Diabetes LibGuide

Published on behalf of The British Dietetic Association, an exploration of the evidence and practice of nutrition in diabetes, offering a global view of the lifestyle interventions for the prevention and management of diabetes, including management of complications and special population groups.

Best of Five MCQs for the Endocrinology and Diabetes SCE is a dedicated revision guide designed to assist candidates in preparing for the Endocrinology and Diabetes Specialty Certificate Examination (SCE). It contains 350 best of five questions covering the main themes of the specialty curriculum. The questions mirror the format that the candidates can expect to find in the exam and cover all of the key topics, including pituitary gland and hypothalamus, thyroid gland, parathyroid gland and bone disease, adrenal glands, reproductive endocrinology, and diabetes and lipid metabolism. Explanatory answers include references to the most up to date NICE and international guidelines as well as other literature to enable further reading and study.

BIDE's Diabetes Desk Book offers a holistic approach to diabetes management including the most current evidence-based recommendations for diagnosing and treating adults and children with all forms of diabetes, taking into consideration local needs and available resources. It offers guidelines on the management of infections in diabetes, and management of diabetes. The book is based on a successful cost-effective model for countries to utilize at the national level to address important issues such as diabetic foot, gestational diabetes and diabetes education.

Care of People with Diabetes is an essential guide to the care and management of people with diabetes mellitus, with particular emphasis on the acute care setting. Written by an experienced clinical nurse specialist with extensive knowledge of evidence-based diabetes care, this fully updated fourth edition serves as an essential companion to clinical practice for nurses and healthcare professionals. People with diabetes experience a high symptom and self-care burden associated with managing their condition, and require appropriate support, advice, and regular monitoring. Similarly, health professionals need to maintain and keep up-to-date with an ever-increasing body of knowledge in order to help people with diabetes incorporate new research into their self-care.

Clinical Endocrinology and Diabetes at a Glance corresponds to the curriculum and covers all important areas of diabetes and endocrinology in a clinically relevant and concise manner, with complementary figures to ensure principles are explained clearly. It highlights key practical skills for undergraduates in line with the GMC recommendations that medical graduates should be well prepared for their Foundation posts. There is also an emphasis on the importance of multidisciplinary teams in the management of endocrine diseases and diabetes. These include sections on structured education programs, psychosocial aspects, and patient self-management and monitoring.

More than 37 million Americans, about one in ten, have diabetes, and another 96 million adults have pre-diabetes. Diabetes is growing more prevalent, with an estimated one in three Americans expected to develop the disease at some point in their lifetime. Chapter 1 examines how diabetes affects people of all ages, with a special focus on Americans with Type I diabetes and their families. Chapter 2 identifies the direct and indirect costs of diabetes on the economy. Chapter 3 explores new technological discoveries that are already changing the lives of people with Type 1 diabetes. Chapter 4 describes ED visits made by adults with diabetes, and presents selected characteristics by age.

Diabetes and Cardiovascular Disease: Evaluation, Prevention & Management presents the epidemiologic relation of diabetes and associated risk factors with cardiovascular disease. This concise guide demonstrates the role of non-invasive imaging strategies for the evaluation of cardiovascular disease risk in diabetes and the role of nutrition and physical activity in preventing diabetes and its cardiovascular complications. Diabetes and Cardiovascular Disease: Evaluation, Prevention & Management also covers the relation of chronic kidney disease to diabetes and cardiovascular consequences and offers glycemic control strategies for reducing the risk of cardiovascular disease with diabetes. The wide scope of this book makes it an essential resource for diabetologists, cardiologists, and physicians.

Now in a fully revised and updated second edition, written, and editing by leading experts in the field, this comprehensive and practical text brings together the latest guidelines and recommendations on the benefits of exercise and physical activity in the management of diabetes and its complications, providing both the researcher and practitioner with evidence-based information that is both theoretically and clinically useful. Taken together, Diabetes and Exercise, Second Edition brings together the latest information and thought leaders in the field to create a unique and useful text for all clinicians, researchers, and therapists working to integrate physical activity into their management strategies for the increasing number of diabetic patients.

Fully revised and updated edition of this popular book, addressing all issues concerning the diabetic foot, one of the most prevalent problems in diabetes, with a strong emphasis on practical aspects of delivering care.

The latest edition of Management of type 2 diabetes: A handbook for general practice (Diabetes Handbook) is now available – in a new, online format. As always, the handbook, published by The Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP) and Diabetes Australia, provides practical, evidence-based recommendations for managing type 2 diabetes in general practice.

Diabetes mellitus, one of the most prevalent complications during pregnancy, can cause a range of problems for women and their developing babies. The number of types of diabetes during pregnancy has dramatically increased worldwide in recent years. Obesity is a very common risk factor for the development of GDM and type 2 diabetes. To prevent birth defects and other health problems, optimal healthcare before and during pregnancy is mandatory.

Lifestyle - the manner in which people live - is fundamental to health, wellness, and prevention of disease. It follows that attention to lifestyle is critically important to effective and successful health care. But here's the challenge: health care professionals receive very little, if any, formal training about lifestyle counseling and therefore are ill equipped to incorporate lifestyle issues into clinical practice. In response, "Lifestyle Medicine" is evolving as a means to fill this knowledge gap. Lifestyle medicine approaches health and wellness by harnessing the power of lifestyle-related behaviors and influencing the environment we live in.

Ideal for all health care professionals who evaluate, diagnose, treat, or refer patients with endocrine disease or disorders, the Manual of Endocrinology and Metabolism, Fifth Edition, brings together nearly 150 global authorities who share their knowledge and expertise on endocrine disorders in children, adolescents, and adults. Using a concise outline format, this thoroughly updated manual presents clinical information and protocols needed in everyday practice, with an emphasis on diagnosis and treatment. Includes coverage of fundamental understandings and treatment modalities as well as recent therapies, new methods of treatment, new understandings of endocrine physiology, and new surgical approaches to disease states -Covers evaluation, pathophysiology, management, and treatment at every age of life, along with short- and long-term goals of reversibility and prevention.

Fully updated for its fourth edition, providing comprehensive coverage of both disciplines in a practical and concise format. Featuring new chapters on transition in endocrinology and diabetes, practical nursing considerations, and the genetics of endocrinology, and expanded sections on inherited endocrine syndromes and MEN, it retains the clear organisation and layout for ease of reference as the previous edition over a broader range of topics.

The revised and updated fourth edition of Practical Endocrinology and Diabetes in Children offers a practical, highly clinical and up-to-date handbook of paediatric endocrinology and diabetes. The book is written in clear terms and offers a user-friendly format that is designed to be concise, yet comprehensive.. The international panel of expert contributors explore the range of endocrine disorders in children including growth, thyroid, adrenal and problems related to puberty.

This open access book is a valuable resource for students in health and other professions and practicing professionals interested in supporting effective change in self-management behaviors in chronic disease, such as medication taking, physical activity and healthy eating. Developed under the auspices of the Train4Health project, funded by the Erasmus+ program of the European Union, the book contains six chapters written by international contributors from different disciplines.

The second edition of A Practical Manual of Diabetes in Pregnancy offers a wealth of new evidence, new material, new technologies, and the most current approaches to care. With contributions from a team of international experts, the manual is highly accessible and comprehensive in scope. It covers topics ranging from preconception to postnatal care, details the risks associated with diabetic pregnancy, and the long-term implications for the mother and baby. The text also explores recent controversies and examines thorny political pressures. The manual’s treatment recommendations are based on the latest research to ensure pregnant women with diabetes receive the best possible care.

This is an indispensable guide to diabetes care and practice, providing a thorough overview of the main issues that health professionals should keep in mind when treating someone with the condition, and how psychology plays a key role in diabetes self-management.

Established as the modern, well-illustrated, international guide to diabetes. Sensibly organized and easy to navigate, with exceptional illustrations, the Textbook hosts an unrivalled blend of clinical and scientific content. An outstanding set of international contributors provide insight on new developments in diabetes care and information on the latest treatment modalities used around the world.