New eBooks in SWSLHD Libraries

Learn proven strategies to prepare for nursing school tests and the NCLEX® exam! 2024-2025 Saunders Clinical Judgment and Test-Taking Strategies: Passing Nursing School and the NCLEX® Exam, 8th Edition provides tools to help you overcome test anxiety, develop strong study skills, and improve test scores. You'll gain insight into key nursing areas such as clinical judgment, prioritization, leading and managing, communication, and pharmacology. Student-to-Student Tips highlight real-life strategies that have helped other students successfully complete nursing school and pass the NCLEX® exam. Focus on test-taking strategies helps you develop essential clinical judgment skills and prepares you to find the correct answer to all types of test questions. Categorization of questions by beginning, intermediate, or advanced level makes this book a useful tool throughout your nursing program.

A comprehensive discussion of haematological morphology The book functions well as both a straightforward and practical bench manual and as a reference source for practicing hematologists. It has been completely updated to incorporate newly published information and 400 high-quality photographs to aid in blood cell identification. The text is comprehensive and fully supported by references. A thorough introduction to blood sampling and blood film preparation and examination, as well as performance of blood counts Blood Cells: A Practical Guide will also earn a place in the libraries of biomedical scientists working in laboratory settings. Many laboratories worldwide regard it as an essential bench book.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

The Little Black Book of Business Writing is for everyone who writes for business purposes, in the commercial world, the private sector, the trades and the professions. Mark Tredinnick and Geoff Whyte help readers write the kinds of documents that confront them most days at work - letters, emails, web writing, reports, minutes, tenders, ministerials, board papers, media releases, newsletters, marketing documents, policy proposals, business cards, newsletters, position descriptions, job ads, notes to financial statements, instruction and safety manuals, speeches, presentations and various kinds of technical papers. The Little Black Book of Business Writing helps people write at work with economy, impact and efficiency.

Ideal for any on-call professional, resident, or medical student, this popular reference covers the common problems you'll encounter while on call in the hospital. Features a logical, highly templated format so you can locate key information quickly. Provides updated content and references, keeping you on the cutting edge of current, evidence-based information. Includes the latest information on headache, demyelinating diseases, infections of the central nervous system, dementia, and more. Highlights critical information, reducing the likelihood of error. Provides an updated On Call Formulary covering the most common neurologic medications. Delivers consistent, easy-to-follow coverage of the most common on-call problems and approaches, including what to do from the initial phone call, questions you should ask to assess the urgency of each situation, "Elevator Thoughts," how to immediately identify major threats to life, what to do at the bedside, and how to avoid common mistakes for every call.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Paediatric Handbook is a trusted guide to managing common and serious childhood illnesses and disorders. This bestselling resource provides students and practitioners across medical, nursing, and allied health fields with authoritative and up-to-date information on a comprehensive range of paediatric topics, enabling readers to make the appropriate decisions at the point of care.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Designed to complement the highly popular Drugs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care, this companion title provides high quality pharmacology practice questions for exam revision. Focusing specifically on pharmacological principles and agents, it is tailored for the Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists (FRCA), the European Diploma in Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care (EDAIC), the Fellowship of the Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine (FFICM), andthe European Diploma in Intensive Care Medicine (EDIC) examinations. Over 230 True/False MCQs and Single Best Answers help readers to test and consolidate knowledge learnt from Drugs in.Questions are arranged into 17 subject-themed chapters to focus revision. Structured questions and answers are accompanied by detailed explanations, cross-references to Drugs in where relevant, and further reading. Written by consultants and experienced trainees, SBAs and MCQs for Drugs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care offers a true test of the reader's pharmacology knowledge, and is an essential purchase for anyone preparing for their anaesthetic andintensive care examinations.

Venous Ulcers, 2nd Edition, provides a comprehensive synthesis of evidence-based recommendations and the highest level of expertise from a leading group of doctors, which is a fundamental constituent for the appropriate management of nonhealing venous wounds in everyday practice. This book offers a fertile environment for a complete understanding of genetics and molecular and biochemical mechanisms that lead to the development and progression of venous ulcers, which is essential for elucidating the underlying pathophysiology and can be utilized for developing novel therapies and accessing previously inaccessible areas of research. Socioeconomic impact, impact on health-related quality of life, the clinical course of the disease, and diagnostic algorithms are elaborated in detail.