New Resources in Fairfield Hospital Library

Our aim in this strategy is to support individual practitioners, the registered health professions, and the broader regulatory system, to strengthen and embed a culture of ongoing learning and continuous improvement in culturally safe practice. Through this strategy, we aim to increase our understanding of the experiences of Aboriginal people in the healthcare system, through capturing data and information, to support accountability and improved, evidence-based practice.

The Secretary of NSW Health, Susan Pearce commissioned a Debrief of the NSW Health system’s response to COVID-19 for many very sound reasons. There is an increasing recognition that pandemic preparedness needs to be treated as a permanent priority, rather than following the path of those that have adopted a ‘panic and forget strategy,’ allowing system preparedness to wane. Secondly, the Secretary acknowledged the importance of providing people involved in the Response with an opportunity to share their insights of what went well, what was challenging, and lessons learnt – to avoid those that are subsequently charged with the responsibility having to bear the brunt of inaction or short memories

The Design Guide for Health: Spaces, Places and Precincts is a comprehensive document that outlines how to apply a place-based approach to the planning, design and provision of health facilities that support high-quality clinical care.

The “Developing health resources for people from refugee backgrounds: Best practice guide for NSW Health staff” aims to support NSW health services and programs to implement best practice when developing health resources to meet the needs of people from refugee, refugee-like and asylum seeker backgrounds. It guides NSW Health services and programs in the planning, development, production, post-production, and distribution phases of multilingual health information for refugee communities. We recommend using this Best Practice Guide in conjunction with the NSW Health Branding Guide, the NSW Standard Procedures for Working with Health Care Interpreters – section 3.12 Working with translators and your local translation policy and/or branding guidelines.

The Framework for the Specialist Trans and Gender Diverse Health Service for People Under 25 Years (the Framework) provides guidance on how evidence-based trans and gender diverse health care will be deliveredthrough the Specialist Trans and Gender Diverse Health Service (the TGD Health Service) to NSW Local Health Districts (LHDs) and Speciality Health Networks (SHNs). The Framework will guide treatment and care decisionsby NSW Health clinicians, private clinicians, General Practitioners (GPs), non-government organisations (NGOs), trans and gender diverse people under 25 years and their families and carers.

This document identifies procedures that, in certain patient cohorts or clinical presentations, offer little to no benefit to the patient. The procedures have been identified using current peer reviewed evidence and guidance and position statements from relevant craft groups. The identification was evidence-based. It also permits more clinically appropriate procedures to be performed in public hospitals.

The WHO Guidelines on physical activity and sedentary behaviour provide evidence-based public health recommendations for children, adolescents, adults and older adults on the amount of physical activity (frequency, intensity and duration) required to offer significant health benefits and mitigate health risks. For the first time, recommendations are provided on the associations between sedentary behaviour and health outcomes, as well as for subpopulations, such as pregnant and postpartum women, and people living with chronic conditions or disability.

Clinical assessment is at the heart of medicine. This book teaches the reader how to gather clinical information effectively, accurately and safely even when time is at a premium. Using a focused and evidence-based approach, it provides step-by-step assessment strategies for common and important clinical scenarios, particularly those that require 'lateral' and holistic thinking, such as falls in the elderly, weight loss, 'tired all the time' and assessment of diabetic or homeless people. This second edition of The 10-Minute Clinical Assessment is fully updated in line with the latest guidelines and includes brand new general chapters on focused clinical assessment, red flags, and useful consultation tools. It covers a wide range of common and important topics, including cardiovascular, respiratory, haematology, musculoskeletal, neurology, mental health, gynaecology, obstetrics, urology, ophthalmology and ear, nose and throat. This new edition also includes sections on undifferentiated and miscellaneous presentations, on paediatrics and adolescent health; and on problems in older people.

Children with Disabilities is the gold-standard text on working effectively with children and families. Now this authoritative resource is in its eighth edition, enhanced with new chapters on critical topics, the latest evidence-based practices, updated instructor materials, and guidance on working with a wide range of professionals to address every aspect of child health and well-being. This new edition is an unparalleled compendium of information about developmental, clinical, family, education, and intervention issues, from birth through adolescence. Every chapter has been meticulously peer-reviewed, and content has been updated throughout to reflect important new research and developments in diverse fields. Comprehensive coverage of contemporary issues makes this volume an indispensable reference for practicing professionals, and the student-friendly features and multimedia instructor materials make it the ultimate textbook for courses on disability.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School 2023.

Clinical Guide to Paediatrics enables rapid reference to the common paediatric conditions, symptoms, and practical concerns seen in day-to-day practice. Focused on making differential diagnoses in acute settings, this comprehensive resource offers step-by-step guidance on clinical decision-making, investigations, and interventions. Junior doctors and medical students are provided with a clear and up-to-date evidence base supported by numerous diagnostic algorithms, diagrams, tables and bullet points throughout. Organised into systems-based sections, the guide covers paediatric history taking, examination techniques, pharmacology, safeguarding, and a range of different diagnoses for presenting complaints in cardiology, infection and immunology, neurology, gastroenterology, accidents, poisoning, and more. Succinct chapters are logically structured to allow easy access to important concepts, key clinical details, and plans of investigation.

What you really need to know, but no-one told you. The best-selling Essential Guide to Acute Care contains everything you need to know about acute care that you can't find in a standard textbook. The third edition has been extensively revised and updated, presenting new oxygen guidelines, updated evidence and practice around sepsis, fluid balance and volume resuscitation, acute kidney injury, perioperative care, and much more. The third edition retains the accessible style and comprehensive coverage that has made Essential Guide to Acute Care essential reading for those who look after acutely ill adults. Throughout the book, 'mini-tutorials' expand on the latest thinking or controversies, and there are practical case histories to reinforce learning at the end of each chapter. The chapters are designed to be read by individuals or used for teaching material in tutorials.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Essential Surgery is well-established as one of the leading textbooks of surgery for medical students, core surgical trainees and those in professions allied to medicine. Covering general surgery, trauma, orthopaedics, vascular surgery, urology, paediatric surgery, cardiothoracic surgery, neurosurgery, maxillofacial surgery and ENT, it also incorporates appropriate levels of basic science throughout. The book is ideal to accompany clinical courses, as well as being a practical manual for readers at more advanced levels requiring a revision aid for exams. Its main aim is to stimulate the reader to a greater enjoyment and understanding of the practice of surgery.

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Providing summaries of the latest and best publications, clinical trials, and evidence in endocrinology, this portable handbook is a time-saving addition to your professional library. In a concise, easy-to-read format, it offers evidence-based recommendations for the diagnosis and treatment of endocrine disorders and provides a comprehensive summary of pertinent clinical studies supporting the practice recommendations.   Covers the major areas of endocrinology: hypothalamic-pituitary, thyroid, adrenal, metabolic bone, reproductive, diabetes, lipid disorders, obesity and nutrition, endocrine malignancies, and genetics Features hundreds of new references and careful revision of every chapter to bring you up to date Provides updated tables for quick reference Presents a comprehensive update of new therapies and the latest clinical guidelines for diabetes, thyroid, and metabolic bone diseases Includes a new chapter on the management of transgender patients
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

The only handbook to cover both endoscopic and non-endoscopic GI procedures, Handbook of Gastroenterologic Procedures, 5th Edition, has been extensively revised and reorganized to be even more useful as a quick reference in your practice. New editors, 20 new chapters, and a concise, pocket-sized format make it a must-have resource for clinicians involved in any aspect of gastroenterologic procedures. Comprehensive yet succinct coverage of all diagnostic and therapeutic GI procedures--both endoscopic and non-endoscopic--in current use for adult and pediatric patients. A concise, logically structured format includes indications, contraindications, patient preparation, equipment, technique, post-procedure care, and adverse events. New chapters include balloon-assisted enteroscopy, placement of colonic self-expandable metal stents, endoscopic ultrasound-guided biopsies and drainage, endoscopic submucosal dissection, peroral endoscopic myotomy, and management of post-surgical adverse events.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

The first few months as a trainee anaesthetist are a daunting prospect, filled with new information, skills and terminology. This concise reference, now in its fifth edition, provides doctors with a clear introduction to the practice. Fully updated and split into four key parts for quick consultation, the reader can recap on the airway and anaesthetic equipment, and find crucial advice on crises such as cardiac arrest, haemorrhage and blood transfusion. Part III focuses on subspecialties, with new chapters on obstetric anaesthesia, common regional nerve blocks, and laparoscopy, while the newly added fourth part provides information on intensive care and peri-operative medicine. Written in an accessible and often humorous style, How to Survive in Anaesthesia is an essential resource in learning the safe fundamentals of the practice for trainee anaesthetists, as well as operating department practitioners, physicians' assistants and anaesthetic nurses.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School 2023.

Assumes no prior knowledge of statistics. Covers all essential statistical methods. Completely revised, updated and expanded. Includes numerous examples and exercises on the interpretation of the statistics in papers published in medical journals. Includes a companion website with downloadable data, new separate chapters on topics such as logistic regression; diagnostic tests; assessing the quality of statistics/reading the statistics in a scientific paper and other statistical methods (such as meta-analysis; the bootstrap; imputation of missing data and summary measures for analysing longitudinal data) and additional sections on designs such as pilot/feasibility studies; cluster and stepped wedge randomised controlled trials.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School 2023.

Paediatric Endocrinology and Diabetes looks at issues in children arising from either deficient or excessive production of hormones; chemical messengers secreted into the blood stream from specialised glands. It contains information on endocrine glands, diabetes and its management, andclinical problems such as short stature, puberty and obesity.Written by two senior clinicians, the fully revised second edition offers evidence-based guidance to practitioners in the field. With bullet points, illustrations and clinical tips, the information in this comprehensive handbook is easy to access. Presented in pocket size, this it is the ideal source to have on the ward.

This comprehensive textbook is the surgical companion to the international bestseller, Davidson's Principles and Practice of Medicine. It provides an overview of core surgical topics encountered in an integrated medical curriculum and, later, in the clinical setting. The book takes a succinct and practical approach to the understanding of surgical disease and care of the surgical patient.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

This book provides readers with an anaesthesia-focused alternative to general physiology textbooks. The new edition has been reorganised with the trainee anaesthesist in mind, into shorter bite-sized chapters ideal for exam revision. The content includes the physiology of all major organ systems, with specific emphasis on the nervous, respiratory, and cardiovascular systems as well as special sections on pain, aging, specific environments and obesity. Alongside the learning objectives, reflection points and a handy summary of physiological equations and tables, there is greater emphasis on clinical application in this fourth edition, with applied physiology included in almost every section.

Presented in the context of clinical cases, this unique resource steps medical students through the most common cardiology problems encountered on the ward and discusses the evidence-based treatments used in practice. This problem-based learning mirrors clinical practice, providing a useful clinical approach for students to carry throughout their careers. Written by Atifur Rahman and Simon O'Connor, Problem Based Cardiology Cases includes considered and wide-ranging coverage of everyday cardiology encounters - from basic bedside issues to controversial and advanced aspects of cardiology. The only local text of its kind is richly referenced with Australian guidelines, while at the same time incorporates a global element by summarising up-to-date literature and landmark clinical trials from around the world. Cardiology cases, which include: treatment pathways and guidelines; summaries of symptoms, drugs and evidence; images taken from real patient cases.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

This revision guide contains Extended Matching Questions (EMQs) and Observed Structured Clinical Examinations (OSCEs) that comprehensively cover the major topics in Psychiatry likely to be tested at medical school. It will also be an invaluable resource to those taking other exams such as the PLAB and postgraduate Psychiatry examinations. Part 1 comprises 58 EMQs, divided into 8 chapters, covering questions on mental state examinations, general adult psychiatry, developmental and organic disorders, treatments, and management issues. Most EMQs focus on a particular presentation or issue and are based on clinical vignettes that describe a clinical scenario. Each EMQ is organized as five stems with 10 possible choices and answers to each EMQ are given at the end of each chapter with additional notes clarifying specific options not covered in the questions. Part 2 covers OSCEs, which are based on common clinical scenarios and stations frequently encountered in exams. The 23 questions cover history-taking, communication, and practical stations. Ideal for medical students and junior doctors, this book is intended to complement rather than replace other psychiatry books, and will help students develop a better understanding of the clinical aspects of psychiatry.

This is an indispensable companion to the 'Sunflower book' - the highly acclaimed Illustrated Textbook of Paediatrics (6th Edition). It is essential for those who wish to test or improve their learning, or for exam revision for undergraduate or early postgraduate speciality exams. It includes high quality questions, some including images or diagrams, on  important topics covering the paediatrics and child health curriculum. Explanations about both correct and incorrect answers are provided. The authors are highly experienced examiners and question writers, ensuring that the questions are similar to those encountered in exams or help explain difficult topics. Over 250 Single Best Answer questions Over 200 question stems for Extended Matching questions Explanations provided not only of the correct but also of incorrect answers Clinical photographs included to ask questions about clinical signs.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School 2023.

Understanding the Australian Health Care System 4e is the essential guide to the complexities of health care in Australia. Key theoretical concepts and current issues along with the structures and policies influencing health care professionals are explored by leading experts led by authors, Eileen Willis, Louise Reynolds and Trudy Rudge. The text is divided into two sections. The first is about the multiple systems, services and schemes that make up health care in Australia. The second explores the roles of fifteen health professions working within the current system, with a focus on key themes of interprofessional practice, chronic illness, and quality and safety.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

A full-color clinical reference covering both common and uncommon blood disorders--distilled from the world's leading hematology text Williams Manual of Hematology, Tenth Edition provides a concise, easy-to-navigate compilation of the pathogenic, diagnostic, and therapeutic essentials of blood cell and coagulation protein disorders. Referenced to the classic Williams Hematology, this portable guide has been carefully edited to deliver only the most clinical point-of-care facts, making differential diagnosis faster, easier, and more efficient. This updated edition reflects the latest research and includes more than 100 full-color clinical photographs.
Donated by UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.