New eBooks in SWSLHD Libraries

he book covers the diagnosis and evaluation of a wide range of communication disorders in children and adults. This one-of-a-kind manual provides a comprehensive package of reference materials, explanations of assessment procedures, and practical stimulus suggestion. Many reproducible worksheets, forms, reports, and quick-reference tables are provided. Each chapter references many of the most used published tests and resources for assessing the given disorder. Multiple links are provided for online testing materials, including some standardized tests.

"Australia is increasingly recognised as a multicultural and diverse society. Nationally, all accrediting bodies for allied health, nursing, midwifery and medical professions require tertiary educated students to be culturally safe with regards to cultural and social diversity. This text, drawing on experts from a range of disciplines including public health, nursing and sociology, shows how the theory and practice of cultural safety can inform effective health care practices with all kinds of diverse populations. Culture, Diversity and Health in Australia is a sensitive, richly nuanced and comprehensive guide to effective health practice in Australia today.

Will help practitioners and surgeons learn and understand how best to diagnose and treat dysphagia. It provides a complete picture of dysphagia through the experiences of leaders who cover the latest techniques and evidence-based outcomes in the field. Coverage includes recent advances in the diagnosis and treatment of the disease processes that cause dysphagia, gastric problems, and surgical intervention.

An invaluable text for dysphagia courses in speech-language pathology programs, this book integrates the fundamentals of aerodigestive tract anatomy and physiology with objective assessment techniques and multidisciplinary treatment approaches. Contributors from speech-language pathology, otolaryngology, and gastroenterology present a variety of perspectives across domains of the professionals who serve patients with swallowing disorders. The in-depth, evidence-based assessment techniques and treatment models represent the most current dysphagia research and best practices.

Created to assist students in speech-language pathology graduate programs, this book facilitates knowledge retention and supports skill development as a companion to Dysphagia Assessment and Treatment Planning: A Team Approach-5th ed. Practical exercises and application activities, drawn from Dr. Julie Barkmeier-Kraemer's experience teaching and training graduate students and colleagues in dysphagia, are included in the workbook to increase understanding of and engagement with each chapter in the associated textbook.

Provides an accessible and visually engaging introduction to the anatomy and physiology of the major body systems involved in the processes of speech-language pathology. High-resolution Anatomage virtual dissection table figures derived from real cadavers offer an unparalleled glimpse into the anatomical structures of the human body, featuring true-to-life colors and an impressive level of detail. Topics explored include respiration, phonation, articulation, swallowing, resonance, hearing, balance, neuroanatomy, and neurophysiology.

This handbook offers a comprehensive review of cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) for working in integrated pediatric behavioral health care settings. It provides research findings, explanations of theoretical concepts and principles, and descriptions of therapeutic procedures as well as case studies from across broad conceptual areas. Chapters discuss the value of integrated care, diversity issues, ethical considerations, and the necessary adaptations. In addition, chapters address specific types of pediatric conditions and patients, such as the implementation of CBT with patients with gastrointestinal complaints, enuresis, encopresis, cancer, headaches, epilepsy, sleep problems, diabetes, and asthma.

Arabella Kurtz explores the use of reflective practice in the modern healthcare context. Responding to the rapidly increasing demand for reflective practice groups in healthcare and drawing on her extensive experience as a facilitator and trainer, Kurtz presents a fully developed, eight-stage model: The Intersubjective Model of Reflective Practice Groups. The book offers a guide to the organisation, structure and delivery of group sessions, with useful suggestions for overcoming commonly-encountered problems and promoting empathic relationships with clients and colleagues. Clearly and accessibly written, using full situational examples for each stage of the presented model, How to Run Reflective Practice Groups offers a comprehensive guide to facilitating reflective practice in healthcare.

An essential building block of every speech-language pathologist's professional preparation, the second edition of this bestselling textbook is a comprehensive critical analysis of 21 interventions for highly prevalent speech sound disorders (SSD) in children. Bringing together a powerhouse team of international experts, this new edition has been revised and enhanced with current research, new interventions, more guidance on selecting interventions, and updated video clips that show the approaches in action.

This book focuses on evidence-based occupational therapy in the care of older adults in different clinical settings, from home to acute hospital, from intensive care unit to rehabilitation centers and nursing homes. The book first reviews the interaction between occupational therapy and geriatrics and then discusses in depth how occupational therapy interventions are applied in the community, in the acute hospital and in the nursing home. The ageing population requires new innovative approaches to improve the quality of life, and as such this book provides clinicians with handy, key information on how to implement occupational therapy in the daily clinical care of older adults based on the current scientific evidence.

Designed to provide concise information on rehabilitation aspects of long-term medical conditions affecting adults. The book has two sections, one on clinical symptom-specific approaches and another on condition-specific approaches. The clinical approach section outlines the management of common symptoms encountered in rehabilitation settings. The section on specific conditions provides information that will enable the reader to put the symptoms in context with the condition and provide direct management in a comprehensive and holistic manner. As the practice in rehabilitation goes beyond dealing with condition specific symptoms and is more focused on problem solving, the handbook provides a solid grounding in managing common practical problems in functions such as mobility, cognition, sex, relationships and work productivity.

Palliative Care Nursing: Caring for Suffering Patients continues to explore the concept of suffering as it relates to nursing practice in an updated new edition. This text helps practicing nurses and students define and recognize various aspects of suffering across the lifespan and within various patient populations, while providing guidance in alleviating suffering. In addition, the authors discuss ways nurses that witness suffering can optimize their own coping skills and facilitate personal growth. The Second Edition aligns with the recently updated ELNEC and AACN competencies and features three new chapters discussing advance care planning, palliative care for those with serious illnesses, and strategies for having difficult conversations with patients and families.

Provides speech-language pathologists with a road map for implementation of selected treatment methods that can have a significant, positive impact on children's speech intelligibility and communicative effectiveness. This practical workbook is useful for speech-language pathologists who work with children with speech sound disorders in schools, private practices, or clinics.

This book provides a detailed overview of the methodology for conducting clinical trials, including developing protocols, data capture, randomisation, analysis and reporting. Assuming no prior background, this user-friendly resource describes the statistical, regulatory, and practical components required for conducting randomised clinical trials. Numerous examples and case studies from industry, academia, and the research literature help readers understand each stage of the clinical trial process.

This practical and positive guide shows how good, effective reflection can help people to stay on track, as well as understand what is working well and what might be improved – essential skills for leaders at all levels of practice from newly qualified staff to senior managers. Supporting readers to link theory and action with reflection, the authors illustrate how practitioners can exercise their own kinds of leadership to strengthen, improve and thrive. Taking a realistic and achievable view of leadership, the book: reviews the different leadership approaches and styles that help to inform us about what makes a good leader; explores the role of emotional intelligence, appreciative intelligence and narrative intelligence in leadership, especially in complex, challenging and continually changing healthcare settings; and uses case studies and practice examples to ensure the book is relevant, current and helpful.

Health services practice or working with clients facing health issues requires diverse approaches and wide-ranging knowledge. In this fully revised and expanded second edition, Melissa Petrakis draws on the experience and expertise of leading researchers and practitioners to provide a guide to the disparate settings in which social workers are engaged and the conceptual frameworks and skills needed for effective practice. Including new chapters on compassion in healthcare, neoliberalism and health, social justice, suicidal distress, and health social work in regional, rural and remote settings, the book begins by examining the nature of health social work and considers its core values and principles.

For forty years, this textbook has been the gold-standard resource for providing speech-language pathologists with a strong foundation of knowledge on speech sound disorders. Previously published as Articulation and Phonological Disorders, this core text is now in its ninth edition, fully updated and expanded to meet the needs of today's clinicians as they work with children of all ages. A cornerstone of every SLP's professional preparation, the new edition of this book offers the most up-to-date, comprehensive coverage of contemporary clinical literature and the best available treatments for speech sound disorders.