New Resources in Bowral & District Hospital Library

Providing the most up-to-date, extensive coverage of the clinical literature in the area of speech sound disorders available, this leading resource has earned its status as a classic in the field and its rightful place on every speech, language, and hearing clinician's bookshelf. Readers get an introduction to the normal aspects of speech sound articulation, normal speech sound acquisition, classification and factors related to the presence of speech sound disorders, the assessment and remediation of speech sound disorders, and phonology as it relates to language and dialectal variations.

Skills in caring for people with dementia are increasingly demanded of all health care practitioners as the numbers of diagnosed increase. The text first guides the reader through the underpinning theory behind the different approaches to person centered and relationship centered care and provides case scenarios with a range of practical strategies. Christine Brown Wilson is Associate Professor at the University of Queensland, Australia.

Delivers expert, practical guidance on virtually any clinical scenario you may encounter in the ICU. Designed for intensivists, critical care and pulmonology residents, fellows, practicing physicians, and nurse practitioners, this highly regarded text is clinically focused and easy to reference. Includes new chapters on current applications of bedside ultrasound in the ICU, both diagnostic and procedural; mechanical assist devices; and extra-corporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO).

Thoroughly revised for the modern-day anatomy student. Each dissection reflects current medical school teaching and is now broken down into clear step-by-step instructions. Improved diagrams with clear labelling and full colour illustrate key anatomical features bringing the text to life. Throughout the book new clinical application boxes and radiology images explain how anatomy relates to clinical medical practice. At the end of each part, multiple-choice questions allow students to quickly review their knowledge.

Presented by a top-ranked group of internationally renowned experts, this concise and authoritative guide delivers everything you need to know about assessment, care, conditions, diseases, and symptoms of geriatric patients; provides a new focus on policy, society, and the global environment; and includes new chapters on assisted-living settings, HIV and aging, and aid in dying.

Offering expert direction, this freshly updated, fully illustrated guide is packed with images and learning aids that support your understanding and retention in obtaining and interpreting rhythm strips. Recognize and treat a wide variety of arrhythmias with this vital text -- Expert guidance on obtaining and interpreting 12-lead ECGs and ACLS algorithms -- ECG basics;- the fundamentals of cardiac anatomy and physiology, and of obtaining and interpreting a rhythm strip -- How to recognize arrhythmias;- sinus node, atrial, junctional arrhythmias, ventricular arrhythmias, and atrioventricular blocks -- Insight on treating arrhythmias;- pharmacologic and nonpharmacologic treatments.

People with dementia increasingly find themselves staying in hospitals for extended periods, often due to separate health issues. This best-practice guide presents healthcare staff with the information and tools needed to provide excellent person-centred care to people with dementia in hospital settings. This useful handbook includes strategies on how to manage common issues, including communication, physical health needs, pain, eating and nutrition, working with carers and relatives, understanding behaviour and approaching the end of life.

Geriatrics At Your Fingertips® (GAYF) is an annually updated reference that provides quick, easy access to the specific information clinicians need to make decisions about the care of older adults. This year’s updates include a new section on preventive cardiology, new guidelines on asthma, osteoarthritis, and gout, and new material on telehealth and endovascular thrombectomy. The text and tables contain updated and newly recommended diagnostic tests and management strategies.

Offers evidence-based information on conventional, complementary, and alternative care choices for a wide-range of conditions affecting women. Topics include epidemiology, etiology, signs and symptoms, diagnostic and management considerations, self-care, and wellness. The Second Edition explores the impact of culture, spirituality, and intimate partner violence on women's health. Also included is a chapter on vulnerable populations, such as recent immigrants, LGBTQ individuals, older adults, individuals with disabilities and mental illness, and non-English speakers.

This practice-oriented, person-centred learning tool will help you acquire the knowledge, skills and competencies you need to perform accurate health assessments in an ever-changing health care environment. The text helps you developi your clinical reasoning skills. It guides you through collecting assessment data before moving on to discussing the health assessment of each patient, explaining the decision-making process used to identify patient problems.

Written for health professionals, this book focuses on the daily education of patients, clients, fellow colleagues, and students in both clinical and classroom settings. Written by renowned educators and authors from a wide range of health backgrounds, this comprehensive text not only covers teaching and learning techniques, but reinforces concepts with strategies, learning styles, and teaching plans.

Evidence-based practice is the process nurses and other clinicians use to inform their decisions about patient care and delivery. This book teaches how to integrate evidence-based practice and research into your work while considering the newest trends and research. The text focuses on the connection between research and evidence based practice as related to the IOM, Macy report, Carnegie report, and federal health bill as appropriate. In addition, the Fifth Edition also discusses the impact of Magnet hospitals on research utilization, evidence-based practice, and moving evidence into practice.

Based on Davi-Ellen Chabner's proven learning method, this streamlined text helps you quickly build a working medical vocabulary of the most frequently encountered prefixes, suffixes, and word roots. Medical terms are introduced in the context of human anatomy and physiology so you understand exact meaning, and case studies, vignettes, and activities demonstrate how they're used in practice. With writing and interacting with medical terminology on almost every page, you'll learn the content by doing the work.

This book uses a unique, step-by-step, symptom-based approach to differential diagnosis of diseases and disorders in children and adolescents. Conveniently linked to the world's best-selling pediatric reference, Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 20th Edition, it focuses on the symptoms you're likely to see in general practice, as well as uncommon disorders. You'll find clear guidance on exactly what to consider and how to proceed when faced with a host of common symptoms such as cough, fever, headache, chest pain, gait disturbances, and many more.

Learn to improve the respiratory care of neonates, infants, and children. This book gives you a solid foundation in the assessment and treatment of respiratory disorders. Clear, full-color coverage simplifies the principles of respiratory care while emphasizing clinical application. A critical piece in respiratory care's total curriculum solution, this new edition includes all the changes in current clinical practice and in the education environment.

Concise, one-stop guide to all aspects of respiratory physiology in health, disease, and in the many physiologically challenging situations and environments into which humans take themselves - coverage is from basic science to clinical applications. Invaluable to those in training or preparing for examinations in anaesthesia, intensive care, respiratory medicine or thoracic surgery - as well as an essential quick reference for physiologists and the range of practitioners requiring ready access to current knowledge in this field.

Helps practicing nurses and nursing students select appropriate nursing diagnoses and write care plans with ease and confidence. This convenient handbook shows you how to correlate nursing diagnoses with known information about clients on the basis of assessment findings, established medical or psychiatric diagnoses, and the current treatment plan.

Carefully designed to provide an integrated introduction to both the biology of disease and the therapeutic agents that are used to manage them, this book covers the basics of pharmacology, the core pathological concepts of inflammation, infection and cancer, as well as a systems based consideration of the pathophysiology and relevant pharmacology of common disorders.

Provides a comprehensive guide for all those involved with both the routine neonatal examination and the more specific full physical examination of a newborn. Covering the routine care and the competencies required to perform the examination of the newborn as set out by the Newborn and Infant Physical Examination (NIPE) Screening Programme, this beautifully illustrated book encourages the critical appraisal of personal and practice standards relating to the examination of the newborn in order to promote effective and high quality holistic care of the family unit.

A fully updated edition of this accessible, practical and concise guide to managing projects in the health and community services environments.

An essential book to guide health promotion practice within a comprehensive primary health care context. The book explores the socio-ecological determinants of health and wellbeing as a foundation for holistic, ecological, salutogenic health promotion practice. The health promotion practice cycle, including evidence-based community assessment, program planning, implementation and evaluation, is described in detail. The book also includes chapters on five health promotion action areas with an increased focus on indigenous perspectives, with current Australian and New Zealand examples

This book explores sociology and psychology relevant to nursing and explains why it is so important to understand these disciplines in order to be a good nurse. Chapters move from individual and personal issues onto society as a whole and explore the psychological and sociological basis that underpins all aspects of nursing practice.

A practical introduction to contemporary issues in social work, providing the context of practice and the broad influences shaping the vision and development of the social work profession. It demonstrates how knowledge contributes to flexible social work responses and identifies the ways in which research findings, theoretical insights and practice wisdom can be integrated within dynamic practice frameworks.The fourth edition brings together a team of expert authors to guide students through the unique experiences of social work across Australia and Aotearoa New Zealand.