurses. The alphabetical arrangement with extensive cross-referencing ensures a full understanding of topics.
Basic Physiology for Anaesthetists by David Chambers; Christopher Huang; Gareth Matthews
Call Number: WO 200/41
ISBN: 9781108463997
Publication Date: 2019-07-25
Every trainee in anaesthesia requires a thorough understanding of basic physiology and its application to clinical practice. Now in its second edition, this comprehensively illustrated textbook bridges the gap between medical school and reference scientific texts. It covers the physiology requirements of the Primary FRCA examination syllabus. Chapters are organised by organ system, with particular emphasis given to the respiratory, cardiovascular and nervous systems.
The Breastfeeding Atlas, 7th Edition by Barbara Wilson-Clay (Photographer); Kay Hoover (Photographer)
Call Number: WS 125/70
ISBN: 9780967275895
Publication Date: 2022-02-01
Clinical lactation training guide for health care professionals and students studying for lactation certification exams. 400 color photos, case studies, reviews of evidence-based clinical management for lactation care. Fully referenced. Coil-binding for lay-flat studying.
Caring Science, Mindful Practice, Second Edition by Kathleen Sitzman; Jean Watson
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central (use Athens login to access)
ISBN: 9780826135551
Publication Date: 2018-04-28
The revised second edition includes an abundance of new micro-practice examples for each of the 10 Caritas Processes(R); practical exemplars from Dr. Sitzman's research, enabling readers to cultivate Caritas and mindfulness on a daily basis; and new case studies demonstrating how others have implemented Human Caring Science into everyday life and work. Drawing on the contemplative and mindfulness teachings of Thich Nhat Hanh, the text offers an engaging entry into Human Caring Theory for newcomers and deepens understanding for current practitioners.
Case-Smith's Occupational Therapy for Children and Adolescents by Jane Clifford O'Brien, Heather Kuhaneck. 8th Edition.
Call Number: WS 370/1
ISBN: 9780323676991
Publication Date: 2020
The number one book in pediatric OT is back! Focusing on children from infancy to adolescence, Case-Smith's Occupational Therapy for Children and Adolescents, 8th Edition provides comprehensive, full-color coverage of pediatric conditions and treatment techniques in all settings. Its emphasis on application of evidence-based practice includes: eight new chapters, a focus on clinical reasoning, updated references, research notes, and explanations of the evidentiary basis for specific interventions.
Case Files: Emergency Medicine, Fifth Edition by Ciara Barclay-Buchanan; Eugene C. Toy; Barry Simon; Katrin Y. Takenaka; Adam J. Rosh
Call Number: WB 105/65b
ISBN: 9781264268337
Publication Date: 2023-02-07
Real-life cases for success on the emergency medicine clerkship and shelf-exam Experience with clinical cases is key to mastering the art and science of medicine and ultimately to providing patients with competent medical care. Case Files®: Emergency Medicine, Fifth Edition delivers 60 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in emergency medicine. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, high-yield presentation of key diagnostic and treatment information, USMLE-style review question to enhance your learning.
Clinical cases in general medicine by Sanjaya Senanayake
Call Number: WB 18.2/105
ISBN: 9781743074503
Publication Date: 2015
Clinical Cases in General Medicine 3e, formerly known as Pocket Guide to Internship: Common Clinical Cases is the latest addition to the Clinical Cases collection. This edition has over 40 cases showcasing a comprehensive range of common scenarios encountered in emergency departments and hospital wards.
Clinical Guide to Paediatrics by Rachel Varughese (Editor); Anna Mathew (Editor); Christian Fielder Camm (Series edited by)
Call Number: WS 100/43
ISBN: 9781119539117
Publication Date: 2022-07-25
Clinical Guide to Paediatrics enables rapid reference to the common paediatric conditions, symptoms, and practical concerns seen in day-to-day practice. Focused on making differential diagnoses in acute settings, this comprehensive resource offers step-by-step guidance on clinical decision-making, investigations, and interventions.
Clinical Manifestations and Assessment of Respiratory Disease by Terry Des Jardins; George G. Burton
Call Number: WF 140/23
ISBN: 9780323871501
Publication Date: 2023-03-20
A realistic look at treating respiratory diseases! This book gives you the fundamental knowledge and understanding required to successfully assess and treat patients with respiratory diseases. This foundation helps you learn how to systematically gather relevant clinical data; make an objective evaluation; identify the desired outcome and formulate an assessment; design a safe, appropriate, and effective treatment plan; and document all the steps involved.
Communication Skills for Effective Dementia Care by Ian Andrew James (Editor); Laura Gibbons (Editor)
Call Number: WM 220/56
ISBN: 9781785926235
Publication Date: 2019-04-18
Effective communication is critical for everyone, and this insightful book teaches the skills needed by healthcare staff in their day-to-day interactions with people with dementia and their families. Often when people with dementia exhibit behaviour that challenges, it is an indication that their needs are not being met. The authors illustrate the key aspects of communication for the development of a skilled and confident workforce, capable of providing thoroughly effective care that reduces levels of agitation in people with dementia.
The Complete Recovery Room Book by Anne Craig; Anthea Hatfield
Call Number: WX 218.7/6a
ISBN: 9780198846840
Publication Date: 2021-01-25
The care that a patient receives in the first hours after surgery is crucial to minimizing the risk of complications. The recovery room staff must manage both comatose and physiologically unstable patients, and deal with the immediate post-operative care of surgical patients. The Complete Recovery Room Book, Sixth edition, provides nurses, surgeons, and anaesthetists with up-to-date guidance and practical tips on the post-operative management of patients.
Comprehensive Lactation Consultant Exam Review by Linda J. Smith
Call Number: WS 125/71
ISBN: 9781284198287
Publication Date: 2022-10-13
Comprehensive Lactation Consultant Exam Review, Fifth Edition is an ideal resource to help prepare for the International Board of Lactation Consultant Examiners (IBLCE) certification examination. Completely revised and updated, the Fifth Edition is mapped to the 2016 and 2023 Detailed Content Outlines and contains more than 1100 practice exam questions and answer rationales, more than 350 clinical photos, and 20 case studies with questions.
Concept-Based Clinical Nursing Skills by Loren Nell Melton Stein; Connie J. Hollen
ISBN: 9780323827409
Publication Date: 2023-03-10
Concept-Based Clinical Nursing Skills: Fundamental to Advanced Competencies, 2nd Edition covers more than 250 nursing skills in an innovative concept-based format. Unlike any other text, Stein and Hollen incorporate an overarching framework of seven critical concepts - accuracy, person-centered care, infection control, safety, communication, evaluation, and health maintenance - to drive home the importance of these key themes in performing nursing skills and developing nursing competencies. Every chapter includes a detailed case study with a concept map to help you apply your knowledge to clinical situations involving nursing skills.
Conditions in Occupational Therapy by Ben Atchison; Diane Dirette
Call Number: WB 555/42
ISBN: 9781975209353
Publication Date: 2023-04-11
The only text covering the pathophysiology of common diseases specifically relative to Occupational Therapy practice, Conditions in Occupational Therapy: Effect on Occupational Performance, 6th Edition, combines the most up-to-date insights and an engaging approach to ready students for success from the classroom to clinical settings.
Contexts of Nursing by John Daly; Debra Jackson
Call Number: WY 100/124
ISBN: 9780729543569
Publication Date: 2020-10-21
Written by leading academics at the forefront of nursing education and research, the 6th edition features a range of stories and voices that will challenge the reader and encourage reflection and discussion. Each chapter introduces key topics within the contexts of nursing including critical thinking, reflective practice, informatics, legal and ethical requirements, leadership and the evolving roles of nursing.
Crash Course General Medicine by Inez Eiben; Paola Eiben; Shreelata T. Datta (Series edited by); Philip Xiu (Series edited by); Christopher Holland (Guest Editor); Kathryn Watson (Guest Editor)
Call Number: WB 18.2/115
ISBN: 9780702073724
Publication Date: 2019-01-04
Crash Course - your effective every-day study companion PLUS the perfect antidote for exam stress! Save time and be assured you have the essential information you need in one place to excel on your course and achieve exam success. A winning formula now for over 20 years, each series volume has been fine-tuned and fully updated - with an improved full-colour layout tailored to make your life easier. Especially written by senior students or junior doctors - those who understand what is essential for exam success - with all information thoroughly checked and quality assured by expert Faculty Advisers, the result are books which exactly meet your needs and you know you can trust.
Crash Course Paediatrics by Cassandra Gyamtso (Guest Editor); Anna Rodgers; Jessica Salkind; Shreelata T. Datta (Series edited by); Philip Xiu (Series edited by)
Call Number: WS 18.2/17
ISBN: 9780702073694
Publication Date: 2019-05-21
Crash Course - your effective every-day study companion PLUS the perfect antidote for exam stress! Save time and be assured you have the essential information you need in one place to excel on your course and achieve exam success. A winning formula now for over 20 years, each series volume has been fine-tuned and fully updated - with an improved full-colour layout tailored to make your life easier. Especially written by senior students or junior doctors - those who understand what is essential for exam success.
Critical Care Nursing by Leanne Aitken; Andrea Marshall; Wendy Chaboyer
Call Number: WY 154/38
ISBN: 9780729542975
Publication Date: 2019-08-07
Written by leading critical care nursing clinicians, Leanne Aitken, Andrea Marshall and Wendy Chaboyer, the 4th edition of Critical Care Nursing continues to encourage and challenge critical care nurses and students to develop world-class practice and ensure the delivery of the highest quality care. The text addresses all aspects of critical care nursing and is divided into three sections: scope of practice, core components and specialty practice, providing the most recent research, data, procedures and guidelines from expert local and international critical care nursing academics and clinicians.
Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Geriatrics, 3/e by Louise Walter; Anna Chang
Call Number: WT 100/7
ISBN: 9781260457087
Publication Date: 2020-10-21
The definitive guide to safe, effective care of older adults--updated with important new content and streamlined for quick access Doody's Core Titles for 2023! Covers the complete range of topics in geriatric care, including theory and fundamentals, assessment, conditions, diseases, symptoms, policies, and societal issues that affect older patients Provides a framework for using the functional and cognitive status, prognosis, and social context of patients to guide diagnosis and treatment of medical conditions.
Drugs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care by Edward Scarth; Susan Smith
Call Number: QV 81/1
ISBN: 9780198768814
Publication Date: 2016-07-12
An essential reference text, the fifth edition of this popular book details drugs in anaesthesia and intensive care in an A-Z format. The book describes the pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of all the drugs commonly used by anaesthetists. The A-Z organisation allows rapid access to specific information on the properties and characteristics of almost 200 drugs. The new edition includes a complete revision of all the featured drugs, andthe addition of key new drugs. New diagrams of particular drug structures and comparison tables aid comparison of differences within a drug class for exam revision.
ECG Interpretation Made Incredibly Easy by Jessica Shank Coviello
Call Number: WG 140/19 c.3
ISBN: 9781975148263
Publication Date: 2020-06-10
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Drop the ECG anxiety and learn to interpret rhythm strips in simple, stress-free ways, with the popular & nbsp; ECG Interpretation Made Incredibly Easy!®, 7th Edition. Offering expert direction, this freshly updated, fully illustrated guide is packed with images and learning aids that support your understanding and retention in obtaining and interpreting rhythm strips. Recognize and treat a wide variety of arrhythmias with this vital text -- an ideal study aid and friendly on-the-unit support for both students and practicing nurses.
The ECG Made Easy by John Hampton; Joanna Hampton
Call Number: WG 140/56
ISBN: 9780702074578
Publication Date: 2019-05-07
For over forty years The ECG Made Easy has been regarded as the best introductory guide to the ECG, with sales of over half a million copies as well as being translated into more than a dozen languages. This book encourages the reader to accept that the ECG is easy to understand and that its use is just a natural extension of taking the patient's history and performing a physical examination. It directs users of the electrocardiogram to straightforward and accurate identification of normal and abnormal ECG patterns. A practical and highly informative guide to a difficult subject. Provides a full understanding of the ECG in the diagnosis and management of abnormal cardiac rhythms.
Emergency and Trauma Care for Nurses and Paramedics by Julie Considine; Kate Curtis; Clair Ramsden; Ramon Z. Shaban; Margaret Fry
Call Number: WY 154/40
ISBN: 9780729542982
Publication Date: 2019-08-07
The 3rd edition of Emergency and Trauma Care for Nurses and Paramedics continues to be the foremost resource for students preparing to enter the emergency environment and for clinicians seeking a greater understanding of multidisciplinary emergency care. The text provides nursing and paramedicine students and clinicians with the opportunity to understand the best available evidence behind the treatment that is provided throughout the emergency care trajectory.
Emergency Medicine by Sascha Fulde; Gordian W. O. Fulde
Call Number: WB 105/2b
ISBN: 9780729543019
Publication Date: 2020-09-28
This premier text offers accessible evidence-based clinical management and treatment advice that can be incorporated seamlessly into the daily demands of the emergency medicine environment. The comprehensive scope of content coverage ensures readers - both students and clinicians - are well equipped with the practical nous to succeed in the demanding world of emergency medicine. Coverage of important controversies with evidence-based recommendations.
Essential Geriatrics by Henry Woodford
Call Number: WT 100/76
ISBN: 9781032135298
Publication Date: 2022-07-01
In an ageing society, developing high-quality healthcare for older people becomes increasingly important. This revised and updated fourth edition focuses on the key aspects of ageing and healthcare for older people, especially those with moderate to severe frailty. It has expanded sections on the key topics of frailty and medicines optimisation with evidence from critically appraised clinical trials formulated into practical guidance for management. It details the non-pharmacological management of cognitive disorders and models of person-centred care. Additional topics of acute coronary syndromes and COVID-19 have also been added in this comprehensive text for healthcare professionals.
Essentials of Maternity, Newborn, and Women's Health by Susan Ricci
Call Number: WY 157.3/13
ISBN: 9781975112646
Publication Date: 2020-10-01
Addressing the reproductive issues of women throughout the lifespan in a clear, practical approach; Essentials of Maternity, Newborn, and Women's Health Nursing, Fifth Edition, equips students with the knowledge and clinical capabilities to excel on the NCLEX®; and confidently care for women and their families in today's evolving healthcare environment. Employing a nursing process focus, author Susan Scott Ricci takes students from concept to application by building on previously mastered material to help them make sound clinical choices at every stage of patient care.
Evidence-Based Emergency Care by Jesse M. Pines (Editor); Ali S. Raja (Editor); Fernanda Bellolio (Editor); Christopher R. Carpenter (Editor)
Call Number: WB 105/81
ISBN: 9781119616818
Publication Date: 2023-03-27
The newly revised third edition of Evidence-Based Emergency Care: Diagnostic Testing and Clinical Decision Rules offers an updated review of the evidence and expert discussion of relevant issues in diagnostic testing in the everyday practice of emergency medicine. This book also provides a detailed overview of the science of diagnostic testing and reviews the process behind the development of clinical decision rules. The focus is asking and answering practical questions using original research studies, while commenting on the best available evidence for relevant clinical topics.
Fluids and Electrolytes Made Incredibly Easy! by Laura Willis
Call Number: WB 360/1
ISBN: 9781975209315
Publication Date: 2023-06-15
Fluids & Electrolytes Made Incredibly Easy!®, 8th Edition, is your quick-reference guide to success in understanding fluids and electrolytes at every stage of your nursing career--in class, on the unit, as you prepare for the NCLEX®, and whenever you need a refresher. This irreplaceable resource is written in the enjoyable; Incredibly Easy® style, making must-have information approachable and entertaining while clarifying real-world applications. Step-by-step directions boost your confidence in balancing fluids and electrolytes, understanding fluid imbalances and the disorders that cause them, treating imbalances, and more. Helpful tips throughout reinforce key concepts, provide important care reminders, and strengthen your problem-solving and patient teaching capabilities.
General Medicine and Surgery by Rebecca Richardson; Ricky Ellis
Call Number: WB 18.2/117
ISBN: 9781914961182
Publication Date: 2023-07-20
General Medicine and Surgery: Medical Student Revision Guide contains the core information you need on: Cardiology; Endocrinology; Gastroenterology; Hepato-pancreato-biliary; Haematology; Immunology & Allergy; Neurology; Renal; Respiratory; General surgical principles; The acute abdomen; Gastrointestinal surgery; The breast; Vascular surgery; Urology; Critical illness; Emergency presentations; Rheumatology; Trauma & orthopedics. Throughout medical school, and the years thereafter, a huge volume of knowledge must be acquired and retained, to achieve the standards expected of a safe and successful doctor. This is a mammoth task.
A Guide to Psychiatric Examination by Carmelo Aquilina (Editor); Gavin Tucker (Editor)
Call Number: WM 141/10
ISBN: 9780729543972
Publication Date: 2021-11-07
This guide is for anyone working with people with mental health conditions, covering the techniques needed for a good psychiatric interview and preparing readers to work with specific groups, presentations, and in different settings. It covers everything from the basics of psychiatric assessment through to in-depth topics and how to approach examinations. This jargon free guide is a practical handbook that can be read quickly and consulted as needed to build confidence. It is ideal for medical students, psychiatric trainees, nurses, and allied health professionals.
Hale's Medications & Mothers' Milk 2023 by Thomas W. Hale; Kaytlin Krutsch
Call Number: WS 125/55c
ISBN: 9780826160638
Publication Date: 2022-06-28
Developed by world leaders in lactational pharmacology, this essential reference contains the most current, complete, and evidence-based information available on the transmission of maternal drugs into human milk. It thoroughly addresses one of the most commonly asked questions by breastfeeding mothers-which drugs are safe, and which are hazardous for the infant?
Introduction to Occupational Therapy by Jane Clifford O'Brien; Brittany Conners
Call Number: WB 555/43
ISBN: 9780323798563
Publication Date: 2023-02-13
Prepare for success in OT practice with a complete overview of the profession! Introduction to Occupational Therapy, 6th Edition helps you master the roles and responsibilities of the OT practitioner. Content examines OT practice - from client evaluation to planning interventions and goals to reaching optimal outcomes. You will also learn valuable skills in clinical reasoning and in providing occupational therapy across the client's lifespan. Written by the respected author team of Jane Clifford O'Brien and Brittany Conners, this comprehensive resource discusses today's OT practice and adds new chapters on self-care, supportive technology, advocacy, and the lived experience of OT practitioners. Complete coverage of OT practice provides an overview of practice in a variety of rehabilitation, mental health, and community settings, and across the lifespan.
Jarvis's Health Assessment and Physical Examination by Helen Forbes; Elizabeth Watt
Call Number: WY 100.4/16
ISBN: 9780729543378
Publication Date: 2021-01-22
The textbook is colour-coded and easy to follow. Each chapter sets out the eight key elements of health assessment: structure and function, developmental considerations, social and cultural considerations, subjective data, objective data, promoting a healthy lifestyle, documentation and critical thinking and abnormal findings. Advanced concepts allow students to progress once they understand the basics. Comprehensive approaches to health assessment in nursing, incorporating anatomy, physiology and pathophysiology Detailed identification of relevant development, social and cultural considerations in the Australian and New Zealand context Increased focus on frameworks for health assessment Logical layout and colour coding to support learning An eBook included in all print purchases.
Lewis's medical-surgical nursing: assessment and management of clinical problems. by Mariann M. Harding
Call Number: WY 150/39
ISBN: 9780323825184
Publication Date: 2023
Lewis's Medical-Surgical Nursing, 12th Edition uses a conversational writing style, a focus on nursing concepts and clinical trends, evidence-based content, and basic pathophysiology review to provide the solid foundation needed in a rapidly changing healthcare environment. Comprehensive chapters cover topics including nursing management and collaboration, health promotion, acute interventions, and ambulatory care. Summary tables and boxes make it easy to find essential information, and a building-block approach makes even the most complex concepts simple to grasp.
Marshall & Ruedy's on call : principles & protocols by Brown, Cadogan and Celenza
Call Number: WB 105/6a
ISBN: 9780729542623
Publication Date: 2017
This book provides a carefully structured, risk-based approach to the initial assessment, investigation, differential diagnosis and short-term management of ward problems on-call. This new 3rd edition is completely revised and up-to-date, with the latest guidelines laid out in a succinct format to give a practical, rapid, efficient and effective bedside approach to problem solving.
Mary Sheridan's from Birth to Five Years by Ajay Sharma; Helen Cockerill; Lucy Sanctuary
Call Number: WS 105/31
ISBN: 9780367522513
Publication Date: 2021-11-29
This new edition of a classic text is the go-to reference for anyone concerned with the developmental progress of pre-school children. It provides the knowledge required for understanding children's developmental progress with age and within each developmental domain. Including new sections on atypical development for each of the core domains of development and additional material on the development of attention and self-regulation, this fifth edition integrates findings from the latest research throughout.
MCQs and SBAs in Intensive Care Medicine by Lorna Eyre (Editor); Andrew Bodenham (Editor)
Call Number: WX 218/53
ISBN: 9780198753056
Publication Date: 2022-02-11
Prepare with confidence for the FFICM and EDIC with this dedicated guide featuring 300 original multiple choice (MCQ) and single best answer questions (SBAs) covering the whole FICM curricula. Organized into ten practice papers so readers can practice the style and format of the real exam, questions cover a broad range of intensive care topics for postgraduate exams. Each answer includes a full explanation, up-to-date evidence-based guidelines and sources for further reading to ensure high-quality self-assessment.
Myles Midwifery Anatomy and Physiology Workbook by Jean Rankin
Call Number: WQ 160/52
ISBN: 9780702076480
Publication Date: 2020-03-27
Myles Midwifery Anatomy and Physiology Workbook, Second Edition presents a wide variety of activities ranging from colouring and labelling exercises and 'match and connect' to 'true false' and 'identify the correct response'. Perfect for readers who find A&P challenging, or for anyone who just needs to recap and consolidate, the book also offers: An engaging approach to afford a stimulating way to learn A&P . Straightforward language and a user-friendly style to help simplify challenging areas of study . Information based on the latest RCOG and NICE Guidelines.
Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics by Karen Marcdante (Editor); Robert M. Kliegman (Editor); Abigail M. Schuh (Editor)
Call Number: WS 100/42
ISBN: 9780323775625
Publication Date: 2022-02-28
Concise, readable, and up to date, Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 9th Edition, provides the must-know information you need in pediatrics from the name you trust. A readable, full-color format; high-yield, targeted chapters; and thorough content updates ensure strong coverage of core knowledge as well as recent advances in the field. This focused resource is ideal for medical students, pediatric residents, PAs, and nurse practitioners in various educational and practice settings, including pediatric residencies, clerkships, and exams. Covers normal childhood growth and development, as well as the diagnosis, management, and prevention of common pediatric diseases and disorders. Contains new coverage of COVID-19, Multisystem Inflammatory Syndrome in Children (MIS-C), and Vaping-Induced Lung Injury.
Neonatal Care for Nurses and Midwives by Victoria Kain (Editor); Trudi Mannix (Editor)
Call Number: WY 157.2/12
ISBN: 9780729543897
Publication Date: 2022-12-20
Written by neonatal nurses and midwives for nurses and midwives, the 2nd edition highlights the collaborative nature of neonatal care and the provision of individualised, developmentally and culturally appropriate, family-centred care. Spanning all neonatal care levels and considerations, across special care baby units (SCBU) and neonatal intensive care units (NICU), the text comprehensively addresses newborn screening, resuscitation, interdisciplinary teamwork, retrievals and transport; stabilisation of the high-risk newborn; legal and ethical issues; care of the normal newborn and end-of-life care in the neonatal unit.
Nunn and Lumb's Applied Respiratory Physiology by Andrew B. Lumb; Caroline R. Thomas
Call Number: WF 102/11
ISBN: 9780702079085
Publication Date: 2020-07-28
Nunn's Applied Respiratory Physiology, Ninth Edition, is your concise, one-stop guide to all aspects of respiratory physiology in health, disease, and in the many physiologically challenging situations and environments into which humans take themselves - coverage is from basic science to clinical applications. Trusted for over 50 years, this most comprehensive single volume on respiratory physiology will prove invaluable to those in training or preparing for examinations in anaesthesia, intensive care, respiratory medicine or thoracic surgery - as well as an essential quick reference for physiologists and the range of practitioners requiring ready access to current knowledge in this field.
A Nurse's Survival Guide to Acute Medical Emergencies Updated Edition by Richard N. Harrison
Call Number: WY 154/41
ISBN: 9780702076664
Publication Date: 2019-02-08
This book will help you to care for patients in the first critical 24 hours of admission manage patients using the most up-to-date evidence based approach understand the most common emergency medical conditions and their underlying disease mechanisms handle the patient's assessment , understand the observations and manage their disease easily obtain clear practical advice know what to tell the patient and relatives using jargon-free language access information on SARS, avian influenza and bio-terrorism.
Nursing and midwifery research : methods and appraisal for evidence-based practice / by Dean Whitehead, Caleb Ferguson. 6th edition.
Call Number: WY 20.5/86
ISBN: 9780729543408
Publication Date: 2020
Australian and New Zealand nursing and midwifery practice, with a focus on evidence-based practice, along with a range of contemporary research articles and pedagogy to support specific chapter content. Using clear language and examples, the 6th edition of Nursing and Midwifery Research provides a valuable resource to assist healthcare students and practitioners in developing strong skills in research literacy and critical appraisal, as well as the confidence to successfully conduct research and apply outcomes to practice.
Occupational Therapy with Older Adults by Helene Lohman (Editor); Amy L. Shaffer (Editor); Patricia J. Watford (Editor)
Call Number: WB 555/44
ISBN: 9780323824101
Publication Date: 2023-03-01
Gain the focused foundation needed to successfully work with older adults. Occupational Therapy with Older Adults: Strategies for the OTA, 5th Edition is the only comprehensive book on occupational therapy with older adults designed specifically for the occupational therapy assistant. It provides in-depth coverage of each aspect of geriatric practice - from wellness and prevention to managing chronic conditions.
Pediatric Physical Examination by Karen G. Duderstadt
Call Number: WS 141/21
ISBN: 9780323476508
Publication Date: 2018-02-16
Spiral-bound for quick reference in clinical settings, this photo-rich, step-by-step guide to physical examination for advanced practice providers prepares you to expertly examine children from birth through adolescence. Body system chapters begin with fetal development and take you through the key developmental stages of childhood. For infants and young children, Duderstadt uses the quiet-to-active approach favored by pediatric experts and considered more effective for this age-group than the traditional head-to-toe approach used for adults.
Pocket Emergency Medicine by Richard D. Zane (Editor); Joshua M. Kosowsky (Editor)
Call Number: WB 105/79
ISBN: 9781975190729
Publication Date: 2022-05-17
Pocket-sized and easy to use, Pocket Emergency Medicine, 5th Edition, provides accurate, actionable, and up-to-date information essential to caring for patients in life-threatening situations. Designed to be used at the bedside by clinicians on the front lines of emergency care. A volume in the popular Pocket Notebook series, it organizes chapters by presenting condition and supports the thought processes needed to hone everyday diagnostic decision making
Regional Anaesthesia, Stimulation, and Ultrasound Techniques by Paul Warman; David Conn; Barry Nicholls; David Wilkinson
Call Number: WO 231/4
ISBN: 9780199559848
Publication Date: 2015-01-27
Regional anaesthesia is used across specialties within anaesthesia, and is a rapidly growing sub-specialty. This new handbook covers both traditional and ultrasound guided techniques, concentrating on the differences between them. Offering readers a comprehensive overview for clinicalpractice, it includes paediatric and acute pain applications. Each topic covers anatomy, contraindications, landmark/US settings, technique, complications, and clinical notes. Discrete sections on pharmacology, principles, and training further the book's use for teaching purposes.
Regional Anaesthesia: a Pocket Guide by Alwin Chuan; David M. Scott
Call Number: WO 300/5
ISBN: 9780199684236
Publication Date: 2014-04-27
Regional Anaesthesia: A Pocket Guide is an essential companion to the practice of regional anaesthesia for consultants and trainees in the specialty. Filled with practical advice and carefully designed for ease of use, this book is the helpful aid to practice that anaesthetists have beenwaiting for.The book covers all the major blocks by anatomical region, from the head and upper extremities, to the lower extremities and para-axial region. The technique for each procedure is prefaced by information on its difficulty, indications, contraindications, and potential side-effects.
Respiratory Care Anatomy and Physiology by Will Beachey
Call Number: WF 102/13
ISBN: 9780323757034
Publication Date: 2022-08-11
Gain the solid foundation in A&P that you need to provide effective respiratory care! Respiratory Care Anatomy and Physiology, 5th Edition provides an in-depth understanding of the physiology and pathophysiology of the lungs, heart, vascular system, and kidneys. It connects theory with practice, showing how physiological principles guide the selection and use of diagnostic, therapeutic, and monitoring procedures.
The Respiratory System at a Glance by Jeremy P. T. Ward; Jane Ward; Richard M. Leach
Call Number: WF 102/6a
ISBN: 9781119700197
Publication Date: 2022-09-19
Everything you need to know about The Respiratory System... at a Glance! Highly-illustrated overview of the structure and function of the lungs and airways, with sections on history, examination, pathophysiology, treatment and management Respiratory System at a Glance is a comprehensive guide to normal lung structure and function and associated pathophysiology, featuring key information on all major respiratory disorders. As per the familiar, easy-to-use 'at a Glance' format, each topic is presented as a double-page spread, with key facts accompanied by clear diagrams that encapsulate essential knowledge.
The Road to Nursing by Nick Arnott (Editor); Penny Paliadelis (Editor); Mary Cruickshank (Editor)
Call Number: WY 100/125
ISBN: 9781009003476
Publication Date: 2021-11-22
Being an effective and well-rounded nurse in Australia is not just about technical skills - it's also about thinking like a nurse. The Road to Nursing helps students develop clinical reasoning and critical reflection skills, understand the philosophical and ethical considerations necessary to care for clients and reflect on how to provide care that meets the unique needs of clients. This edition retains three parts which guide students through their transition to university, formation of a professional identity and progression to professional practice.
Sheehy's Emergency Nursing by Emergency Nurses Association
Call Number: WY 154/43
ISBN: 9780323485463
Publication Date: 2019-09-09
Written by emergency nurses for emergency nurses, Sheehy's Emergency Nursing: Principles and Practice, 7th Edition covers the issues and procedures unique to the emergency department. This comprehensive, evidence-based resource is written by the Emergency Nurses Association and includes developments and changes in clinical practice that are incorporated throughout the text. Considered the go-to guide for issues and procedures unique to the emergency department, the user-friendly format features more than 150 high-quality illustrations and tables that highlight essential concepts and offer quick access to vital information.
Skills for Practice in Occupational Therapy by Edward A. S. Duncan
Call Number: WB 555/41
ISBN: 9780702077524
Publication Date: 2022-12-13
Skills for Practice in Occupational Therapy is an essential companion for all students and newly qualified practitioners working in the complicated field of occupational therapy. It covers everything from thinking and judgement to decision making, evidence-based practice and research skills, and leadership and management. It also guides the reader toward effective career advancement, getting their work noticed, and staying up to date in their field.
Skills in Clinical Nursing by Berman, Snyder, Levett-Jones, Burton, Harvey
Call Number: WY 128/10
ISBN: 9781488620690
Publication Date: 2021
The 2nd edition of Skills in Clinical Nursing provides a primary Australian resource, preparing undergraduate nursing students to become skills-competent nurses, as well as providing practicing nurses with a highly relevant reference. The text acts as a visual manual, helping students learn to link theory to practice, developing their clinical skills and underpinning industry requirements.
Study Guide for Foundations of Maternal-Newborn and Women's Health Nursing by Sharon Smith Murray; Emily Slone McKinney
Call Number: WY 157.3/14
ISBN: 9780323827393
Publication Date: 2023-01-03
Learn to master maternal-newborn and women's health nursing. Designed to accompany Foundations of Maternal-Newborn and Women's Health Nursing, 8th Edition, this study guide gives you an in-depth understanding of the material from each chapter in the text. Learning activities and case studies encourage critical thought, and simulated patient situations give you practice applying what you've learned to the NCLEX® exam and clinical practice. Check Yourself multiple-choice questions provide the opportunity to prepare for the NCLEX®.
Talley & O'Connor's Clinical Examination : A systematic guide to physical diagnosis - 9th ed. Volume 1 by Nicholas J Talley, Simon O'Connor
Call Number: WM 220/24
ISBN: 9780729544382
Publication Date: 2022
The text takes an evidence-based, patient-centric approach to conducting a clinical examination. In Volume 1, readers follow a logical framework ordered by body system, covering history taking, clinical examination and correlation between physical signs and disease for each system.
Talley & O'Connor's Clinical Examination : A systematic guide to physical diagnosis - 9th ed. Volume 2. by Nicholas J Talley, Simon O'Connor
Call Number: WM 220/25
ISBN: 9780729544382
Publication Date: 2022
The text takes an evidence-based, patient-centric approach to conducting a clinical examination. Volume 2 focuses on medical specialties.
Talley and o'Connor's Examination Medicine by Nicholas J. Talley; Simon O'Connor
Call Number: WB 141/24
ISBN: 9780729543866
Publication Date: 2020-11-04
Talley & O'Connor's Examination Medicine: A guide to physician training, has prepared generations of physician trainees and medical students for their clinical examinations. Instructive, informative and aligned with current practice, this ninth edition gives you an overview of what to expect, what is expected of you and how to develop a mature clinical approach to complex medical problems.
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine Examination and Board Review by Susan B. Promes
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781260025941
Publication Date: 2023-03-16
More than 800 case-based Q&A combined with the authority of the field's leading text make this the best review for any Emergency Medicine examination All answer options, both correct and incorrect, are keyed to Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine, Eighth Edition, the field's most authoritative and trusted text.
West's Respiratory Physiology by John B. West; Andrew M. Luks
Call Number: WF 102/12
ISBN: 9781975139186
Publication Date: 2020-10-07
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! For more than 40 years, West's Respiratory Physiology: The Essentials has remained a critical resource for medical and allied health students learning the basics of respiratory physiology as well as an effective, quick review for residents and fellows in pulmonary medicine, critical care, anesthesiology, and internal medicine as they prepare for licensing and other exams.
Wound Care Essentials by Sharon Baranoski; Elizabeth A. Ayello
Call Number: WO 188/14
ISBN: 9781975128883
Publication Date: 2020-07-01
Awards Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Looking for an up-to-date, how-to, evidence-based wound care reference? A crucial guide for all skin and wound care professionals, this essential resource & provides authoritative science and practical instruction on wound care best practices. This must-have guide offers the latest, skin and wound care research-backed insights on prevention and management strategies.

Doody's e-book collection

We recently purchased both the 2021 and 2022 Doody collections of key medical ebooks. Bowral Hospital paid for 2021 and Liverpool Hospital paid for 2022. Access is available across the District and we hope will be of great benefit to staff.

Doody's Collection This link opens in a new window
Doody's Collection includes key current medical, nursing and allied health e-books rated as essential texts and recommended for inclusion by a panel of expert librarian reviewers. It includes titles such as 'DeLisa's Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation' and 'The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management'.

A few of the 90 books included are listed below:

Bonica's Management of Pain - 5th ed (CIAP has 4th) by , Jane C. Ballantyne; Scott M. Fishman; James P. Rathmell
Call Number: Doody eBook collection
ISBN: 9781496349033
Publication Date: 2018-11-24
This exhaustively comprehensive edition expertly combines the scientific underpinnings of pain with clinical management. Completely revised, it discusses a wide variety of pain conditions--including neuropathic pain, pain due to cancer, and acute pain situations--for adults as well as children. An international group of the foremost experts provides comprehensive, current, clinically oriented coverage of the entire field.
Ecg Interpretation Made Incredibly Easy 7th ed by Jessica Shank Coviello
Call Number: WG 140/19 c. 2
ISBN: 9781975148263
Publication Date: 2020-06-10
Offering expert direction, this freshly updated, fully illustrated guide is packed with images and learning aids that support your understanding and retention in obtaining and interpreting rhythm strips. Recognize and treat a wide variety of arrhythmias with this vital text -- Expert guidance on obtaining and interpreting 12-lead ECGs and ACLS algorithms -- ECG basics;- the fundamentals of cardiac anatomy and physiology, and of obtaining and interpreting a rhythm strip -- How to recognize arrhythmias;- sinus node, atrial, junctional arrhythmias, ventricular arrhythmias, and atrioventricular blocks -- Insight on treating arrhythmias;- pharmacologic and nonpharmacologic treatments.
Fleisher and Ludwig's Textbook of Pediatric Emergency Medicine by James Chamberlain (Editor); Jane Lavelle (Editor); Joshua Nagler (Editor); Joan E. Shook (Editor)
Call Number: Doody eBook collection
ISBN: 9781975121518
Publication Date: 2020-10-01
Long considered the gold standard comprehensive reference for diagnosing and managing emergent health issues in children, an essential resource for clinicians at all levels of training and experience. The revised eighth edition has been updated from cover to cover, providing practical, evidence-based content to help you meet any clinical challenge in the emergency care of pediatric patients.
Merritt's Neurology - 14th ed. by Elan D. Louis; Stephan A. Mayer; James M. Noble
Call Number: Doody eBook collection
ISBN: 9781975141226
Publication Date: 2021-07-08
For more than 60 years, Merritt's Neurology has remained a trusted landmark text in clinical neurology, providing unparalleled guidance on neurologic protocols, treatment guidelines, clinical pathways, therapeutic recommendations, and imaging. Contains more than 150 succinct chapters that offer essential information on signs and symptoms, diagnostic tests, and neurologic disorders of all etiologies.
Pizzo and Poplack's Pediatric Oncology by Susan M. Blaney; Lee J. Helman; Peter C. Adamson
Call Number: Doody eBook collection
ISBN: 9781975124793
Publication Date: 2020-09-02
This award-winning text is the single most comprehensive reference on the biology and genetics of childhood cancer, its diagnosis and multimodal treatment, and long-term management. Covers all aspects of the breadth and depth of childhood cancer, including basic science, diagnostic tools, principles of treatment, and clinical trials, as well as highly detailed, definitive coverage of each pediatric malignancy. Includes updates to current treatment approaches based on the results of recently completed and published clinical research.

New Resources in Bowral & District Hospital Library

Library support

New books

Recent purchases

Doody's e-book collection