Healthcare Management LibGuide

When physicians and nurses suffer from burnout, patients suffer as well. This book pinpoints the how and why and shows what healthcare providers and their organizations can do.

The motivational classic with more than 1.5 million copies sold will help you stop procrastinating and get more of the important things done--today! Successful people don't try to do everything.

Zachary Wong offers practical strategies, skills, and tools to help project managers diagnose and solve their toughest people problems. Based on decades in the trenches, the book shows how to confront and correct bad behavior, increase team performance and inclusion, turn around difficult people and poor performers, get people to do what you want them to do, boost employee motivation and attitude, reduce change resistance and risk aversion, and manage difficult bosses.

Technologies shape who we are, how we organize our societies and how we relate to nature. For example, social media challenges democracy; artificial intelligence raises the question of what is unique to humans; and the possibility to create artificial wombs may affect notions of motherhood and birth. Some have suggested that we address global warming by engineering the climate, but how does this impact our responsibility to future generations and our relation to nature?This book shows how technologies can be socially and conceptually disruptive and investigates how to come to terms with this disruptive potential. Four technologies are studied: social media, social robots, climate engineering, and artificial wombs.

This book offers practical guidance for teams and organizations who are serious about success in the modern economy. With so much riding on innovation, creativity, and spark, it is essential to attract and retain quality talent--but what good does this talent do if no one is able to speak their mind? The traditional culture of "fitting in" and "going along" spells doom in the knowledge economy. Success requires a continuous influx of new ideas, new challenges, and critical thought, and the interpersonal climate must not suppress, silence, ridicule or intimidate.

While it has become fashionable in the arena of international health to think about health systems, the theoretical underpinning of Niklas Luhmann's vast and productive theory has been given too little consideration in the field. It is rich in concepts that can facilitate a fuller understanding of what health systems are. João Costa applies these concepts and shows the analytical possibilities they open up. He argues concisely how Luhmann's Social Systems Theory offers an integrated theoretical body as well as a consistent articulation of concepts that can lay the groundwork for a vastly improved health systems thinking.

Examines health care management, particularly in developing countries, along with the key aspects of universal health required to address current global health issues. This new volume begins with an overview of the concept and definition of "Health for All." The book covers how international organizations like the WHO support national health authorities in managing their core healthcare systems, support healthcare workforces, utilize technologies like health information systems, ensure health coverage and funding, and provide primary healthcare education.

Good leadership and governance at all levels of the healthcare system is necessary for better performance of the system and health outcomes. Lack of good leadership and governance practices can lead to misuse of health system inputs such as human resources, health commodities and financial resources hence lowering the quality of services delivered. Thus, this guide was developed through collaborative efforts envisioned to respond to the needs of improving good governance practices at the primary healthcare level in resource-limited healthcare systems.

Leadership & Management: Theory & Practice is a key text for business education. It uses everyday business terms and language, and puts management in contexts you can understand, as well as developing and strengthening your skills in areas such as managing poor performance, being more directive and solving problems.

Unlock the secrets to effective nursing leadership with this essential guide In the ever-evolving landscape of healthcare, leadership capability is a vital skill for nurses, however, leadership development and application within the field is rarely addressed during training. This essential resource ensures nurses are equipped with the guidance needed to develop as effective and resilient leaders within the workplace. Centred on the clinical nurse's perspective, this text serves as a practical guide to applying nursing leadership concepts and provides a timely and authoritative overview of what it means to be a nurse leader in the health service.

Provides practical tools, tips, and strategies for running a unit that were not taught in nursing school:* Operating and capital budget development and planning for the year* Formulas and calculations for full-time employee hours, variances, and benefit costs* Explanation of financial statements, budgets, and reimbursement documents* The relationship between high reliability organizations (HROs) and finance/budgets* Differences between not-for-profit and for-profit institutions

This book couples the essentials of clinical leadership with a practical approach to help readers be effective clinical leaders and managers. Beginning with a theoretical analysis it then focuses on practical ways of being a good manager and leader and the day-to-day requirements of a consultant working within a multi-professional clinical team.

Every day, doctors are faced with the challenge of keeping the people they treat safe and free from harm. Patient safety is a relatively new field of study, but the field is expanding and there is now better understanding of what is needed to measure and achieve safety for patients. The Handbook of Patient Safety will empower doctors, nurses and other professionals to be able to develop safe clinical processes that allow proactive management and minimisation of risk, so that people are not harmed when they receive clinical care.

The Handbook of Quality Improvement in Healthcare systematically covers the most modern theories and methods of improvement and implementation science in a practical and easy to follow format. It focusses on key challenges in healthcare, such as developing safe person-centred care, ensuring equity of care, meeting the challenge of climate change, and ensuring that care is safe, effective, timely, and delivered efficiently.

A genuine classic this book is a practical guide to the employment process. Extensively revised, it contains forms, guidelines, and ready-to-use interview questions as well as advice on reference checking, interview methods, documentation issues, orientation programs, and applicant testing. From recruitment to orientation, this updated and accessible guide covers it all.

This practical and positive guide shows how good, effective reflection can help people to stay on track, as well as understand what is working well and what might be improved – essential skills for leaders at all levels of practice from newly qualified staff to senior managers. Supporting readers to link theory and action with reflection, the authors illustrate how practitioners can exercise their own kinds of leadership to strengthen, improve and thrive. Taking a realistic and achievable view of leadership, the book: reviews the different leadership approaches and styles that help to inform us about what makes a good leader; explores the role of emotional intelligence, appreciative intelligence and narrative intelligence in leadership, especially in complex, challenging and continually changing healthcare settings; and uses case studies and practice examples to ensure the book is relevant, current and helpful.

Provides invaluable guidance to develop the skills necessary to transform healthcare through clinical leadership within complex healthcare settings. It provides a wealth of critical information, practical tools, creative vision, and inspiration to help facilitate leadership in a wide variety of settings. Expert leaders discuss the tenets of collaborative leadership--networks, influence, and decision-making--as well as the creation of organizational environments and cultures to support practice excellence.