Research LibGuide

Presents key studies that have shaped the practice of medicine. Selected using a rigorous methodology, the studies cover topics ranging from dieting to cardiovascular disease, insomnia to obstetrics. For each study, a concise summary is presented with an emphasis on the results and limitations of the study, and its implications for practice. Brief information on other relevant studies is provided, and an illustrative clinical case concludes each review. A

A straightforward yet comprehensive guide to planning, implementing, and evaluating EBP and QI projects to improve healthcare quality and outcomes. Building on the legacy built by Geri LoBiondo-Wood and Judi Haber, this edition is newly tailored to meet the goals and strategic priorities of a variety of healthcare settings, with the tenets of ANCC Magnet designation, JCAHO accreditation, and other current regulatory and quality standards integrated throughout.

This innovative text introduces and illustrates case study methodology for nursing research by exploring how it can be used to uncover the varied and complex life experiences of persons with chronic illness and post-traumatic stress conditions. Nursing practice demands care and compassion, but often nurses do not have the tools to examine their clients' health and wellness experiences. This book presents an approach to finding shared solutions for common health problems from a nursing perspective. It provides readers with the tools to develop their own case study approach and the skills to translate their findings into innovative ways to influence nursing care for people across their health/illness trajectories.

Crash Course - your effective every-day study companion PLUS the perfect antidote for exam stress! Save time and be assured you have the essential information you need in one place to excel on your course and achieve exam success. Especially written by senior students or junior doctors - those who understand what is essential for exam success - with all information thoroughly checked and quality assured by expert Faculty Advisers, the result are books which exactly meet your needs and you know you can trust.

From initial theory through to regression, factor analysis and multilevel modelling, Andy Field animates statistics and SPSS software with his famously bizarre examples and activities. Features: *Flexible coverage to support students across disciplines and degree programmes *Can support classroom or lab learning and assessment *Analysis of real data with opportunities to practice statistical skills *Highlights common misconceptions and errors *A revamped online resource that uses video, case studies, datasets, testbanks and more to help students negotiate project work, master data management techniques, and apply key writing and employability skills *Covers the range of versions of IBM SPSS Statistics©.

This practical guide speaks to two audiences: those who read and those who conduct research. Clinicians are medical detectives by training. For each patient, they assemble clinical clues to establish causes of signs and symptoms. The task involves both clinical acumen and knowledge of medical research. This book helps guide clinicians through this detective work, by enabling them to make sense of research and to review medical literature critically. It will also be invaluable to researchers who conduct clinical research, particularly randomized controlled trials. Building on previously published, peer-reviewed articles from The Lancet, this handbook is essential for busy clinicians and active researchers interested in research methods. Written by leaders in the field of clinical research who have published extensively with authorship of hundreds of articles in medical journals. The authorship includes one of the three authors of the CONSORT guidelines for the reporting of randomized controlled trials.

Essential Epidemiology is a clear, engaging and methodological introduction to the subject. Now in its fifth edition, the text has been thoroughly updated. Its trademark clear and consistent pedagogical structure makes challenging topics accessible, while the local and international examples, including from the COVID-19 pandemic, encourage students to apply theory to real-world cases. Statistical analysis is explained simply, with more challenging concepts presented in optional advanced boxes. Each chapter includes information boxes, margin notes highlighting supplementary facts and question prompts to enhance learners' understanding. The end-of-chapter questions and accompanying guided solutions promote the consolidation of knowledge.

Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research continues to be an essential resource for teaching students how to translate research into practice. Built upon the foundation of the five step IDP process (knowledge, persuasion, decision, implementation, and confirmation), this comprehensive resource guides students through the hierarchy of evidence while interweaving concepts such as the evolution of nursing science, quality improvement projects and how they relate to evidence-based practice, as well as search strategies and how to choose a specific research design. Schmidt and Brown thoughtfully divided chapters into 'bites', breaking down larger core concepts into smaller, easily digestible parts of the whole, ensuring nursing students grasp a key concept before progressing to the next.

This book presents a unique approach to teaching the principles of health research using practical case studies with which nurses and midwives can engage to gain the skills to read and understand reports, evaluate the quality of research, synthesise different studies and be able to evaluate its effectiveness when applied to clinical practice.

Continuing in the tradition of award-winning educator and epidemiologist Dr. Leon Gordis, Gordis Epidemiology, 7th Edition, provides a solid introduction to basic epidemiologic principles as well as practical applications in public health and clinical practice, highlighted by real-world examples throughout. Written by Drs. David D Celentano, Moyses Szklo, and Youssef Farag of Johns Hopkins University, this bestselling text is known for its reader-friendly, accessible writing style and practical approach to a complex and challenging subject, making it a favorite text of students as well as an ideal resource for health care providers, health policy makers, and epidemiologists at all levels of training and practice.

This book is a guide to good, responsible research at each step of the process of research discovery, so that a researcher at the beginning of a scientific career has a clear pathway to doing good research and producing reliable results.

This open access book illustrates how interdisciplinary research develops over the lifetime of a scholar: not in a single project, but as an attitude that trickles down, or spirals up, into research. This book presents how interdisciplinary work has inspired shifts in how the contributors read, value concepts, critically combine methods, cope with knowledge hierarchies, write in style, and collaborate. Drawing on extensive examples from the humanities and social sciences, the editors and chapter authors show how they started, tried to open up, dealt with inconsistencies, had to adapt, and ultimately learned and grew as researchers. The book offers valuable insights into the conditions and complexities present for interdisciplinary research to be successful in an academic setting. This is an open access book. 

This book describes the evolution of treatment in oncology through the lens of approximately 250 landmark clinical trials. The well-designed clinical trial is essential to the practice of medicine. There is no field that has embraced or been transformed more by the clinical trial than oncology.  Each primary cancer site has a remarkable story that can be told through clinical trials.  For example, patients who presented decades ago with soft tissue sarcoma of the extremities would invariably undergo limb amputation.  The landmark National Cancer Institute study by Rosenberg et al. randomized patients to limb sparing surgery followed by adjuvant radiation therapy compared with limb amputation.  This study helped change the standard of care by allowing most patients to retain their functioning limbs with an improvement in quality of life and no compromise in overall survival.  Such major clinical trials for common malignancies including breast, prostate, lung, gastrointestinal, genitourinary, and gynecologic cancers are discussed.  Because oncology is multidisciplinary, this book should be of interest for radiation oncologists, surgeons, medical oncologists, and other physicians interested in learning more about the landmark trials that have shaped oncology.

This straightforward guide to evidence-based practice helps you to develop the knowledge and skills necessary to challenge practice that is not underpinned by research and to increase your understanding of the processes involved in accessing, appraising, and synthesizing good quality research. Providing a basic introduction to both quantitative and qualitative research, Debra Evans explores how to find out "what works best", the impact of something, and what requires more research.

This straightforward guide to evidence-based practice helps you to develop the knowledge and skills necessary to challenge practice that is not underpinned by research and to increase your understanding of the processes involved in accessing, appraising, and synthesizing good quality research. Providing a basic introduction to both quantitative and qualitative research, Debra Evans explores how to find out "what works best", the impact of something, and what requires more research.

"This sixth edition has been fully updated to include the most current advances in research methodologies and literature, and clearly lays out how these benefit nursing and midwifery practice" -- Back cover.

The Good institutional practice guide (the Guide) brings together information on values, concepts and ideas that underpin a high-quality research culture. Although developed to support institutional and research leaders as they implement positive change, the Guide can be used by anyone involved with the conduct, administration and oversight of research.

Balanced but distinct coverage of both the qualitative and quantitative approaches to nursing research acquaints you with the processes behind research and evidence-based practice. Complete, high-quality research examples, including three sample critiques, demonstrate how to apply the principles outlined in the text to published quantitative and qualitative research studies. Research Vignettes introduce you to real-world practitioners of nursing research and help bridge the gaps among clinical research, academia, and clinical practice. All-star group of contributors represents a widely respected team of experts in nursing research and evidence-based practice.

This book provides a concise and accessible introduction to online research, covering ethics, surveys, focus groups, ethnographies, experiments and the gathering and analysis of naturally occurring digital/big data. It also asks how researchers should use the digital environment to communicate their research and looks forward to the future of the field, asking what the next ten years hold. Online research is rarely well served by the direct translation of onsite methods onto the internet. Rather, researchers need to reflect, adapt and redesign research as they change the mode through which they conduct their research. Featuring an updated glossary, two new chapters and comprehensive updates throughout, this new edition provides new and experienced researchers with the foundation they need to conduct online research projects.

The Oxford Handbook of Clinical and Healthcare Research is a practical, concise, and easy-to-use reference for the full range of clinical and healthcare research topics, while incorporating evidence based medicine. Comprehensively providing a wide breadth of knowledge, this handbook clearlycovers both the qualitative and quantitative aspects.This handbook includes clear instructions on the legislative requirements as well as the practical requirements of commissioning, conducting, analysing, and reporting research for those in clinical or healthcare practice, education or training. Whether you need practical advice on setting up and running a trial, negotiating regulations, learning vital research skills, or to study the underpinning concepts of research methods, this handbook will give you the vital information, clinical evidence, and guidance you need.

This second edition of the popular guide to critical appraisal is a fully updated revision of the previous edition. Written in the same easily accessible style, The Pocket Guide to Critical Appraisal now provides annotated checklists of the most common research designs. Consistent with recent developments in evidence-based medicine, these checklists distinguish between the risk of bias in the conduct of published studies and the value of the findings for healthcare delivery.

Section 1: Introduction to qualitative and quantitative reviews -- Mixed methods literature reviews -- Selecting a topic for review -- Searching for literature in professional journals -- Retrieving and evaluating research literature -- Applying theoretical frameworks -- Section 2: Writing -- Taking notes and avoiding unintentional plagiarism -- Preparing a topic outline for the first draft -- Writing the first draft: basic principles -- Writing the first draft: statistical issues in qualitative reviews -- Building tables summarize literature -- Revising and refining the first draft -- Writing titles and abstracts -- Preparing a refence list -- Introduction to meta-analysis -- Appendix a: systematic literature reviews -- Appendix B: Qualitative case study literature reviews.

2025 SPE Outstanding Book Award Winner 2024 AESA Critics' Choice Award Winner Written by scholars from three generations of qualitative methodologists, Qualitative Research Design and Methods: An Introductionsituates qualitative research within the history of the field and integrates this history within discussions of specific research designs. This novel approach allows readers to come to know the genealogy of the field and how previous generations of scholars have informed what we know today as qualitative research. The text reflects these more traditional as well as emerging qualitative research approaches, providing a theoretically grounded approach to designing and implementing qualitative research studies.

The book, intended for biomedical researchers, attempts to foster a comprehensive understanding of the elements that impact scientific research, such as clinical trial design, communication, and publication methods. It introduces the process of idea generation and creative/critical thinking, leading to the development of key concepts that coalesce into theoretical constructs and working hypotheses. New and evolving topics such as artificial intelligence, machine and deep learning, drug repurposing approaches, and bioinformatics, are incorporated into the text as these features are becoming integrated into drug research and development. Additionally, it covers publication strategies, including literature search, manuscript preparation, data presentation, relevant discussion, editorial processes, elements of peer review, and bibliometrics.

This book provides a detailed overview of the methodology for conducting clinical trials, including developing protocols, data capture, randomisation, analysis and reporting. Assuming no prior background, this user-friendly resource describes the statistical, regulatory, and practical components required for conducting randomised clinical trials. Numerous examples and case studies from industry, academia, and the research literature help readers understand each stage of the clinical trial process.

Using practical examples, applies the theory to practice in a number cases from nursing, midwifery and allied health areas. This edition focusses on applied ethics, evidence-based practice culminates in a capstone chapter titled Evidence-based practice.

Research Methods, Statistics, and Applications by Kathrynn A. Adams and Eva K. McGuire is designed to give students the experience of being a researcher by combining the interrelated concepts of research methods and statistics to better explain how the research process incorporates both elements. Employing a conversational tone throughout, coupled with an emphasis on decision-making, this best-selling text will spark students' interest in conducting research and improve their ability to critically analyze research in their daily lives. The Third Edition includes a new chapter on measurement to better highlight its critical importance, updates for the 7th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, new examples related to social justice, additional sections on qualitative research methods, and more thorough integration of research ethics information and tips throughout each chapter.

This bestselling book provides an accessible introduction to the concepts and practicalities of multi-disciplinary research methods in health and health services. The new edition has updated and expanded coverage of: International examples, terms and approaches, Epidemiology and methods of tracing epidemics, Aging population demography and bio-demography, Evaluation and assessment of health services, Health services research and audit, including data generation, Methods of evaluating patients’ perspectives, Measuring quality of life outcomes, Health economics methods and applications, Quantitative and qualitative research

The Research Process, sixth edition, is an easy-to-use introduction to research methods. The book emphasizes the process of research in an accessible and readable way, taking a non-statistical and non-mathematical approach for new students.This book will guide students through the research process, analysing and demonstrating a variety of research methods supported by extensive examples and illustrations to explain the fundamental concepts of the research process and its application.NEW TO THIS EDITIONNew co-author Susan Carland brings an expertise in several areas of sociology and researchUpdated references including discussion of online research and examples from a wide range of disciplines.Questions for review: end of chapter comprehension and activity questions provide a chance to reflect and test knowledge of chapter content.

This award-winning book has helped thousands of nursing students and nurses produce high quality work, with its focus on all aspects of writing for professional publication. The new fifth edition offers two-color design to enhance the reading experience, expanded coverage on selecting a journal, conducting and reporting a literature review, reporting evidence syntheses, and preparing DNP projects as manuscripts, as well as a greater variety of journal examples. A full chapter on writing research reports makes this edition particularly useful for PhD students and researchers.

With a strategic focus on the search process and assessing the quality of the evidence, this text presents, clearly and comprehensively, all of the knowledge and skills necessary to conduct a foundational CSR in eight concrete steps. This text examines how to write a CSR proposal, final report, and a policy brief based on systematic review findings. Two finished proposals and two completed systematic reviews demonstrate each step of the process from start to finish.

This best-selling book, now in its fifth edition, is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review for students in all areas of health and social care. It is essential reading for all those doing their undergraduate dissertation or any study that involves doing a literature review.

Completing a systematic review and unsure where to start or what path to take? Set out on your journey confidently with this practical guide written by a team of experienced academics. With a friendly, accessible style, the book covers every step of the systematic review process, from planning to dissemination. This book will help you to: Work with qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods data. Understand the how-to of systematic reviews with a range of real-life examples and case studies.

Learn to assess published research in this best-selling introduction to evidence-based healthcare Evidence-based practices have revolutionized medical care. Clinical and scientific papers have something to offer practitioners at every level of the profession, from students to established clinicians in medicine, nursing and allied professions. How to Read a Paper demystifies this process with a thorough, engaging introduction to how clinical research papers are constructed and how to evaluate them. Detailed coverage of subjects like assessing methodological quality, systemic reviews and meta-analyses, qualitative research, and more.

Simplify Complex Research TopicsNursing Research: Reading, Using, and Creating Evidence, Sixth Edition is a foundational nursing textbook for teaching and learning the basics of creating and using evidence in nursing practice. Written in a conversational tone, the hallmark of this text is its readability and the author's skillfulness in simplifying otherwise complex topics such as evidence-based care, qualitative and quantitative studies, and translation of research to practice.Nurses need to demonstrate proficiency in reading research, determining its use in their practice, and participating in the research process. The Sixth Edition is intuitively organized around the three main competencies - reading, using, and creating evidence - all of which enable the student to translate research into evidence in a practical way. This nursing textbook is intended to teach and support the clinical practice of nursing students, professional nurses returning to school, and practicing nurses that must apply evidence to patient care.

This second edition of the popular guide to critical appraisal is a fully updated revision of the previous edition. Written in the same easily accessible style, The Pocket Guide to Critical Appraisal now provides annotated checklists of the most common research designs. Consistent with recent developments in evidence-based medicine, these checklists distinguish between the risk of bias in the conduct of published studies and the value of the findings for healthcare delivery.

An accessible guide that provides easy to follow step-by-step advice on how to prepare qualitative and quantitative literature reviews. The 6th edition of this bestselling book retains its original lauded features of clear style and organization while bringing new chapters into the fold to address mixed-methods and theoretical frameworks in conducting reviews of literature. The text walks the reader through both the conceptualization and the writing stages, offering templates for fostering different phases of designing and drafting required to complete the process of conducting a review of literature from start to finish, in empirical articles, theses, or dissertations.