Physiotherapy LibGuide

For more than 20 years, this bestselling reference has been the go-to resource for the entire rehabilitation team, providing in-depth coverage of essential core principles along with the latest research, technologies, and procedures that enhance patient care and facilitate optimal return to function.

Brukner and Khan's Clinical Sports Medicine 4th Edition is the complete practical guide to musculoskeletal medicine and physical therapy, covering all aspects of diagnosis and management of sports-related injuries and physical activity. All aspects of diagnosis and management of sports-related injuries and physical activity are covered, including the fundamental principles of sports medicine, diagnosis and treatment of sports injuries, enhancement of sports performance and dealing with special groups of participants. With a focus on clinical relevance, each chapter has been comprehensively reviewed and updated and there are 13 brand new chapters covering hot topics such as challenging hip pain, sudden death in sport, hamstring tear management, sideline emergency care, and the latest in pain science.

Cardiorespiratory Physiotherapy: Adults and Paediatrics (formerly Physiotherapy for Respiratory and Cardiac Problems: Adults and Paediatrics) continues to provides comprehensive evidence-based coverage of all the main aspects of respiratory and cardiac physiotherapy throughout the whole lifespan - neonates, infants, children, adolescents and adults - with the patient at centre and advocating a problem-based approach. A new key chapter on anatomy and physiology of the respiratory system lays the foundation which is then followed by a chapter on clinical assessment of adults, infants and children, and acutely ill or deteriorating patients. Additional new content includes a chapter on outcome measurement in practice and a large chapter describing rehabilitation in acute and chronic conditions in special populations including spinal cord injury, oncology, trauma and paediatrics.

The eighth edition reflects significant new information and updates and maintains the highest standards for scientific and clinical accuracy. Extensively revised "Clinical Blue Boxes" explore the practical applications of anatomy, and helpful icons distinguish the type of clinical information covered in each. Clinically relevant anatomy focuses on physical diagnosis, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. Insightfully rendered, anatomically accurate illustrations, with updates throughout. Combined with many photographs and medical images, these stunning visuals facilitate comprehension of anatomical concepts and retention of "mental images" of anatomical structures. A more realistic approach to the musculoskeletal system explores the action and use of muscles and muscle groups in daily activities, emphasizing gait and grip.

Delivers a logical, systematic approach to hands-on orthopedic treatment. This new edition emphasizing the appropriate use of manual techniques and therapeutic exercise while outlining the correct applications of multiple adjuncts to the rehabilitative process. Aided by decision-making algorithms, this comprehensive guide covers anatomy, biomechanics, examination, and treatment of each joint and region and features.

Evidence-Based Physical Therapy for the Pelvic Floor provides physiotherapists and other professionals with knowledge and confidence to bring the latest evidence-based approaches and treatment strategies for addressing pelvic floor dysfunction to their practice. Fully updated and with a wealth of new information, this edition includes sections on devices and apps, gynaecological cancer, sexual dysfunction, fistula, clinical use of EMG, anal incontinence and pain, as well as a discussion of sexualized violence by Nobel Peace Prize winner Denis Mugwege and his team. New and fully updated contents; new authors and new chapters provide contemporary evidence Innovative practice guidelines supported by a sound evidence base.

Grieve''s Modern Musculoskeletal Physiotherapy covers the breadth of musculoskeletal physiotherapy practice, bringing together the work and opinions of leading international experts; presents the latest science, research evidence and clinical practices for assessment and management of spinal and extremity disorders; Uses contemporary knowledge in diagnostics and future directions to demonstrate how to manage both acute and chronic musculoskeletal pain; Considers important aspects underpinning clinical practice across the biopsychosocial domains; Now covers the musculoskeletal systems of the upper and lower limbs as well as the spine.

Learning to Lead in Physical Therapy provides information on identifying, developing, and demonstrating effective leadership skills for daily practice. Leadership skills are critical for physical therapists and physical therapist assistants throughout the course of their careers-in an informal leadership role with patients, in collaboration and advocacy for interdisciplinary care, and in formal leadership positions as they continually adapt to new expectations. This book is easily incorporated within a single course or across multiple courses throughout a curriculum. Academic and clinical faculty and practitioners will also find this book easy to use for personal growth with its activity-based guidance through each chapter.

Family-centered interventions and vignette-style case examples appear throughout. Academicians and clinicians provide a balance of theory and practice. Disease-specific case studies highlight multisystem involvement of many common pediatric diagnoses, build critical thinking skills, and demonstrate real-life applications. Content follows the practice patterns set by APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice. Organizational structure uses the World Health Organization's International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health (ICF) model--the first text to do so.

Offering a thorough, highly illustrated review of the musculoskeletal physical exam, this practical guide covers relevant anatomy, pathoanatomy, and special tests using the well-known art of Dr. Frank H. Netter as well as clinical photographs.

Physical Management for Neurological Conditions maintains its scientific and research base with extensive use of references and case studies for physiotherapists to overview the basic principles of neurological rehabilitation, specific neurological / neuromuscular conditions and the relates physiotherapy treatment approaches used.

Physical Therapy Clinical Handbook for PTAs, Fourth Edition is a concise clinical guide designed specifically to help physical therapist assistant students and practitioners easily obtain helpful evidence-based information. This succinct handbook covers the evaluative as well as the interventional aspect of physical therapy and offers immediate guidance concerning physical therapy data collection and interventions, including musculoskeletal, neurologic, cardiopulmonary, integumentary, geriatric, pediatric, and acute care interventions.

Physiotherapy in Respiratory and Cardiac Care: An Evidence-Based Approach to Respiratory and Cardiac Management, covers why and how to use physiotherapy for respiratory and cardiac problems. This revised fourth edition has been fully updated to incorporate all recent research, and will continue to have a practical, problem-solving approach. Ideal for undergraduate students through to qualified physiotherapists, the goal of the text is to enable students and practitioners to critically appraise the research base, use clinical reasoning, evaluate and reflect on their practice. The text explains the physiology of respiration and the cardiovascular system, respiratory and cardiac disorders, followed by assessment, physiotherapy management and its rationale, considering different groups of people, all related to practice.

Practical Evidence-Based Physiotherapy is designed to help physiotherapists of all levels of expertise to use high quality research evidence in their clinical decision making. It covers emerging methods, the use of both quantitative and qualitative research, and how to use online resources. This book will help physiotherapy students and practitioners acquire fundamental skills of evidence-based practice and clinical reasoning, quickly find and use evidence in their work, and stay up to date with the latest evidence.