New eBooks in SWSLHD Libraries

Written and edited by leading physicians, Breastfeeding: A Guide for the Medical Profession, 9th Edition, offers comprehensive, dependable information and guidance in this multifaceted field. Helps you make appropriate drug recommendations, treat conditions associated with breastfeeding, and provide thoughtful guidance to the breastfeeding mother according to her circumstances, problems, and lifestyle. Features new chapters on breast conditions and their management in the breastfeeding mother, breastfeeding and chest-feeding for LGBTQ+ families, breastfeeding during disasters, and establishing a breastfeeding practice or academic department. Provides significant updates on physiology and biochemistry of lactation; medications and herbal preparations in breast milk; transmission of infectious disease through breast milk; allergy and its relationship with breastfeeding, exposure, and avoidance; premature infants and breastfeeding; and practical management of the mother-infant nursing couple.

A guide for anyone experiencing or caring for someone with bladder or bowel problems. It covers the types and causes of incontinence and the treatment and management options available.

Published in association with the Lactation Education Accreditation and Approval Review Committee (LEAARC), it presents the core curriculum required to practice as a beginning lactation consultant in an easy-to-read format. The updated Second Edition includes new information on scientific evidence supporting breastfeeding, the biochemistry of human milk, breastfeeding multiples or a preterm infant, lactation and maternal mental health, breast pathology, and more. With a focus on the science, management, and professional aspects of lactation care, Core Curriculum for Interdisciplinary Lactation Care, Second Edition prepares beginning consultants and clinicians to provide comprehensive care for breastfeeding families.

In Facilitating Desistance from Aggression and Crime: Theory, Research, & Strength-Based Practices, Drs. Calvin Langton and James Worling have gathered together internationally renowned authorities in the fields of psychology, psychiatry, criminology, social work, and law, to critically examine desistance as a construct, process, and outcome as well as the place of strengths work in correctional and forensic mental health settings. Integrating theory, emprical evidence, and applied practices, this timely volume is an essential scholarly resource with a clear practical emphasis for policy makers, researchers, practitioners, and graduate students.

This work was created by members of the Medical Library Association’s Collection Development Caucus to provide librarians with key concepts about health sciences collection development. The chapters provide an overview of the knowledge, responsibilities, and tasks involved in the development and management of health sciences collections; it is recommended that readers refer to the references and further reading sections in each chapter for a more detailed look at each topic. The first edition was published in 2019 and was updated with a second edition in 2023. This updated edition has a new section on unique collection genres; addresses Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Accessibility in collections; incorporates significant updates to and expansion of previous content; and includes a glossary. New additions to each chapter, as applicable, include key communities and online courses for professional development.

This book brings together Indigenous and allied experts addressing mental health among Indigenous peoples across the traditional territories commonly known as the Americas, Asia, Africa and Oceania (New Guinea and Australia) to exchange knowledge, perspectives and methods for mental health research and service delivery. Around the world, Indigenous peoples have experienced marginalization, rapid culture change and absorption into a global economy with little regard for their needs or autonomy. This cultural discontinuity has been linked to high rates of depression, substance abuse, suicide, and violence in many communities, with the most dramatic impact on youth.

Everything you'd like to know about Aboriginal Australia past and present, presented in an accessible, authoritative and straightforward style. An updated edition of a national bestseller.

The Oxford Handbook of Clinical and Healthcare Research is a practical, concise, and easy-to-use reference for the full range of clinical and healthcare research topics, while incorporating evidence based medicine. Comprehensively providing a wide breadth of knowledge, this handbook clearlycovers both the qualitative and quantitative aspects.This handbook includes clear instructions on the legislative requirements as well as the practical requirements of commissioning, conducting, analysing, and reporting research for those in clinical or healthcare practice, education or training. Whether you need practical advice on setting up and running a trial, negotiating regulations, learning vital research skills, or to study the underpinning concepts of research methods, this handbook will give you the vital information, clinical evidence, and guidance you need.

Supporting Sucking Skills in Breastfeeding Infants, Fourth Edition is an essential resource for healthcare professionals working with new breastfeeding families and infants. With an emphasis on skills, it focuses on normal sucking function in addition to difficulties based in anatomical, cardiorespiratory, neurological, or prematurity issues. The Fourth Edition has been extensively updated with new photos throughout and additional information on breastfeeding modifications for infants with structural issues, including micrognathia, orofacial clefts, and torticollis. The contributing authors also reflect on the latest breastfeeding research, including the mechanics of sucking, the normal anatomy of the floor of the mouth, the role of tongue tie in feeding difficulty, as well as strategies to support infants with neurological conditions.