Surgery LibGuide

This clinical practice guide is focused on the choice of procedure, aligned with a patient's preferences and how to maximise value-based care surgical.

Manual of Chronic Total Occlusion Percutaneous Coronary Interventions: A Step-by-Step Approach, Third Edition is a practical reference for coronary chronic total occlusion (CTO) percutaneous coronary interventions (PCI). Written by recognized national and international experts in the field, this reference compiles the steps necessary to perform, what pitfalls to watch out for, and how to troubleshoot tactics.

Covers surgery for anorectal disease and pelvic floor disorders, surgery within the abdomen and the pelvis, as well as tips for particular situations such as bowel obstruction, trauma, and the difficult stoma. Designed for general surgery residents, colorectal surgery fellows, and practicing colorectal, general, and oncologic surgeons--those in training or anyone who needs to brush up on the latest techniques.

Easy-to-digest, clinically relevant material from world-renowned colon and rectal surgeons who explain their preferred techniques step by step, including indications and contraindications, preoperative planning, postoperative management, outcomes, complications, and follow-up. Covers left and right colon resections performed open and laparoscopically, colectomies, proctocolectomies, abdominoperianal resections, restorative and reconstructive techniques for proctocolectomy and pelvis reconstruction, stomal complications, treatment of rectal prolapse, ventral hernia repair, and small bowel strictureplasty.

Easy-to-digest, clinically relevant material from world-renowned colon and rectal surgeons who explain their preferred techniques step by step, including indications and contraindications, preoperative planning, postoperative management, outcomes, complications, and follow-up. Covers hemorrhoidectomies, anal and rectovaginal fistula and sphincter procedures, fecal incontinence, procedures for perineal prolapse and excision of rectal carcinoma, lateral sphincterotomy, rectocele, and muscle, anal and pilonidal flap procedures

Covering topics from perioperative management to postoperative complications, this book helps you master the full range of foot and ankle surgeries and procedures. Addresses almost every aspect of foot and ankle surgery, from routine trauma of the foot and leg to compound deformities, enabling you to face any challenge with confidence. Provides step-by-step guidance from leading authorities who demonstrate how best to perform the surgeries they have refined and perfected, while offering valuable tips for optimizing outcomes

This single-volume resource contains a comprehensive, authoritative review of operative techniques in foot and ankle surgery. In one convenient place, you'll find the entire Foot and Ankle section, as well as relevant chapters from the Oncology, Pediatrics, Sports Medicine, and Trauma sections of Operative Techniques in Orthopaedic Surgery. Discusses each clinical problem using the same concise format: definition, anatomy, physical exams, pathogenesis, natural history, physical findings, imaging and diagnostic studies, differential diagnosis, nonoperative management, surgical management, pearls and pitfalls, postoperative care, outcomes, and complications.

Watkins Manual of Foot and Ankle Medicine and Surgery provides residents with quick access to essential information on anatomy, pharmacology, microbiology, disease prevention, and management of foot and ankle disorders. In an easy-to-digest list format, it offers concise yet comprehensive coverage of everything from arthritis, imaging, and wound care to implants, pediatrics, and trauma - all at your fingertips in one convenient place.

The 3rd edition of this highly regarded title remains your go-to resource for the most advanced and effective surgical techniques for treating traumatic, congenital, inflammatory, neoplastic, and degenerative conditions of the hand. More than 1,000 high-quality photographs and drawings guide you step by step through each procedure, and personal pearls from master surgeons provide operative tips that foster optimal outcomes. 13 new chapters bring you completely up to date with what's new in the field.

This single-volume resource contains the user-friendly, step-by-step information you need to confidently perform the full range of operative techniques from the hand to the elbow. In one convenient place, you'll find the entire Hand, Wrist, and Elbow section, as well as relevant chapters from the Shoulder and Elbow, Pediatrics, Sports Medicine, and Oncology sections of Operative Techniques in Orthopaedic Surgery. Superb full-color illustrations and step-by-step explanations help you master surgical techniques, select the best procedure, avoid complications, and anticipate outcomes. Written by global experts from leading institutions, Operative Techniques in Hand, Wrist, and Elbow Surgery, 2nd Edition , provides authoritative, easy-to-follow guidance to both the novice trainee or experienced surgeon.

Reconstructive Surgery of the Hand and Upper Extremity has progressed significantly due to advances in microsurgical techniques, which include the increased popularity of perforator flaps, refinements in functional free muscle transfer, the application of nerve conduits and nerve allografts, motor nerve transfers, and hand transplantation. These innovations have helped surgeons achieve functional reconstruction goals and enabled patients' return to normal functioning earlier than previously possible. This book presents a unique, color-coded roadmap for managing the complex upper extremity patient, based on a logical approach to surgical decision-making.

Hand surgery features contributions from an impressive group of hand and upper extremity surgeons and radiologists. Anatomy, surgical approaches, clinical exams, radiographic anatomy, advanced imaging, and electrodynamic studies are introduced in the first five chapters and emphasized throughout, providing a solid foundation. Twenty condition-specific chapters cover a wide array of hand disorders including fractures, arthritis, tendinitis, tendinosis, and injuries, as well as less common pathologies such as Kienbock's Disease, compartment syndrome, tumors, and congenital conditions. The final chapter discusses hand fractures in children.

A complete, concise review of the science and clinical practice of otolaryngology, head and neck surgery. A must-have resource for ENT board review and recertification, this book is a one-stop clinician's guide to treating all major diseases of the ear, nose, throat, and neck. Consistent presentation includes General Considerations, Pathogenesis, Prevention, Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, and Treatment. Spans the entire breadth of ENT topics, including the latest developments in basic science, facial plastic surgery, head and neck surgery, laryngology, rhinology, pediatric otolaryngology, otology, and neurotology.

A succinct, compact otolaryngology text in rapid review format, for rapid clinical and board review, contains high-yield facts using a question-and-answer format that covers all subspecialty topics in otolaryngology. It combines clinically relevant facts with hard-to-remember, commonly tested details and presents them in an easy-to-follow layout that allows clinicians to quickly review large amounts of information. This review book is a must-have for residents preparing for in-service exams or initial board certification exams as well as seasoned clinicians studying for their MOC Part III re-certification exams.

This atlas describes and illustrates in detail the surgical procedures employed in laparoscopic anatomical liver resection, according to tumor location. The surgical approach and techniques are explained for each type of laparoscopic liver resection based on the involved anatomical segment, section, and hemi-liver. Attention is also drawn to potential complications and the means of preventing and managing them. Beyond anatomical liver resection, guidance is provided on non-anatomical resections that do not pay regard to segmental, sectional, or lobar anatomy. The coverage is completed by the inclusion of useful information on instruments and energy devices as well as the basic skills required for laparoscopic liver resection.

A state-of-the-art resource on head, neck, and skull base surgical procedures in children. The introductory section lays a solid foundation of knowledge, with discussion of pediatric anatomy, distinctive topography of the skull base, anesthesia and pain control considerations, and imaging modalities. Fifty-four subsequent chapters encompass a rich spectrum of approaches and pediatric pathologies, organized by head and neck; skull base and craniofacial; airway, voice, and swallowing; trauma; and reconstruction sections. Surgical chapters include an introduction; evidence-based guidelines; preoperative, anesthetic, intraoperative and postoperative considerations; techniques and positioning; extensive references; and more. This is an essential reference for otolaryngology, maxillofacial, plastic reconstructive, and neurosurgery residents, as well as for pediatric otolaryngology and head and neck fellows.

In a concise, easy-to-reference format, it covers management of the pediatric surgical patient, pediatric trauma surgery, common pediatric surgical problems, and pediatric surgical oncology. Chapters on surgical problems clearly present historical background, relevant anatomy, epidemiology and etiology, clinical presentation, diagnosis, surgical management, and postoperative care. Additional chapters cover evaluation and examination, pediatric anesthesia, common pediatric drug dosing, and more.

Jones' Clinical Paediatric Surgery provides clear-sighted advice on the surgical options available for young patients. This revised seventh edition employs a systematic approach to the childhood diseases that need surgical treatment. It includes more case vignettes and colour photographs, expanded coverage on the use of imaging, and updated approaches to management including laparoscopic operations. Is the ideal guide for paeditricians, surgeons and trainees, as well as primary care physicians, junior doctors and medical students.

Highly detailed and easy to use, this reference provides authoritative, vibrantly illustrated guidance on how best to manage your younger patients throughout their years of growth. Pediatric and Adolescent Knee Surgery offers: Comprehensive coverage of the increasing numbers of pediatric and adolescent knee injuries commonly seen by orthopaedic surgeons. Step-by-step guidance on various methods of treating ACL injuries, patellofemoral instability, osteochondritis dessicans, discoid meniscus, epiphyseal injury and adolescent fractures, and growth plate surgery. More than 330 full-color illustrations that clearly depict the details of each procedure. A concise and relevant review of anatomy, imaging, and epidemiology.

In this comprehensive book, the authors sought to compile all the information needed to properly treat these young patients. The authors address pre-surgical evaluation in children, semiology of epileptic seizures, etiology, surgical techniques, palliative surgery and following surgery. Also included is a section on unsuccessful cases in which sometimes surgery does not control the disease and on how to manage them.

Pediatric Ophthalmology Surgery and Procedures: Tricks of the Trade covers a full range of pediatric ophthalmic procedures. Chapters include goals, advantages, expectations, key principles, indications, contraindications, preoperative preparation, surgical planning, perioperative tips and pearls, operative technique and tools, what to avoid, complications, and postoperative care. Disease-related sections cover strabismus, eye conditions impacting the orbit and anterior segment, glaucoma, and retinopathy of prematurity. The final section provides guidance on preparing for exams under anesthesia to ensure that the required equipment and testing are arranged in advance of the child being placed under anesthesia.

The new Pediatric Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery: Clinical Reference Guide is a concise pocket guide spanning the breadth of this growing sub-specialty. Formatted exactly like the best-selling "Pasha" Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery guide, the book is a comprehensive and efficient resource for physicians and residents that covers embryology, otology, rhinology, laryngology, head and neck surgery, evidence-based medicine, and common syndromes.

Paediatric Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery for Primary Care provides primary care paediatricians and other professionals who care for children comprehensive coverage of both common and rare congenital and acquired paediatric conditions. More than 16 chapters offer guidance on when to treat and when to wait, on the timing of corrective surgeries in paediatric patients, and on and surgical strategies and complications. Nonsurgical management and brief descriptions of how corrective procedures are performed are also discussed, which is helpful to primary care paediatricians in counselling patients and conducting long-term patient follow-up. Topics include cleft lip and palate repair, burns and surgical repair, vascular anomalies, bite wounds, scars and scar management, hypertrophic scars and keloids, gynecomastia cleft hand and surgical repair, facial palsy, breast anomalies, and much more.

A comprehensive resource to the field for plastic surgery residents and medical students with an interest in professional practice, as well as established plastic surgeons who want to receive updated knowledge in this specialty. Accurately drawn illustrations, key points and review questions help you develop a deeper understanding of basic principles and prepare effectively for the In-Training Exam (ITE) and other certification exams. Features key points--at the beginning of each chapter--emphasizing topics you will find on the In-Training Exam (ITE) and board certification exam. Chapters close with review questions to ensure thorough comprehension of content and a list of references highlighting the most important papers.

A new addition to the best-selling Operative Techniques series, Operative Techniques in Plastic Surgery provides superbly illustrated, authoritative guidance on operative techniques along with a thorough understanding of how to select the best procedure, how to avoid complications, and what outcomes to expect. Easy to follow, up to date, and highly visual, this step-by-step reference covers nearly all operations in current use in plastic surgery, and is ideal for residents and physicians in daily practice.

The second edition guide to the diagnosis and treatment of common plastic surgery emergencies includes updated clinical information on the most common emergency situations. This book gives plastic surgeons, as well as any physicians who may encounter emergency plastic surgery issues, the basic skills they need to effectively treat their patients and to ultimately be successful in their practice. It is also ideal for all emergency room personnel, including ER physicians, physicians' assistants, and nurse practitioners, as well as family practice physicians.

Anatomic Exposures in Vascular Surgery, 4th edition, clearly and uniquely depicts the anatomy the vascular or general surgeon will see in the operating room. In practical detail, it describes and shows the anatomic relationships of blood vessels and surrounding fascia, muscles, and nerves surgeons should be familiar with when operating on the vascular system, as well as how best to approach the vessels through and around those surrounding tissues. Features new sections on upper and lower extremity compartment syndrome/fasciotomy, trans carotid revascularization, bilateral anterior thoracotomy, exposure of the sub coracoid space, harvesting the radial artery, retrograde mesenteric stenting, and left renal vein transposition. Divides each chapter into anatomic overview and surgical approach sections, allowing the book to be used for extensive study or quick review. Contains sections on embryology and anatomic variations, helping you understand possible explanations for variations and identify unexpected anatomy when it is encountered. Includes up-to-date references regarding various approaches, as well as benefits and drawbacks or pitfalls to be avoided.

Take your surgical skills to the next level with Vascular Surgery: Arterial Procedures, a volume in the Master Techniques in Surgery Series! This clinical reference provides the richly illustrated guidance you need to perfect a full range of arterial techniques in vascular surgery, avoid and manage complications, and achieve optimal outcomes.

Ideal for practitioners who wish to focus on mastering today's best vascular and endovascular surgery procedures, it guides you step-by-step through each technique in a consistent manner, using concise, bulleted text, full-colour illustrations, and full-colour intraoperative photographs to clearly convey exactly what to look for and how to proceed. Master the full range of essential procedures with comprehensive coverage of cerebrovascular arterial surgery and intervention, thoracic outlet syndrome management, surgery of the thoracoabdominal aorta, revascularization procedures, and much more. Apply the latest advances in catheter-based, image-guided interventions, minimally invasive or "hybrid" exposures, and other important new frontiers in the specialty.