Nutrition and Dietetics

Written in conjunction with the British Dietetic Association, Advanced Nutrition and Dietetics in Nutrition Support provides a thorough and critical review of the fundamental and applied literature in nutrition support. Extensively evidence-based and internationally relevant, it discusses undernutrition, nutritional screening, assessment and interventions, as well as key clinical conditions likely to require nutrition support, and the approaches to managing this in each of these conditions.

To ensure we can make healthy food choices, we need dietary advice based on the best scientific evidence. This Guideline seeks to offer the best advice on dietary patterns that promote optimal health and wellbeing for the generally healthy Australian population.

Clinical Paediatric Dietetics, Fifth Edition continues to provide a very practical approach to dietary management of children with an extensive range of disorders. New and expanded content covering a range of disorders, treatments and guidelines has been introduced to the fifth edition, from diabetes technology and the ketogenic diet, to renal tubular disorders, refeeding syndrome, and blended diets in enteral nutrition.

Proven methods for diagnosing and managing nutritional changes in patients with chronic diseases and conditions Essentials of Clinical Nutrition in Healthcare fills the well-recognized evidence-practice gap between the nutrition knowledge, skills, and attitudes needed for nutrition care and the nutrition education provided by medical schools. Focusing on nutrition and dietetics, it walks you through the process of maintaining patients' energy balance while also providing sufficient nutrients, such as protein, vitamins, and minerals. Evidence-based chapters address the effects of diet on health and a comprehensive array of illnesses.

Infant, Child and Adolescent Nutrition: A Practical Guide, 2nd edition, is an evidence-based, practical guide introducing readers to the theory behind optimal child nutrition. Containing practical advice on how to put that theory into practice, this new edition facilitates learning through case studies, key points, and learning activities. Divided into seven sections, chapters cover prenatal nutrition and nutrition throughout childhood from preterm babies to adolescents up to the age of 18. Sections throughout focus on topics ranging from nutrient requirements, balanced eating patterns and common problems to cultural influences on food choices and guidelines on assessing growth and dietary intakes. Prevention and management of obesity and allergies are covered in separate chapters. The first 1000 days are given particular consideration with chapters on diets for preconception, pregnancy, milk feeding and complementary feeding during infancy.

Stay ahead in the field of gerontological nutrition with the fully updated 4th edition of Nutrition Care of the Older Adult. Authored by leading experts, this comprehensive practice guide is thoughtfully crafted to provide both new and experienced health care professionals with the latest evidence-based practices and strategies for optimizing nutrition care in older adults.

Designed for busy clinicians struggling to fit the critical issue of nutrition into their routine patient encounters, Nutrition in Clinical Practice translates the robust evidence base underlying nutrition in health and disease into actionable, evidence-based clinical guidance on a comprehensive array of nutrition topics. Authoritative, thoroughly referenced, and fully updated, the revised 4th edition covers the full scope of nutrition applications in clinical practice, spanning health promotion, risk factor modification, prevention, chronic disease management, and weight control - with a special emphasis on providing concisely summarized action steps within the clinical workflow

The importance of nutrition in the prevention and treatment of disease and the maintenance of good health is being increasingly recognised. Nutrition is an area that all health professionals need to be aware of and yet one in which few are specifically trained. However it is now becoming a valued topic in many curricula. The Oxford Handbook of Nutrition and Dietetics makes this information more accessible to dieticians, doctors, nurses, nutritionists, and other healthcare professionals by providing a practical, easily accessible, concise and up-to-date evidence-based guide in a user-friendly portable handbook. It covers the entire life cycle from preconception to old age. As the general public is increasingly aware of the food they eat and the role nutrition plays in health and disease, health professionals must have the kind of knowledge in this book at their fingertips.

The new eighth edition of this bestselling AAP policy manual on pediatric nutrition has been significantly updated and includes many new contributing authors. This valuable reference covers how nutrients influence and direct growth and development, as well as immediate and long-term health, from birth through adolescence. This evidence-based manual reflects the current policies and practices recommended by the American Academy of Pediatrics Committee on Nutrition.

Presenting simple and cost-effective solutions for maintaining and improving mealtime abilities, this book discusses the practical aspects of eating and drinking as part of person-centred dementia care. Due to cognitive decline, changes in mealtime abilities can lead to malnutrition and related issues for people with dementia, alongside feelings of powerlessness and isolation. This research-informed book explains how to make the most of mealtimes for increased nutritional intake, socialising, and food enjoyment, in a range of care settings.

Present Knowledge in Nutrition, Eleventh Edition, provides an accessible, highly readable, referenced, source of the most current, reliable, and comprehensive information in the broad field of nutrition. Now broken into two, separate volumes, and updated to reflect scientific advancements since the publication of its tenth edition, Present Knowledge in Nutrition, Eleventh Edition includes expanded coverage on the topics of basic nutrition and metabolism and clinical and applied topics in nutrition.

The body needs a constant supply of nutrients and water in order to survive, with water being required for the transportation of nutrients to cells and also for the transportation of waste out of the body. This practical pocket guide focuses on what you need to know to support your patients' health and comfort. It looks at: The anatomy and physiology of the gastrointestinal system -- The anatomy and physiology of the renal system -- Elimination and associated skills -- Catheterisation -- Nutrition Hydration and Fluid balance.

A strong foundation in nutrition is essential for effective nursing practice. Reflecting the latest evidence-based practice and nutrition recommendations, this eighth edition maintains its focus on all steps of the nursing care process, from assessment and nursing diagnoses to implementation and evaluation.