Physiotherapy LibGuide

Bonica's Management of Pain expertly combines the scientific underpinnings of pain with clinical management. Completely revised, it discusses a wide variety of pain conditions--including neuropathic pain, pain due to cancer, and acute pain situations--for adults as well as children.

Maximize your patients' independence, quality of life, mobility, and functional improvement with this evidence-based guide to physical medicine and rehabilitation. Valuable to practicing physicians, residents, medical students, as well as recertifying psychiatrists, this text includes timely chapters on sports, trauma, cardiac, and spinal rehabilitation. Covers therapeutic exercise and treatment modalities for pain and dysfunction; presents a practical approach to the physical medicine and rehabilitation patient, including common pathologies and complications; focuses on the clinical aspects of physical medicine and rehabilitation with an emphasis on evidence-based medicine; lays down a foundation of anatomy, kinesiology, and biomechanics before progressing to therapeutic exercise and modalities; reviews diagnostic and therapeutic procedures performed by physicians such as electro diagnostics, musculoskeletal ultrasound, and spine and joint injections.

DeLisa's Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Principles and Practice presents the most comprehensive review of the state of the art, evidence-based clinical recommendations for management of disorders affecting the brain, spinal cord, nerves, bones, joints, ligaments, muscles, and tendons. DeLisa's pioneering textbook presents both the scientific fundamentals as well as the latest clinical treatments and rehabilitation techniques for a broad array of conditions, disabilities, and diseases. Focuses on current evidence and therapies, and includes the most recent changes and updates in the field.

A to Z list of pathologies. Contraindications to treatment. Pharmacology section with over 150 drugs described. Biochemical and haematological values. Common abbreviations.

Authored by experts in pain medicine and internal medicine at the University of California, Davis, Primary Care Pain Management delivers just the right amount of clinically relevant information for primary care physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants. Addressing safe and effective pain management in the primary care setting, it follows a user-friendly, high-yield format for quick reference at the point of care, helping you understand the full range of options for treating patients with chronic and acute pain. Presents information in a highly templated, full-color format, with an abundance of tables and algorithms throughout. Covers opioid consent, agreement, and prescribing; nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs; neuropathic pain medications; interventional pain management; physical therapy; complementary modalities; integrative medicine, and more. Includes a "When to Refer" section in every chapter, providing you with a list of questions and key points that could indicate a need for referral to a specialist or surgeon. Emphasizes compassionate care and continuity of care - both key issues in an area that is often emotionally difficult for patients and caregivers.

The field of muscular dystrophies has expanded significantly with the discovery of the genetic defects and protein products underlying these disorders. New treatments such as antisense oligonucleotides and siRNAs and gene therapies are now in clinical application and in trials. As clinical trials increase, outcome measurement becomes very important, and more validated tools are being developed. This book provides a comprehensive review of these disorders.

Physical therapists know that their patients are more than just a list of symptoms. They are people first, often with a complex mix of medical and psychiatric circumstances, who may receive a wide range of care from a team of professionals. Keeping this in mind, Psychosocial Elements of Physical Therapy: The Connection of Body to Mind is both a textbook and a clinical resource for physical therapist students and clinicians practicing in any patient population with psychological concerns or disorders. Inside, Dr. Hannah Johnson provides an essential introduction of psychosocial concepts, general treatment approaches for culturally sensitive care, and selected classes of mental illness as defined by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition (DSM-5). A complete review of the current research and evidence base provides students a strong foundation to build their careers on, but can also act as a crash-course in the most recent literature for the busy clinician.

Rehabilitation of the Spine: A Patient-Centered Approach provides a practical overview of all aspects of spinal rehabilitation. This edition has been completely revised, with new information and new videos to bring you up to date. Comprehensive and easy to read, this reference is invaluable for chiropractors and physical therapists, as well as spine surgeons, physician assistants, and nurse practitioners involved in the care of patients with spine problems. The most current and significant spinal rehab information, made easy to understand with full-color charts, graphs, tables, illustrations, algorithms throughout. New information on assessment triage for spinal pain, psychosocial risk factors for chronic pain, conservative care, and the clinical audit process.

Using practical examples, applies the theory to practice in a number cases from nursing, midwifery and allied health areas. This edition focusses on applied ethics, evidence-based practice culminates in a capstone chapter titled Evidence-based practice.