Mental Health LibGuide

This influential work has now been substantially revised with over 60% new material reflecting over a dozen years of research and clinical advances. Leading experts describe innovative ways to use dialectical behavior therapy (DBT) in a wide range of real-world clinical and community settings. The volume provides wise guidance on setting up, running, and evaluating a comprehensive DBT program. It also presents adaptations designed to meet the needs of particular client populations as time- and cost-effectively as possible.

This textbook presents real-world cases and discussions that introduce the various psychiatric syndromes found in the aging population before delving into the core concepts covered by geriatric psychiatry curricula. The text follows each case study with the vital information necessary for physicians in training, including key features of each disorder and its presentation, practical guidelines for diagnosis and treatment, clinical pearls, and other devices that are essential to trainees in geriatric psychiatry. With the latest DSM-5-TR guidelines and with rich learning tools that include key points, review questions, tables, and illustrations, this text is the only resource that is specifically designed to train both US and Canadian candidates for specialty and subspecialty certification or recertification in geriatric psychiatry.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

What does a day in the life of a practising clinical psychologist look like? Which therapeutic approaches do they use? How do you become a clinical psychologist? Answering these questions and more, An Illustrated Guide to Clinical Psychology is ideal for aspiring, trainee, and newly qualified clinical psychologists to learn more about the field. Written by clinical psychologists, and featuring illustrations by one of the authors, Juliet Young, this accessible book explores the history and context of clinical psychology, the key skills, tools, and theoretical foundations for clinical psychologists, and the main therapeutic approaches that they use. The book navigates through the necessary components to understand the underpinning elements of the profession, with a taster of different areas that clinical psychologists work in. Through a critical lens, it also explores topical debates within the profession and addresses issues of diversity and inclusion.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Now in an extensively revised third edition with 65% new material, this is the authoritative presentation of the Collaborative Assessment and Management of Suicidality (CAMS) therapeutic framework. CAMS provides proven tools to help clinicians of any orientation evaluate suicidal risk and develop a suicide-focused treatment plan. In addition to their clinical utility, the procedures used for assessment, stabilization, and treatment of suicidal risk within CAMS can help reduce the risk of malpractice liability. In a convenient large-size format, the book includes the latest version of the Suicide Status Form (SSF-5) plus other valuable reproducible tools, which can be downloaded and printed for repeated use. For CAMS training opportunities offered by David A. Jobes, visit https://cams-care.com.   New to This Edition *Major updates based on ongoing clinical research, including tools and adaptations for additional populations and settings. *Increased focus on implementation with adolescents, with a new extended case example. *Vital guidance for effectively using CAMS via telehealth. *Additional reproducible forms to photocopy or download, including a fillable PDF of the Suicide Status Form, optimized for electronic medical records.  
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Released in 2012 as a free, easily administered measure of personality pathology domains and traits as described in the DSM-5 Alternative Model for Personality Disorders, the Personality Inventory for DSM-5 (PID-5) has spawned interest--and a considerable amount of research--since its publication. Rather than trying to match an individual's personal experience to preestablished diagnostic categories, use of the PID-5 in assessment calls for something of a paradigm shift--developing a profile unique to each patient and their experiences and behaviors. This new book delves into the background of the PID-5 and provides clinical and research guidance on its application. After reviewing the blossoming literature on the PID-5 and evidence for its use, the authors examine * The validity of the PID-5 in different populations, including adults, children, and non-U.S. populations * Special applications of the PID-5, including its relation to ICD-11 and use in forensic constructs * The relationship of the PID-5 with other measures, such as the Five Factor Model measures and the Personality Assessment Inventory * The role of the PID-5 in developing tailored interventions and prevention strategies, both psychotherapeutic and pharmacological Standout features of this guide include numerous and easily referenced tables throughout, clinical vignettes that help illustrate the PID-5 personality profiles, and an appendix with norms and scoring reference materials. Particularly useful for both clinical psychologists and research psychiatrists, Understanding the Personality Inventory for DSM-5 (PID-5) is a concise, convenient, and indispensable resource for all those interested in an individualized approach to the management and treatment of personality pathologies.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Anxiety Disorders: DSM-5 Selections is crafted around a specific disorder cited in DSM-5. This selection provides a comprehensive overview of the process of diagnosing anxiety disorders while serving as a reference guide to assist in the diagnosis of individual patients. The disorder-specific resource is an invaluable addition to the DSM-5 collection and an important contribution to the mental health profession. This book contains the critical disorder-specific content from these four titles: * Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5) * DSM-5 Clinical Cases* DSM-5 Self-Exam Questions* DSM-5 Guidebook

This manual is a valuable resource to diagnose and classify mental disorders with concise and explicit criteria intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings—inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care.

features the most current text updates based on scientific literature with contributions from more than 200 subject matter experts. The revised version includes a new diagnosis (prolonged grief disorder), clarifying modifications to the criteria sets for more than 70 disorders, addition of International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM) symptom codes for suicidal behavior and nonsuicidal self-injury, and updates to descriptive text for most disorders based on extensive review of the literature. In addition, DSM-5-TR includes a comprehensive review of the impact of racism and discrimination on the diagnosis and manifestations of mental disorders. The manual will help clinicians and researchers define and classify mental disorders, which can improve diagnoses, treatment, and research.

This book provides an accessible, up-to-date understanding of how to treat patients with substance and non-substance-related addiction. It covers all the typical substance and non-substance use disorders and presents evidence in a case-based format.

A current survey and synthesis of the most important findings in our understanding of the neurobiological mechanisms of addiction is detailed in our Neurobiology of Addiction series, each volume addressing a specific area of addiction. Alcohol, Volume 3 in the series, explores the molecular, cellular, and neurocircuitry systems in the brain responsible for alcohol addiction using the heuristic three-stage cycle framework of binge/intoxication, withdrawal/negative affect, and preoccupation/anticipation.

An estimated 5.8 million Americans are living with Alzheimer's Disease. Alzheimer's Disease is projected to claim the minds of nearly 14 million Americans and surpass USD 1 trillion in costs by the year 2050. This book will explore new pathways that could lead to earlier detection and potential therapies, the hardships of Alzheimer's disease and other dementias, and the debilitating and progressive nature of this awful disease and the terrible toll it takes on family caregivers.

This book focuses on the operational and clinical strategies needed to improve care of Emergency Psychiatric patients.Currently, there are books on clinical care of psychiatric patients, but this is the first book that looks at both the clinical and operational aspects of caring for these patients in ED setting. This book discusses Lean methodology, the impact of long stay patients using queuing methodology, clinical guidelines and active treatment of psychiatric patients in the ED.

Fully revised and updated, this pocket handbook for clinical assessment covers a comprehensive range of neurological, neuropsychological, neuropsychiatric, and neurobehavioral syndromes and disorders. Now in its fourth edition, this ready reference helps the busy clinician or doctoral-level trainee select from among hundreds of tests and assessment techniques in clinical neuropsychology. It guides clinicians in developing tailored, hypothesis-driven approaches for assessing patients with a broad range of common neuropsychological syndromes and neurological disorders.

A practical and structured overview of some of the most commonly used and easily available cognitive screening instruments applicable in the outpatient clinic and bedside setting. It now includes additional chapters on AD8 and also methodological aspects of systematic & cognitive screening instrument assessment from the Cochrane Dementia and Cognitive Improvement Group. Expert authors from around the world equip the reader with clear instructions on the usage of each screening instrument, its strengths and weaknesses, and the time required for administration.

In Facilitating Desistance from Aggression and Crime: Theory, Research, & Strength-Based Practices, Drs. Calvin Langton and James Worling have gathered together internationally renowned authorities in the fields of psychology, psychiatry, criminology, social work, and law, to critically examine desistance as a construct, process, and outcome as well as the place of strengths work in correctional and forensic mental health settings. Integrating theory, emprical evidence, and applied practices, this timely volume is an essential scholarly resource with a clear practical emphasis for policy makers, researchers, practitioners, and graduate students.

These Guidelines aim to provide alcohol and other drug (AOD) workers with evidence-based information to assist with the management of co-occurring AOD and mental health conditions. They represent an update and revision of the second edition of these Guidelines, published in 2016. It is a recommendation of these Guidelines that all clients of AOD treatment services be screened and assessed for co-occurring mental disorders as part of routine clinical care.

Now revised and expanded with over 50% new material, this definitive clinical reference is the text of choice for graduate-level courses in evidence-based psychotherapy. Foremost authorities describe the conceptual and scientific foundations of cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) and provide a framework for assessment and case formulation. Major approaches are reviewed in detail, including emotion-centered problem-solving therapy, rational emotive behavior therapy, cognitive therapy, schema therapy, mindfulness- and acceptance-based interventions, and dialectical behavior therapy (DBT).

This handbook offers a comprehensive review of cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) for working in integrated pediatric behavioral health care settings. It provides research findings, explanations of theoretical concepts and principles, and descriptions of therapeutic procedures as well as case studies from across broad conceptual areas. Chapters discuss the value of integrated care, diversity issues, ethical considerations, and the necessary adaptations. In addition, chapters address specific types of pediatric conditions and patients, such as the implementation of CBT with patients with gastrointestinal complaints, enuresis, encopresis, cancer, headaches, epilepsy, sleep problems, diabetes, and asthma.

A practical and indispensable tool for program developers in the integrated behavioral health space. Topics as pragmatic as scheduling, documentation, staff development and more are covered in this easy-to-read, no-nonsense text.

This book brings together Indigenous and allied experts addressing mental health among Indigenous peoples across the traditional territories commonly known as the Americas, Asia, Africa and Oceania (New Guinea and Australia) to exchange knowledge, perspectives and methods for mental health research and service delivery. Around the world, Indigenous peoples have experienced marginalization, rapid culture change and absorption into a global economy with little regard for their needs or autonomy. This cultural discontinuity has been linked to high rates of depression, substance abuse, suicide, and violence in many communities, with the most dramatic impact on youth.

This book is a comprehensive yet practical guide to the practice of primary care behavioral pediatrics for behavior analysts. Practitioners of this subspecialty work collaboratively with caregivers, educators, pediatricians, and pediatric specialists to bring about success for primarily neurotypical children experiencing difficulties with everything from sleep and cooperation to attention, anxiety, and toileting. This book reviews the historical and theoretical foundations of the subspecialty and provides practical guidance for problem conceptualization, assessment, case formulation, treatment planning, science-based behavioral treatment, caregiver treatment adherence, multidisciplinary collaboration, and ethical practice.

The gold standard reference for all those who work with people with mental illness, This two-volume eleventh edition offers the expertise of more than 600 renowned contributors who cover the full range of psychiatry and mental health, including neural science, genetics, neuropsychiatry, psychopharmacology, and other key areas. Provides comprehensive coverage of the full range of topics in psychiatry and mental health, keeping you at the forefront of current developments in the field.

In Navigating the Challenges of Concussion, expert clinicians and researchers in the fields of neurology and neuropsychology teamed together to provide up-to-date and evidence-based information for patients and families affected by concussion or those at increased risk of sustaining concussions. Topics covered include how concussion is different from other forms of brain injury, what to expect after a concussion, and what to do if symptoms are persisting.

Ideal for any on-call professional, resident, or medical student, this popular reference covers the common problems you'll encounter while on call in the hospital. Features a logical, highly templated format so you can locate key information quickly. Provides updated content and references, keeping you on the cutting edge of current, evidence-based information. Includes the latest information on headache, demyelinating diseases, infections of the central nervous system, dementia, and more. Highlights critical information, reducing the likelihood of error. Provides an updated On Call Formulary covering the most common neurologic medications. Delivers consistent, easy-to-follow coverage of the most common on-call problems and approaches, including what to do from the initial phone call, questions you should ask to assess the urgency of each situation, "Elevator Thoughts," how to immediately identify major threats to life, what to do at the bedside, and how to avoid common mistakes for every call.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

This handbook provides clear information for readers on practical steps that may be taken to actively engage with people who have learning disabilities, to enable effective care in which they are involved as much as possible with decisions that affect them. An emergencies section provides key information at critical times in practice. An invaluable guide for students, community and hospital based nurses, and all those who work with people with intellectual disabilities as part of a multidisciplinary team.

Jane Alison Sherwin's honest and uplifting account provides insight into the challenges of bringing up a child with Pathological Demand Avoidance (PDA). After years of misdiagnosis, Jane's daughter, Mollie, was diagnosed with PDA at the age of seven, and we follow her experiences pre and post diagnosis to age 10 as she attends school, interacts with the outside world and approaches adolescence. Throughout, Jane provides commentary on her daughter's behaviour and the impact it has on her family, explaining the 'why' of PDA traits, including the need for control, meltdowns, obsessive behaviour and sensory issues.

This open access book is a valuable resource for students in health and other professions and practicing professionals interested in supporting effective change in self-management behaviors in chronic disease, such as medication taking, physical activity and healthy eating. Developed under the auspices of the Train4Health project, funded by the Erasmus+ program of the European Union, the book contains six chapters written by international contributors from different disciplines.

A practical guide to providing home-based mental health services, Featuring contributions from experienced, board-certified home care psychologists, social workers, and psychiatrists, the book explains the multifaceted role of a home-based provider, offers concrete and practical considerations for working within the home, and highlights adaptations to specific evidence-based methods used in treating homebound older adults. Also covered are special topics related to hoarding, safety, capacity evaluations, caregivers, case management, and use of technology.

A foundational resource that weaves both the psychodynamic and neurobiological theories into the strategies for nursing interventions. Clinical decision making is a hallmark of this text, equipping students with the knowledge and skills to be safe and successful in nursing practicing. The text focuses on the well-being of both the patient and the nurse, offering a wealth of tools to guide practitioners in setting healthy boundaries that can be leveraged throughout one's career.

This is an indispensable guide to diabetes care and practice, providing a thorough overview of the main issues that health professionals should keep in mind when treating someone with the condition, and how psychology plays a key role in diabetes self-management.

"The Schizophrenia Survival Guide" is an essential resource for anyone touched by schizophrenia. This comprehensive guide combines the latest medical insights with personal stories and practical advice, offering a beacon of hope and support. Readers will find a deep well of information on understanding symptoms, navigating treatment options, and leveraging support networks. Designed for patients, caregivers, and professionals, it demystifies the condition and empowers individuals to manage their journey with schizophrenia effectively.

Trauma-Focused ACT (TFACT) provides a flexible, comprehensive model for treating the entire spectrum of trauma-related issues, including post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), addiction, depression, anxiety disorders, moral injury, chronic pain, shame, suicidality, insomnia, complicated grief, attachment issues, sexual problems, and more.

n recent years we have made huge progress in understanding the psychology of what had previously often been thought of as a largely biological problem, an illness. Much has been written about the biological aspects: this report aims to redress the balance by concentrating on the psychological and social aspects, both in terms of how we understand these experiences and also what can help when they become distressing. We hope that this report will contribute to a fundamental change that is already underway in how we as a society think about and offer help for 'psychosis' and 'schizophrenia'.

Definitive guide on exam techniques for neurology residents, fellows, and practitioners, integrating details of neuroanatomy and diagnosis in an easy-to-read, easy-to-follow format. Anatomical and exam illustrations ensure proper technique, and illustrative case studies and tables summarize differentials and clinical findings. Incorporates an intuitive, clinical focus, helping you quickly gain practical knowledge you can use immediately in practice.

For more than 60 years, Merritt's Neurology has remained a trusted landmark text in clinical neurology, providing unparalleled guidance on neurologic protocols, treatment guidelines, clinical pathways, therapeutic recommendations, and imaging. Contains more than 150 succinct chapters that offer essential information on signs and symptoms, diagnostic tests, and neurologic disorders of all etiologies.

Bridge the gap between neuroscience and mental illness/mental health - a highly readable, in-depth text ideal for residents studying for boards, practicing psychiatrists, and any mental health professional seeking an overview of the neuroscience revolution. Focusing on the basic neuroscientific concepts underlying normal behavior and commonly encountered disorders, Dr. Edmund S. Higgins and Dr. Mark S. George make complex information enjoyable, relevant, and easy to understand, ensuring that this Third Edition continues to be a trusted source of information on the neurologic underpinnings of psychiatric disorders.

Perfect for primary care physicians, nurse practitioners, and PAs, who are routinely confronted with behavioral health disorders among patients in a primary care setting. You'll find much that is new: updated fundamentals on depression, anxiety, psychosis, substance, and eating disorders, as well as overviews on CBT, motivational therapy, and common pharmacological therapies.