Mental Health LibGuide

A principles-based guide for clinicians to support parents across various stages of child and adolescent development. It uses Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT) as an axis to integrate evolution science, behaviour analysis, attachment theory, emotion-focused and compassion-focused therapies into a cohesive framework. From this integrated framework, the authors explore practice through presenting specific techniques, experiential exercises, and clinical case studies.

Becoming Mum is a truly unique self-help book. It is the first book written to support women, all women, through the psychological passage to motherhood, empowering them to become the kind of mother they wish to be.

Christine A. Padesky's extensive experience as a CBT innovator, clinician, teacher, and consultant is reflected in 100+ pages of compelling therapist-client dialogues that vividly illustrate core CBT interventions and management of challenging dilemmas. Fully updated, the book offers research-based guidance on the use of MOM2 to treat anxiety disorders, depression, anger, guilt, shame, relationship problems, and personality disorders.

Boredom and boredom avoidance drive the behaviours of inattention, impulsivity, and hyperactivity - the diagnostic criteria of ADHD. This is the first ADHD resource to thoroughly explore the connection between the two. Full of innovative approaches, the book introduces a wide range of strategies for professionals working in clinical, educational and therapeutic settings to help those with ADHD beat boredom and engage with tasks and goals they want or need to achieve.

Imagine a world where young people don't feel held back by their bodies. Where we appreciate each other for who we are and what we do rather than what we look like. Body image, and the associated issues of weight, food and physical activity, are hot topics in our families. How did we get to this place of constant criticism about our own bodies, and how can we get out of it?

Discover simple yet powerful steps you can take to overcome emotional distress--and feel happier, calmer, and more confident. This life-changing book has already helped more than 1,300,000 readers use cognitive-behavioral therapy--one of today's most effective forms of psychotherapy--to conquer depression, anxiety, panic attacks, anger, guilt, shame, low self-esteem, eating disorders, substance abuse, and relationship problems.

Featuring a wealth of clinical examples, this book facilitates implementation of Trauma-Focused Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy (TF-CBT) in a range of contexts. It demonstrates how assessment strategies and treatment components can be tailored to optimally serve clients' needs while maintaining overall fidelity to the TF-CBT model.

A single-volume resource on the nature, extent and treatment of addictive problems in adolescents. The book is divided into three main parts. Part one addresses the foundations of addictive problems, including developmental, social, and neurobiological factors. Part two addresses common addictions among adolescents. New chapters include e-cigarette, smartphone, social networking, and exercise addiction. Part three discusses challenges and recommendations for future research in adolescent addiction.

This textbook provides an overview of child and adolescent mental health. The text covers all core aspects on the subject, from the importance of knowing why mental health in children is important, to how to assess, formulate and treat a variety of presentations seen in children and young people. Beginning with an overview of conditions and the background to emotional and behavioural problems, the book examines the different models and tools used to assess and treat children and young people and provides an outline of the practitioners working to help this population. Chapters consider the many diverse identities and groups within the population, addressing specific problems encountered in children, young people and their families from different cultural backgrounds.

Hundreds of thousands of clinicians and graduate students have relied on this text--now significantly revised with more than 50% new material--to learn the fundamentals of cognitive behavior therapy (CBT). Leading expert Judith S. Beck demonstrates how to engage patients, develop a sound case conceptualization, plan individualized treatment, structure sessions, and implement core cognitive, behavioral, and experiential techniques.

Updated to include an expanded chapter on telehealth and also two completely new chapters on pediatric consultation liaison psychiatry examine the history, clinical practice models, scope of interventions, and pharmacological considerations that are relevant to treatment of medically ill children and those seen in primary care. This book includes the depth and breadth of knowledge needed to treat children and adolescents effectively.

This concise multidisciplinary guide is for anyone working with people with mental health conditions, covering the techniques needed for a good psychiatric interview and preparing them for specific groups, presentations and settings. Covers key topics such as risk assessments, managing difficult encounters, home visits and practising safely. Includes insights into how it feels to be interviewed written by a patient.

The Handbook of Psychiatric Education is a comprehensive, authoritative text that covers everything the educator needs to know about recruiting, teaching, supervising, mentoring, and evaluating students and trainees in psychiatry programs. In addition to foundational knowledge about adult learning, professionalism, and supervision, the book explores essential topics such as residency recruitment, student advising, curriculum, assessment and evaluation, accreditation, financing, residency administration, and much more. Beautifully written, down-to-earth, and full of the kind of practical knowledge it takes years to acquire firsthand, the Handbook of Psychiatric Education should be required reading for any faculty member assuming administrative educational responsibilities.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Accurate, reliable, objective, and comprehensive,it has long been the leading clinical psychiatric resource for clinicians, residents, students, and other health care professionals both in the US and worldwide, including sections on diagnosis, psychopathology and psychiatric conditions, treatment across the lifespan, and therapy and other interventions.Includes numerous case studies and presents the most current treatment methods including descriptions of all modern psychotherapeutic techniques.

Managing Anxiety Disorders is a practical guide to help those working in primary care to recognise and treat anxiety disorders. Using a consistent approach it provides an overview of the most common anxiety disorders and for each describes how to: recognise each disorder, make the diagnosis, explain the condition to patients and manage each disorder, including using simple 10 minute CBT strategies to encourage self-help It also includes practical case studies to illustrate how different anxiety disorders may present in primary care, and how GPs might begin to assess and manage patients with these conditions.

Gehart's Mastering competencies in family therapy: a practical approach to theories and clinical case documentation, 4th Edition, not only teaches you about family therapy theories, but also how to use them. A resource you will turn to again and again, it covers most of what you need to know in graduate school and to pass your licensing exams. Students love the book's relaxed, down-to-earth style that makes even complex concepts easy to understand, along with its real-world clinical forms -- case conceptualization and treatment planning -- that can be used with clients. Integrating diversity and research considerations into theoretical discussions and practical applications, the book provides a more holistic and nuanced understanding of couple and family therapy. The fourth edition is packed with the latest research, new theories, telehealth practices, licensure exam prep tips and more.

The new edition of the world-renowned reference guide on the use of medications for patients presenting with mental health problem and the essential evidence-based handbook on the safe and effective prescribing of psychotropic agents. Covering both common and complex prescribing situations encountered in day-to-day clinical practice, this comprehensive resource provides expert guidance on drug choice, minimum and maximum doses, adverse effects, switching medications, prescribing for special patient groups, and more.

Mental Health: A pocket guide delivers a comprehensive overview of the relevant concepts vital to contemporary mental health care. With a clear focus on the consumer, it covers the issues faced by people living with mental illness, as well as best practice approaches for primary health, first responders and multidisciplinary health care professionals. Practical strategies for commonly encountered situations Easy to access information presented in bullet point and table format A recovery and person-centred care approach throughout Case studies Guidance on medications, assessment tools and terminology. Increased consumer focus Greater emphasis on cultural awareness and working across the lifespan
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

An authoritative, comprehensive reference on the state of mental health and mental health care in Australia and internationally. It provides the latest information on descriptions of the disorders, policy, and treatments for mental illness. The fourth edition is updated with the most recent changes to policy and practice, including incorporating the new diagnostic tool ICD-11. With a strong focus on community collaboration and recovery and through the many stories of mental health care that are woven into the descriptions of disorders and their treatments, this edition provides guidance for a more personal approach to mental health care.

Paramedics are commonly dispatched to pre-hospital settings where mental health and mental illness are essential considerations. This is specifically written for the Australian and New Zealand paramedic context. The textbook steps students through common patient presentations in the pre-hospital setting and offers practical guidance in applying appropriate approaches to treatment. Case studies accompanied by critical thinking questions are incorporated throughout.

Drawing on 20 years of practical experience, research and teaching in the field, this book is a comprehensive guide on the use of Motivational Interviewing (MI) in child protection and family social work. MI increases the likelihood of behavioural change, working with client resistance to encourage a constructive environment when initiating difficult conversations.

Bringing together 146 chapters from the leading figures in the discipline, this book presents a comprehensive account of clinical psychiatry, with reference to its scientific basis and to the patient's perspective throughout. This edition has been extensively re-structured to keep pace with the significant developments that have taken place in the fields of clinical psychiatry and neuroscience.

Ethical issues inherent in psychiatric research and clinical practice are invariably complex and multi-faceted. Well-reasoned ethical decision-making is essential to deal effectively with patients and promote optimal patient care. Drawing on the positive reception of Psychiatric Ethics since its first publication in 1981, this highly anticipated 5th edition offers psychiatrists and other mental health professionals a coherent guide to dealing with the diverse ethical issues that challenge them.

Long established as the preeminent source in its field, the eagerly anticipated fifth edition of Dr Stahl's essential textbook of psychopharmacology is here! With its use of icons and figures that form Dr Stahl's unique 'visual language', the book is the single most readable source of information on disease and drug mechanisms for all students and mental health professionals seeking to understand and utilize current therapeutics, and to anticipate the future for novel medications. Every aspect of the book has been updated, with the clarity of explanation that only Dr Stahl can bring. The new edition includes over 500 new or refreshed figures, an intuitive color scheme, fourteen new uses for older drugs and eighteen brand new drugs, coverage of Parkinson's Disease Psychosis, behavioural symptoms of dementia, and mixed features in major depressive episodes, and expanded information on the medical uses of cannabis and hallucinogen assisted psychotherapy.

Provides an overview of the basic principles of CBT and shows how these principles can be applied within a typical 10 minute consultation. The book is written in a user-friendly, interactive and practical style and focuses on realistic ways to make CBT work by helping patients to make positive changes to their lives. As this is a practical manual and not just a book of theory, it will appeal to various professionals involved in the management of patients with psychological problems such as practice nurses, health visitors, community psychiatric nurses, practice counsellors and palliative care doctors.