New eBooks in SWSLHD Libraries

Practical and highly organized, The 5-Minute Clinical Consult 2025 provides rapid access to the diagnosis, treatment, medications, follow-up, and associated conditions for more than 500 disease and condition topics to help you make accurate decisions at the point of care. Organized alphabetically by diagnosis, it presents brief, bulleted points in a templated format, and contains more than 100 diagnostic and therapeutic algorithms. This up-to-date, bestselling reference delivers maximum clinical confidence as efficiently as possible, allowing you to focus your valuable time on providing high-quality care to your patients.

Principles of Addiction Medicine, 7th edition is a fully reimagined resource, integrating the latest advancements and research in addiction treatment. Prepared for physicians in internal medicine, psychiatry, and nearly every medical specialty, the 7th edition is the most comprehensive publication in addiction medicine. The exhaustive content, now in vibrant full color, bridges science and medicine and offers new insights and advancements for evidence-based treatment of SUDs. This foundational textbook for medical students, residents, and addiction medicine/addiction psychiatry fellows, medical libraries and institution, also serves as a comprehensive reference for everyday clinical practice and policymaking.

In a conversational, easy-to-read style, Avoiding Common Errors in the Emergency Department, 2nd Edition , discusses 365 errors commonly made in the practice of emergency medicine and gives practical, easy-to-remember tips for avoiding these pitfalls. Chapters are brief, approachable, and evidence-based, suitable for reading immediately before the start of a rotation, used for quick reference on call, or read daily over the course of one year for personal assessment and review. Key Features: Coverage includes psychiatry, pediatrics, poisonings, cardiology, obstetrics and gynecology, trauma, general surgery, orthopedics, infectious diseases, gastroenterology, renal, anesthesia and airway management, urology, ENT, and oral and maxillofacial surgery. New key points at the end of each chapter present must-know information in an easy-access, bulleted format.

Covering the full spectrum of clinical issues and options in anesthesiology, Barash, Cullen, and Stoelting's Clinical Anesthesia, 9th Edition, provides insightful coverage of pharmacology, physiology, co-existing diseases, and surgical procedures. This award-winning text delivers state-of-the-art content unparalleled in clarity and depth of coverage, as well robust multimedia features that equip you to effectively apply today's standards of care and make optimal clinical decisions on behalf of your patients.

Covering the entire spectrum of women's healthcare, Berek & Novak's Gynecology, 16th Edition, provides definitive information and guidance for trainees and practicing physicians. A newly streamlined design and brilliant, full-color illustrations highlight must-know content on principles of practice and initial assessment, including relevant basic science; preventive and primary care for women; and methods of diagnosis and management in general gynecology, operative gynecology, urogynecology and pelvic reconstructive surgery, early pregnancy issues, reproductive endocrinology, and gynecologic oncology.

The Bethesda Handbook of Clinical Hematology, 5th Edition, is a concise, comprehensive handbook designed for everyday clinical use. Provides clinically focused, authoritative, and current guidance in this complex area, logically organized by disease category Discusses the pathophysiology, natural history, risk factors, diagnosis, management, and follow-up of common hematological diseases Features new diagnostic and treatment strategies, updated references, and revised information throughout An ideal resource for practitioners at every level of training: students, residents, and fellows on a hematology or oncology service, as well as internists, hospitalists, family practitioners, pediatricians, and nurse practitioners whose practice includes patients with blood diseases

The Bethesda Handbook of Clinical Oncology, 6th Edition, is a comprehensive yet concise review of the management of different cancer types. Provides practical guidance on evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment of patients with cancer from experts and scholars at the National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health, Cleveland Clinic, and other renowned institutions. Covers a range of solid-tumor, blood, and other cancers, as well as immunotherapeutic drugs, infection management, nutrition, and palliative care. Contains new and revised content on immunotherapy, precision medicine, genetics, individual cancer therapies, and more. Helps you find what you need quickly with concise, clear content and numerous tables, algorithms, and figures throughout.

Essential for ob/gyn physicians, primary care physicians, and any health care provider working with pregnant or postpartum women. Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation: A Reference Guide to Fetal and Neonatal Risk, 12th Edition, puts must-know information at your fingertips in seconds. An easy A-to-Z format lists more than 1,400 of the most commonly prescribed drugs taken during pregnancy and lactation, with detailed monographs designed to provide the most essential information on possible effects on the mother, embryo, fetus, and nursing infant. Each templated monograph includes: Risk factors Pharmacologic class Pregnancy and breastfeeding recommendations. Pregnancy, fetal risk, and breastfeeding summaries.

DeVita, Hellman and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology, 12th Edition, provides authoritative guidance and strategies for managing every type of cancer by stage and presentation. This award-winning reference is also continually updated on Health Library and VitalSource platforms for the life of the edition. Integrates basic science into individual cancer chapters for more efficient references. Features quarterly updates that include late-breaking developments in oncology such as new drugs and clinical trials, as well as new case studies and interactive algorithms. Provides updated content on immunotherapy and genetics throughout. Includes important related topics such as cancer screening and prevention, palliative care, supportive oncology, and quality of life issues.

The fully updated Third Edition of this successful text covers the full spectrum of radiology, continuing its tradition of excellence. Useful both as a learning tool across the chiropractic curriculum and as a reference and clinical aid to practitioners, the text helps readers distinguish key radiologic features--invaluable in clinical decision making. This edition incorporates the latest imaging technologies--including SPECT bone scan, diagnostic ultrasound, helical 3D CT, and MRI--and features more than 4,500 images obtained with state-of-the-art techniques. Coverage includes new chapters on soft-tissue imaging and paraspinal abnormalities and more information on sports-related injuries.

Fischer's Mastery of Surgery continues the tradition of excellence with two full-color volumes that include the essentials of diagnosis, anatomy, and pre-operative planning while maintaining a focus on clear, step-by-step depictions and descriptions of procedures. Brings you up to date with evidence-based approaches for virtually any surgery you'll be called upon to perform. Provides extensive coverage (including select procedural videos) of common thoracic, breast, esophageal, endocrine, colorectal, gastric, pancreatic, liver, biliary, vascular, and transplantation procedures. Walks you step by step through each procedure, with tips and cautions from leading surgeons.

Grossman & Baim's Cardiac Catheterization, Angiography, and Intervention, 9th Edition, continues to keep you up to date with every facet of this fast-changing field. Designed for quick access and easy reference, this text offers expert overviews of the theoretical and practical aspects of clinical issues, with emphasis given to hemodynamic data and tracings and interventional procedures. An impressive multimedia library with new videos and cases make this reference even more valuable for cardiologists and interventional cardiologists at all levels of experience. Features clear, succinct text highlighted by summary tables, graphs, illustrations, and real-life images that illustrate procedures, complications, and bailout methods.

The only handbook to cover both endoscopic and non-endoscopic GI procedures, Handbook of Gastroenterologic Procedures, 5th Edition, has been extensively revised and reorganized to be even more useful as a quick reference in your practice. Comprehensive yet succinct coverage of all diagnostic and therapeutic GI procedures--both endoscopic and non-endoscopic--in current use for adult and pediatric patients. A concise, logically structured format includes indications, contraindications, patient preparation, equipment, technique, post-procedure care, and adverse events. New chapters include balloon-assisted enteroscopy, placement of colonic self-expandable metal stents, endoscopic ultrasound-guided biopsies and drainage, endoscopic submucosal dissection, peroral endoscopic myotomy, and management of post-surgical adverse events.

The fully updated Health Assessment Made Incredibly Visual, 3rd Edition, has hundreds of colorful drawings, diagrams, and photos to support easy-to-follow, expert nursing instruction on the many skills needed for physical exams and assessments of every body system, from head to toe. Simple-to-use and easy-to-follow guidance on all aspects of health assessment Fully illustrated examples of best practices - Current nursing standards for each type of assessment Support for accurate assessment - Guides you through the anatomy and assessment processes for each body system or health issue, including skin, hair, and nails; eyes and ears; nose, mouth, throat, and neck; pregnancy, and the respiratory, cardiovascular, gastrointestinal, musculoskeletal, neurologic, and genitourinary systems.

Josephson's Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology, 7th Edition, provides a thorough understanding of the mechanisms of cardiac arrhythmias and the therapeutic interventions used to treat them. With its strong focus on physiologic investigation and its role in clinical decision making, this comprehensive text is a must-have reference for cardiology fellows, electrophysiologists, and others in the EP lab. Provides highly visual guidance on the electrophysiologic methodology required to define the mechanism and site of origin of arrhythmia--enabling you to choose the safest and most effective therapy for each patient. Offers comprehensive coverage of mechanisms, clinical implications, and limitations of current therapeutic EP interventions, including drugs, catheters, and surgical ablations. Includes new concepts and technology for ablation of atrial fibrillation, and new understandings of the physiology of ventricular tachycardia in structural heart disease.

Khan's The Physics of Radiation Therapy thoroughly covers the physics and practical clinical applications of advanced radiation therapy technologies. This updated classic remains the most practical radiation therapy physics text available, offering an ideal balance between theory and clinical application. Covers 3D conformal radiotherapy (3D-CRT), stereotactic radiosurgery (SRS), high dose-rate remote afterloaders (HDR), intensity modulated radiation therapy (IMRT), image-guided radiation therapy (IGRT), Volumetric Modulated Arc Therapy (VMAT), and proton beam therapy. Discusses the physical concepts underlying treatment planning, treatment delivery, and dosimetry.

Marriott's Practical Electrocardiography 13th Edition, delivers the information you need to quickly improve your ECG interpretive skills. Helpful diagrams, tables, animations, and videos, plus new ECG quizzes online, improve your understanding and skills. Offers extensive content updates throughout, including substantial updates to the abnormal rhythms section of the book along with chapters on chamber enlargement, drugs and electrolytes, a new chapter on adult congenital heart disease, and more. Contains summary illustrations with each chapter to that allow you to quickly grasp concepts in an easy-to-understand, telegraphic style. Uses ECG recordings, anatomical drawings, glossary terms, and animations and tables to provide comprehensive guidance on ECG interpretation, with convenience glossaries at the end of each chapter that reinforce key terminology.

The MD Anderson Surgical Oncology Manual, 7th Edition, focuses on multidisciplinary, cooperative management approaches to issues confronting today's surgical oncologist. Walks you through epidemiology and etiology, pathology, staging, clinical presentation and diagnosis, surgical treatment, and adjuvant therapies for each disease site or system. Includes new case studies with multiple choice review questions at the end of each chapter. Features a new, larger page size, up-to-date information on the latest staging and protocols, and well-written, easy-to-read content throughout. Ideal for fellows in surgical oncology, general surgery residents, medical students facing a surgical/oncology rotation, and practicing surgeons.

Modern Epidemiology remains the gold standard text in this complex and evolving field, offering unparalleled, comprehensive coverage of the principles and methods of epidemiologic research. Reflects both the conceptual development of this evolving science and the increasing role that epidemiology plays in both public health and medicine. Covers a broad range of concepts and methods, including epidemiologic measures of occurrence and effect, study designs, validity, precision, statistical interference, field methods, and causal diagrams. Includes data analysis topics such as Bayesian analysis, sensitivity analysis, and bias analysis, with an extensive overview of modern regression methods including logistic and survival regression, splines, hierarchical (multilevel) regression, propensity scores and other scoring methods, and g-estimation.

Nutrition Essentials for Nursing Practice, 9th Edition gives nursing students the understanding of nutrition theory and application to ensure effective client care across the life cycle and the health-illness continuum. Incorporating nutrition throughout the nursing care process, Susan Dudek's concise yet thorough text equips tomorrow's nurses with the latest evidence-based practices and recommendations to facilitate nutrition on the front lines of nursing practice, from assessment and nursing diagnoses to implementation and evaluation. The most up-to-date resource of its kind, this revised edition makes need-to-know information more accessible than ever with a student-friendly format, improved organization, engaging case studies, and adaptable content optimized for use in standalone courses, online, or a fully integrated curriculum.

Operative Techniques in Breast, Endocrine, and Oncologic Surgery, 2nd Edition, features concise, bulleted text, full-color illustrations, and intraoperative photographs to clarify exactly what to look for and how to proceed. Provides comprehensive, step-by-step guidance on breast surgery and reconstruction; cutaneous oncology; and endocrine surgery. Covers open as well as laparoscopic, endoscopic, robotic, and video-assisted procedures in breast, endocrine, and oncologic surgery.

Operative Techniques in Trauma and Critical Care features concise, bulleted text, full-color illustrations, and intraoperative photographs to clarify exactly what to look for and how to proceed. Provides comprehensive, step-by-step guidance on thermal injuries; infection; traumatic injury to the chest wall, pleura, and diaphragm; thoracic traumatic injuries; injury to the neck, GI and GU tracts, duodenum, pancreas, spleen, and liver; pelvic fracture and retroperitoneal hematoma; vascular injuries; trauma in pregnancy; and supportive procedures. Covers open and video-assisted procedures in trauma and critical care surgery.

Pharmacotherapeutics for Advanced Practice,5th Edition is anchored in pharmacology and the principles of therapeutics, and written by experts in the field, this is your road map to effective drug therapies. Learn to correctly identify a disorder, review the drugs used to treat it, and select the optimal therapy. With expert direction on more than 50 common disorders, this is the ideal resource for advanced practice clinicians and students learning pharmacotherapeutics, and a go-to reference for experienced clinicians.

Principles and Practice of Gynecologic Oncology, 8th Edition, features a multidisciplinary approach to treatment and care including expert views from radiation oncology, pathology, internal medicine, gastroenterology and nutrition, neurology, pharmacy, genetics, and epidemiology, in addition to medical oncology and surgery. Covers special topics such as perioperative and critical care; surgical procedures; cost-effective and value-based cancer care; pain, nutrition, and palliative care.

Widely recognized as the gold standard reference in the field, Rosen's Breast Pathology provides comprehensive, up-to-date information on diseases of the breast from renowned experts at four leading medical centers, masterfully edited by Dr. Paul P. Rosen. The revised fifth edition covers the latest advances in immunohistochemical, pathobiological, and molecular aspects of benign and malignant breast diseases, helping you reach an accurate diagnosis with confidence. It's an ideal reference for all physicians and medical personnel who require a thorough knowledge of breast pathology, including pathologists, surgeons, oncologists, radiologists, and radiation oncologists. Covers clinical and radiological presentation, epidemiology, gross pathology, microscopic pathology, treatment, and prognosis (when relevant) for each disease entity.

Speroff & Darney's Clinical Guide to Contraception, 6th Edition, provides concise coverage of all of today's available contraceptive options. This well-regarded clinical reference remains a thorough, evidence-based, and readable resource for OB/GYNs, family planning specialists, primary care providers, and other healthcare providers. Provides the essential information needed to choose the best contraceptive method for each patient's age and medical, social, and personal characteristics. Covers each contraceptive method in a single chapter that includes history of the contraceptive, method of action, pharmacology (when applicable), contraindications, and use. Features revised, expanded, and reorganized content to reflect the most current knowledge and use of today's contraceptive drugs and devices, their effectiveness, and limitations.

The Washington Manual® of Surgery, 9th Edition, presents state-of-the-art, comprehensive information in a brief, outline format, along with numerous figures, tables, algorithms, and images throughout. In one convenient, portable resource, you'll find practical coverage of all surgical subspecialties (thoracic, GI, colorectal, cardiac, vascular, breast, trauma, critical care, and more)--all at your fingertips for quick review and reference. Covers the latest advances in surgical technique, instrumentation, and standards of practice. Presents information in a succinct, consistent, outline format that conveys the most important diagnostic and management information for a given topic Includes clinical algorithms of disease work-up, diagnosis, and management, as well as completely revised review questions in every chapter.