New Resources in Bankstown- Lidcombe Hospital Library

Clinical Gastrointestinal Endoscopy, 3rd Edition, by Drs. Vinay Chandrasekhara, Mouen Khashab, B. Joseph Elmunzer, and V. Raman Muthusamy, ensures that you stay current with the latest technology and techniques in GI endoscopy. An all-new editorial team, newly updated videos and images, and a reorganized format make this reference an easy-to-use source of reliable information on a full range of topics, including anatomy, pathophysiology, and therapeutic management options, in addition to the latest GI procedures and technologies. Offers state-of-the-art coverage of bariatric surgery, therapeutic EUS, device-assisted enteroscopy, image-guided therapy, intramural endotherapy, and much more.

The third edition of Gastroenterological Endoscopy covers the entire spectrum of diagnostic and therapeutic procedures for the upper and lower GI tract while providing the latest overview of GI disorders. A great wealth of high-resolution photographs provides the visual information needed to confidently assess and diagnose mucosal lesions of the entire digestive tract. Significant advances in the field--both medical and technical--since the last edition are covered in comprehensive detail

Clinical Specialties: Medical Student Revision Guide is designed to make accessing and remembering core knowledge as easy as possible: each topic is presented in a colourful, revision-ready note format, with extensive use of diagrams, tables and flowcharts key points are highlighted and core concepts summarised, making the information easier to digest, assimilate and memorise a consistent structure means you always have access to clinical presentation, investigations and management, risk factors and complications. Every chapter has been peer-reviewed by a specialist in the field, to ensure it is accurate and reflects the most up-to-date guidelines.

Covers the complete range of topics in geriatric care, including theory and fundamentals, assessment, conditions, diseases, symptoms, policies, and societal issues that affect older patients. Provides a framework for using the functional and cognitive status, prognosis, and social context of patients to guide diagnosis and treatment of medical conditions. Delivers essential information on important topics such as delirium, cognitive impairment, dementia, falls and mobility disorders, Parkinson disease and other movement disorders, sleep disorders, and arthritis. Includes guidance on care in all settings - clinic, home, hospital, and long-term care, as well as pre- and post-operative settings.

Many whose work brings them into contact with the dying and the bereaved from Western and other cultures are at a loss to know how to offer appropriate and sensitive support. Death and Bereavement Across Cultures 2nd Edition is a handbook which meets the needs of doctors, ;nurses, social workers, hospital chaplains, counsellors and volunteers caring for patients with life-threatening illness and their families before and after bereavement. It is a practical guide explaining the religious and other differences commonly met with in multi-cultural societies when someone is dying or bereaved. Describes the rituals and beliefs of major world religions; Explains their psychological and historical context; Shows how customs are changed by contact with the West; Considers the implications for the future The second edition includes new chapters that explore how members of the health care professions perform roles formerly conducted by priests and shamans can cross the cultural gaps between different cultures and religions; consider the relevance of attitudes and assumptions about death for our understanding of religious and nationalist extremism and its consequences; discuss the Buddhist, Islamic and Christian ways of death.

This practical resource shows the clinician how to handle and use the tools, devices, and implants required for endovascular interventions. A firm foundation in understanding the purpose, technical parameters, and function of each tool is required by vascular surgeons, interventional cardiologists, interventional radiologists, and other vascular specialists. Medical students, trainees, and physicians starting in practice will enhance their endovascular knowledge, which will allow for improved and seamless patient care.

Combining the latest research with a proven, "how-to" approach, Management of Common Orthopaedic Disorders: Physical Therapy Principles and Methods, 5th Edition, offers a practical overview of commonly seen pathology and accompanying treatment options for orthopaedic patients. This fundamental textbook of orthopaedic physical therapy demonstrates therapeutic techniques in vibrant detail and emphasizes practical application to strengthen clinical readiness. Thoroughly updated and now presented in full color, the 5th Edition reflects the latest practice standards in a streamlined organization for greater ease of use

In this time of large-scale global migration at levels unrivalled since World War II, primary care practitioners are providing the first line of care to economic migrants and refugees. In doing so, they face daily the considerable challenges that this heterogenic group brings in terms of communication, culture, and legal status as well as physical and mental health. This accessible book has been carefully crafted to enable primary health care professionals to develop the skills and competencies required to deliver appropriate services to this diverse group of patients and, in turn, to ensure equity in health care for all. The book satisfies the urgent need for a hands-on guide to support and help general practitioners and other members of the primary health care team improve their provision of care not only to immigrants, but to other vulnerable groups and the whole society.

Ideal learning tool for students and a superb resource for patient education, Netter's Pediatrics, 2nd Edition, is a rich visual aid featuring more than 500 images by Drs. Frank H. Netter, Carlos Machado, and others working in the classic Netter style. The uniquely aesthetic and accurate artwork is accompanied by up-to-date text contributed primarily by physicians at the prestigious Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, all designed to work together to help you diagnose and care for children with common clinical conditions. New chapters, new features, and new online access makes this pediatrics resource a must-have for pediatric rotations, when studying for exams, or when preparing for patient consultations. Offers at-a-glance information for a quick overview of common pediatric issues-from nutrition, allergy, infectious disease, and adolescent medicine to cancer and heart disease.  .

Medical practice in the modern age requires familiarity with clinical guidelines and standards, which are often published separately in long and discursive documents. This new addition to the Oxford Medical Publications summarises the key clinical practice guidelines which all final year medical students and Foundation Year 1 and 2 doctors should know when managing common conditions. Logically organised by medical specialty, the reader can quickly familiarise themselves with the key principles of diagnosis and management at the appropriate level for beginning a new rotation on the wards. Each guideline summary is tailored to the education level expected of doctors in their first two years of training, with clear instructions for when a more senior colleague should be called upon to help. Written by a team of junior doctors under the supervision of senior clinicians, this is the first resource to distil a range of guidelines from different locations (such as NICE, SIGN, and more) into an easily digestible format. Practical and user-friendly, with tables, diagrams, flowcharts, and algorithms to convey the key points quickly and easily, Oxford Clinical Guidelines is the new invaluable resource for every final year medical student and doctor at the beginning of their training.

The Oxford Handbook of Sleep Medicine provides a comprehensive, practical guide to clinicians of all backgrounds for the diagnosis and treatment of sleep disorders across clinical specialties. Sleep medicine is encountered in almost every field of medicine yet clinical training and practical guidance is often difficult to find. This handbook is essential for all clinicians seeking a clear and concise quick-reference guide to sleep disorders in their day-to-day practice, from the GP to specialists in respiratory medicine, psychiatry, neurology and surgery. It will also provide an excellent resource for those pursuing specialist training in clinical sleep medicine.This handbook is written from a practical perspective, to guide clinical practice, rather than providing simply theoretical knowledge. It provides guidance from experienced clinicians across a range of specialties to provide a truly comprehensive multidisciplinary approach to sleep medicine. This handbook covers the full range of sleep disorders, from insomnia to very rare movement disorders, to ensure the reader has quick access to the right information whenever they need it.

Written in a rapid-fire question-and-answer format ideal for learning on the go, this best-selling clerkship resource covers both general surgery and surgical subspecialties and provides accurate, on-the-spot answers to the questions most likely encountered during rotations and on the shelf exam. This enhanced 9th edition reflects the latest advances in key areas, as well as additional Rapid-Fire Review questions and new Rapid-Fire Vignettes to prepare students for success on exams and beyond. Rapid-Fire Reviews at the end of most chapters and a pre-and post-book test evaluate students' knowledge, demonstrate students' level of mastery, and identify areas for further focus. NEW! Three-Dimensional Surgical Vignette Chess offers a novel, three-column format to practice handling patient scenarios and to assess knowledge. Surgical Overview and Background sections deliver practice advice and tricks of the trade. Hundreds of mnemonics, acronyms, tips, prompts, and hints help students master and retain essential knowledge. Concise procedure descriptions and a strategic two-column format prepare students for active participation in the operating suite.

The Camberwell Assessment of Need (CAN) has been the key measure for assessing the health and social needs of people with mental health problems for two decades. Aimed at mental health workers or researchers, it is suitable for clinical use in both community-based and hospital-based mental health services. Updated chapters bring guidance into line with modern social contexts, for example questions regarding 'Child Care' now focus on 'Dependents', reflecting changes relating to an ageing population. An extensive training programme and list of frequently asked questions are informed by the authors' decades of experience in using this essential resource. Containing four versions of the CAN (CANSAS, CANSAS-P, CAN-C, CAN-R) for use in different situations, systematic guidance for how to complete the assessments is also included in the book. Ready to use assessment forms are freely available to download from the CAN website (researchintorecovery.com/can) and on cambridge.org for use with service users.

A guide to treating psychosis that provides information on drug options and side-effects in order to allow for weighing treatment options knowledgably The Maudsley Guidelines on Advanced Prescribing in Psychosis offers a resource that puts the focus on the need to treat the individual needs of a patient. The authors - noted experts on the topic - offer an alternative to the one-size-fits-all treatment of psychosis and shows how to build psychiatrist and patient relationships that will lead to effective individual treatment plans. The book provides up-to-date data and information about commonly used anti-psychotic drugs and drugs used in bipolar disorder. The text weighs both the upsides and downsides of each pharmaceutical presented, and helps prescribers and patients weigh the costs and benefits of various options to reach an appropriate treatment plan. The authors highlight the treatment at a population level and the systems in which individual treatments take places. This important resource: Facilitates the tailoring of an appropriate treatment plan for clients manifesting signs of psychosis Offers a comparative strategy that helps gauge the suitability of one treatment plan over another Provides at-hand data and information about commonly used anti-psychotic drugs Includes an understanding of the origins and side-effects of each drug presented The Maudsley Guidelines on Advanced Prescribing in Psychosis offers psychiatrists and other mental health practitioners an essential guide for treating psychosis on an individualized level.

Cultural psychiatry deals with the impact of culture on causation, perpetuation and treatment of patients suffering with mental illness. The role of culture in mental illness is increasingly being recognised, and the misconceptions that can occur as a result of cultural differences can lead to misdiagnoses, under or over-diagnosis. This second edition of the Textbook of Cultural Psychiatry has been completely updated with additional new chapters on globalisation and mental health, social media and tele-psychiatry. Written by world-leading experts in the field, this new edition provides a framework for the provision of mental health care in an increasingly globalized world.

Clinical Laboratory Methods covers the 100 tests most often done in clinical labs. The description of each method covers the basic concept of the assay; clinically important information; the expense of the test (based cost of the reagents, supplies, and labor); the complexity of the test; and whether each method is manual, semi-automated, or highly automated, and each method includes a flowchart. The author avoids getting bogged down in unimportant details, focusing on only what you need to know to master these important processes.  Features  *  Each testing-method description includes a flowchart  *  Practice tests enable you to quiz yourself on what you have learned *  The expense of each method is described as low, moderate, or high

Understanding and performing tests, interpreting lab results, and performing patient teaching are made easier with Mosby's® Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests, 7th Edition. This one-stop resource provides clear, concise, and consistent coverage of the most performed diagnostic and laboratory tests. Valuable in academic and clinical settings alike, it is beloved for its full-color design, user-friendly organization, and illustrations that help clarify key concepts. Updated content with new tests and images ensures you have the most current and relevant information available. Comprehensive and consistent presentation of tests follows a sequence that best simulates priorities in clinical practice. Clinical Priorities boxes emphasize priorities and procedure considerations specific to understanding and performing tests. Test Results and Clinical Significance sections describe the significance of the test findings and discuss the pathophysiology of the disease process and how it relates to the test result. Related Tests sections list additional tests related to the main test, including tests that provide similar information, confirmatory information, and other tests used to evaluate the same organ, disease process, or symptom complex.

Especially written by senior students or junior doctors - those who understand what is essential for exam success - with all information thoroughly checked and quality assured by expert Faculty Advisers, the result are books which exactly meet your needs and you know you can trust. Each chapter guides you succinctly through the full range of curriculum topics, integrating clinical considerations with the relevant basic science and avoiding unnecessary or confusing detail. A range of text boxes help you get to the hints, tips and key points you need fast! A fully revised self-assessment section matching the latest exam formats is included to check your understanding and aid exam preparation. Series volumes have been honed to meet the requirements of today's medical students, although the range of other health students and professionals who need rapid access to the essentials of pharmacology will also love the unique approach of Crash Course.

Medicinal Cannabis: Pearls for Clinical Practice introduces the scientific background of how cannabis acts medicinally, its components and how cannabis affects a specific condition. Key Features: Provides instruction for health professionals wanting to understand the clinical practice of cannabis medicine Reviews the chemistry, physiology and mechanisms of action of cannabinoids, endocannabinoids and cannabis with a focus on clinical relevance Presents information on practice management of specific patient populations, including paediatric, youth, adult, elderly and pets. Features over 150 case reports with learning "Pearls" from the author's clinical practice for 35 medical conditions Discusses specifics of dosing and delivery of cannabis in detail, with strategies to promote the benefit/risk ratio.

Respiratory Care Cardiopulmonary Anatomy and Physiology is a comprehensive, highly illustrated text with a strong emphasis on cardiovascular and pulmonary physiology, acid/base balance, and blood gas interpretation. This text will expertly guide you through cardiopulmonary anatomy and physiology and serves as an ongoing reference throughout your schooling and health profession. With brand new content covering genetics, the inflammatory cycle, and pulmonary remodeling this text will provide you with the most current information on cardiopulmonary anatomy and physiology. Respiratory Care Cardiopulmonary Anatomy and Physiology was written with the understanding to prepare you for successful completion of the National Board for Respiratory Care Examination Matrix.

Provides a sound methodological approach to understanding and addressing a disorder that is invasive, widespread, and debilitating. Primarily focused on the academic and practitioner communities with the goal of educating and creating consensus across the different disciplines of psychology and medicine. Provides direction for current and future research on assessment and treatment needed to best support the global effort to mitigate the effects of this illness.

Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, Fifth Edition is an essential resource to help students, faculty, and practitioners understand the research process, interpret data, comprehend results, and incorporate findings into practice. From choosing a research project and developing the research process design, to systematically gathering information, analyzing, interpreting data, differentiating among conflicting results, and finally understanding the overall evaluation, Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, Fifth Edition will ease fears and help students and practitioners develop research skills to acquire and contribute knowledge that benefits their patients.

Perrin's Pocket Guide to APA Style, E, 7th Edition, is your essential tool for writing research papers in every course you take. Concise yet thorough, the POCKET GUIDE presents straightforward explanations, annotated examples and margin notes that help you write properly documented papers in the latest APA style. Student-friendly organization, quick-reference indexing and a convenient spiral design make it easier to use than the APA Manual. Expansive, up-to-date coverage of electronic sources prepares you to evaluate and use internet references correctly in your research, while new guidelines help you appropriately incorporate footnotes. An appendix on annotated bibliographies provides guidance plus plenty of examples.

This in-depth resource on writing for nurses--clinicians, graduate students, researchers, and faculty--guides users through the entire process of writing evidence-based research papers and journal articles, disseminating clinical project findings and innovations, and preparing manuscripts for publication. The completely updated fourth edition expands the content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviews; disseminating evidence and writing papers on clinical topics; and reporting quality-improvement studies. It provides new examples of excellent writing from a varied selection of nursing journals. Woven throughout is an explanation of current writing guidelines for research such as CONSORT and PRISMA. Also included are electronic versions of useful forms and updated web resources relevant to each chapter. Chapters feature helpful tables, figures, and illustrations; learner exercises to guide development of competencies; and discussion topics designed to address the variety of challenges posed when writing for publication.