LIB1202 Overview of CIAP and Library Resources
This session will give an overview of the electronic resources available from the Library and on the CIAP platform (Clinical Information Access Portal). It will cover:
- How to locate the individual resources on the Library website or CIAP platform
- The variety of resources available on the Library website and CIAP
- How to use Library and CIAP resources offsite.
- How to access and download CIAP mobile apps.
LIB1201 Keeping Up To Date
Maintaining current awareness of developments in your field is essential for professional development as well as providing evidence-based patient care. This practical session will cover the use of Library databases and other resources for keeping up to date.
At the completion of the course participants will be able to:
- Set up alerts on the contents pages of relevant journals
- Save database searches and set up search alerts
- Use Google Scholar to keep up to date
- Find relevant conferences
LIB1203 Research Skills for Allied Health Staff: Library and CIAP Resources
This session is to give Allied Health staff a deeper knowledge in using Allied Health resources from the Library and on the CIAP platform. The session will also include how to search clinical databases to obtain evidence-based information.
At the end of this module you will be able to:
- Access Allied Health electronic resources available via the Library and on the CIAP platform.
- Understand how to search a variety of databases relevant to Allied Health such as CINAHL, including searching options such as subject headings, Boolean operators and how to frame and save a search.
- Understand how to find clinical guidelines
- Access and use e-books and e-journals from the Library and on the CIAP platform.
- Understand how to download mobile apps from the CIAP platform.
- Understand where to access further training and support from the Library and from CIAP eLearning modules.
LIB1204 Research Skills for Medical Staff: Library and CIAP Resources
This session is to give Medical staff a deeper knowledge in using Medical resources from the Library and on the CIAP platform. The session will also include how to search clinical databases to obtain evidence-based information.
At the end of this module you will be able to:
- Access Medical electronic resources available via the Library and on the CIAP platform.
- Access UpToDate, BMJ Best Practice, the Cochrane Library and other tools for decision support at point of care
- Understand how to search a variety of databases including searching options such as MESH subject headings, Boolean operators and how to frame and save a search.
- Understand how to find clinical guidelines
- Understand how to search MIMS and other medication databases
- Access e-books and e-journals from the Library and on the CIAP platform.
- Understand how to download mobile apps from the CIAP platform.
- Understand where to access further training and support from the Library and from CIAP
LIB1205 Research Skills for Nursing Staff: Library and CIAP Resources
This session is to give Nursing staff a deeper knowledge in using Nursing resources from the Library and on the CIAP platform. The session will also include how to search clinical databases to obtain evidence-based information.
At the end of this module you will be able to:
- Access nursing resources available via the Library and on the CIAP platform.
- Understand how to search MIMS and other medication databases
- Understand how to search a variety of databases including searching options such as MESH subject headings, Boolean operators and how to frame and save a search.
- Understand how to find clinical guidelines
- Understand how to use UpToDate, BMJ Best Practice, the Cochrane Library and JBI EBP database (Joanna Briggs Institute) and other key resources
- Access and use e-books and e-journals from the Library and on the CIAP platform.
- Understand how to download mobile apps from the CIAP platform.
- Understand where to access further training and support from the Library and from CIAP
COM12108 - CIAP Searching for Drug Resources
This session will give staff an overview of the medication databases available on the CIAP platform. It will include: how to search MIMS, use Therapeutic Guidelines (eTG) and how to access medication e-books. The session will also highlight the mobile medication apps.
At the end of this module you will be able to:
- Access and locate medication databases available on the CIAP platform.
- Understand how to search MIMS online for drug information.
- Understand how to search medication e-books, such as Therapeutic Guidelines and the Australian Medicines Handbook.
- Understand how to use the CIAP journals listing to locate drug e-journal titles.
- Understand how to download mobile apps for medication resources from the CIAP platform.
COM12112 Searching CINAHL
This session is to give Nursing and Allied Health staff an overview on how to access and use the CINAHL database.
At the end of this module you will be able to:
- Access the CINAHL database
- Understand how to search the CINAHL database
- Understand search terms and limits for keyword searching.
- Understand how to access and download evidence-based care sheets.
Book available sessions via Eventbrite from the Library Website or via My Health Learning (search on the title or course code after logging in) or contact your Library to arrange a training session or research consultation for yourself or your team.
