New Resources in Fairfield Hospital Library

Ecosystem services are the benefits that society obtains from ecosystems, such as food, clean water and air. This review investigates the health benefits provided by 3 ecosystem services: air filtration, local climate regulation, and recreation. The review found ecosystem services provide many benefits to human health including respiratory, cardiovascular and mental health benefits.

This clinical practice guide is intended for use by clinicians in primary health networks and local health districts, as well as primary care practitioners across NSW who provide care to adults aged 16 years and older with a history of COVID-19 diagnosis, regardless of severity or COVID-19 variant of concern.

The Guide Book has been written primarily to provide mental health practitioners who apply the Act on a regular basis with a clear and practical source of information about the procedures to be followed and issues to be considered in preparing for hearings before the Mental Health Review Tribunal. However, it is also hoped that it will be useful to those who are involved in providing support and advice to consumers and carers.

This report explores the use of linked data to report on the health of CALD populations, including it’s benefits, challenges and limitations. It investigates each of the available CALD variables individually, using 3 health outcomes to explore differences between CALD groups within each CALD variable.

Road Map 3 is a strategic framework that draws on the deep understanding of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health and medical research contributed by researchers, health workers, government officials and community leaders during an extensive consultation process.

This clinical care standard describes the key components of care that women can expect when they are pregnant or experience a third or fourth degree perineal tear during birth. It supports the provision of high-quality, evidence based care, taking into account the context in which care is provided, local variation and the quality improvement priorities of the individual health services.

This clinical care standard describes the key components of care that patients can expect when they have anaphylaxis. It supports the provision of high-quality, evidence-based care, which should take into account the context in which care is provided, local variation and the quality improvement priorities of the individual health services.

This time-saving resource helps medical students master the rationale behind antibiotic selection for common bacterial pathogens and infectious diseases. Updated content reflects the latest antibiotic medications available on the market, and new full-color illustrations strengthen users' understanding of the application of antibiotic drug treatment. Succinct, practical guidelines simplify challenging content for easier understanding. Additional pearls emphasize mnemonics and enhance retention of critical information. Remember boxes, History boxes, and drug tables save time with fast access to key information for selecting anti-infection agents. Extensive review cases and questions reinforce learning and clinical application.

Concise, compact, fully-illustrated and easy to read, Arrhythmia Essentials, 2nd Edition provides detailed, practical information on recognizing and treating heart rhythm disturbances for clinicians with any level of expertise. The author team, led by renowned authority in cardiac electrophysiology, Dr. Brian Olshansky, guides you skillfully through the different types of arrhythmias and how they present on ECGs. You'll find specific examples of each arrhythmia, numerous algorithms to facilitate an approach to arrhythmia diagnosis and management, updates on medical therapy, and indications for implantable rhythm management devices and ablation - all in a convenient, softcover volume that's perfect for on-the-go reference. Includes numerous therapy/guideline tables and treatment algorithms. Offers new coverage of managing arrhythmias during pregnancy and expanded information on athletes and arrhythmias. Incorporates recommendations based on recent published guidelines.

Now in a thoroughly revised 10th Edition, this highly respected reference is an authoritative clinical resource for neonatal practitioners. Provides up-to-date information on every aspect of newborn evaluation and management in a new, visually improved format featuring more than 500 all-new, full-color illustrations integrated within each chapter Includes greatly expanded Neurology and Hematology sections that highlight the knowledge and expertise of new co-editor, Dr. Sandra E. Juul Features all-new chapters on Palliative Care, Gastroesophageal Reflux, Platelet Disorders, Transfusion Therapy, Hypertension, , and The Ear and Hearing Disorders, as well as expanded coverage of brain injury and neuroprotective strategies in the preterm and term infant Contains new Key Points boxes at the beginning of every chapter.

This textbook provides an overview of child and adolescent mental health. The text covers all core aspects on the subject, from the importance of knowing why mental health in children is important, to how to assess, formulate and treat a variety of presentations seen in children and young people. Beginning with an overview of conditions and the background to emotional and behavioural problems, the book examines the different models and tools used to assess and treat children and young people and provides an outline of the practitioners working to help this population. Chapters consider the many diverse identities and groups within the population, addressing specific problems encountered in children, young people and their families from different cultural backgrounds. This revised edition addresses issues of current public debate such as gender identity and the role of social media in children's and young people's development and behaviour.

This highly regarded textbook provides comprehensive coverage of gynaecology, reproductive health, obstetrics and on-call for O&G. It has been thoroughly updated to incorporate significant developments in clinical care, including in prenatal diagnosis and screening, COVID-19 management, antenatal and postnatal care, and telemedicine abortion practices. With full colour illustrations, self-assessment questions and additional online material to reinforce learning, this is a valuable resource for medical students, junior doctors, midwives, nurses and for healthcare practitioners from other specialties seeking a broad-based grounding in O&G.

This clinical practice guide is intended for use by clinicians in primary health networks and local health districts, as well as primary care practitioners across NSW who provide care to adults aged 16 years and older with a history of COVID-19 diagnosis, regardless of severity or COVID-19 variant of concern.

This invaluable book is a concise companion to the ninth edition of Last's Anatomy, the leading anatomy text for trainee surgeons in Australia and New Zealand. The Companion guide summarises the relevant anatomy information of each section of Last's Anatomy, providing useful diagrams and prosection images that will answer immediate anatomy questions for time-poor students, and encourage them to dive deeper into the full version. Suitable for undergraduate and postgraduate medical, anatomy, physiotherapy and nursing students, the companion provides the key learning outcomes needed to pass the anatomy component of the General Surgical Science Examination, while providing an indispensable reference to support their work on the wards.

This book breaks down everything you need to know about translating your research project into an effective research poster. Learn the basic elements of good poster design Ensure your poster captures all the relevant aspects of your research Understand how to tell a story with your poster.

From understanding the concepts of research and gathering data, to writing it all up and sharing knowledge, this book will guide your students to become researchers by giving them: a confident start with clarity on core concepts and getting it right ethically step-by-step guidance at each point in the research process, showing them diversity in approaches, the impact of context and how to overcome problems case studies of how real researchers embrace the challenges, surprises and successes of research an emphasis on the person in context, so their research is reflective of the realities of social work and social care practice a guide to writing it up and achieving impact and positive change with research.

ECG in Emergency Medicine and Acute Care provides a comprehensive, clinically relevant resource on electrocardiography for those who care for patients in the emergency setting. The book provides succinct information on ECG abnormalities and their aetiologic differential diagnoses, diagnostic criteria for the ECG manifestations of various clinical diseases/entities, and many 12-lead ECG examples for review.

Essentials of Pain Medicine presents a complete, full-color overview of today's theory and practice of pain medicine and regional anesthesia. It provides practical guidance on the full range of today's pharmacologic, interventional, neuromodulative, physiotherapeutic, and psychological management options for the evaluation, treatment, and rehabilitation of persons in pain. Covers all you need to know to stay up to date in practice and excel at examinations - everything from basic considerations through local anesthetics, nerve block techniques, acupuncture, cancer pain, and much more. Uses a practical, quick-reference format with short, easy-to-read chapters.

This authoritative text identifies and summarises the many factors that have produced the current problems in medical research, including bias in randomised controlled trials, questionable research practices, falsified data, manipulated findings, and more.  This volume brings together the findings from meta-research studies and systematic reviews to explore the quality of clinical trials and other medical research, explaining the character and consequences of poor-quality medical evidence using clear language and a wealth of supporting references. The text suggests planning strategies to transform the research process and provides an extensive list of the actions that could be taken by researchers, regulators, and other key stakeholders to address defects in medical evidence.

Brings together information that is central to the professional, ethical and legal requirements of being a doctor. Covers a core curriculum for medical students, doctors in training and international medical graduates preparing for the Australian Medical Council examinations. Breen from National Health & Med Research Council, Australia.

The ninth edition of Last's Anatomy, Revised Edition examines the anatomy of the human body on a regional basis. It emphasises the clinical and applied aspects of the subject for undergraduates and postgraduate trainees in medicine, surgery and dentistry. Beginning with an introduction to regional anatomy it covers the upper and lower limbs, thorax, abdomen, head, neck, spine, central nervous system and osteology of the skull.

Medicine in a Day provides the trusted information you need most when time is short. Each chapter can be read in an hour, covering the medical and surgical specialties, Radiology, Anaesthetics and Critical Care, Emergency Medicine, Paediatrics, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Psychiatry, Infectious Diseases, Clinical Epidemiology, commonly prescribed medications and more. The essential knowledge for each topic is presented simply and concisely, supported by bespoke illustrations. A large, carefully selected image collection reflects the views most commonly seen in exams, and includes X-rays, ECGs, CTs and clinical photographs, with dermatological conditions shown for diverse skin tones.

The Opioid Analgesic Stewardship in Acute Pain Clinical Care Standard describes the key components of care that patients can expect when they are prescribed opioid analgesics for acute pain in acute care settings.

Using a practical, case-based  presentation, Pediatric Diagnostic Medicine helps you develop diagnostic skills, gain further knowledge through interesting cases, and improve critical thinking to reach a correct diagnosis. This unique case collection is an invaluable resource for pediatricians, residents, hospitalists, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and anyone who provides care to children. Teaches how to think about a patient's symptoms, dissect the issues, think backwards, and arrive at the correct diagnosis.  Presents notable clinical cases starting with the presenting symptoms and then discussing vital signs, patient and family history, lab results, consults, differential diagnoses, and the ultimate diagnosis, finishing each case with teaching points. 

This clinical care standard was developed to address the need for national clinical guidance to support improvements in the delivery of sepsis care in healthcare services. While some state and territory health departments have well-developed sepsis pathways, others do not as yet. In addition, private hospital, ambulance, pre-hospital and retrieval services, and primary and community healthcare
services may not be represented in the existing state and territory sepsis clinical pathways.

Shine on rounds with this pocket-sized quick reference, now covering several core rotations in one resource!   Ideal for medical students, PAs and NPs, this pocket-sized quick reference helps students hone the clinical reasoning and documentation skills needed for effective practice in internal medicine, pediatrics, OB/GYN, surgery, emergency medicine, and psychiatry. This updated edition offers step-by-step guidance on how to properly document patient care as it addresses the most common clinical problems encountered on the wards and clinics. Emphasizing the patient's clinical problem, not the diagnosis, the book's at-a-glance, two-page layout uses the familiar SOAP note format.

The intention of this document is to support the implementation of trauma-informed care in mental health services across New South Wales. The framework identifies what good practice looks like for mental health systems, services and staff and includes related actions.