Diabetes LibGuide

Care of People with Diabetes is a comprehensive clinical manual for nurses, healthcare professionals and students alike, providing an extensive summary of the most up-to-date knowledge in a rapidly developing field, as well as the role of education and self-care in achieving desirable outcomes. Covering both the theory and evidence-based practice of diabetes care.

The Clinical Atlas of Diabetes Mellitus is a must-read book created with the idea of what is important for the physicians who take care of patients with diabetes. - It is a practical and comprehensive manual without unnecessary research details. - Each chapter is comprehensively written by authorities from across the world with extensive clinical experience.

Counting carbohydrates at every meal, constantly adjusting medication doses, taking daily injections, pricking fingers multiple times a day, and struggling with the unavoidable challenges of fancy, yet imperfect, technology can lead to burnout. With compassion, knowledge, and humor, Ginger Vieira provides the tools and encouragement needed to help you get back on track and make diabetes management a rewarding priority.

Diabetes is a chronic disease involving self-management by the patients. This book teaches providers the skills to translate and transfer complex medical information to empower patients to participate in making well-informed decisions about their own care on a daily basis, as directed by the American Diabetes Association.

Diabetes Secrets offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. Up-to-date coverage of the full range of topics in diabetes, including diabetes during pregnancy; diabetes management in cancer patients; diabetes management during exercise, sports, and competition; diabetes management in hospitalized patients, and more. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from global leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content.
Donated by UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Diabetes has become a worldwide health problem, the purpose of this textbook is multiple: to offer a comprehensive resource covering all aspects of outpatient management; to address diabetes as a health problem from an epidemiological, economic and clinical perspective; to discuss the role of social determinants of health on the worldwide increase in diabetes; to highlight the challenges and obstacles in providing adequate care; and to outline a multidisciplinary approach to management in which medical visits retain their importance as part of a team comprising the patient, his or her family and a multidisciplinary group of health professionals who are able to move beyond the traditional approach of diabetes as a disease and greatly improve outcomes.

Diabetic emergencies are an extremely serious result of poor glycemic control and if not treated quickly and effectively can result in death. This book provides emergency room staff, diabetes specialists, and endocrinologists with highly practical, clear-cut clinical guidance on both the presentation of serious diabetic emergencies like ketoacidosis, hyperosmolar coma and severe hyper- and hypoglycemia and the best methods of both managing the emergencies and administering proper follow-up care. Perfect for both the trainee and the junior specialist, this book is also a useful rapid access tool in the pre-and post-hospital environment, specifically for doctors to best advise patients with notoriously poor glycemic control who have either suffered from or who are at risk of diabetic emergencies.

Imagine a world where young people don't feel held back by their bodies. Where we appreciate each other for who we are and what we do rather than what we look like. Body image, and the associated issues of weight, food and physical activity, are hot topics in our families. How did we get to this place of constant criticism about our own bodies, and how can we get out of it?

Endocrinology and Diabetes: Lecture Notes, 2nd Edition, provides medical students and junior doctors with the key information needed to understand mechanisms of endocrine conditions. This popular revision guide covers endocrine anatomy and physiology, scientific background, clinical presentations, diagnosis and management of various endocrine disorders. Clear and concise chapters focus on conditions commonly encountered in both clinical practice and assessments. Features enhanced and expanded coverage of all major topics within diabetes and endocrinology Reflects the current knowledge base, evidence, and best practices in the field Provides easy access to the scientific background, presentation, diagnosis, and management of each condition.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Endocrinology and Diabetes: Lecture Notes, 2nd Edition, provides medical students and junior doctors with the key information needed to understand mechanisms of endocrine conditions. This popular revision guide covers endocrine anatomy and physiology, scientific background, clinical presentations, diagnosis and management of various endocrine disorders. Clear and concise chapters focus on conditions commonly encountered in both clinical practice and assessments. Features enhanced and expanded coverage of all major topics within diabetes and endocrinology Reflects the current knowledge base, evidence, and best practices in the field Provides easy access to the scientific background, presentation, diagnosis, and management of each condition.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Essential Endocrinology and Diabetes provides the accurate and up-to-date knowledge required for treating all areas of endocrinology and diabetes, covering the latest research, clinical guidelines, investigational methods, and therapies.

As type 2 diabetes continues its disturbing rise in prevalence worldwide, there is an increasing need to study the disease and describe successful treatment regimens. There are several options for treatment, including oral medications, diet and lifestyle modification, and insulin therapy. Knowing which method to select for a patient and how to apply it relies on several clinical guidelines that are updated every year by the American Diabetes Association.

Now in its third edition, the Oxford Textbook of Endocrinology and Diabetes is an up-to-date, objective and comprehensive text that covers the full scope of endocrinology and diabetes. It contains wide ranging and pragmatic advice on diagnosis and clear guidelines for recommended management, while also covering the scientific principles that underlie the medical practice in this important field.

This book is designed to encourage the development of evidence-based nutritional and pharmacological therapies that can attenuate the impact of obesity-induced insulin resistance and ensuing metabolic syndrome. The book offers a deep understanding of the molecular mechanisms that underlie the process. Edited by leading authorities on oxidative stress, the book's chapters report on cutting-edge research that explores intracellular events mediating or preventing oxidative stress and pro-inflammatory processes in obesity and type 2 diabetes. It also brings together research on the molecular mechanisms inherent in the progression of metabolic stress, includes phenotypic perspectives, and discusses dietary factors, including the role of micronutrients.

the Textbook of Diabetes has established itself as the modern, well-illustrated, international guide to diabetes. Sensibly organized and easy to navigate, with exceptional illustrations, the Textbook hosts an unrivaled blend of clinical and scientific content. Highly experienced editors from across the globe assemble an outstanding set of international contributors who provide insight on new developments in diabetes care and information on the latest treatment modalities used around the world. In addition, all existing chapters are fully revised with the very latest developments, including the most recent guidelines from the ADA, EASD, DUK, and NICE.

The incidence and prevalence of type 2 diabetes mellitus have increased dramatically in modernized and developing nations over the past few decades. Thoroughly revised and expanded Second Edition offers a current perspective on diabetes demographics, epidemiology, pathophysiology, disease monitoring, and approaches to glucose control, and supplies new chapters by world-renowned experts on non-pharmacological management options, complications of the skin and urogenital function, related macrovascular conditions, coronary heart disease, stroke, and peripheral vascular disease, and rare forms of diabetes, PCOS, and NASH.