New Resources in Fairfield Hospital Library

This report uses linked National Integrated Health Services Information data to describe the characteristics of a cohort of first hip fracture patients, their discharge pathway and rate of readmission, second hip fracture and mortality following hip fracture. The data are presented for the reference period between 1 July 2013 and 30 June 2017, which establishes a baseline that will allow future population monitoring work on hip fracture incidence, management and outcomes.

The past decade has seen increasing injuries related to extreme weather. In the ten years from 2012–13 to 2021–22 there were 9,119 hospitalisations in Australia with direct evidence of extreme weather-related injury. In three years out of the ten, hospitalisations for this type of injury exceeded 1,000 cases, with extreme heat causing the largest proportion of injuries. From 2011–12 to 2020–21 there were also 677 extreme weather-related injury deaths– an average of 68 per year.

The Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care has developed evidence- and consensus-based recommendations for the use of PROMs for low back pain. These recommendations are intended to maximise the clinical usefulness of PROMs and minimise survey fatigue. There are recommended PROMs for measuring the outcomes important to people with low back pain receiving either non-surgical or surgical interventions.

This clinical care standard relates to the health care that people of all ages including children and adolescents with cognitive disability or impairment should receive to optimise the prescribing and use of psychotropic medicines.

This unique book presents a wealth of information on common presentations and illnesses, presented as medical case studies. It is useful for exam preparation, as a quick reference guide for working doctors, and as an interesting read for all those interested in medicine. 250 Clinical Cases covers a wide variety of conditions, providing in-depth insights into the most relevant topics, classified by system. Cases are accompanied by common viva voce examination questions as well as more advanced level questions that will help the reader develop a deeper understanding. Now in its sixth edition, the book has been fully updated to reflect current evidence and relevance for working doctors.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

This second edition of '320 Single Best Answer Questions for Final Year Medical Students' is an invaluable resource for medical students preparing for their final examinations. Additionally, the breadth of topics covered and detailed answers expands the versatility of this book to a larger audience including doctors preparing for postgraduate exams and other allied healthcare professionals who will be examined in general internal medicine. The 320 questions are divided into 11 commonly tested areas of medicine, surgery and sub-specialities. They are designed to provide a comprehensive coverage of the medical school curriculum and to allow practice by speciality or random selection. The questions are written in the format of medical final examinations.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Abernathy's Surgical Secrets, 7th Edition, covers the full range of essential topics in general surgery for in-training or practicing professionals. Written by global experts and thought leaders in surgery. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Fully updated throughout, with clear illustrations, figures, and flow diagrams that expedite study and review.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

The only text to focus specifically on advanced health assessment/management of women This authoritative text for busy clinicians, advanced practice students, and faculty delivers essential content focused on improving the quality of healthcare provided to women/persons with a vagina across the lifespan. Brimming with new and updated content, the fifth edition reflects the most current evidence-based clinical practice guidelines available. It includes 14 new chapters written by experts in their field and the addition of disease management content, especially medications. It defines the role, skills, and scope of practice of different health providers and illuminates a variety of assessment skills, techniques, and procedures used by advanced practice clinicians in everyday practice.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Anesthesia Secrets, 6th Edition offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in the practice of anesthesiology. Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. New chapters on Electrocardiogram Interpretation, Cardiac Physiology, Vasoactive Agents, Volume Assessment, Blood Pressure Disturbances, Mechanical Ventilation Strategies, Perioperative Point-of-Care Ultrasound and Echocardiography, Neuraxial Techniques, Peripheral Nerve and Trunk Blocks, Patient Safety, and Medical Ethics.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Wound dressings aim to promote healing and reduce infection risk for patients, however, this can only be achieved by practising with an aseptic technique. Aseptic technique is an infection control measure, which helps to reduce the presence of pathogenic organisms coming in contact with a wound.

The Breastfeeding Handbook for Physicians, 3rd Edition, is the definitive resource on breastfeeding initiation, maintenance, support, and advocacy. Jointly developed by the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG), this must-have handbook features the most important and up-to-date developments in breastfeeding practice, research, policies, and outreach guidance, assembled by an expert physician panel. The third edition contains a wealth of practice-focused advice based on frontline clinical experience and the latest evidence for breastfeeding.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Focusing solely on the surgical techniques critical in helping achieve optimal patient outcomes, Campbell's Core Orthopaedic Procedures, 2nd Edition, is an ideal resource for orthopaedic and sports medicine surgeons and trainees who need a practical resource covering the top procedures in the field. This succinct, well-illustrated reference features step-by-step procedures used at the Campbell Clinic, offering practical, concise solutions you can trust for the patient scenarios you’re most likely to encounter.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

With more than 50 real-world cases, Clinical Cases in Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Womenâs Health 3e covers a range of obstetric and gynaecological problems likely to be encountered by busy junior doctors and general practitioners. Written by experienced obstetricians and gynaecologists and following the core medical school curricula in Australia, New Zealand and the United Kingdom, this pocket-sized book is an invaluable resource for medical students and clinicians.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School .

Offering a strong focus on investigative methods and action strategies for diagnosis of musculoskeletal issues, Clinical Diagnosis in Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation: Case by Case is a must-have resource for quick reference during daily rounds, as well as a handy study and review tool for oral boards. This portable reference covers what approaches to take when a patient presents with specific musculoskeletal issues (including differential diagnoses possibilities), what tests are appropriate to order, how to determine the relevance of results, and what treatment options to consider. Practical and easy to use, it helps you apply foundational knowledge to everyday clinical situations.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

This comprehensive and much-needed guide addresses the issues faced by clinicians in assessing and treating the range of mental health conditions, which can affect adults with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD). Its particular focus on adults fills a notable gap in the ASD professional literature, with an extensive array of contributors from across the psychology and healthcare professions. Covering a wide variety of common co-occurring mental health conditions including mood disorders, anxiety, psychosis, OCD, personality disorders, and eating disorders, this guide also explores broader issues to do with promoting positive mental health and wellbeing.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

The examination for Membership of the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (MRCOG) remains one of the most internationally recognised postgraduate examinations in the specialty. Over the years, the examination has evolved in keeping with changes in medical education; the Part 3 examination now consists of 14 tasks, each covering one of the 14 core modules in the curriculum and assessing specific skills which may include all or some of Information Gathering, Communication with Patients and Families, Communication with Colleagues, Patient Safety, and Applied Clinical Knowledge.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

The examination for Membership of the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (MRCOG) remains one of the most internationally recognised postgraduate examinations in the specialty. Over the years, the examination has evolved in keeping with changes in medical education; the Part 2 examination now consists of two papers made up of Single Best Answer (SBA) questions and Extended Matching Questions (EMQ). This invaluable resource consists of 400 SBA questions (200 in Obstetrics and 200 in Gynaecology), followed by 400 EMQs (200 in Obstetrics and 200 in Gynaecology), grouped into papers, to provide enough material to guide preparations and to give some practice experience of the examination formats. There is also general advice on how to prepare for the examination and discussion of the reasons why trainees fail the examination.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

Geared toward physiatrists, neurologists, primary care physicians, and rehabilitation professionals, this book provides the key information you need to guide your treatment plans and help patients recover after concussion. Consolidates the most current information and guidance in this challenging and diverse area into one convenient resource. Covers acute management of concussions, diagnostic criteria, neuroimaging, biomarkers, chronic traumatic encephalopathy and return-to-play, school, and duty protocols. Discusses special populations, including pediatrics, sports, military, and veteran patients. Covers post-concussive syndrome and its management of sequelae after concussion.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

With concise, full-color coverage of this rapidly enlarging field, Critical Care Handbook of the Massachusetts General Hospital, Seventh Edition, is your go-to guide for practical, complete, and current information on medical and surgical critical care. An at-a-glance outline format and portable size make it an essential manual for medical students, residents with rotations in ICUs, and physicians and nurses who work in critical care. Reflects a multidisciplinary approach throughout, in a convenient size for on-the-go reference.   Contains well-written, comprehensive coverage of general principles, specific considerations such as ARDS, and health care services such as ICU handoffs and transitions  Uses an efficient outline format with bolded key words and concepts  Includes new chapters on critical care management of COVID-19, heart failure, and pulmonary hypertension.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

For undergraduate or post-graduate courses with a specific focus on managerial skills. Developing Management Skills is also well suited to corporate professional development training courses or simply as a resource for professionals seeking to become better managers. Develop the personal, interpersonal and group skills vital to achieving outstanding success in today's workplace with Developing Management Skills. This practical, hands-on style resource incorporates in-text exercises and role-playing assignments.

Diabetes Secrets offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. Up-to-date coverage of the full range of topics in diabetes, including diabetes during pregnancy; diabetes management in cancer patients; diabetes management during exercise, sports, and competition; diabetes management in hospitalized patients, and more. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from global leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Written by global experts and thought leaders in diabetes.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Master the evaluation and treatment of swallowing disorders! Dysphagia: Clinical Management in Adults and Children, 3rd Edition provides the information you need to diagnose and manage dysphagia in patients of all ages. Emphasizing evidence-based practice, this complete resource covers topics from esophageal disorders to respiratory and iatrogenic disorders. This edition adds a new Aging and Dysphagia chapter and is updated with the latest research and advances in dysphagia management. Emphasis on evidence-based practice prepares you to make and then properly support your diagnostic and treatment decisions. Case histories promote critical thinking in realistic clinical situations. Critical thinking questions help you assess your knowledge and reinforce understanding of the material.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Egan's Fundamentals of Respiratory Care, 12th Edition provides a solid foundation in respiratory care and covers the latest advances in this ever-changing field. Known as "the bible for respiratory care," this text makes it easy to understand the role of the respiratory therapist, the scientific basis for treatment, and clinical applications. Comprehensive chapters correlate to the 2020 NBRC Exam matrices, preparing you for clinical and exam success. Updated content reflects the newest advances in respiratory care, preparing you to succeed in today's health care environment. Decision trees developed by hospitals highlight the use of therapist-driven protocols to assess a patient, initiate care, and evaluate outcomes. Rules of Thumb highlight rules, formulas, and key points that are important to clinical practice.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

The eighth edition of this international bestselling emergency medicine handbook has been completely revised and updated to include the latest evidence-based guidelines and treatment protocols underpinning best practice in emergency medical care. Carefully designed to suit the needs of interns and resident doctors working in the emergency department as well as specialist trainees, the book covers the full range of emergencies - general medical, infectious disease and foreign travel-related, toxicological, surgical, paediatric, obstetric and gynaecological, ophthalmic and psychiatric - as well as practical procedures and administrative and legal issues.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Emergency Medicine Secrets, 7th Edition, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. Approx. 35 illustrations
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Trauma is a leading cause of death and disability around the world, and the leading cause of death in those aged under forty-five years. Conditions such as airway obstruction, hemorrhage, pneumothorax, tamponade, bowel rupture, vascular injury, and pelvic fracture can cause death if not appropriately diagnosed and managed. This essential book provides emergency physicians with an easy-to-use reference and source for traumatic injury evaluation and management in the emergency department. It covers approaches to common, life-threatening, and traumatic diseases in the emergency department, for use on shift and as a reference for further learning. Each chapter includes a succinct overview of common traumatic injuries, with evaluation and management pearls and pitfalls. Highly illustrated with images from one of the busiest trauma centers in the US, and featuring expert contributions from a diverse set of attending physicians, this is an essential text for all emergency medicine practitioners.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

Long recognized as a leading textbook in this fast-moving field, Emery's Elements of Medical Genetics and Genomics offers current, complete information with a strong basis in practical clinical genetics and genomics for medical school and beyond. Includes new case-based studies with questions and answers throughout, in addition to multiple-choice self-assessment questions for study and review. Covers key topics such as pharmacogenetics, personalized medicine, prenatal testing, reproductive genetics, and ethical and legal issues in medical genetics.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Essential Endocrinology and Diabetes provides the accurate and up-to-date knowledge required for treating all areas of endocrinology and diabetes, covering the latest research, clinical guidelines, investigational methods, and therapies. This classic text explains the vital aspects of endocrine physiology in a succinct and easy-to-use format, with full-colour illustrations, clinical images, and case studies to assist readers in applying theory to practice. The text covers the principles of endocrinology, clinical endocrinology, and clinical diabetes and obesity, and has been revised throughout to present the most recent developments in the field. The seventh edition includes new and updated material on the latest molecular techniques, approaches to clinical investigation and diagnostics, next generation sequencing technology, and positron emission tomography (PET).
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Essential Respiratory Medicine is an indispensable text offering an understanding of respiratory conditions and their clinical management within evidence-based guidelines. Containing information on taking a medical history, performing examinations and investigations, diagnosis and the management of respiratory conditions, this comprehensive text was put together by a noted expert in the field. Written in an accessible manner, Essential Respiratory Medicine contains the foundational science associated with respiratory medicine, a wide-variety of practical procedures, helpful diagrams, and self-assessments designed to enhance understanding of the material presented. The text covers a variety of conditions as well as providing suggestions for engaging with patients at different stages of care.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

This practical textbook comprehensively covers all the equipment used in the operating theatre and intensive care unit, including why it is used and any related safety concerns. It has been fully updated in its sixth edition to include new technologies introduced during the Covid-19 pandemic. This is ideal as the main text for all trainees undertaking the primary FRCA exams and is also suitable anyone who works with anaesthetic equipment, including anaesthetic and intensive care nurses and operating department practitioners.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

This Sixth Edition of Essentials of General Surgery and Surgical Specialties focuses on the information all medical students need to know to pass the NBME surgery shelf or other surgery rotation examinations. Updated to reflect the latest advances in the field, it provides the authoritative, up-to-date content today's busy medical students need for exam success. Includes general surgery and surgical specialties all in one volume Offers authoritative information by leading surgery educators Provides five in-book practice questions per chapter, with additional questions online Practice questions include answers and references to the area within the text where the topics are covered
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

This book offers Australian mental health clinicians a locally written guide to the clinical interpretation of cognitive assessments using the Wechsler scales, including the WAIS-IV, the WMS-IV and the Advanced Clinical Solutions for WAIS-IV and WMS-IV. Using Australian case material, the reader is provided with empirical and interpretative analysis based upon the varying State legal requirements, the range of sociocultural uses to which intellectual assessment is put, and consideration of appropriate norms.

Thoroughly revised by a multidisciplinary team of authors, it features a new three-part structure covering epidemiology and risk factors for falls, strategies for prevention and implications for practice. The book reviews and incorporates new research in an additional thirteen chapters covering the biomechanics of balance and falling, fall risk screening and assessment with new technologies, volitional and reactive step training, cognitive-motor interventions, fall injury prevention, promoting uptake and adherence to fall prevention programs and translating fall prevention research into practice. This edition is an invaluable update for clinicians, physiotherapists, occupational therapists, nurses, researchers, and all those working in community, hospital and residential or rehabilitation aged care settings.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

The latest edition of this popular book is essential reading for all midwives and doctors working in the labour ward. It has been fully updated but retains the essential features that have contributed to its popularity – an accessible writing style, easy-to-understand explanation of CTGs, and case studies and illustrations to make the content as accessible and practical as possible. Fetal monitoring is a challenging area that requires skill and experience to practise well. This volume explores the subject matter in a detailed but straightforward manner, thus becoming an invaluable resource for health practitioners as well as midwifery and medical students.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Fundamentals of Pharmacology is primarily a text for undergraduate and postgraduate students in the health science disciplines, particularly those in nursing. It is designed to establish a foundational knowledge of pharmacology - the study of drug and medication actions and interactions. Students of other health disciplines whose roles involve pharmacological therapy (such as pharmacy, podiatry, optometry, paramedic and physiotherapy), as well as those studying basic science, should find much of the material relevant to their studies. Qualified health professionals may also find this textbook useful as a part of their continuing professional education and postgraduate studies.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

General Medicine and Surgery: Medical Student Revision Guidec ontains the core information you need on: Cardiology; Endocrinology; Gastroenterology; Hepato-pancreato-biliary; Haematology; Immunology & Allergy; Neurology; Renal; Respiratory; General surgical principles; The acute abdomen; Gastrointestinal surgery; The breast; Vascular surgery; Urology; Critical illness; Emergency presentations; Rheumatology; Trauma & orthopaedics. General Medicine and Surgery: Medical Student Revision Guide is designed to make accessing and remembering core knowledge as easy as possible: each topic is presented in a colourful, revision-ready note format, with extensive use of diagrams, tables and flowcharts key points are highlighted and core concepts summarised, making the information easier to digest, assimilate and memorise a consistent structure means you always have access to clinical presentation, investigations and management, risk factors and complications. E
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

Global health is an area for study, research and practice that places a priority on improving health and achieving equity in health for all people worldwide. Global mental health is the application of these principles to the domain of mental ill-health. The most striking inequity is that concerning the disparities in provision of care and respect for human rights of people living with mental health problems (MHP) between rich and poor countries. Low and middle income countries (LMIC) are home to over 80% of the global population, but command less than 20% of the share of the mental health resources. The consequent 'treatment gap' is in itself a contravention of basic human rights. The scope of the book is to cover two major aspects of the field: its scientific foundations and its practice and opens with an original account charting the history of the field from antiquity to its most recent developments. The language and content is geared towards a wide audience of practitioners and students of global mental health, including those who do not have any previous training in a clinical mental health specialty.

This new pocketbook introduces students, junior doctors, and clinicians to the vital skills of diagnostic strategy and clinical reasoning for hand injuries. 30% of the patients in an emergency department present with hand injuries or acute non-traumatic problems of the hand. These are rarely life-threatening but can lead to high morbidity and disability due to inadequate diagnosis and treatment resulting in malpractice claims. This book is an easy-to-use ready reckoner for physicians working in ER departments and residents or fellows exposed to hand surgery. It addresses the needs of its core readers and encourages them to refine their powers of observation during physical examination.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Perfect for expecting parents who want to prepare themselves for the challenging toddler years (which starts around eight months of age), this essential guide, a national bestseller by respected pediatrician and child development expert Dr. Harvey Karp, not only helps reduce tantrums but makes happy kids even happier by boosting patience, cooperation, and self-confidence. This streamlined revision of the breakthrough bestseller by renowned child-development expert Dr. Harvey Karp will do even more to help busy parents survive the "terrible twos" and beyond.

How empathy can jeopardize a therapist's well-being. Therapist burnout is a pressing issue, and self-care is possible only when therapists actively help themselves. The authors examine the literature from neurobiology, social psychology, and folk psychology in order to explain how therapists suffer from an excess of empathy for their clients, and then they present strategies for dealing with burnout and stress.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Hypertension Secrets, 2nd Edition, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. Covers the full range of pathophysiology, natural history, diagnosis and management of hypertension for in-training or practicing professionals. Fully revised and updated, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. Includes chapters on obstructive sleep apnea; drug- or alcohol-induced hypertension; hypertension and diabetes, the obese individual, African Americans, the elderly, thyroid disorders, and pregnancy; and the role of device therapy.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Key Features: * Comprehensive and universal resource * Enables JMOs to understand and deal with the day-to-day working of hospitals and associated systems * Considers the practicalities of these new environments, including shift work and industrial, employment and financial aspects * Focuses on streamlining necessary yet onerous administrative tasks, aiding their smooth and systematic completion * Liberates the time and energy required to become true and effective doctors in training.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

With over 1000 essential questions, MCQs and EMQs in Surgery is the ideal self-assessment companion guide to Bailey & Love's Short Practice in Surgery, 26th edition. The book assists trainee surgeons as they prepare for examinations and enables them to test their knowledge of the principles and practice of surgery as outlined in Bailey & Love. Divided into 13 subject-specific sections and written by expert contributors, the MCQs and EMQs provide comprehensive coverage of the current surgical curriculum as well as the core learning points as set out in Bailey & Love. The book is ideally suited for the MRCS exam as well as for the first part of the FRCS (General Surgery) and the new Intercollegiate FRCS (International) exams. The book emphasises the importance of self-assessment within effective clinical examination and soundly based surgical principles while taking into account the latest developments in practice.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

Medical ethics and law are now firmly embedded in the curricula of medical schools. The ability to make clinical decisions on the basis of critical reasoning is a skill that is rightly presumed as necessary in today's doctors. Medical decisions involve not only scientific understanding but also ethical values and legal analysis. The belief that it is ethically right to act in one way rather than another should be based on good reasons: it is not enough to follow what doctors have always done, nor what experienced doctors now do. The third edition has been revised and updated to reflect changes in the core curriculum for students, developments in the law as well as advances in medicine and technology. It includes a new 'extensions' section, providing an outline of important developing areas in medical ethics.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

For more than four decades, Molecular Biology of the Cell has distilled the vast amount of scientific knowledge to illuminate basic principles, enduring concepts, and cutting-edge research. The Seventh Edition has been extensively revised and updated with the latest research, and has been thoroughly vetted by experts and instructors.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

The definitive guide to motivational interviewing (MI) for health care practitioners has been completely revised to reflect important developments and make the approach even more accessible. When it comes to helping patients manage chronic and acute conditions and make healthier choices in such areas as medication adherence, smoking, diet, and preventive care, good advice alone is not enough. This indispensable book shows how to use MI techniques to transform conversations about change. Even the briefest clinical interaction can serve to build trust, clarify patients' goals as well as reasons for ambivalence, and guide them to take positive steps. Vivid sample dialogues, tips, and scripts illustrate ways to incorporate this evidence-based approach into diverse health care settings.

Nunn's Applied Respiratory Physiology, Ninth Edition, is your concise, one-stop guide to all aspects of respiratory physiology in health, disease, and in the many physiologically challenging situations and environments into which humans take themselves - coverage is from basic science to clinical applications. Trusted for over 50 years, this most comprehensive single volume on respiratory physiology will prove invaluable to those in training or preparing for examinations in anaesthesia, intensive care, respiratory medicine or thoracic surgery - as well as an essential quick reference for physiologists and the range of practitioners requiring ready access to current knowledge in this field.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

This clinical care standard relates to the care that patients aged 45 years and over should receive when they present with knee pain and are suspected of having knee osteoarthritis. Goals: To improve timely assessment and optimal management for patients with knee osteoarthritis; and to enhance patients’ symptom control, joint function, psychological wellbeing, quality of life and participation in usual activities, and to lessen the disability caused by knee osteoarthritis.

The Oxford Handbook for the Foundation Programme has been fully revised to take in the latest guidelines, the new junior doctors' contract, and the most recent Foundation Programme curriculum. It has new sections to demystify the NHS structure and explore key changes in social care and the interface with the NHS, and revised key information on the medical certificate of the cause of death, the role of the medical examiner, and changes to interactions with the coroner, as well as a new standalone chapter on Psychiatry. The junior doctor's pocket mentor, this handbook distils the knowledge of four authors across multiple NHS environments in an easy access format, covering everything from practical guidance at the patient's bedside to aspects of adapting to day-to-day life as a junior doctor that are rarely covered in medical school.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

This new edition of the Oxford Handbook in Geriatric Medicine has been expanded and updated to reflect the substantial changes in clinical practice since the previous edition, including the Francis report and the impact on care for the older patient, the National Dementia Strategy and screening, and the evolution of the role of Geriatricians in other specialities. It includes new material on risk scoring management of TIA, and a new chapter on the oldersurgical patient. With an ageing population, geriatric medicine is increasingly central to emergency and internal medicine in hospital settings and in general practice. Diseases are morecommon in the older person, and can be particularly difficult to assess and to treat effectively in a field that has limited evidence, yet makes up a substantial proportion of the work of most clinicians. Using clinical vignettes and how-to boxes to provide practical advice on common problems, this is a practical, accessible, and essential handbook for all medical staff who manage older patients.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Revised and updated for its fourth edition, the Oxford Handbook of Respiratory Medicine is the must-have resource for respiratory trainees, internal medical trainees and other junior doctors in acute and internal medicine, medical students, and all clinicians caring for patients with respiratory problems. Concise, practical, and designed for rapid access to essential information, this handbook will ensure you have everything you need for the ward, clinic, or in the run up to exams. All major respiratory diseases and symptoms are covered in practical, succinct chapters. This new edition includes the latest clinical guidelines from the British Thoracic Society and NICE, and covers key developments in the field. Concise, practical, and designed for rapid access to essential information, this handbook will ensure you have everything you need for the ward, clinic, or in the run up to exams. All major respiratory diseases and symptoms are covered in practical, succinct chapters. This new edition includes the latest clinical guidelines from the British Thoracic Society and NICE, and covers key developments in the field.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Respiratory disease is one of the leading causes of both mortality and morbidity, causing a significant burden on healthcare resources, the economy, and on individual patients and their carers. Respiratory conditions are managed in many different settings, from home and residential care through the full range of primary to tertiary care. Offering a systematic description of the main respiratory diseases found in adults, the Handbook covers the assessment, diagnosis, and nursing management of each condition. With a special focus on the role of the multidisciplinary team in meeting the multiple care needs of respiratory patients, including physical and psychosocial concerns, and both pharmacological and non-pharmacological therapies, the Oxford Handbook of Respiratory Nursing is a unique and invaluable companion for all healthcare professionals working within the specialty. Fully updated to reflect changes in new national and international guidance, with additional topics on biologics, antifibrotic therapy, inspiratory flow, and new NICE and UKIG standards and algorithms, the material has been fully overhauled to reflect current best practice and therapeutic options.

This concise yet comprehensive guide is focused on the curriculum and current exam style of the MRCOG Part 1 examination. It integrates clinical knowledge with basic science, providing readers with a deeper understanding of pathophysiology of medical disorders in obstetrics and gynaecology. The lead editor is a member of the Part 1 Examination Committee and her insights are skilfully woven into the book's revision notes, sample Single Best Answer (SBA) question and answer explanations, and tips on exam technique. The focus on basic sciences also endows readers with the ability to develop research ideas and evaluate findings. Featuring easy-to-read text, highlighted key points, illustrations, and plenty of practice papers, this succinct guide is essential preparation reading for trainee obstetricians and gynaecologists taking the challenging Part 1 MRCOG exam.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. Practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in the practice of pediatrics. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Features bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Covering the full spectrum of CHD from infants through adults, Perloff's Clinical Recognition of Congenital Heart Disease, 7th Edition, provides unparalleled guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of common and uncommon CHD in one definitive resource. With its comprehensive, step-by-step approach, you'll acquire a structured understanding of CHD across age ranges, allowing you to effectively detect these conditions as early as possible. NEW in the 7th Edition: Updated images throughout, as well as phonocardiograms, electrocardiograms, flow charts, and anatomic drawings.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

The Pocket Guide to Critical Appraisal now provides annotated checklists of the most common research designs. Consistent with recent developments in evidence-based medicine, these checklists distinguish between the risk of bias in the conduct of published studies and the value of the findings for healthcare delivery. Five new chapters have been added and the original chapters have been rewritten, making the new edition a complete and concise guide for the evaluation of research quality. In addition to the checklists, the book also: describes how to quickly identify the information needed for the critical appraisal provides simple explanations of statistical significance and the interpretation of confidence intervals reviews the major sources of bias and their impact on research findings explains how to summarise the risk of bias outlines the concept of certainty of evidence and how to calculate it identifies the challenges in assessing the value of research findings.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Designed for easy portability and quick reference, Pocket ICU, Third Edition, provides essential information that intensivists, residents, and nurses need daily in the ICU. Provides fast access to the most relevant, evidence-based information in every area of critical care, including adult, pediatric, neuro, cardiac, transplant, trauma and burn critical care. New chapters addressing bioweapons, disaster preparedness and critical care challenges of an air-transmissible, pandemic-causing pathogen like COVID-19.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

The trusted resource that asks the right questions so that you'll be equipped with the answers! Part of the successful PreTest series, the new edition of PreTest Obstetrics & Gynecology has been heavily revised to reflect all the critical new information needed to succeed on your rotation and on the shelf exam. It features hundreds of high yield questions, along with clear, targeted answers explaining both correct and incorrect answer choices. To ensure that all content is relevant, timely, and high-yield, this edition was reviewed by students who successfully completed their clerkships and passed the shelf exam.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

The PROMPT (Practical Obstetric Multi-Professional Training) Course covers a range of obstetric emergency situations. There is increasing evidence that PROMPT training is having significant impact on maternal and neonatal outcomes, delivering immense benefits for healthcare providers at all levels. The PROMPT training package consists of interactive lectures, drills and workshops, providing hands-on experience of practical skills and team working in simulated obstetric emergencies. This second edition of the Australia and New Zealand PROMPT Course Manual has been fully updated in line with recent evidence and national and international guidance. There are new modules, algorithms and implementation tools.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

During the last twenty years, the interest in public health leadership has continued to increase with the need to strengthen the infrastructure of public health, the events of September 11, 2001, the health reform movement, scientific breakthroughs, the increasing role for primary care programs in the public health agenda, and the increasing deficit at the federal, state, and local level. Since the publication of the first edition in 2003, Public Health Leadership: Putting Principles Into Practice has become a standard reference for future and practicing public health leaders. In five parts, it explores the basic theories and principles of leadership and then describes how they may be applied in the public health setting. Leadership skills and competencies, as well as methods for measuring and evaluating leaders are all thoroughly covered. This new third edition is an exhaustive revision that now includes extensive coverage of the leadership skills and tools that are critical to managing public health emergencies.

Engaging and accessible, this book offers students a complete guide to using NVivo for qualitative data analysis. Drawing on their wealth of expertise, the authors offer detailed, practical advice that relates to students' own experience and research projects. Packed with real-world examples and case studies, the book supports students through every stage of qualitative data analysis. Seamlessly interweaves theory and practice in easy-to-follow steps. Empowers students to develop their critical thinking. Whether for advanced researchers or those approaching the task for the first time, this clear, yet comprehensive guide is the perfect companion for anyone doing qualitative data analysis with NVivo.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Now in its fourth edition, this concise, accessible, and authoritative introduction to conducting and interpreting qualitative research in the health care field has been fully revised and updated. Continuing to introduce the core qualitative methods for data collection and analysis, this new edition also features chapters covering newer methods which are becoming more widely used in the health research field; examining the role of theory, the analysis of virtual and digital data, and advances in participatory approaches to research. Qualitative Research in Health Care, 4th Edition looks at the interface between qualitative and quantitative research in primary mixed method studies, case study research, and secondary analysis and evidence synthesis. The fourth edition of Qualitative Research in Health Care is relevant to health care professionals, researchers and students in health and related disciplines.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Qualitative Research Methods, fifth edition, is one of the few texts on qualitative research methods written and published in Australia. This multidisciplinary text is written simply and provides an accessible and practical guide to conducting and analysing qualitative data effectively for undergraduate and postgraduate students entering people-facing professions. It agrees with the ideology that in order to understand people's behaviour, we must first attempt to understand the meanings and interpretations that people give to that behaviour. The content and pedagogical approach introduces students to an updated overview of the research process and helps them navigate through the practical ways of carrying out qualitative research methods: from writing a qualitative research proposal to the application of qualitative enquiry across different groups of individuals.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

One third of people after stroke, having survived the first few weeks, return home with significant residual disability, and can therefore benefit from an active, multidisciplinary rehabilitation programme. This is a comprehensive guide to rehabilitation after stroke, in which leading international authorities set out the basic neuroscientific principles that underlie brain recovery, including chapters on neural plasticity and neural imaging, and describe appropriate rehabilitation strategies for the many different functional problems that can arise after stroke. These include movement disorders, sensory loss, dysphagia and dysarthria, problems with continence and secual difficulties, and cognitive disorders. Also covered are measurement of disability and quality of life, assistive technology and vocational rehabilitation. It is therefore an essential handbook and reference for all members of the multidisciplinary stroke rehabilitation team, including medical personnel, therapists, clinical neuropsychologists and rehabilitation nurses.

The fifth edition of this best-selling Red Book® image companion aids in the diagnosis and treatment of more than 165 pediatric infectious diseases. Streamline disease recognition and clinical decision-making with more than 1,350 finely detailed color images, combined with step-by-step guidance. Concise text descriptions guide the reader through the diagnosis, evaluation, and essential management of each condition.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

This is a valuable resource for students who need to conduct a research project as part of their studies and anyone who wants to submit an application for research funding. The new edition is perfect for master’s students planning a dissertation, undergraduate students approaching their final year project, and PhD students applying for acceptance onto a doctoral programme.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th Edition presents an in-depth, state-of-the-art overview of human diseases and their cellular and molecular basis. This best-selling text delivers the latest, most essential pathology knowledge in a readable, interesting manner, ensuring optimal understanding of the latest basic science and clinical content. Provides uniquely authoritative and readable coverage, ideal for USMLE or specialty board preparation, as well as for coursework. Uses an outstanding full-color, user-friendly design to simplify your study and quickly direct you to the information you need to know, with learning features such as boldface overviews at the beginning of each section, key concepts boxes, suggested readings, schematic diagrams that illustrate complex concepts, and new gross and microscopic figures for clarity of morphology.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

This updated book continues the ABCDE chapter format from the second edition, incorporating an escalating level of diagnostic and management complexity and a concise bibliography in each chapter. It remains demarcated into two sections: the first (e.g. ABCDE chapters) equips surgical trainees in managing non-ICU-based patients, whilst the second provides a basic introduction to ICU care. The chapters introduce standard definitions, pathological processes, diagnostic features and common management plans. These are based on a range of updated recommended guidelines from NICE and SIGN and common ALS principles in critical care patients, as well as current ATLS® and CCrISP® standards. A must-have revision guide for all surgical trainees, from final-year medical students through to junior surgical registrars.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

The Textbook of Paediatric Emergency Medicine provides clear, concise and comprehensive information to support clinicians in what can be a challenging area to provide care. It not only covers diagnosis and management of all common presentations, but it also includes practical tips on communicating with both patients and their families. As a companion book to Cameron’s Textbook of Adult Emergency Medicine, this volume is specifically tailored to the educational needs of emergency medicine trainees, but is also expected to benefit others working in the emergency setting including paramedics and emergency nurse specialists.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

This outstanding review is ideal for any examination in emergency medicine--including board certification--and can also be used for residency program in-training examinations or as a clinical refresher. Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine Examination & Board Review delivers more than 800 case-based questions and detailed answer explanations. Correct answer explanations are referenced to the most authoritative and trusted text on the globe, Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: A Comprehensive Study Guide, Ninth Edition. Tables, ECGs, radiographs, and full-color clinical images are included to sharpen your diagnostic skills.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

A true "must read" for medical students who have not yet selected a specialty, this acclaimed resource delivers a well-researched insider's look into the complex issues surrounding this important decision. Supported by first-hand knowledge, useful facts and statistics - plus the author's personal experience and gut-level reports from current students - this unique guide provides everything necessary to compare specialties and make a confident decision. The Ultimate Guide to Choosing a Medical Specialty, Fourth Edition is divided into two sections: Part 1 Planning Your Medical Career, delves into the main issues surrounding the choice of your medical specialty. These 12 chapters provide everything you need to begin making this major decision - from how to research each specialty to how to apply for residency. Part 2 Specialty Profiles, features chapters devoted to the 21 major specialties, and provides important information such as salary, employment data, and match statistics.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Combining the latest research with a fully integrated teaching approach, Vander's Renal Physiology, Tenth Edition clearly and expertly explains how the kidneys affect other body systems and how they in turn are affected by these systems. There is no better way to learn the fundamental principles of the structure, function, and pathologies of the human kidney that are essential for an understanding of clinical medicine, than this time-tested resource. Here's why Vander's is the best review of renal physiology available for the USMLE® Step 1: The text begins with the basics and works up to advanced principles All chapters have been revised to reflect the latest research and developments in the field Includes learning aids such as flow charts, diagrams, key concepts, clinical examples, boxed statements to emphasize major points, learning objectives, and review questions with answers and explanations
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

West's Respiratory Physiology: The Essentials has remained a critical resource for medical and allied health students learning the basics of respiratory physiology as well as an effective, quick review for residents and fellows in pulmonary medicine, critical care, anesthesiology, and internal medicine as they prepare for licensing and other exams. The eleventh edition incorporates updates in many areas including blood-tissue gas exchange, mechanics, control of ventilation and the respiratory system under stress; all designed to aid clear understanding of pulmonary physiology.   Clinical vignettes with questions emphasize how the physiology described can be applied to clinical situations, reinforcing reasoning and critical thinking. More than 100 USMLE-style multiple-choice questions with full explanations test reasoning skills for comprehension and exam preparation. Additional learning objectives and chapter-opening content added to every chapter to improve understanding of key topics.   Appendices include important equations, answers to the multiple-choice questions, and discussions of the answers to the end-of-chapter clinical vignettes.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Westmead Anaesthetic Manual has been assisting anaesthetists and intensive care nurses to save patient lives and improve patient safety care for the past 20 years. The publication provides a step-by-step guide to anaesthetic practice and reflects current best practice in the management of anaesthetic emergency.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

Wheater's Functional Histology is designed to give students a working knowledge of histology, including the basic histological structures, tissue types and organ systems. You will learn to recognise the microscopic structure of normal human tissues and understand how this relates to function. The book shows you how to apply histology in a clinical context through coverage of common clinical conditions in each chapter. This must-have book is written clearly and concisely, designed for those studying histology for the first time. Packed with a wealth of illustrations and learning aids, it is a must-have for every medical and health science student. Concise and easy to digest text - easy to follow for those new to histology More than 900 high quality histology images and illustrations, plus detailed explanations to support understanding End of chapter review tables summarising important points Self-assessment questions and rationales to support exam preparation.