Haematology LibGuide

An essential guide and introduction to the diagnosis, treatment and management of disorders across the breadth of clinical haematology Extensively revised, this 5th edition of ABC of Clinical Haematology covers all aspects of contemporary haematology, providing the basic science behind the disease and diagnostic aspects, along with up to date management. The text assumes little prior haematology knowledge, enabling clear understanding by non-experts, including medical students and nurses. Full colour illustrations and text boxes highlighting important learning points together enable more efficient reader comprehension. ABC of Clinical Haematology provides an ideal reference for primary care practitioners and other healthcare professionals working with patients who have blood related problems.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School 2023.

Arterial Blood Gas Interpretation What you expect: 1.Describe the physiology involved in the acid/base balance of the body. 2.Compare the roles of PaO2, pH, PaCO2 and Bicarbonate in maintaining acid/base balance. 3.Discuss causes and treatments of Respiratory Acidosis, Respiratory Alkalosis, Metabolic Acidosis and Metabolic Alkalosis. 4.Identify normal arterial blood gas values and interpret the meaning of abnormal values. 5.Interpret the results of various arterial blood gas samples, using Both Given Methods. 6.Identify the relationship between oxygen saturation and PaO2 as it relates to the oxyhemoglobin dissociation curve. 7.Interpret the oxygenation state of a patient using the reported arterial blood gas PaO2 value. 8.over 40 questions Provided with full answers and rationales, so you exercise it, and master it.

Blood Tests Made Easy is a quick reference guide designed to bring medical students up to speed when interpreting blood tests on their clinical placements. Small enough to be carried and quickly referenced on the go, this book covers everything you need to know when interpreting bloods, including the main abnormalities you are likely to encounter. Rather than focusing on theory or physiology, it is designed to provide an easy-to-follow guide to support clinical decision making. This latest addition to the Made Easy series will fill knowledge gaps on blood test interpretation, becoming a valuable asset both for medical students and, later, as a reference guide to increase junior doctors' confidence on the wards. Relevant to real life - material laid out like real hospital laboratory tests Easy to use - information presented in a clear and accessible format Case studies and multiple-choice questions to aid revision Portable for easy access on the wards
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

This fully illustrated text is an essential guide for trainees in Haematology and Medicine studying for higher examinations, as well as for professionals wishing to expand their knowledge or revalidate. The book contains over 100 illustrated cases covering the whole field of malignant and non-malignant haematology, including coagulation problems and infectious diseases.

In addition to state-of-the-art content, many fully developed case studies with critical thinking discussion questions, and a strong emphasis on emerging molecular diagnostics and genomic medicine, the 6th edition encompasses the professional knowledge guidelines recommended by ASCLS Entry Level and Professional Body of Knowledge competencies in hematology, hemostasis and coagulation, and molecular applications.

"In this book, each chapter guides you succinctly through the full range of curriculum topics, integrating clinical considerations with the relevant basic science and avoiding unnecessary or confusing detail. A range of text boxes help you get to the hints, tips and key points you need fast! A fully revised self-assessment section matching the latest exam formats is included to check your understanding and aid exam preparation." -- Publisher.

Thorough coverage of all of the techniques used in the investigation of patients with blood disorders, including the latest technologies as well as traditional manual methods of measurement. You'll find expert discussions of the principles of each test, possible causes of error, and the interpretation and clinical significance of the findings.

As the science and practice of haematology continues to advance at a considerable rate, Haematology Lecture Notes remains a comprehensive guide to this diverse subject, and provides support in understanding the pathogenesis and management of haematological disorders.

Haematology: From the Image to the Diagnosis presents a series of cases illustrating how skills in morphology can guide the investigative process. In this book, the authors capture a series of images to illustrate key features to recognize when undertaking a morphological review and show how they can be integrated with supplementary information to reach a final diagnosis. Using a novel format of visual case studies, this text mimics 'real life' for the practising diagnostic haematologist - using brief clinical details and initial microscopic morphological triage to formulate a differential diagnosis and a plan for efficient and economical confirmatory investigation to deduce the correct final diagnosis. The carefully selected, high-quality photomicrographs and the clear, succinct descriptions of key features, investigations and results will help haematologists, clinical scientists, haematology trainees and haematopathologists to make accurate diagnoses in their day-to-day work.
Donated by UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

A unique point-of-care guide to clinical hematology-oncology that answers the most frequently asked questions

Widely regarded as the most authoritative introduction to the subject available, helping medical students and trainee doctors understand the essential principles of modern clinical and laboratory haematology for nearly four decades. Now in its eighth edition, this market-leading textbook introduces the formation and function of blood cells and the diseases that arise from dysfunction and disruption of these processes.

Hailed for its authority, currency, and ability to translate the latest technical and clinical advances into clinical application, Hurst’s The Heart is the field’s landmark text and cardiology’s longest continuously published reference text.

Lecture Notes: Haematology is a succinct, highly illustrated student guide to the essentials of this important field. It integrates the physiological, pathological, and clinical dimensions of haematology in a single comprehensive guide, and provides medical students and early-career clinicians with the core knowledge required to succeed in the subject. The 11th edition of this guide includes updated sections and expanded chapters detailing the newest advances in the field. Lecture Notes: Haematology, 11th edition is a valuable resource for medical students and junior doctors looking to increase their expertise in this medical specialty.
Donated by UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Neonatal Haematology This unique handbook contains comprehensive coverage of neonatal haematology and aids diagnosis via high-quality images, diagnostic algorithms, case studies, and tables. With illustrations accompanying the diagnosis at each stage and clear explanations provided throughout, the book is ideal for trainees and experts alike. To aid in reader comprehension, it is neatly organised by clinical problems and covers sample topics such as: Red cells: morphology, membrane, enzymes, and changes over the first 4 weeks of life. Haemolytic anaemias: causes of neonatal haemolysis, diagnostic clues, and immune haemolysis (haemolytic disease of the newborn). Neonatal anaemia due to blood loss: causes of blood loss, diagnostic clues, feto-maternal haemorrhage, and twin-to-twin transfusion. Haematological signs of neonatal infection: causes of neutrophil left shift, leucoerythroblastosis, and toxic granulation.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Using key scientific and clinical principles, this succinct guide provides a summary of modern day-to-day clinical practice in paediatric hematology. Focusing on the facts that underpin patient management, each chapter offers an initial summary of a particular paediatric hematologic condition. Several key clinical scenarios set out how common difficulties should be managed, from the neonate with line thrombosis, to the newly presenting patient with leukaemia, and the child who has suffered a stroke.

A full-color clinical reference covering both common and uncommon blood disorders--distilled from the world's leading hematology text Williams Manual of Hematology, Tenth Edition provides a concise, easy-to-navigate compilation of the pathogenic, diagnostic, and therapeutic essentials of blood cell and coagulation protein disorders. Referenced to the classic Williams Hematology, this portable guide has been carefully edited to deliver only the most clinical point-of-care facts, making differential diagnosis faster, easier, and more efficient. This updated edition reflects the latest research and includes more than 100 full-color clinical photographs.
Donated by UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.