Surgery LibGuide

Delivers clear, how-to guidance on the most commonly performed procedures in adult and pediatric thoracic surgery. Procedure-based chapters address critical details--from indications and preoperative assessment to surgical technique, postsurgical follow-up, and management of complications. Broad coverage addresses thoracic, adult cardiac, and congenital cardiac procedures to prepare readers for any challenge. New chapters address key disorders and surgical interventions--including Ascending Aortic Aneurysms, Minimally Invasive Maze Procedure, Reoperative Cardiac Surgery, Repair of Esophageal Hernia, Repair of Pectus Deformities, Thoracic Sympathectomy, and Percutaneous Mitral and Aortic Valve Repairs.

This issue of Interventional Cardiology Clinics, guest edited by Dr. Susheel Kodali, will cover several key topics of importance surrounding Transcatheter Aortic Valve Replacement. The series is overseen by the Editor-in-Chief, Dr. Matthew Price of Scripps Translational Science Center. Subjects discussed in the issue include: Embolic protection during TAVR; Impact of Atrial Fibrillation on Outcomes Following TAVR; When to Intervene; Innovations in Transcatheter Valve Technology; Paravalvular Regurgitation; Challenges and Pitfalls of Bicuspid Valves; Tips and Tricks for Valve in Valve, and When to Choose Surgery in the Era of TAVR, among others.

100 Cases in Surgery presents 100 scenarios requiring surgical treatment commonly seen by medical students and junior doctors in the emergency department or outpatient clinic. A succinct summary of the patient's history, examination, and initial investigations--including photographs where relevant--is followed by questions on the diagnosis and management of each case. The answer includes a detailed discussion on each topic, with further illustration where appropriate, providing an essential revision aid as well as a practical guide for students and junior doctors. Making speedy and appropriate clinical decisions, and choosing the best course of action to take as a result, is one of the most important and challenging parts of training to become a doctor. These true-to-life cases will teach students and junior doctors to recognize important surgical conditions,and help to develop their diagnostic and management skills.

Emphasis on everyday practice strongly linked to underlying theory, the series integrates your knowledge with the realities of managing clinical problems and provides a basis for developing sound analytical and confident decision-making skills. Key concepts and important information are highlighted, and the reader-friendly layout reflects exactly the type of question you will encounter, making these volumes the perfect revision aid for all types of case-based examination. The Surgery and Surgical Specialties volume, fully revised and updated in this second edition, focuses on the following topics: General surgery ENT Ophthalmology Trauma and orthopaedic surgery Urology.

Oxford Cases in Medicine and Surgery, second edition, teaches with a logical step-by-step diagnostic approach to common patient presentations. tackling the questions, you will understand how to critically analyse information and learn to integrate your existing knowledge to a real-life scenario from start to finish. Each chapter focuses on a common presenting symptom (e.g. chest pain). By starting with a symptom, mirroring real life settings, you can learn to draw on your knowledge of different physiological systems - for example, cardiology, respiratory, gastroenterology - at the same time. Ideal for those starting out in clinical medicine and an ideal refresher for those revising for OSCEs and finals.

Surgery Morning Report: Beyond the Pearls is a case-based reference that covers the key material included on the USMLE Step 2 and Step 3, as well as the surgery clerkship. Focusing on the practical information you need to know, it teaches how to analyze a clinical vignette in the style of a morning report conference, sharpening your clinical decision-making skills and helping you formulate an evidence-based approach to realistic patient scenarios. Each case has been carefully chosen and covers scenarios and questions frequently encountered on the Surgery boards, shelf exams, and clinical practice, integrating both basic science and clinical pearls.

Core Topics in General & Emergency Surgery is a practical reference source incorporating the most current information on recent developments, management issues and operative procedures. The text is thoroughly referenced and supported by evidence-based recommendations wherever possible, distinguishing between strong evidence to support a conclusion, and evidence suggesting that a recommendation can be reached on the balance of probabilities. Modern techniques in transplantation and new forms of immunosuppression are emphasised throughout this volume. The substantial interest in new organ perfusion and in the preservation techniques in organ donation and transplantation are reflected in a new chapter written by an international expert. All the chapters reflect transplant care as a multi-disciplinary team of clinicians working in a collaborative fashion.

Covers the common problems you'll encounter while on call without direct supervision in the hospital. On Call Surgery, 4th Edition, fits perfectly in your pocket, ready to provide key information in time-sensitive, challenging situations. You'll gain speed, skill, and knowledge with every call - from diagnosing a difficult or life-threatening situation to prescribing the right medication. Highlights medications, doses, and critical information in a second color for fast reference. Features a logical, highly templated format so you can locate key information quickly. Delivers consistent, easy-to-follow coverage of the most common on-call problems and approaches, including what to do from the initial phone call, questions you should ask to assess the urgency of each situation, "Elevator Thoughts," how to immediately identify major threats to life, what to do at the bedside, and how to avoid common mistakes for every call. Provides updated content and references, as well as an up-to-date drug formulary, keeping you on the cutting edge of current, evidence-based information.

This is a comprehensive, one-of-a-kind question-and-answer text for medical professionals and apprentices concentrating on the growing subspecialty of surgery in critical care and emergency surgery. Covering all surgical aspects of critical care and acute or emergency surgery, it is an ideal learning and review text for surgical residents and trainees who care for these patients and those taking the Surgical Critical Care Board Examination. Edited by highly experienced professionals, and written in an engaging style, Surgical Critical Care and Emergency Surgery: Clinical Questions and Answers focuses exclusively on the unique problems and complexity of illnesses of the critically ill and injured surgical patient and covers the specialist daily care such patients require.

Bailey & Love is the world famous textbook of surgery. Its comprehensive coverage includes the scientific basis of surgical practice, investigation, diagnosis, and pre-operative care. Trauma and Orthopaedics are included, as are the subspecialties of plastic and reconstructive, head and neck, cardiothoracic and vascular, abdominal and genitourinary surgery.

Essential Surgery is well-established as one of the leading textbooks of surgery for medical students, core surgical trainees and those in professions allied to medicine. Covering general surgery, trauma, orthopaedics, vascular surgery, urology, paediatric surgery, cardiothoracic surgery, neurosurgery, maxillofacial surgery and ENT, it also incorporates appropriate levels of basic science throughout. The book is ideal to accompany clinical courses, as well as being a practical manual for readers at more advanced levels requiring a revision aid for exams. Its main aim is to stimulate the reader to a greater enjoyment and understanding of the practice of surgery.

Individual chapters are dedicated to specific regions of the body where surgeons encounter most of the problems. The content structure follows the logical step-by-step process of introducing a clinical problem; seeking history and conducting physical examination; diagnosing the patient and devising a treatment plan based on this informed diagnosis. Each chapter discusses the clinical presentations with which surgeons are most commonly faced. Each chapter is dedicated to a range of such problems within a particular region of the body. Incorporation of the latest RACS guidelines on surgery, A new Chapter 14, titled Ophthalmological Problems, expands the latest advancements in surgical treatments of such problems.

It provides an overview of core surgical topics encountered in an integrated medical curriculum and, later, in the clinical setting. The book takes a succinct and practical approach to the understanding of surgical disease and care of the surgical patient. It offers comprehensive coverage of the key surgical specialties and includes emerging issues around patient safety and the critical importance of clinical human factors in surgical practice.

Follows a clear, consistent progression beginning with principles common to surgical specialties including fluid and electrolyte management, metabolic support, and wound healing. Subsequent sections review the management of injury, transplantation, oncology, breast, endocrine, and abdominal procedures. Covers key topics such as emerging surgical technologies and devices, regenerative medicine, the latest concepts in cancer biology and treatments, and evidence-based management and treatment. Emphasizes the most up-to-date minimally invasive techniques and the use of robotics when indicated. Includes more schematic diagrams, summary tables, boxes, and algorithms that provide a rich resource for reviewing surgical techniques and preparing for in-training and board exams. Contains fully updated content on topics encountered by general surgery residents in training as well as in-depth coverage of subspecialty areas including head and neck, thoracic, vascular, urology, neurosurgery, pediatrics, and gynecology.

We have entered a new era of surgery in which minimally invasive surgery, robotic surgery, and the use of computers and genomic information have improved the outcomes and quality of life for patients. With these advances in mind, all chapters have been updated with an emphasis on evidence-based, state-of-the-art surgical care. This edition is enriched by an increased number of international chapter authors and a new chapter on global surgery. More than ever, Schwartz's Principles of Surgery is international in scope--a compendium of the knowledge and technique of the world's leading surgeons. Features more clinically relevant than ever, with emphasis on high-yield discussion of diagnosis and treatment of surgical disease, arranged by organ system and surgical specialty. Content is supported by boxed key points, detailed anatomical figures, diagnostic and management algorithms, and key references.

Textbook of Surgery is a core book for medical and surgical students providing a comprehensive overview of general and speciality surgery. Each topic is written by an expert in the field. The book focuses on the principles and techniques of surgical management of common diseases. Great emphasis is placed on problem-solving to guide students and junior doctors through their surgical training.

100 Hand Casesprovides a clinical write-up of 100 typical cases from two globally recognized authorities who cross over between plastic surgery and orthopedics, the two specialties dedicated to training hand surgeons. The cases in this book share a concise approach consisting of: A description of the problem Key anatomy Workup Treatment Alternatives Principles and clinical pearls Pitfalls Classic references related to the case Full-color photographs and radiographs are included in each case, as well as a discussion of the authors' preferred treatment solution. Presented in a highly templated, high-yield format, 100 Hand Casesis an ideal quick reference for students and trainees preparing for clinics and the operating room, as well as busy surgeons in need of a brief reminder on key information.

This handbook brings together the basic elements of hand and upper limb cases, from examination to clinical diagnosis of various hand and upper limb related diseases. It improvises the examination skills of the reader with proficiency to arrive at a provisional diagnosis for the given hand surgery and related diseases. Written by contributors across the globe, this book is useful for trainees, graduates, postgraduates, and fellows who intend to brush up on their basics and excel in hand surgery. Key Features - Focuses on examination of hand and upper limb cases. - Serves as an illustrated reference of clinical examination for trainees, graduates, post-graduates and fellows.
Donated by UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

User-friendly, step-by-step information you need to confidently perform the full range of operative techniques from the hand to the elbow. In one convenient place, you'll find the entire Hand, Wrist, and Elbow section, as well as relevant chapters from the Shoulder and Elbow, Pediatrics, Sports Medicine, and Oncology sections of Operative Techniques in Orthopaedic Surgery.

The book provides a quick and practical ophthalmic plastic surgery guide on how to plan and perform a full spectrum of periocular reconstruction procedures. The book starts with two chapters covering complex periorbital anatomy and basic surgical principles, both of which are critical to performing safe and effective surgery. The third chapter provides a comprehensive overview of Mohs surgery in the periorbital area, an important topic given many defect reconstructions are secondary to Mohs micrographic surgical excisions. Subsequent chapters, organized by anatomic region, feature discussion of surgical approaches for reconstructions of various size and depth defects. The final chapter details eyelid trauma repair, including lid margin and lacrimal lacerations.

Serves as a guide for board preparation, as well as a practical and concise reference text reflecting contemporary concepts in clinical otolaryngology. Senior medical students, residents, fellows, board-eligible and board-certified otolaryngologists, primary care physicians, and specialists in other fields will find this acclaimed resource to be completely up to date, authoritative, concise, and well written. Expanded to sixty chapters, the Twelfth Edition has been thoroughly revised throughout, including all new Rhinology and Paediatrics sections; and many important new chapters, including ones on Endoscopic Middle Ear Surgery, Acute Rhinosinusitis, Chronic Sinusitis, Fungal Rhinosinusitis, Diseases of the Nasal Cavity, Tumors of the Paranasal Sinuses, Endoscopic Sinus Surgery, Tumors of the Larynx, and more.

The aim of this new third edition of the Oxford Handbook of ENT and Head and Neck Surgery is to provide a compact, comprehensive, and easily accessible guide to all areas of the field. The core text is based on an anatomical list of ear nose and throat diseases. There are separate sections on ENT examinations, investigations, common operations, ward care, and emergencies, as well as a chapter detailing the roles of other ENT health professionals. There is also a chapter on common methods of presentation, which acts a guide for dealing with patients as they present in clinical practice. This enables diagnosis based on symptoms, history, and relevant investigations, and also cross-references to more detailed information in individual anatomical chapters.

In a concise, easy-to-reference format, it covers management of the pediatric surgical patient, pediatric trauma surgery, common pediatric surgical problems, and pediatric surgical oncology. Chapters on surgical problems clearly present historical background, relevant anatomy, epidemiology and etiology, clinical presentation, diagnosis, surgical management, and postoperative care. Additional chapters cover evaluation and examination, pediatric anesthesia, common pediatric drug dosing, and more.

Following the success of three previous editions, this new edition of Newborn Surgery continues to provide the most comprehensive information on the surgical management of neonatal disorders. Each chapter is thoroughly revised and updated, and there are eight new chapters on key topics in the specialty, including neonatal care in the delivery room, specific risks for pre-term infants, surgical safety, tissue engineering and stem cell research, and surgical implications of HIV.

Netter's Obstetrics and Gynecology, 3rd edition, by Roger P. Smith, MD, provides superbly illustrated coverage of the common conditions and problems most often encountered in ob/gyn practice. Netter images are paired with concise, evidence-based descriptions of common diseases, conditions, diagnostics, treatments, and protocols. Concise text and a standardized format provide quick access to expert medical thinking. Entirely new sections on Embryology and Anatomy contain chapters on Sexual Differentiation, Genital Tract Development, Development of the Breast, and each area of gynecologic anatomy. New chapters on Chronic Pelvic Pain, BRCA1 and BRCA2 mutations, Obstetric Anesthesia and Analgesia, Subdermal Contraceptive Capsule Insertion and Removal, Trigger Point Injections, and more.

Complications that arise during childbirth remain a significant challenge for all healthcare providers. Obstetric Interventions is a richly detailed text that combines traditional obstetrics with the use of innovative birthing techniques. With clear, state-of-the-art color illustrations throughout - all originally produced for this text - this book gives clear insight into the mechanisms of normal childbirth and the alternative techniques of obstetric intervention that may need to be used in the delivery room. In addition to being highly illustrated, the book is accompanied by over fifty animated simulations of obstetric interventions that are available online. These highlight the different birth mechanisms in truly unique detail and will aid understanding of anatomy and technique. Obstetric Interventions is aimed at obstetricians, obstetric trainees, and midwives. This book provides an evidence-based insight into the choices that obstetricians and midwives face every day at all stages of the birthing process.

This third edition has been extensively updated to provide the gynecologic surgeon with a state-of-the-art and practical resource that can be used to review or learn about commonly performed surgical procedures in minimally invasive gynecology. Covers the clinical decision-making, key instrumentation, and technical cascade for each surgical procedure. Wherever possible, discussion is focused on methods to optimize outcome and reduce risk. The content in this latest edition has been substantially bolstered by the addition of chapters covering vaginal hysterectomy, tissue retrieval in laparoscopic surgery, single port laparoscopy, robotic hysterectomy, robotic myomectomy, robotic sacralcolpopexy, radical robotic hysterectomy, and hemostatic agents for laparoscopic surgery.

Te Linde's Operative Gynecology provides authoritative, dependable guidance on everything from general topics of surgical ethics to details of surgical procedures. Updated diagnostic and management approaches are provided throughout, practical "pearls" that will improve your skills no matter what your level of experience, as well as all surgical chapters contain new sections call outs to "New Steps in the Procedure" for a quick recap. Get up-to-date guidance on everything from general background and pathology for surgical problems to patient and treatment selection, step-by-step surgical techniques, and post-operative concerns. Benefit from the strong visual support of more than 1,200 illustrations and photographs, now colorized to even more clearly portray the location of blood vessels, ligaments, and other structures.

Firmly established as the leading introductory textbook of orthopaedic practice and the principles of fracture and trauma management. Key features: Focused - on diseases and clinical signs with additional detail on anatomy where appropriate International - enhanced coverage of 'global orthopaedics' reflect the changing pattern of musculoskeletal disease and trauma around the world Relevant - provides helpful guidance on simple procedures without unnecessary operative detail Readable - increased emphasis on concise presentation Current - updates reflect developments in molecular biology, genetics and imaging technology

Provides trusted guidance on when and how to perform every state-of-the-art procedure that's worth using, with updates to the new edition including hundreds of new techniques, illustrations, and digital diagnostic images to keep you abreast of the latest innovations. Each chapter follows a standard template, with highlighted procedural steps that lead with art and are followed by bulleted text. Covers multiple procedures for all body regions. Highlights the latest knowledge on total joint arthroplasty in the ambulatory surgery center, including how to manage metal sensitivity. Provides up-to-date details on rib-based distraction implants (VEPTR) and remote-controlled growing rods (MAGEC) for scoliosis; diagnosis of femoroacetabular impingement (FAI) and its influence on development of osteoarthritis; and the treatment of FAI with the mini-open direct anterior approach.

Case Competencies in Orthopaedic Surgery is a centralized, easy-access guide to preparing for cases most commonly encountered during training. Written by expert author teams consisting of both attending surgeons and residents, it follows a technique-based format and design that summarizes the surgical steps, from room set-up to closure, of all cases relevant to the 15 categories of "Orthopaedic Surgery Case Minimums" as determined by the ACGME. Forty "technique-based chapters" boast an outline format with minimal text, high-definition intraoperative figures, and original illustrations, plus annotated step-by-step videos for the majority of cases. Each chapter contains easy-to-use tables outlining the surgical steps, essential equipment, technical pearls, and common pitfalls of each case. Includes coverage of today's hot topics in orthopaedic surgery, such as fractures, arthroscopy, arthroplasty, "bread and butter" pediatric cases, and basic subspecialty cases (spine, foot and ankle, oncology, hand, shoulder, and more). Lists CPT and ICD 9/10 codes to help with case logging.

The Oxford Textbook of Trauma and Orthopaedics second edition provides comprehensive coverage of the relevant background science, theory, practice, decision-making skills and operative techniques required to provide modern orthopaedic and trauma care. The text is divided into five majorsections covering fundamental science, adult orthopaedics, trauma, paediatric orthopaedics, and paediatric trauma, including a major subsection on tumours.

Covers all major areas of plastic and reconstructive surgery, including pediatric issues. Updates in this latest edition include a complete reworking of the section on the hand, an expansion of the dermatology coverage, a new section on body contouring, and 11 new chapters; Principles of Awake Sedation, Otoplasty, Congenital Anomalies of the Breast, Brachioplasty and Upper Trunk Contouring, Principles of Plastic Surgery after Massive Weight Loss, Anesthetic Techniques in the Upper Extremity; Management of Mutiliating Injuries of the Upper Extremity, Hand Tumors, Vascular Disorders of the Upper Limb, Management of the Burned Hand, and Rheumatoid Arthritis and Atypical Arthritic Conditions of the Hand.

The second edition of this detailed guide to the diagnosis and treatment of common plastic surgery emergencies includes updated clinical information on the most common emergency situations. This book gives plastic surgeons, as well as any physicians who may encounter emergency plastic surgery issues, the basic skills they need to effectively treat their patients and to ultimately be successful in their practice. New chapter covering sternal wounds. Plastic Surgery Emergencies is a resource for clinicians, residents, and trainees in plastic surgery. It is also ideal for all emergency room personnel, including ER physicians, physicians' assistants, and nurse practitioners, as well as family practice physicians.

Offers primary care physicians a comprehensive practical go-to guide to detail and teach Skin Cancer Surgery operations which can be done in a doctor's clinic under local anaesthetic. The book is divided into 8 sections covering all the requirements of the College examinations. Progressing from equipment and set up, anatomy, basic, straight-line excisions to more complex flaps, Practical Skin Cancer Surgery outlines step-by-step, methodical instruction to proficiently excise skin cancer in a clinic, under local anaesthetic.

Stone's Plastic Surgery Facts 4e provides a complete revision tool for the FRCS exit examination in plastic surgery. Written in the form of notes and lists, the full range of plastic surgery topics is covered as follows, wound care, burns, head & neck, cleft lip and palate and craniofacial anomalies, breast, hand and upper limb, lower limb, skin and soft tissue tumours, genitourinary and trunk, aesthetic and general plastic surgery. Updated article summaries and a review section in each chapter highlight important points and explain common misconceptions. A vital resource for the surgical trainee.

Covers the full range of essential topics in general surgery for in-training or practicing professionals. Written by global experts and thought leaders in surgery. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Fully updated throughout, with clear illustrations, figures, and flow diagrams that expedite study and review.

This is a concise revision guide to the core basic sciences for all surgical trainees preparing for Part A of the Intercollegiate MRCS examination. Covering anatomy, physiology and pathology it has been written in a style to facilitate easy learning of the essential facts, with indications of both their clinical relevance and importance. This book concentrates on those topics which tend to be recurring examination themes for initial surgical training. The book covers in one volume all the essentials of the basic sciences - anatomy, physiology and pathology - to aid the candidate for the MRCS examination. The contents concentrate on the recurring common themes of the examination, thus helping direct appropriate learning and focussing on the specific important areas of knowledge.

The Objective Structured Clinical Examination or OSCE for short is a familiar and often daunting experience for medical students. This book provides the essential information needed to tackle OSCE stations competently and with confidence. Over 150 topics are covered at the perfect level of detail for candidates preparing for final exams. Using bulleted checklists and a succinct writing style, the authors cover the most important points to remember about the key conditions that students are likely to encounter during OSCEs, all in a brief 2 to 4 pages per condition.

This Elsevier study guide is aimed at candidates preparing for the Fellowship Examination in General Surgery of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons. This study guide addresses the most frequently encountered topics from the last 10 years of examinations. It helps surgical trainees organise their studies and optimise their performance in what is reputedly one of the most rigorous postgraduate exams. The general surgery fellowship tests clinical wisdom, judgement, insight and safe practice, and Examination Surgery's preparation material accurately reflects what you will encounter in the exam.

MCQs and EMQs in Surgery is the ideal self-assessment companion guide to Bailey & Love's Short Practice in Surgery, 26th edition. The book assists trainee surgeons as they prepare for examinations and enables them to test their knowledge of the principles and practice of surgery as outlined in Bailey & Love. Divided into 13 subject-specific sections and written by expert contributors, the MCQs and EMQs provide comprehensive coverage of the current surgical curriculum as well as the core learning points as set out in Bailey & Love. The book is ideally suited for the MRCS exam as well as for the first part of the FRCS (General Surgery) and the new Intercollegiate FRCS (International) exams. The book emphasises the importance of self-assessment within effective clinical examination and soundly based surgical principles while taking into account the latest developments in practice.

Applied Anatomy for Clinical Procedures at a Glance is a concise resource combining high-quality images and step-by-step instructions to provide expert guidance on the major core training pathways in medicine, surgery and anaesthesia. Succinct yet thorough descriptions of each procedure include photographs of surface anatomy, line diagrams of the anatomy, instructions on the procedural techniques, and practical tips for performing the procedures safely whilst minimising risks of complications. All major aspects of Foundation procedures and Core training in applied anatomy are covered, including catheterisation, ECGs, central venous cannulation, basic suturing and anastomotic techniques, endotracheal intubation, epidural injection and spinal injection, defibrillation, and many others.
Donated by UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

The seventh edition of this highly regarded title for surgical trainees gives clear, concise guidance on all aspects of acquiring surgical techniques to ensure operative success. The full range of surgical skills is comprehensively reviewed in a clear 'how-to-do-it' style, which consolidates those learnt both in theatre and on training courses. Provides guidance on the full range of surgical techniques required by all trainee surgeons. Concentrates on the main principles behind the use of the surgical techniques.

The Oxford Textbook of Fundamentals of Surgery provides a solid foundation of the knowledge and basic science needed to hone all of the core surgical skills used in surgical settings. Presented in a clear and accessible way, the Oxford Textbook of Fundamentals of Surgery addresses the cross-specialty aspects of surgery applicable to all trainees. With an emphasis on practical application and international best practice, it will support you to confidently deliver the highest possible surgical outcomes. This authoritative learning and reference tool is richly illustrated throughout, with step by step guides for skills such as stitching and tying knots. The topics discussed range from anatomy to radiology, and cover the basic surgical skills needed to manage wounds and haemostasis. Evidence-based approaches to the management of a range of surgical situations, such as major trauma, transplantation, and the dying patient, will help you to overcome tough clinical challenges and improve patient outcomes.

Articles include: Applying Educational Theory to Simulation Based Training and Assessment in Surgery; Figuring out Team Simulation Training; Faculty Development for Simulation Training; The Evolving Role of Simulation in Teaching Surgery in Undergraduate Medical Education; Using Simulation in Inter-Professional Education; Current Status of Simulation Based Training in Graduate Medical Education; National Simulation-based Training of Fellows: The Vascular Surgery Examp≤ Paying For it: Funding Models for Simulation Centers; Surgical Simulation Centers as Educational Homes for Practicing Surgeons; Better Assessment: Advanced Engineering Technology for Measuring Performance In and Out of the Simulation Lab; Moving the Needle - Simulation's Impact on Patient Outcomes; Human Factors Engineering and Effective Simulation - Partners for Improved Patient Safety; Simulation for the Assessment and Improvement of Teamwork and Communication in the Operating Room; Using Simulation to Improve Systems; Simulation for Maintenance of Certification.

Surgical Tips and Skills is a new practical and instructive guide to the development and refinement of surgical techniques written by leading plastic surgeon Felix Behan. Surgical Tips and Skills delivers step-by-step guidance for preoperative, intraoperative, postoperative and non-operative procedures. This book is designed for you to work through over 100 tutorials, graded as Basic, Intermediate and Advanced with the aim of developing your surgical style. The abundant photographs that accompany each tutorial demonstrate the key procedural steps and establish this text as essential reading for all aspiring or training surgeons.

Endocrine Surgery meets the needs of surgeons in higher training and practising consultants for a contemporary and evidence-based account of this sub-specialty that is relevant to their general surgical practice. It is a practical reference source incorporating the most current information on recent developments, management issues and operative procedures. The text is thoroughly referenced and supported by evidence-based recommendations wherever possible, distinguishing between strong evidence to support a conclusion, and evidence suggesting that a recommendation can be reached on the balance of probabilities. All chapters reflect the multidisciplinary approach to the subject with up-to-date information on cytopathology, assays of hormones, localisation techniques, anaesthetic requirements, genetic implications and, of course, histopathology and adjuvant treatments. Minimally invasive approaches continue to be promoted and developed throughout the book.

The Oxford Textbook of Vascular Surgery draws on the expertise of over 130 specialist contributors to encompass the field of vascular surgery. Through the use of figures, findings of contemporary trials, and additional online content, this textbook is an effective reference source for practicing surgeons. This volume discusses the epidemiology, vascular biology, clinical features and management of diseases that affect the vasculature and contains dedicated chapters which address topics such as paediatric surgery, damage control surgery, and amputations.

A must-have for vascular surgeons, interventionalists, vascular medicine specialists, and trainees, as well as general surgeons, interventional radiologists, and cardiologists that depend upon "Rutherford's" in their practice. It offers authoritative guidance from the most respected and innovative global thought leaders and clinical and basic science experts in the diagnosis and treatment of circulatory disease. Incorporates medical, endovascular, and surgical treatment, as well as diagnostic techniques, decision making, and fundamental vascular biology. Features all vascular imaging techniques, offering a non-invasive evaluation of both the morphology and hemodynamics of the vascular system. Some chapters are organized in new sections dedicated to open operative exposure and vessel dissection techniques, diabetic foot, Pediatric Vascular Disease, and practice management issues; areas in the specialty that clinicians frequently face but seldom detailed in other vascular texts nor in earlier Rutherford editions. Covers hot topics such as endovascular therapy of aortic arch and thoracoabdominal aortic aneurysm disease, including the evolving management of aortic dissections.

Comprised of four sections, divided into 81 chapters, this book examines disorders of the thyroid, parathyroid and adrenal glands, as well as neuroendocrine tumours of the pancreas and gastrointestinal tract. All chapters have been extensively revised and updated, and many new chapters have been added to this edition to reflect recent advances in the field. This book provides up to date information on aetiology, embryology, anatomy, clinical manifestations, diagnostic and localisation procedures, surgical and other treatment modalities for endocrine disorders. Enhanced by 550 full colour images and illustrations, Textbook of Endocrine Surgery is an invaluable resource for surgeons and endocrinologists.

Vascular & Endovascular meets the needs of surgeons in higher training and practising consultants for a contemporary and evidence-based account of this sub-specialty that is relevant to their general surgical practice. It is a practical reference source incorporating the most current information on recent developments, management issues and operative procedures. The text is thoroughly referenced and supported by evidence-based recommendations wherever possible, distinguishing between strong evidence to support a conclusion, and evidence suggesting that a recommendation can be reached on the balance of probabilities. This is a title in the Companion to Specialist Surgical Practice series whose eight volumes are an established and highly regarded source of information for the specialist general surgeon. The Companion to Specialist Surgical Practice series provides a current and concise summary of the key topics within each major surgical sub-specialty. Each volume highlights evidence-based practice both in the text and within the extensive list of references at the end of every chapter.

Featuring in-depth details of common vascular topics, to rarer presentations, this is an ideal guide for those interested in a variety of subjects relating to this rapidly expanding area. This is a must-read for any specialist at all levels who has an on-going commitment to vascular disease management and medical education. Vascular and Endovascular Surgery at a Glance comprehensively covers the key concepts and core practical procedures with superb illustrations.