LibGuides: Haematology LibGuide: Databases

UpToDate

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Login using StaffId or UpToDate personal account. UpToDate is a tool to support evidence-based clinical decision-making based on the most recent research. Search on a comprehensive range of conditions to find clinical features, diagnosis and recommended management strategies.

UpToDate has several relevant sections including:

Overview of the Myeloproliferative Neoplasms

BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
BMJ Best Practice is an evidence-based generalist point of care tool, uniquely structured around the patient consultation with advice on symptom evaluation, test ordering and treatment approach. Available via CIAP - use StaffID to login.

BMJ Best Practice has a Speciality Guide for Haematology in the form of an A-Z of topics including Leukemia. Sickle cell anaemia, Osler's disease etc.

Finding journal articles via databases

Have you tried our new CLIN Libraries website - our improved one stop shop to search across all the Libraries' and CIAP's online resources?

Access from a personal device:
You can use your StaffID to access NSW Health CIAP resources off-site.
SWSLHD CLIN Library subscriptions are accessed via an Athens account.

CIAP Databases This link opens in a new window
CIAP provides access to a number of databases which enable NSW Health staff and students on placement to conduct literature searches. These include:
* Medline (Medicine | Nursing | Dentistry | Preclinical Science)
* Embase (Biomedical | Pharmaceutical | Health Policy | Nursing) - particularly strong for European content
* Emcare (Nursing | Allied Health)
* PsycINFO (Psychology | Education | Behaviour)
* Proquest (Nursing & Allied Health)
* PubMed (US National Library of Medicine - open access records)
* Maternity & Infant Care
* Lit Search (Lowitja Institute) (Aboriginal and Torrres Strait Islander focus)
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is an authoritative nursing and allied health database containing full text for many of the most used journals found in the index. Access via Athens - SWSLHD CLIN Libraries' subscription
Medline via CIAP This link opens in a new window
Medline is the US National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic medical database that contains more than 28 million references to journal articles in life sciences. Articles are indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MESH) which enable sophisticated and precise searches.
Proquest Health Research Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes books and journal articles relevant to medicine, nursing, allied health, psychology, health management and administration and public health. Access via Athens - SWSLHD CLIN Libraries' subscription.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.